X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bostel Amsterdamse Bos Reviews

Kleine Noorddijk 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1795 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 61%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The place was ok for the price I paid. The problem is the guy who runs the place is the rudest most arrogant man iv ever had the displeasure of meeting. Very very poor service from him.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

All encounters we had the personell (except for the hut caretaker) was very unfriendly. For example: We arrived at the hostel and it was dark light outside the hut was broken). Both of us working in an lab, we found a key-switch which we assumed (as normal in labs) was the general switch. After using it, we noticed that the heating was on and turned it off. Next morning they told us we had to pay for heating. Very unaccommodating - even got told to drink less (we have not been drinking at all)!

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

No toilet papers. Even taking a shower in the bathroom was chargeable. Poor Wifi.

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Very nice place. But you have to pay for The hot water and we didn't know that :(

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Well lets start with the good points: the nature is great, it is a lovely place for camping. They have rabbits all over camping area. Bad points: they have everything for extra-pay (sheets, heating, shower, toilet paper..). The staff is rude and do not solve any extra problems. Wifi connection is low and they have no frige.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Disappointed the closest shower had a "closed for winter " sign on it. Didn't understand why ladies shower in the block wasn't closed too? Particularly as there seemed to be more men staying there than women. Happy with the rest of the service. Will definitely stay again if back in town. Friendly staff, easy to get to city, enjoyed the park location ( be a great spot in the summer)

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

the camping is in the outskirts of Amsterdam, so definitely not center. It is anyhow very good in terms of value for money. It is reachable with the metro and -even if we got lost in the process- we had a nice walk in the beautiful green surrounding area, that is really quiet and nice. Not for lazy people I would say :P The bungalow is small but confortable and there are cute bunnies in the camping! We'll go there also next times


86%

It is great that it is next to this huge park (Amsterdamse Bos). The cottages are very nice. I would like to suggest you put some sort of carpet for mud at the entrance of the cottages, so we can clean our shoes before entering the room. Otherwise, it gets very dirty inside... But I had a great time.


66%

This place charges extra for EVERYTHING; not even showers or the sheets for your "bed" (thin rubber mattress) are free. We arrived at 8pm and the office was already closed. I knocked on the door and asked if we could still get some sheets, but the guy was very rude and refused our polite request.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The place is worth staying. It is nice, peacefull and beautifull. The only thing is that you have to bring your tissue paper.


86%

If you expect a hostel, it's definitely not for you, because it is a camping. But for us it was comfortable enough to stay there even in winter. The heating system worked properly (just turn the key), so it was not cold inside the house. The toilets and showers were located just in few meters from our house. The kitchen was also not so far and was equipped with everything you might need for cooking. And as a bonus - fresh air, nice green area and a lake near us.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

con-bit far from central pros-clean,great people,beautifull location

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

The instructions to get there were wrong, the bus wasnt working so thanks to someone who decide to help us and bring us there. We have been calling them for help but none of the staff was there from 6pm to 8.30am Once we get there we have NOTHING; no bedclothes, no shower (you need a special coin that you have to buy) We were staying just one night and instead of waiting for the check out they wake up us at 8.30 to do the check in!!!!!! I DON'T RECOMMENDED AT ALL!!!!!!!!!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a great stay, despite the location.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good camping, 45 minutes to go in amsterdam with the subway. Be carefull, heating is optionnal.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Maybe someone should tell the people how to open the heating. We payed extra money for heating but we were not able to put it on. At least there might be some manual in the cabin what to do with it.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything was really good, however one thing went really wrong. We were told by the guy at the reception that checking out at 8 am is a "bullshit". So if you're planning to leave earlier - change your plans.


20%

The owner of the hostel is very rude with the costumers and the attendent cannot manage any questionament. Its a camping, not a hostel. Fake advertisement! Its so far from the city and almost impossible to reach with public transportation. Awful!!!

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great ECO cabins, but quite far. It took us an hour to bike from central amsterdam to the site, thats without getting lost the first few times! More than half of the bike ride is a very enjoyable time through the big park tho. GREAT kitchen facilities (shared)


66%

I paid for a place (4 persons) with a private share bathroom, but didn't get that. They gave us a place without bathroom, 50 m away from de nearest wc!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback