X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bostel Amsterdamse Bos Reviews

Kleine Noorddijk 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1705 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Everything was fine but we needed to pay extra for some staff for example shower

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

All together the place was neat and we were very happy with everything, the only objection would be to the fact that they started repainting the cabin while we were still inside.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It's an hour from Amsterdam, so not very convenient. But it is very cheap and there's nothing wrong with the place really. It is annoying that they don't provide toilet paper and that you must pay 1 euro for 6 minutes hot water. Aside from that no problems.


100%

Fantastic stay, really enjoyed being that little bit further away from the city. The metro ride drops you round the corner or you can catch a 10min bus ride to the front door. It really gave us a chance to see more suburban areas outside the city which was lovely. We had read negative reviews about staff but everyone we spoke to was lovely. The cabins were lovely and very comfortable, the scenery around the camp is gorgeous. The last highlight were all the bunnies everywhere.


74%

I thought it should be more 'emphasized' that we would have to pay for our sheets (caught us by surprise and we arrived late and there was nobody to attend us.. we even had to take a freezing shower), even because i'm not used to see hostels charging for that.. I would also like to see chonometers at the showers since we have only 6 minutes of hot water for a euro and nobody likes to end the bath freezing and neither spend a euro just to get that last wash to take the soap off. Great place!

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good Location and atmosphere, but little far from train station (Spinnerij)

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Bostel Amsterdam Camping is a fraud and a scam. An employee of the camping placed us in the wrong cabin, the next day the boss of the camping told us to 'get of his property' and threw us off the camping site. We were three young backpackers traveling, and had done nothing wrong. He would not let us explain, was very offensive and also threatened us to pay for the entire stay of three days after kicking us out. It was an uncomfortable experience I do not wish upon any others. You are warned.


46%

The extra charges mean that it would cost about the same to stay in the center of Amsterdam in a hotel (here you have to pay for heating, towels, bed sheets, showers, no toilet roll provided, metro to get there). Staff were unfriendly and when we told them we'd missed our flight they were not helpful at all, just said 'buy a tent' . They didn't give us any suggestions on what to do and were not sympathetic at all. The showers were full of mud and after buying a token the hot water didn't work!


51%

This is a nice place for camping, but it isn't a good place if you want to visit Amsterdam. Staff is quite rude.


83%

Its nearly impossible to find. Everyone sends you to the woods but not the camping. Otherwise it was great,

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great for the countryside lovers. Nature is all around you, rabbits are playing in the garden. The beautiful river makes the campside even nicer! Wonderful place to relax, to ride bike and to feel the nature!;)

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

AVOID AT ALL COSTS! - it is truly worth paying 10 euro more pp to stay in the city! - NO toilet paper - NO working wifi (when more than 5pp using) -> even in the shop - 5% additional charge to use a debit card - Owner is a real grump!! - You have to pay 1 euro for 6min in shower - They say it has a kitchen, but no fridge, tables are really run down and overall terrible experience.


37%

You have to pay for sheets, towels, shower. In cabin you have only one blanket even if is 12' C outside. WiFi in poor. Location is 23 metro stops from city center; it is not even Amsterdam. When you want check out early morning you have to leave you cabin/room open for all night, it is not safe for you because in camping is a a lot of drunk and smoked people. I really do not like this place but I have to be honest, is really clean.


89%

I really liked the campsite. It's a great place to stay out of the city, and great rates for the dorm. Easy to get to city or airport via bus/train. And easy scenic cycle to the city via the Bos parklands. Only thing I didn't like was the rubber mattress. I know why they're used, but they are not comfortable.


46%

Vey bad security, reception guy jokes and says "remember, sleep on your things" with a smile on his face. You need to pay 1€ to have 6 minutes of hot water.. In a city where is always raining, at night a hot shower would feel nice. Very far from the city center, 40 minutes in metro, plus 25-30 minutes walking to the station.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

This hostel was the worst that we have stayed in our three month trip! Let's start with the worst part, there are multiple mice/rats, the bathrooms are disgusting and make the room smell terrible constantly. The cheapest option has ten beds this is still very expensive with no room to move. There is no hope of fresh air as there was a rubbish tip on one side and the fear of rats coming in from any of the other windows. Also when it rained there was a leak in the roof that saturated the floor!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I had a beatiful stay at the campside . we had a 6 man deluxe room, and there is all u need. sadly this is not the same with the other accomodations, but for this price it is ok. BUT: One of the managers from the campside was very unfriendly. and this not exceptionally on one day, he was unfriendly all the time... the other employee there were friendly and courteous. the one man was about 40-50 years old and had a bald head. this fast raging and unbalanced man didnt fit in the scene of the camp

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

it was so far out of the city center, it took really long to get there, the metro didn't run a single day we were there, don't know why, but it made everything so much more troublesome. The staff was straight up rude to the guests, i think it was kind of just his humor but i found it to be really annoying and not welcoming at all. Everything had extra costs, you couldn't even go to the bathroom for free, because the toilet paper costs extra. Won't be a next time here, that's for sure.


74%

The place is lovely and relaxing and the cabins are a really nice place to stay. However the owner can be quite rude. Other than that it was a nice stay.


100%

Very good place to stay when visiting Amsterdam. It is about 30 minutes away by public transport but you will enjoy the nature. Main hicup (it is not too bad though), the free wireless is almost non-existent...

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback