X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bostel Amsterdamse Bos Reviews

Kleine Noorddijk 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1922 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 57%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

I would just encourage everyone to get a GVB pass. I bought one for 12€ for 48 hours and you can you any blue and white bus, tram or metro. We didn't find the commute to be very difficult, even when the only metro to get out to the camp was down. Staff was friendly to us and REMEMBER TO BRING YOUR OWN TOLIET PAPER!!!!! You don't get any in the bathrooms and your own sheets unless you don't mind paying for some. It seemed to be more of a campsite for people escaping the city then travellers


77%

Great place for holidays. Amsterdam it's a lovely city to relax and see something different. However, beds had really poor mattresses. Clean camping with parking spaces. The WiFi Internet connection was poor and we were struggling to connect with. The minimarket has all the products overpriced.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Very basic as you would expect from some of the prices, however it was basically a garden shed. You have to pay 6.50 euro for bed linen, pay for toilet roll, towels, showers etc. which was understandable but bed linen, really?! The location is out of the way, good for going to the airport. One electricity outlet in the shed. Slow WiFi.


100%

Great people and a great place to camp meet new people and experience Amsterdam. showers are cheep and gas and electricity at the kitchen for no extra charge definitely going to return to this camp site again the people who are stay are great and I find that everyone will treat you the way you treat them 100% satisfied for the price you pay a real bargain but don't just read reviews go and experience it yourself

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

AVOID CONTACT WITH STAFF as much as possible if you want to enjoy your stay at this place. The facilities are truly adorable, the woods are beautiful and conveniently located, but I am struggling to find words to express how awful was our experience with the staff, and how it almost ruined our stay there. They have a convenient arrangement for guests arriving after reception is closed, but I do not think this gives them the right to storm into our room the next morning shouting for a passport.


57%

Staff was very rude.


20%

They didn't return our deposit back. They told us to leave key and we did what they said but they didn't return it back. So I never go there again. And also it is too far from city.


57%

Unfriendly check in staff. 50 mins from Amsterdam (20 mins walking + 30 metro). Paid extra for toilet roll.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Terrific camping place. A nice atmosphere, rabbits everywhere around. Even staying at the hostels cabins is comfortable. There are only 4 beds for every cabin so it makes a good and not crowd space for staying. Facilities are good and staff gives all important information from the beginning. Paying 1 euro for a 6mins shower isn't that great and going to Amsterdam central takes a lot of time. But for a weekend in the camping it is totally perfect. Highly recommended!


66%

If you need a bed and you don't mind the long travel times to and away from the central Amsterdam area, Bostel Bos can work for you. If you love nature, green pastures and bike rides, Bostel Bos is exactly what you're looking for. My only gripes with this place was the location and the fact that you need to buy toilet paper, showers and towels. If going into central Amsterdam, consider looking for other hostiles in that area before booking this one, but it is worth it it, albeit inconvenient.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

When you come to this place be careful of one of the men at the front desk as he is very rude and will try to make everything as difficult as possible for you. You will be nickeled and dimed for just about everything such as towels, showers, bikes, and heating. Plus the wifi is not the best. The location is awful, it is almost not in Amsterdam and nowhere near the city life. Otherwise it's a fairly quiet and easy going place.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The camping was really good but it's really far from the city center, nevertheless it's only a 40 minutes bike ride away. Really easy to get there from the airport


66%

The staffs are not at all friendly. The location is too far from the Amsterdam town. There no toilet papers available and we need to carry this. For bathing we need to pay extra.


94%

Excellent, as usually.


20%

I am very disappointed on the services and the attitudes of the staffs. And it is really far away from Amsterdam centraal. I wont suggest it to you if you are travelling.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A very nice to stay for a couple of nights. The atmosphere was good and it had decent facilities. However, it is considerably far out of town. By taking the metro, it takes around an hour and a quarter to get to the central station. The facilities were good but it could potentially be a five minute walk from your accommodation.


63%

The hostel is great but the only problem is the distance to the city centre. if you're looking for a place to visit Amsterdam, do not choose this place. You have to walk like 30 minutes to the closest metro station, and the plubic transport in the city is really expensive. Besides the distance, it is a good place to stay.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I really enjoyed my stay staff were friendly the place was very clean with good facilities and a great relaxed atmosphere,I would highly recommend going here i would go back a great cheap place for anyone.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Very far removed from the city and the staff was rude. Wifi is also terrible.


20%

If you are thinking about choosing this hostel/camping STOP! I have never met person so rude and heartless in my life. After whole day of travelling we reached bostel at 8pm because the owner didn’t like my girlfriend he didn’t let us stay there. He is the person who decide if he likes you and you can stay, he is the owner so he has a power to not let you in just because he doesn’t like you. Why he didn’t like her : because she asked about something what was inconvenient for him. Word limit over

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback