X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bostel Amsterdamse Bos Reviews

Kleine Noorddijk 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1956 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 56%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great Place!! I wish the Metro line was working. Was little cumbersome to travel to and fro to Amsterdam central station. Nevertheless a great place to camp.


94%

Nice place to stay - far from city rush, though with city transport connection possibilities

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

the owner was an absolute lad

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Wouldnt recommend. Charged for everything, even a hot shower. cabins are freezing (you need to pay for heating) and you are not provided with bedding unless you hire it. Basically you pay to breathe. The location was terrible, we were not informed that the metro line was down and thus what would've taken 35 mins to get into town it now took us an hour plus a 15 minute walk. I had lost my bag on a bus and when asking for help to make a phonecall the staff simply said 'we don't make phone calls'.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The text in the add did not describe the room very well. - it should have been more specifik on what you got, we sould never have picked such a poor room if I knew. Sekond, due to the bostel had many young people who drink / shout and sing at night we did not get much sleep the first many hours of our stay. Also, these people left a terrible mess of garbage infront of their house, and never bother to clean it, the staff at the sight didnt do it too, even if they passed it many times.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

the site automatically selects the whole cabin so be careful when booking. staff was rude at the desk and even tho they said I just had to check in by 10am the next day for a late arrival...their maintenance woman pounded on my door at 8. she was just doing what they told her so I can't blame her, just the policy


63%

You should not expected to buy your own toilet paperpaper - this is more a camping site than a hostel which is not clear from the hostel world page. Deposit for everything, even the towels?


49%

Lack of toilet paper, staff were rude after they figured out we did not speak Dutch, fees were very high for basic things like washing clothes and collecting sheets for the bed.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The grounds at this hostel are beautiful but it is a very long journey to Amsterdam central. You need to buy toilet paper and coupons for 6 minute "hot" showers that are rarely even slightly warm.


29%

This was our least favourite hostel of our entire interrailing trip. I would advise everyone to avoid this hostel. The man at reception was extremely rude and unhelpful. In the description it claims to be 35 minutes from Amsterdam - this is a lie! We timed it to be an hour and 30 minutes including the walk, bus and metro. You will have to spend a lot on public transport if you stay here. We didn't get to spend as long as we wanted to in the city because it was so far away. The kitchen was dirty.


77%

The only place to buy shower tokens was shop near reception, which was closed during night. If you want to take shower early in the morning or late in the evening - you should buy tokens in advance, but we, for example, spent one day in Amsterdam very long without planning and didn't buy tokens in advance, which was trouble. So it would be good to have token machine, for example, near showers. We weren't told in advance about no toilet paper in loo.


97%

so happy i stayed here. great atmosphere, price, and distance from the city.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

If you're looking for a cheap stay in Amsterdam, it's much better to stay to spend extra and stay in the centre. Really far to travel. Facilities very minimal, you have to pay one euro for a 6 minute shower, 50 cents for toilet roll. The bed in the cabin was very uncomfortable and had a lot of trouble sleeping. Also left a towel and a few personal items on the bed I was sleeping on only to find out they'd been thrown away when I got back, the older guy at reception was really unhelpful + rude

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

If you read instructions from the camp (before reservation or after r. - sent via mail by camp) and you are ready to accept them (and not to scream afterwards), it is really good place to stay - nice camp in the forest, about 40 minutes by bike to centre (metro was under reconstruction,so bike was faster then gvb bus+tram). Services in comparision to price were in good quality. I was a bit afraid before arrival, but I was nicely surprised. I can recommend.


20%

Saw the guy running the place threaten multiple people one night. AVOID AT ALL COSTS


51%

The location isn't very convenient to reach the center of Amsterdam: 1 hour and a half of walk/bus/tram! We lost money and time because of that. The cabins are not well isolated and it is very cold during the night. The fact that the shower are not free is a bad point too. The cabins are already minimalist, but moreover we have to pay to wash up.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Clean cabin and toilet facilities however very far from city centre, 20 min walk, 45 mins on bus then about 20 mins by metro into the centre. Was told there was a night bus however everyone we asked had no idea how to get to our camp site by bus after 12pm, got onto a bus and the bus driver made us get off and we had to walk 1 hour 30 mins back to campsite. Would not stay again


57%

I would just encourage everyone to get a GVB pass. I bought one for 12€ for 48 hours and you can you any blue and white bus, tram or metro. We didn't find the commute to be very difficult, even when the only metro to get out to the camp was down. Staff was friendly to us and REMEMBER TO BRING YOUR OWN TOLIET PAPER!!!!! You don't get any in the bathrooms and your own sheets unless you don't mind paying for some. It seemed to be more of a campsite for people escaping the city then travellers


77%

Great place for holidays. Amsterdam it's a lovely city to relax and see something different. However, beds had really poor mattresses. Clean camping with parking spaces. The WiFi Internet connection was poor and we were struggling to connect with. The minimarket has all the products overpriced.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Very basic as you would expect from some of the prices, however it was basically a garden shed. You have to pay 6.50 euro for bed linen, pay for toilet roll, towels, showers etc. which was understandable but bed linen, really?! The location is out of the way, good for going to the airport. One electricity outlet in the shed. Slow WiFi.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback