X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Bostel Amsterdamse Bos Reviews

Kleine Noorddijk 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1667 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

For travellers looking to explore the centrer alot Amsterdamse Bos is probably not the best place to stay. Travelling by bus or tram is easy but expensive and prices on the site are misleading. What eles is misleading is the checking in and out of the hostle on the site as we were told we would be allowed access aftrer 10 at night but 2 of our other party were told different upon arrival and were initially not allowed access. It is a shame that such a nice camp site has such rude staff.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The main guy at the desk was the most awful disgusting man I have ever met, he had no way with people or how to run a buisiness instead of us being right he was always right, it ruined my stay and I will never go back

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff were terribly rude and impatient, however it's a great place to stay and a lotta fun to cycle everywhere! Beds comfy and such

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Extremely far away from city centre, need to walk for at least half an hour after getting off the metro, full of insects in rooms and kitchen, need to pay for hot water for shower, reception closes at 9pm which is too early. Choose this hostel if you want to have an unhappy experience in your trip.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Nasty attention of the staff. The guy in the reception asked me to pay an extra day if I was in the installation before 3:00 pm.


66%

Mixed opinion. Guy who owned the place had strange humour and very hot and cold, dont rub him up wrong. It takes a lot more effort to get in and out of Amsterdam than it says on the website. Once you work it out its not too bad, I suggest buying a 24 hour ticket and leaving from spinnerij metro station. You have to buy toilet rolls (50c) and 6mins in the shower is €1! Other than that its very cheap, very pretty, very clean and a lovely setting to chow some fungi! If you hire a bike it is

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Was pretty far away from city. Took about 40 minutes to get to center city. But site itself was great.


49%

Firstly, the man in reception wasn't kind. And what is more, there were white worms in cabin. I'm not happy at all.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

I didn't expect a palace, but this place was awful. I arrived late and the cabin was open, because the reception was already closed. So, there were no sheets, no towels and what really freaked me out - no toilet paper. I mean, okay, it's part a hostel, part a camping, but no sheets and no toilet paper?! I couldn't get much sleep, because the staff came twice before 10 - once they wanted an ID-card, which I understood and an hour later, they wanted from us to pay.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

If your goal is to visit the center of Amsterdam this place is too far away from it. Although the small chalets are nice, clean, the camping is nice and you can even spot some rabbits wandering around. For a get away weekend or a peaceful stay this is perfect, for Amsterdam center it's not. The reception guy was kinda rude and wouldn't answer properly for directions.


77%

We had a great time here and are keen to come back for a longer period and get a whole cabin with friends. It is a bit of a way to the city but it's a lovely campsite next to a forest so is nice if you want a different kind of Amsterdam holiday. One of the men on reception was very unhelpful however, and there's a rule about having to hand keys in before 8pm if you have an early flight which was really irritating as we had paid for that night and my flight wasn't until 7am.


91%

It was nice atmosphere. I liked the forest and the fearless rabbits that live around the cabins. The nature is beautiful. Commuting to Amsterdam was easy by bus.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

was expecting a cabin by a lake, got a cabin in a grid of cabins

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Like other reviews have stated, the toilets do not provide soap or toilet paper... I've never been to a hostel/campsite that does not provide these things. Good points: popular site thus other travellers to socialise with; free wifi; use of a kitchen (stocked with equipment/appliances); beautiful location Bad points: Instructions to and free city centre are a bit confusing No soap/toilet paper Staff seem a bit edgy, you need to get on the right side of them to have positive conversation

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The only thing that may be a negative point is the distance to Amsterdam. It's like an hour to get to Centraal Station. But stil, Bostel Amsterdamse Bos is an amazing place to stay if you enjoy a calm atmosphere in the middle of nature. It's also really close to the airport.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel is about an hour away from the city via walking and the tram. The cabins are adorable, the bathroom is well cared for, the showers were very bug filled but not anyone but the woods fault. The environment was safe and gated and there was a marked path on how to get to the tram/camp ground. This place is also a 15 min direct bus ride to the airport which was amazing.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Desk staff wasn't friendly at all, sounding almost aggressive. It's cheap, but do consider getting closer to Amsterdam City Centre if that's what you're here for. Its a fine location if you don't need to see Amsterdam. It was clean and cheap. Night bus (N70) didn't get anywhere near the camping at all as was promised on the camping's map!


54%

- I asked for 4 bed Private room, they gave us a 8 bed mixed room and we slept with 2 foreign. - the stuff named Antonio, said me its impossible like I am liar but belive me guys Im not a liar. He didnt look the security cameras or any documents for this, he just say somethings that means "no no I don't believe you". + You can reserve for 4 bed private and you can go there with your 7 friend, it will be great in this unsafety place with really cheap price.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This is great Experiance to live here......its really amazing....

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

The owner and main front desk representative was very rude and very unhelpful. When you check in you have to hand in a form of ID. Many will hand in their passport. These passports are in the front for everyone to see, not locked up or secured. He also stated to not give an individual back their passport. You have to pay for sheets, showers (2 euros for 6 mins)and toilet paper. The cabins are nice for a large group who wants to stay together. However , I would not stay here again.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(54 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback