X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bostel Amsterdamse Bos Reviews

Kleine Noorddijk 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1727 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Vey bad security, reception guy jokes and says "remember, sleep on your things" with a smile on his face. You need to pay 1€ to have 6 minutes of hot water.. In a city where is always raining, at night a hot shower would feel nice. Very far from the city center, 40 minutes in metro, plus 25-30 minutes walking to the station.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

This hostel was the worst that we have stayed in our three month trip! Let's start with the worst part, there are multiple mice/rats, the bathrooms are disgusting and make the room smell terrible constantly. The cheapest option has ten beds this is still very expensive with no room to move. There is no hope of fresh air as there was a rubbish tip on one side and the fear of rats coming in from any of the other windows. Also when it rained there was a leak in the roof that saturated the floor!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I had a beatiful stay at the campside . we had a 6 man deluxe room, and there is all u need. sadly this is not the same with the other accomodations, but for this price it is ok. BUT: One of the managers from the campside was very unfriendly. and this not exceptionally on one day, he was unfriendly all the time... the other employee there were friendly and courteous. the one man was about 40-50 years old and had a bald head. this fast raging and unbalanced man didnt fit in the scene of the camp

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

it was so far out of the city center, it took really long to get there, the metro didn't run a single day we were there, don't know why, but it made everything so much more troublesome. The staff was straight up rude to the guests, i think it was kind of just his humor but i found it to be really annoying and not welcoming at all. Everything had extra costs, you couldn't even go to the bathroom for free, because the toilet paper costs extra. Won't be a next time here, that's for sure.


74%

The place is lovely and relaxing and the cabins are a really nice place to stay. However the owner can be quite rude. Other than that it was a nice stay.


100%

Very good place to stay when visiting Amsterdam. It is about 30 minutes away by public transport but you will enjoy the nature. Main hicup (it is not too bad though), the free wireless is almost non-existent...

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

这是我住过的最差的地方,定了两晚上只住了一晚就走了,受不了,没有一点可取之处!!!


51%

I would not recommend this hostel to anyone! It is far from the city center, a hassle to reach, they don't provide toilet paper, showers cost money and the water pressure is horrible. Wifi doesn't work in rooms. When we arrived at 8pm there was no one to check us in. There was a note that our cabin would be open. There was no way to lock it because we had no key. So all night my sister and I were uneasy knowing our door was open. Overall horrible experience. No savings paying 10 euro per bus.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Absolutely horrible place to stay. The horrible location aside (minimum 45 min taxi, over an hour via bus), the owner/front desk man was perhaps the rudest and most arrogant person we had met on the entire trip. I had read other reviews that had said as much, but never expected it quite to that extent. Additionally, they didn't provide sheets for our beds, and they didn't have air conditioning (and the area is hotter than in the actual city). NEVER EVER go here, literally ever.


74%

We had a very nice stay in Camping Bos! It is about one hour far from the city centre of Amsterdam but I recommend this camping for a nice holiday in the nature for a very cheap price :-) We really enjoyed it!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Even hotshowers toilet papers was priced. Wtf!


83%

Lovely place to stay if you don't mind travelling into Amsterdam.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Many additional charges that were not stated on the website. Wifi was very poor. Was a lovely setting just seemed that they were trying to make as much money as possible.


49%

The camping is over 1 hour from the city centre (40mn with the metro+25mn to walk) if you are not willing to pay 5€ for a one way bus ticket. It is written that it takes about 25mn of metro and 15mn on foot but it is not the case. The wifi is said to be available on the whole campside but it didn't work except in front of the reception. You have to pay to have warm water (1€ for 6minutes!) & the showers were clean the first day but disguting the next day! But the cabin is nice at least.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I liked it, It was as described and it was nice as whole

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

This Hostel/camping is far from the center and it looks like a Sims village. The shower cost you 1€. The only good things is the way by bike to the center because you ride throught the Bos parc.


80%

The hostel has a very nice atmosphere in the middle of the Amsterdamse Bos, the cabins are pretty and simple but it is really far from the center of Amsterdam(15min to the closest metro station and 24stops to get to central station). Another problem is that the bathrooms are out of the cabins and the water is really really cold, forcing you to pay for 6 minutes of hot water(1euro). Wifi didn't work in our rooms but it probably work on some others. Despite all that I would stay there again.


60%

I believe that the main service of this place is not a hostel service. They have a huge space and differents kind of accommodations. The kitchen is huge but is not so organized, looks like a big refectory. The bathrooms and showers usually clean. But you need to pay to get hot water from the showers. The staff is ok. The 4 bed dorm has just one socket to connect electronics, it is very difficult if you imagine that each person has at a least one cellphone to recharge.


71%

For travellers looking to explore the centrer alot Amsterdamse Bos is probably not the best place to stay. Travelling by bus or tram is easy but expensive and prices on the site are misleading. What eles is misleading is the checking in and out of the hostle on the site as we were told we would be allowed access aftrer 10 at night but 2 of our other party were told different upon arrival and were initially not allowed access. It is a shame that such a nice camp site has such rude staff.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The main guy at the desk was the most awful disgusting man I have ever met, he had no way with people or how to run a buisiness instead of us being right he was always right, it ruined my stay and I will never go back

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(64 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback