X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bostel Amsterdamse Bos Reviews

Kleine Noorddijk 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1989 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 54%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

This was our least favourite hostel of our entire interrailing trip. I would advise everyone to avoid this hostel. The man at reception was extremely rude and unhelpful. In the description it claims to be 35 minutes from Amsterdam - this is a lie! We timed it to be an hour and 30 minutes including the walk, bus and metro. You will have to spend a lot on public transport if you stay here. We didn't get to spend as long as we wanted to in the city because it was so far away. The kitchen was dirty.


77%

The only place to buy shower tokens was shop near reception, which was closed during night. If you want to take shower early in the morning or late in the evening - you should buy tokens in advance, but we, for example, spent one day in Amsterdam very long without planning and didn't buy tokens in advance, which was trouble. So it would be good to have token machine, for example, near showers. We weren't told in advance about no toilet paper in loo.


97%

so happy i stayed here. great atmosphere, price, and distance from the city.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

If you're looking for a cheap stay in Amsterdam, it's much better to stay to spend extra and stay in the centre. Really far to travel. Facilities very minimal, you have to pay one euro for a 6 minute shower, 50 cents for toilet roll. The bed in the cabin was very uncomfortable and had a lot of trouble sleeping. Also left a towel and a few personal items on the bed I was sleeping on only to find out they'd been thrown away when I got back, the older guy at reception was really unhelpful + rude

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

If you read instructions from the camp (before reservation or after r. - sent via mail by camp) and you are ready to accept them (and not to scream afterwards), it is really good place to stay - nice camp in the forest, about 40 minutes by bike to centre (metro was under reconstruction,so bike was faster then gvb bus+tram). Services in comparision to price were in good quality. I was a bit afraid before arrival, but I was nicely surprised. I can recommend.


20%

Saw the guy running the place threaten multiple people one night. AVOID AT ALL COSTS


51%

The location isn't very convenient to reach the center of Amsterdam: 1 hour and a half of walk/bus/tram! We lost money and time because of that. The cabins are not well isolated and it is very cold during the night. The fact that the shower are not free is a bad point too. The cabins are already minimalist, but moreover we have to pay to wash up.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Clean cabin and toilet facilities however very far from city centre, 20 min walk, 45 mins on bus then about 20 mins by metro into the centre. Was told there was a night bus however everyone we asked had no idea how to get to our camp site by bus after 12pm, got onto a bus and the bus driver made us get off and we had to walk 1 hour 30 mins back to campsite. Would not stay again


57%

I would just encourage everyone to get a GVB pass. I bought one for 12€ for 48 hours and you can you any blue and white bus, tram or metro. We didn't find the commute to be very difficult, even when the only metro to get out to the camp was down. Staff was friendly to us and REMEMBER TO BRING YOUR OWN TOLIET PAPER!!!!! You don't get any in the bathrooms and your own sheets unless you don't mind paying for some. It seemed to be more of a campsite for people escaping the city then travellers


77%

Great place for holidays. Amsterdam it's a lovely city to relax and see something different. However, beds had really poor mattresses. Clean camping with parking spaces. The WiFi Internet connection was poor and we were struggling to connect with. The minimarket has all the products overpriced.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Very basic as you would expect from some of the prices, however it was basically a garden shed. You have to pay 6.50 euro for bed linen, pay for toilet roll, towels, showers etc. which was understandable but bed linen, really?! The location is out of the way, good for going to the airport. One electricity outlet in the shed. Slow WiFi.


100%

Great people and a great place to camp meet new people and experience Amsterdam. showers are cheep and gas and electricity at the kitchen for no extra charge definitely going to return to this camp site again the people who are stay are great and I find that everyone will treat you the way you treat them 100% satisfied for the price you pay a real bargain but don't just read reviews go and experience it yourself

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The staff were unwelcoming, there was no loo roll and the wifi wasn't accessible in the accommodation


66%

AVOID CONTACT WITH STAFF as much as possible if you want to enjoy your stay at this place. The facilities are truly adorable, the woods are beautiful and conveniently located, but I am struggling to find words to express how awful was our experience with the staff, and how it almost ruined our stay there. They have a convenient arrangement for guests arriving after reception is closed, but I do not think this gives them the right to storm into our room the next morning shouting for a passport.


57%

Staff was very rude.


20%

They didn't return our deposit back. They told us to leave key and we did what they said but they didn't return it back. So I never go there again. And also it is too far from city.


57%

Unfriendly check in staff. 50 mins from Amsterdam (20 mins walking + 30 metro). Paid extra for toilet roll.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Terrific camping place. A nice atmosphere, rabbits everywhere around. Even staying at the hostels cabins is comfortable. There are only 4 beds for every cabin so it makes a good and not crowd space for staying. Facilities are good and staff gives all important information from the beginning. Paying 1 euro for a 6mins shower isn't that great and going to Amsterdam central takes a lot of time. But for a weekend in the camping it is totally perfect. Highly recommended!


66%

If you need a bed and you don't mind the long travel times to and away from the central Amsterdam area, Bostel Bos can work for you. If you love nature, green pastures and bike rides, Bostel Bos is exactly what you're looking for. My only gripes with this place was the location and the fact that you need to buy toilet paper, showers and towels. If going into central Amsterdam, consider looking for other hostiles in that area before booking this one, but it is worth it it, albeit inconvenient.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

When you come to this place be careful of one of the men at the front desk as he is very rude and will try to make everything as difficult as possible for you. You will be nickeled and dimed for just about everything such as towels, showers, bikes, and heating. Plus the wifi is not the best. The location is awful, it is almost not in Amsterdam and nowhere near the city life. Otherwise it's a fairly quiet and easy going place.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(78 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback