X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bostel Amsterdamse Bos Reviews

Kleine Noorddijk 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1639 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

I didn't expect a palace, but this place was awful. I arrived late and the cabin was open, because the reception was already closed. So, there were no sheets, no towels and what really freaked me out - no toilet paper. I mean, okay, it's part a hostel, part a camping, but no sheets and no toilet paper?! I couldn't get much sleep, because the staff came twice before 10 - once they wanted an ID-card, which I understood and an hour later, they wanted from us to pay.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

If your goal is to visit the center of Amsterdam this place is too far away from it. Although the small chalets are nice, clean, the camping is nice and you can even spot some rabbits wandering around. For a get away weekend or a peaceful stay this is perfect, for Amsterdam center it's not. The reception guy was kinda rude and wouldn't answer properly for directions.


77%

We had a great time here and are keen to come back for a longer period and get a whole cabin with friends. It is a bit of a way to the city but it's a lovely campsite next to a forest so is nice if you want a different kind of Amsterdam holiday. One of the men on reception was very unhelpful however, and there's a rule about having to hand keys in before 8pm if you have an early flight which was really irritating as we had paid for that night and my flight wasn't until 7am.


91%

It was nice atmosphere. I liked the forest and the fearless rabbits that live around the cabins. The nature is beautiful. Commuting to Amsterdam was easy by bus.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

was expecting a cabin by a lake, got a cabin in a grid of cabins

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Like other reviews have stated, the toilets do not provide soap or toilet paper... I've never been to a hostel/campsite that does not provide these things. Good points: popular site thus other travellers to socialise with; free wifi; use of a kitchen (stocked with equipment/appliances); beautiful location Bad points: Instructions to and free city centre are a bit confusing No soap/toilet paper Staff seem a bit edgy, you need to get on the right side of them to have positive conversation

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The only thing that may be a negative point is the distance to Amsterdam. It's like an hour to get to Centraal Station. But stil, Bostel Amsterdamse Bos is an amazing place to stay if you enjoy a calm atmosphere in the middle of nature. It's also really close to the airport.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel is about an hour away from the city via walking and the tram. The cabins are adorable, the bathroom is well cared for, the showers were very bug filled but not anyone but the woods fault. The environment was safe and gated and there was a marked path on how to get to the tram/camp ground. This place is also a 15 min direct bus ride to the airport which was amazing.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Desk staff wasn't friendly at all, sounding almost aggressive. It's cheap, but do consider getting closer to Amsterdam City Centre if that's what you're here for. Its a fine location if you don't need to see Amsterdam. It was clean and cheap. Night bus (N70) didn't get anywhere near the camping at all as was promised on the camping's map!


54%

- I asked for 4 bed Private room, they gave us a 8 bed mixed room and we slept with 2 foreign. - the stuff named Antonio, said me its impossible like I am liar but belive me guys Im not a liar. He didnt look the security cameras or any documents for this, he just say somethings that means "no no I don't believe you". + You can reserve for 4 bed private and you can go there with your 7 friend, it will be great in this unsafety place with really cheap price.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This is great Experiance to live here......its really amazing....

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

The owner and main front desk representative was very rude and very unhelpful. When you check in you have to hand in a form of ID. Many will hand in their passport. These passports are in the front for everyone to see, not locked up or secured. He also stated to not give an individual back their passport. You have to pay for sheets, showers (2 euros for 6 mins)and toilet paper. The cabins are nice for a large group who wants to stay together. However , I would not stay here again.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Altogether a very good experience. It was nice to have somewhere peaceful to return to at the end of the day, as opposed to a busy city hotel. Also, the kitchen was most useful. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Amsterdam for a few days


46%

First of all the hostel is quite farther than announced on the website, the wifi barely works, even in the reception and there is no toilet paper. Definitely not worth coming 1 hour from the center to that

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

This hostel is actually not a hostel. It's camping for family trucks. It's located pretty far away from the center of Amsterdam. You need to spend 50 minutes in one way - 35 minutes by metro and 15 minutes by hurry step. It's the most cheap way to go there. Somebody think that it's cheap, but you need to pay 2,80 euro for one way by metro, 5 euro for sheets and pillow case (+ 5 euro deposit), 1 euro for the coin to wash body with hot water - 6 minutes, 4 euro to wash clothes.


69%

They should at a minimum for health reasons have soap dispensers in the toilet facilities, especially since they do not provide toilet paper.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

you should tell us we have to pay for the showering and tell us it's " not " only 30 min by public transportation, but over one hour. And the info. should be update. the bus cost not only 2-3 euro but cost 5 euro !!!


80%

Although it is very far away, a place is quite quiet and calm. But for the price it offers it is good

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Security: It's easy to enter in the camping and there's no lockers in the rooms. Location: Simply horrible. Far away from the city. You can get to the Centraal in 30 minutes but you will need to pay daily 5 EUR in a bus (which is not included in the transport system, is a private one). Otherwise 1 hour by metro. No internet in the rooms. No toilet paper in the toilet. Rooms stink. No facilities at all, you will have to pay for everything. Pay a little bit more and get a closer hostel! :)


80%

My family were happy with the hostel, so i was happy too. ;)


(46 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback