X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Botel Zebra Reviews

PObox 2430, NL 1000CK, Oosterdok t/o 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
638 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The location is good with about 15 mins walk to the central station. We live in a twin private ensuit, the room is really really small but it is clean and cosy. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We really love the breakfast there. The only problem is : there is only ONE SOCKET in each room which is really inconvenient.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Fantastic stay 10mins from centraal!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Cute little boat near the train station and town. Very small rooms and very damp but possibly expected given it is a boat on a canal!


91%

Nothing is bad.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The Zebra Botel was a great choice for our three day visit to Amsterdam. Easy walking to transport and situated on a quiet dock, it gives a real Amsterdam experience in the Dutch maritime.tradition. Wonderful breakfast and very friendly staff. Small but cosy cabin with heating and hot water. Highly recommended.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

no complaints at all the room was comfortable, warm and had the facilities you need and at 20 euros a night it was great.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything very good, friendly staff, small but clean and functional rooms with private toilet and shower. Excellent breakfast. We recommend it to everyone.


94%

Room was tiny as expected, but nice and clean. First few hours were cold (heating was turned on after we arrived), but after that was really warm, don't worry! Breakfast was good (bread, butter, hams, cereals, even fruit and vegetable). Only disadvantage was that when we wanted to use the luggage storage when leaving, it was available only until afternoon, because the boat was closed after that. So we had to use the lockers at the Central station. Apart from that I would recommend it!


83%

Nice and cozy botel. Just around 10 min walk from Central Station and around 15 min from the city center. The host is very kind and helpful, Rooms are small (but this is a boat) so the space is limited but there were a lot of shelves so we could put our things on it.. Everything was very clean, Great breakfast, The only bad thing was that the wi fi signal was very bad or absent in our room. All in all we had a great stay there.


83%

It's the right place for a short stay. Nice room eventhough small and very nice staff. Wonderful breakfast!!!


94%

It was really good choise where to stay in Amsterdam. Price was very good, also the stuff ! Botel is around 10 min by walking to downtown - so its good. We were surprised about breakfest - was very nice!. I can recommend to everyone who will spend all day in the city. Room was small, but we count with it - boat, but clean and we had own bathroom.

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

What an experience to stay in such a small space, but in the end it all worked out very well. Good location, nice breakfast, clean rooms, what more do you want if you want to explore Amsterdam.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Hi, sorry that we do our review so late, we only started our holidays at Amsterdam and it really was a good start at Botel Zebra! The rooms are small, but very very economically "furnished" so that all our luggage fitted perfectly! Ching and Marian are very nice so you at once feel like home - you are very welcomed. you can't really stay in your room because it's really small, but the breakfast room is just great with a perfect overview of the harbour-a good place to relax... we loved it W+M

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

too small for 2 people. Beds aren't made and getting a change of towels was a small event.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Brilliant, thanks so much!

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We were a bit nervous as we didn't know what to expect on a houseboat. The staff are lovely and our private room was decent. However, the room was VERY small - so do not book if you get claustrophobic. Temperature was fine, boat does not rock. You can sit on the pier and watch the sun go down. It is about a 10 minute walk to get into the main town and train station. The steps to go into the boat are super narrow and I've heard people fall down them so be careful.


100%

Fantastic place. Friendly staff. We could leave our bags on the day of departure which was great, for free. I would recommend the boat to anyone.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Good location, nice breakfast, nice staff and the room is not the best but its worthy for the experience


94%

we felt well and comfortable. the atmosphere was geat and the Service amazing.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice and cosy botel, but not the Best for tall people :-)

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


(327 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback