X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Botel Zebra Reviews

PObox 2430, NL 1000CK, Oosterdok t/o 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
582 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very nice and cosy botel, but not the Best for tall people :-)

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Its in a cool spot about 10-15 minutes away from Centraal and Red Light district- great view. The harbor where it is docked stinks and the cabin portholes are only about a foot above the water, so you have to get used to the smell. The common area is nice, but it is closed at 11 pm, which is very early for a city like Amsterdam (especially during the long days of June). Breakfast is pretty gross and the staircases are ridiculously steep. Still a good spot to explore the city from

Owner Comment (Hide)
The portholes are exactly 4 foot above the water. Advice: do not sleep on a boat anymore.

80%

Friendly staff, good location, very nice experience

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Small rooms, but great value for money right in the middle of Amsterdam.

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

the space is tight and bad for it's prventilation. Ths staff is kind and helpful. it worth that price in total.


71%

Staff a little abrupt at first but they mean well. The illustrations in the toilet regarding sanitary disposal were a little unnecessary. Good value for money particularly as most of the time is spent around the city. Watch out for the steps! Beds very comfortable, wouldn't recommend if going as a couple as walls a little thin.

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Ten minutes walk from Central Station and in the center of Amsterdam, low price accomodation with ensuite room. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very friendly and pleasant.


80%

I really enjoyed the breakfast!

  • 28th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly staff and good breakfast in the morning. Good location, within walking distance to all major sights.


100%

very happy with all - small but cheap

  • 13th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location for train station and city centre. We stayed in double room with en suite. Shower very hot and powerful! Cabins small but ample storage space. Bunk beds quite comfy, blankets not very clean. Good breakfast, fresh with good variety. Cheng very helpful, made to feel very welcome. Good value for money would stay here again.


54%

We booked two rooms (both with toilet) in Botel Zebra. When we arrived, the woman in the botel said that we would sleep in another boat (two rooms without toilet). The other boat is quite OK but the rooms is not so confortable. Breakfast good.


86%

The breakfast starts very late; I'd day 8am is a very good time to start with it.


54%

Bunk room very tiny, dark and wet. A new but a bad experience. As expensive as London but less comfortable. Good breakfast only !

  • 20th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Second stay on this Botel so knew what to expect,or did we? Different staff from our last visit.The lady was very nice and helpful.We were given the cabin at the front of the boat.It was ok but lacked some simple maintenance jobs that would make all the difference(loose steps and drafty gaps in door etc) We had a cabin along the boat on our last stay which was better. The shower was right next to the toilet so no room to maneuver.It could & Should be better with some TLC.Breakfast was excellent

  • 28th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We love to stay in Botel Zebra. Shane was very nice with us. We recommend it. Marlene e Alex

  • 28th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I don't know her name and I forgot completeky to ask and sorry for that, but the receptionist was very nice with us. I really enjoy to meet her.

  • 23rd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff went above and beyond their duties to make our stay enjoyable.

  • 22nd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The wifi didn't worked in our room (it was available only in the saloon). However we didn't go to Amsterdam because we wanted to spend hours in the room using the internet... The location is perfect!

  • 1st Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(308 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback