X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Botel Zebra Reviews

PObox 2430, NL 1000CK, Oosterdok t/o 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
621 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

no complaints at all the room was comfortable, warm and had the facilities you need and at 20 euros a night it was great.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Everything very good, friendly staff, small but clean and functional rooms with private toilet and shower. Excellent breakfast. We recommend it to everyone.


94%

Room was tiny as expected, but nice and clean. First few hours were cold (heating was turned on after we arrived), but after that was really warm, don't worry! Breakfast was good (bread, butter, hams, cereals, even fruit and vegetable). Only disadvantage was that when we wanted to use the luggage storage when leaving, it was available only until afternoon, because the boat was closed after that. So we had to use the lockers at the Central station. Apart from that I would recommend it!


83%

Nice and cozy botel. Just around 10 min walk from Central Station and around 15 min from the city center. The host is very kind and helpful, Rooms are small (but this is a boat) so the space is limited but there were a lot of shelves so we could put our things on it.. Everything was very clean, Great breakfast, The only bad thing was that the wi fi signal was very bad or absent in our room. All in all we had a great stay there.


83%

It's the right place for a short stay. Nice room eventhough small and very nice staff. Wonderful breakfast!!!


94%

It was really good choise where to stay in Amsterdam. Price was very good, also the stuff ! Botel is around 10 min by walking to downtown - so its good. We were surprised about breakfest - was very nice!. I can recommend to everyone who will spend all day in the city. Room was small, but we count with it - boat, but clean and we had own bathroom.

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

What an experience to stay in such a small space, but in the end it all worked out very well. Good location, nice breakfast, clean rooms, what more do you want if you want to explore Amsterdam.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Hi, sorry that we do our review so late, we only started our holidays at Amsterdam and it really was a good start at Botel Zebra! The rooms are small, but very very economically "furnished" so that all our luggage fitted perfectly! Ching and Marian are very nice so you at once feel like home - you are very welcomed. you can't really stay in your room because it's really small, but the breakfast room is just great with a perfect overview of the harbour-a good place to relax... we loved it W+M

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

too small for 2 people. Beds aren't made and getting a change of towels was a small event.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Brilliant, thanks so much!

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We were a bit nervous as we didn't know what to expect on a houseboat. The staff are lovely and our private room was decent. However, the room was VERY small - so do not book if you get claustrophobic. Temperature was fine, boat does not rock. You can sit on the pier and watch the sun go down. It is about a 10 minute walk to get into the main town and train station. The steps to go into the boat are super narrow and I've heard people fall down them so be careful.


100%

Fantastic place. Friendly staff. We could leave our bags on the day of departure which was great, for free. I would recommend the boat to anyone.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Good location, nice breakfast, nice staff and the room is not the best but its worthy for the experience


94%

we felt well and comfortable. the atmosphere was geat and the Service amazing.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice and cosy botel, but not the Best for tall people :-)

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Its in a cool spot about 10-15 minutes away from Centraal and Red Light district- great view. The harbor where it is docked stinks and the cabin portholes are only about a foot above the water, so you have to get used to the smell. The common area is nice, but it is closed at 11 pm, which is very early for a city like Amsterdam (especially during the long days of June). Breakfast is pretty gross and the staircases are ridiculously steep. Still a good spot to explore the city from

Owner Comment (Hide)
The portholes are exactly 4 foot above the water. Advice: do not sleep on a boat anymore.

80%

Friendly staff, good location, very nice experience

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Small rooms, but great value for money right in the middle of Amsterdam.

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

the space is tight and bad for it's prventilation. Ths staff is kind and helpful. it worth that price in total.


71%

Staff a little abrupt at first but they mean well. The illustrations in the toilet regarding sanitary disposal were a little unnecessary. Good value for money particularly as most of the time is spent around the city. Watch out for the steps! Beds very comfortable, wouldn't recommend if going as a couple as walls a little thin.

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(322 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback