Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bothy Backpaker Hostel

  • Giron Iquitos 136, Getting there: Iquitos with Pardo St, Puno, Peru

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 690 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 690 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • JamieGordon89
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.7

Fine for a couple of nights. Clean, decent breakfast, a little hard to find - no major complaints :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Jun 2017
8.0

We stayed in a private room with ensuite. There was no toilet seat, no toilet paper and no hot water in the shower. The breakfast had the potential to be amazing but they weren't very good at replenishing the food. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helped book tours and the hostel is in a great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2017
6.3

Beds were very uncomfortable, showers were cold, staff couldn't speak any English. For one night it was okay but I would stay longer. Breakfast so far was okay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lana63
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Jun 2017
6.9

The bed was ultra comfortable and warm but the hostel itself was borderline freezing... As was the water in the shower at 11pm when I got in. However perfectly hot in the morning after letting it warm up for a few minutes! Floor of bathroom was pretty gross, dirty and a lot of hair. Sink leaked when tap turned on. Staff were friendly and helpful. Fine for just a night on the way through Puno!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • michelledinn901827
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Jun 2017
6.9

Lovely family owned hostel, we arrived late at night and they were very accomodating. Bathrooms could be cleaned more regularly, but was a great homly place to stay in Puno

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • housedeposit
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2017
10.0

We loved this hostel. The staff especially the elder gentleman was so kind and made us very welcome. Our favourite hostel so far in South america. Our first in peru i hope all are like this. Great wifi and breakfast. Perfect location. Nice common area to mingle with other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd May 2017
9.4

We stayed 3 nights in Bothy Puno. The peruan family who owns it treated us super duper nice. Location was good. just 2 blocks from the mainstreet, 15 min walk to the pear and the lake. I booked dorm beds, we got private room with priavte bathroom for the same price. The breakast was the best breakfast I ever had in hostel since 6 months. Plenty of freshbread, with avocado, cheese, jamon, marmalade and pancaces. Normaly I have to eat again after "breakfast" in hostels...not here. EXCELENT!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sbruce916398
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
9.4

Great hostel. We arrived at 8pm and the staff organised a half day tour for us and our bus on to our next destination - all for the next day. They were extremely helpful - we didn't have to lift a finger. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
8.6

Great wifi, breakfast and staff! Difficult to find the hostel, taxi drivers don't seem to know about the street (it changes from Loreto to Iquitos!!).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.1

The staff at Bothy Hostel were so accommodating. Me and my friend arrived at 6am and they offered us a bed straight away, asked if we needed any spare blankets or any advice on tours. When we had to leave early for our lake titicaca tour they made breakfast for us all and even made breakfast for us when we left at 5am for a bus. Overall it was a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.