Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bothy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Had a wonderful experience staying at Bothy!! The staff is so kind and the place is rad!! A friend and I only planned to stay the night before hiking Colca Canyon but I got sick and ended up staying 3 nights total while my friend did the trek. They were very accommodating and helped me feel comfortable in a new city by myself. Would 10/10 recomend to a friend! Also pro tip: there are 2 wifis depending on where you are in the hostel so it's always strong you just have to be on the right one!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
10.0

Pretty sweet place. The rooftop is completely open and there are five hammocks that we've been hanging out in if we aren't walking around town. Breakfast is included, which is three buns, jam and butter, also tea and coffee. We've been walking to the market at night, grabbing an avocado and a few fruits and eating that with the bread for breakfast, it's pretty convenient. Ping Pong table in the lobby, pool table (although it is in terrible shape). Four washrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
9.4

Cool Hostel with hot showers, hammocks & table tennis. Very friendly and helpfull staff and definitely worth a stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comment! The hammock area and table tennis are indeed one of the favorite places of our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Safe Travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.6

Great personal,hot water, lockers and close to Plaza de Armas. Not posible to use kitchen and breakfast was very basic, but my stay was wonderful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comment! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.9

I stayed here after being at wild rover for the weekend as I wanted something a little more chilled. As soon as I arrived the staff were absolutely lovely, so friendly and helpful. There's a cool rooftop with amazing view and really chilled vibe. When I was there the bar and hostel in general were quiet, but was just what I wanted. Security is great- buzzer to get in. Bathrooms could be improved but you get what you would expect for the price and for a couple of nights is perfectly fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comment! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us in a chilled atmosphere. Have a safe trip!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.6

Good location, allows you to walk through the town. Great value as it's so cheap and breakfast is just a little added bonus. I was on the top floor so wasn't too noisy but can imagine on the bottom floor with the bar, it can be quite loud. Hot showers but the bathrooms could do with a clean. Lovely outdoor seating. Staff are friendly and great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much about your comment. We were happy to welcome you as our guest. We are sorry about the inconvenience regarding the bathroom. Our staff is cleaning the bathrooms everyday. If you still find something uncleaned you should say it to the staff so we will clean it. There is only 1 room on the ground floor and the bar closes at least at midnight. So everyone should be able to have a relaxing sleep. Have a nice trip!

2nd Mar 2017
8.3

Nice hostel, short walk from the main square, many cheap restaurants around, bar downstairs can be lively but shuts down at midnight, nice rooftop terrace, breakfast is just bread and coffee so not all that substantive. Overall decent place to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comment about our hostel. We were very happy to have you as our guests! The bar shuts down at midnight as a respect to our guests who want to sleep. There are many tours in Arequipa which leave early in the morning and so some of our guests need some sleep. As you said we are located in the center were there are many bars and discos next to our hostel. There our guests can continue partying as long as they want. We wish you a good time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.9

Only stayed 1 night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location, but seemed very run down. Bathrooms aren't very clean. The breakfast is very basic- bread and jam and tea/coffee. No kitchen either, but Arequipa has great places to eat so wasn't too annoying! Don't think I would stay longer than 1 night. It was fine for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay at Bothy Hostel! We are really sorry for the inconvenience but we try to maintain the hostel clean all the time. As we are now in the rainy season we have to deal with this issue almost every day. Because of that it may seems to you as run down but our workers clean the property nonstop from the rain. If you aren't filled by our basic breakfast you can add for a small amount some extras as pancakes or scrambled eggs. Also we have a lot of good an cheap restaurants in our area which compensate the lack of a kitchen. Sometimes you get even cheaper to buy a menu at the restaurant. We wish you a good trip and stay safe! Bothy Team

8th Jan 2017
6.3

Only place to be if it's raining is the bar or your bed. No other dry seating. The "free" breakfast is only bread and coffee

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you verry much for your stay at the Bothy Hostel! As we are now in the rainy season we have to deal with this issues. But we now already improved because of your comment and covered the courtyard from the rain. So you are now able to stay dry at one more place. There you even can play tabletennis to enjoy your time with the other guests. The included breakfast offers bread, butter, marmelade, coffe and tea but we also offer pancakes etc. for a small extra charge. We wish you a good trip and stay safe! Bothy Team

  • ashleigh1888844
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.6

Staff were really helpful! But one of our beds was awful and the shower was cold :/

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much about your stay at the Bothy Hostel. We are sorry for the inconveniences. As you know we now have rainy season and therefore we have less solar power. As an exchange to that we use gaspower. This takes just a little bit longer till you have hot water for the shower. We wish you a nice trip and stay safe! Bothy Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.