Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bothy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.9

Only stayed 1 night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location, but seemed very run down. Bathrooms aren't very clean. The breakfast is very basic- bread and jam and tea/coffee. No kitchen either, but Arequipa has great places to eat so wasn't too annoying! Don't think I would stay longer than 1 night. It was fine for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay at Bothy Hostel! We are really sorry for the inconvenience but we try to maintain the hostel clean all the time. As we are now in the rainy season we have to deal with this issue almost every day. Because of that it may seems to you as run down but our workers clean the property nonstop from the rain. If you aren't filled by our basic breakfast you can add for a small amount some extras as pancakes or scrambled eggs. Also we have a lot of good an cheap restaurants in our area which compensate the lack of a kitchen. Sometimes you get even cheaper to buy a menu at the restaurant. We wish you a good trip and stay safe! Bothy Team

8th Jan 2017
6.3

Only place to be if it's raining is the bar or your bed. No other dry seating. The "free" breakfast is only bread and coffee

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you verry much for your stay at the Bothy Hostel! As we are now in the rainy season we have to deal with this issues. But we now already improved because of your comment and covered the courtyard from the rain. So you are now able to stay dry at one more place. There you even can play tabletennis to enjoy your time with the other guests. The included breakfast offers bread, butter, marmelade, coffe and tea but we also offer pancakes etc. for a small extra charge. We wish you a good trip and stay safe! Bothy Team

  • ashleigh1888844
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.6

Staff were really helpful! But one of our beds was awful and the shower was cold :/

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much about your stay at the Bothy Hostel. We are sorry for the inconveniences. As you know we now have rainy season and therefore we have less solar power. As an exchange to that we use gaspower. This takes just a little bit longer till you have hot water for the shower. We wish you a nice trip and stay safe! Bothy Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.0

We went at a time it wasn't very busy so there was not any atmosphere. The staff are lovely and they have nice common areas but the room was a bit cold and the shower would be hot for only a few minutes before being freezing. Breakfast menu was nice and they do have a small bar with cheap drinks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
10.0

A great place with amazing people:) There is a terrace to enjoy your free breakfast each morning, a pool table and hangout area, and a great happy hour with wonderful staff serving up specials. You can enjoy a couple of drinks without being stuck in a party place. Bothy is also located just 4 blocks from the Plaza de Armas and is very secure with a locked door and 24 hour service to help you out. Thanks guys!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
10.0

The vibe of this hostel tells you everything, friendliest hostel ever, clean and accommodating! The staff work so hard to keep the place looking beautiful, Do not forget to ask for your welcome coca pisco sour at the Bar. Highly recommend staying at bothy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

nice hostel, friendly and helpful staff, comfiest beds with 2 pillows, warm shower, all its clean, good location we recommend a lot because is cheap place and nice place to meet other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Oct 2016
7.7

One of the staff members does not speak english, which makes it a bit difficult during check in. Also, you do have to pay for a better breakfast than bread with marmelade, which is pretty usual in peru. But the lady making it was really kind and the hostel overall was great! Definitely recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
24th Oct 2016
8.6

Great hostel, arrived during a power cut but was fun and interesting! Has all the facilities you need! Breakfast is basic but you can buy more. Pool table is really bad! Very poorly made, so isn't that fun. Yeah I guess I would book here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
7.1

Not too happy with our stay. we booked a private and arrived later than expected to discover they SOLD OUR ROOM. The solution was us sleeping in an empty dorm. Fine. However, they then decided that it was fair to charge us private price! we got moved to a private the next night next to the loud street. Free breakfast is 3 pieces maximum of stale bread and watered down jam. You can pay for breakfast but they use way too much oil. A few easy things to improve hostel. EXCELLENT advice for Colca.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.