Hostelworld.com

Bountang Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 5.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 5.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.4
Bountang Hotel Located at Old Market River side Road, , Vang Vieng.
Bountang Hotel
Laos
Vang Vieng 01000 Old Market River side Road
65% 150
18.9285331 102.4482065
Bountang Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mralexjg
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2016
5.7

Good location. Friendly staff. Couldn't lock the door but there are "lockers" under the beds. Aircon worked but they wouldn't change it from 28 degrees! Also the rooms aren't actually in the hotel. They're across the street

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Apr 2016
7.1

I booked a 5 bed dorm online but this doesn't exist. Dorms are also not in the hotel. They are in vang vieng backpackers across the road. They put me in a 10 bed dorm and tried to charge me 50,000 kip (the price of the non existent 5 bed dorm). After a long discussion I managed to get them to match price for the 10 bed dorm at 32,000 without breakfast and 40,000 with. The staff were quite rude. The hostel is fine. Clean, spacious, nice breakfast, hot showers downstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Mar 2016
8.6

We got a 5 bed private room which was spotless, bathroom was clean and we had an amazing view of the mountains from our balcony. Breakfast was great! Receptionist was friendly, just needs to work on his personal space/professionalism, came into our room uninvited on a number of occasions and acted like a child when we asked for some privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Mar 2016
6.6

Would be a fabulous hotel if the staff knew what they were doing!! The manager is the only one who has a clue about the place, receptionists (who are never there) tried to charge us extra for our room AND transport. Staff are very unprofessional, received very bad customer service. Which is a shame as the hotel is nice, the room is great with a really good view. However, there were a lot of ants in my bed and someone's hair all over the pillows - obviously not been cleaned!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
7.1

Nice quiet hostel while I was there. Slightly off the Main Street but only a few minutes walk away. Nice showers and bathroom area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • keiraschulz
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2016
8.0

Loved the environment and location being just a little bit out of the main strip by the river. Awesome restaurants nearby. Book on hostel world because it's cheaper. Beds were pretty bad though. Would come again for price and free whiskey! Haha

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2016
4.9

This hostel is run by the rudest people, rooms were ready 2.5 hours after they said check in should be. The owner also never takes it off hostel world even if it's full so many people showed up having booked on hostel world and were told they could sleep on the floor or stay somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2016
3.7

Booked 2 beds in y bed dorm 4 months in advance. Upon arrival, not available! Then was told i bed in 2 different dorms. Then 2 beds in girls only dorm, until a woman complained. Then 2 beds in a male only dorm which had 3 woman. Then drunk guy in dorm vomits and pees on girls backpack after drinking the free whiskey offered nightly, iresponsible. Drunk locked out of dorm and then staff let him back in. Showered at 6am, staff woke up just to make sure I paid the dollar for the towel, Really?

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2016
3.4

Extremely disappointed. We booked the hotel. Upon arrival sent to hostel across the street. Manager was insulting guests. Manager broke into our room with a knife, removed all our belongings (passports & phones) and left them outside in the common area under a blanket. Our room had been sold for a higher price. We received no apology or even a logical explanation. Disorganized and mixed up laundry. Took away free breakfast after we complained...but the showers were pretty good..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2016
6.0

I would like to mentioned that your place nice you booked is not a hotel... It's a backpacker vangvieng with no views at all like your advertise. You need to infirm clear about it and the customers wouldn't be disappointed it. Also make clear why breakfast is included but last morning no. Nobody can get that bits. Thanks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.