Hostelworld.com

Bountang Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 5.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 5.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.3
Bountang Hotel Located at Old Market River side Road, , Vang Vieng.
Bountang Hotel
Laos
Vang Vieng 01000 Old Market River side Road
66% 158
18.9285331 102.4482065
Bountang Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
8.3

It too bad to see all the negative reviews about this hostel. I found the family who runs the place to be very lovely, the breakfasts were amazing (I highly recommend the omelette), the rooms were quite spacious, and the air con was decent. Also, the location was great because it was off on a side street, but also a short walk to everything in town. Probably the two major downsides of this place are that its not too much of a social hostel, and the water in the bathrooms wasn't always working.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2016
7.1

We stayed at Bountang Hotel in an 8 bed mixed dorm. There was a bathroom in the room, which was convenient, and there were more bathrooms downstairs. Electrical outlets were provided, though not the most conveniently located. Overall, it was a pretty standard hostel. The only major concern was that there weren't any keys for the door. THe girls who arrived before us said that the staff needed to jimmy the lock open with a screwdriver when they arrived.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st May 2016
6.9

This hostel was good value and the staff were friendly although some of them seemed genuinely perplexed during any money exchange. The room was fine, toilet in the dorm, each bed has a light and plug socket. I think my pillow was actually a sandbag used in the Vietnam war but otherwise I can't complain

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mralexjg
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2016
5.7

Good location. Friendly staff. Couldn't lock the door but there are "lockers" under the beds. Aircon worked but they wouldn't change it from 28 degrees! Also the rooms aren't actually in the hotel. They're across the street

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
6.0

We booked a 5 bed mixed dorm which we were surprised they even had because it's an odd number. When we arrived they did not have a 5 bed dorm and instead put us in a 8 bed dorm. They still wanted to charge us the same amount for the larger dorm. After arguing with them we finally got them to agree for us to pay the lower amount for the larger dorm except we didn't get a free breakfast. The experience otherwise was fine. The water in our room didn't work so we had to shower downstairs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.1

If you're worried about getting robbed this probably isn't the hostel for you. You don't get a key so you can't lock the door ( if you do someone has to break into it with a screwdriver). The "lockers" left a gap big enough to squeeze a fully grown German sherpard into so forget your padlock. Was fairly cheap and the staff were really nice. All in all apart from the chance of getting fleeced of everything you own it's not a bad place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Apr 2016
7.1

I booked a 5 bed dorm online but this doesn't exist. Dorms are also not in the hotel. They are in vang vieng backpackers across the road. They put me in a 10 bed dorm and tried to charge me 50,000 kip (the price of the non existent 5 bed dorm). After a long discussion I managed to get them to match price for the 10 bed dorm at 32,000 without breakfast and 40,000 with. The staff were quite rude. The hostel is fine. Clean, spacious, nice breakfast, hot showers downstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Mar 2016
8.6

We got a 5 bed private room which was spotless, bathroom was clean and we had an amazing view of the mountains from our balcony. Breakfast was great! Receptionist was friendly, just needs to work on his personal space/professionalism, came into our room uninvited on a number of occasions and acted like a child when we asked for some privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Mar 2016
6.6

Would be a fabulous hotel if the staff knew what they were doing!! The manager is the only one who has a clue about the place, receptionists (who are never there) tried to charge us extra for our room AND transport. Staff are very unprofessional, received very bad customer service. Which is a shame as the hotel is nice, the room is great with a really good view. However, there were a lot of ants in my bed and someone's hair all over the pillows - obviously not been cleaned!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
7.1

Nice quiet hostel while I was there. Slightly off the Main Street but only a few minutes walk away. Nice showers and bathroom area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.