Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Boutique Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.3
Boutique Backpackers Located at 87 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
Boutique Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH2 4SD 87 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh
64% 223
55.9493560 -3.2100141
Boutique Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jmlotilla466
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
3.4

Beds are uncomfortable. Staff are too noisy at night. Place is dirty and disorderly. Except for the location, there is nothing good about this hostel. If you can avoid it, find another hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
3.4

The only positive thing that I could take from my stay at the boutique hostel is that the location was semi-central. Otherwise, it was a bit of a dive. In fact, the words 'similar to a drug den' pop to mind (and that is from someone who has never even visited such a place). I was also extremely unimpressed with the security; on one evening, I returned to a wide open door and it seemed as though my suitcase had been tampered with... Unfortunately, this is not somewhere I would recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
4.3

Security: all doors only have code locks. Came back one day to find the door to our room wide open Location: the one positive thing, but you will hear buses all night Staff: staff were friendly enough, reception doesn't open until 10.30am Atmosphere: great for banjo enthusiasts Cleanliness: dirty, smelly, damp, grim. Toilets / bathrooms are a bit damaged VFM: If it was free to stay here I would give it 3/5 Facilities: I think there was a toaster somewhere

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
6.0

If there is a hostel that needs refurbishment this one is it. The place is dilapidated. There is absolutely no personal space available. People were sitting in the staircase to use their mobiles. But, I have to hand it to the staff, they were extremely friendly and helpful. 20 minutes walk from the bus and train stations. A little closer to the castle up on the hill. The only salvation is the price is right.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
5.7

The bathroom really smell dump and is not very clean a little disappointed

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
7.7

When I think of this hostel I think of: 1. A good location, just outside the city center, with only moderate night time noise. 2. The dead spider squished on the wall next to the head of my bed. 3. Soggy rugs outside the shower stalls 4. A noon check-out time, which proved quite nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.3

Staff are really helpful & nice. Good value for money. Great location!! Mattresses actually the comfiest I've ever slept on in a hostel. It's a cheap hostel though so expect to be getting a cheap hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.1

a lovely place. great location. good staff. happy to stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
6.9

The best thing with the hostel was the price. A saturday everything was fullboojed and only 50£+ rooms were available but boutique still had low price. The hostel got all basic things you want. Rooms are ok, the staff is very relaxed. It's a bit dirty but still ok. The kitchen is however unhealthy. If you are not picky it's a pricy worthy hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
6.6

I liked the staff here because they took me in when no one did when it was a busy place. The location is right next to waverly place. Only issue is that this place is so old and I dont think they even clean the shower. The beds were lumpy and the pillows were quite small. Not a young atmosphere. But it teaches you that you dont need a clean place, just a place to sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.