Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Boutique Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.7
Boutique Backpackers Located at 87 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
Boutique Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH2 4SD 87 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh
66% 210
55.9493560 -3.2100141
Boutique Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.1

a lovely place. great location. good staff. happy to stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
6.9

The best thing with the hostel was the price. A saturday everything was fullboojed and only 50£+ rooms were available but boutique still had low price. The hostel got all basic things you want. Rooms are ok, the staff is very relaxed. It's a bit dirty but still ok. The kitchen is however unhealthy. If you are not picky it's a pricy worthy hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
6.6

I liked the staff here because they took me in when no one did when it was a busy place. The location is right next to waverly place. Only issue is that this place is so old and I dont think they even clean the shower. The beds were lumpy and the pillows were quite small. Not a young atmosphere. But it teaches you that you dont need a clean place, just a place to sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
5.4

The staff was great, but the place s very old and not very clean or comfortable. The toilet barely flushed, bathroom was dark, shower was poor, lockers didnt work, WiFi was slow, but the location was decent, thiugh not on the Royal Mile, still convenient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.1

Great hostel. They welcomed us with free beer and the staff was so friendly. Even better- they had an adorable dog. The staff was very helpful and overall I highly recommend for anyone traveling to Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
10.0

Was a nice hostel, the location was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would happily stay there again if need be in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
4.3

This was probably the worst hostel I have stayed in. It was filthy, smelt like cigarette smoke and old wet socks. They had a dog that would growl at you whenever you walked in. There were always a group of guys (not sure if they worked there or were just hanging around) that would stare at you and make you feel uncomfortable when you were in there. The bathroom was horrible, broken tiles and dirt/hair all over the floor. The bedroom stank, and the beds dirty. Would not recommend to anyone

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
3.7

I understand you get what you pay for however I have gone to much cheaper hostels with much in terms of upkeep then here. First of all I wasn't sure if it was a hostel or a place where actual individuals were living regularly. There seemed to be random people walking around that had the codes to EVERY room and weren't actually traveling. Secondly, the bathrooms were in a destitute state and the cleaning process elsewhere was minimal, if at all. It was a one-night stay and I got out promptly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
6.9

Fantastic staff , good central location location . Secure lockers in the room . Free wifi , Linen was clean, duvets had a a bad feet smell . No pillows

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th May 2016
9.1

The place is located in the best place possible. Close to everything, but not in the middle of the crowd. The place is clean and the staff is friendly. But the fact that they have some long-term guests can make the environment uncomfortable sometimes. Anyway, would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.