Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Boutique Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.5
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.5
Boutique Backpackers Located at 87 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
Boutique Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH2 4SD 87 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh
58% 253
55.9493560 -3.2100141
Boutique Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.6

Not the cleanest hostel or the comfiest bed but I thought the hostel had a really nice atmosphere. Staff were really friendly and laid back and the hostel is in a great location, in new town but a short walk to the royal mile.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
2.0

Got a mail from the boutique backpackers that they cannot accommodate me because of some error in their system. Did not received a reply from hostel world and neither the money has been returned to me

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
8.0

The staff was very helpful and nice. They were very accommodating and welcoming. The people in the hostel were also very sweet, inviting me out with them and showing me around the city! The facilities could of been a bit more put together but it definitely is good for the price! Thanks boutique backpackers for helping me enjoy my stay in Edinburgh!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Oct 2016
3.7

Lockers jammed and many were broken. All doors have a security code meaning anyone who has stayed at the hostel can access. Bunks poor quality - sway and creak, meaning that whenever either person top or bottom gets in or out of bed the other will wake up. The shower is cramped, covered with mildew, generally unclean, with hair on the floor. No room to change without touching the walls which were sticky. Noise from the street is high. Decor old and dirty. Would probably fail inspection.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2016
2.6

Security: All doors only secured by codes, so anybody (e.g. previous guests) can enter any room. Location: Not too far from the centre, but room was facing the main street, so extremely loud. Staff: Contrary to the stated times, reception wasn't open in the morning, so I couldn't leave any luggage. Atmosphere: Non-existent. Cleanliness: Filthy, especially the (one and only) bathroom. Value: None, other than a place to stay. Facilities: Beds, kitchen and 1 bathroom.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
4.0

I was brave (silly) enough to stay 4 nights here due to there been absolutely nowhere else in Edinburgh. The 4 bed dorm with an en suite wasn't too bad- the beds seem as though they are about to fall apart and rattle and creek with every movement, the general condition of the rooms, bathrooms, stairs etc. is pretty horrid. Hot tip book well in advance when going to Edinburgh!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2016
4.0

The atmosphere was terrible!! other than a filthy kitchen area with two tables there was no area to socialize and hang out. The door in my room didn't automatically shut so alot of the residents would leave it slightly ajar to save them the effort of typing in a code to enter... there was one toilet and one shower on each floor. One shower was blocked, the other one had a broken door and shower head holder. the floor had broken tiles with holes between them. NEVER going back!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
4.0

The place was filthy, facilities inadequate and unsafe. Would be shut down immediately after any inspection. Felt more like a refugee camp than a hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jmlotilla466
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
3.4

Beds are uncomfortable. Staff are too noisy at night. Place is dirty and disorderly. Except for the location, there is nothing good about this hostel. If you can avoid it, find another hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
3.4

The only positive thing that I could take from my stay at the boutique hostel is that the location was semi-central. Otherwise, it was a bit of a dive. In fact, the words 'similar to a drug den' pop to mind (and that is from someone who has never even visited such a place). I was also extremely unimpressed with the security; on one evening, I returned to a wide open door and it seemed as though my suitcase had been tampered with... Unfortunately, this is not somewhere I would recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.