X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Brados Backpackers Reviews

34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
114 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I have travelled around Australia for a year now and stayed at many different hostels and brados is by far the best one! it really is my home away from home, I have meet the best bunch of people here the atmosphere is always amazing if you want to go party all night or even have a nice chilled night watching movies in the tv room. the staff are excellent and make everyone feel very welcome to the family life. I recommend this hostel to all off my traveller friends and always will!!

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to meet people, staff are helpfull and friendly. The hostel is kept to a good standard of cleanlines. Amazing location so perfect if you like going out.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I found this a great hostel to stay in, the people I met were friendly and there was a buzzing atmosphere. The staff were helpful and there was even toast and cereal in the morning which I found was good as some hostels don't do that. I would definitely stay there again. Phil 22 from England

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

if you like to get drunk, make mess and noise this is the place for you. although placed good, close to a train. this hostel offers an amazing sound system and a party atmosphere almost everyday. there's not much toilets and showers and the ones that exist looking terrible. the sink most of the time containing unwashed dishes and therefore there's no plates or cutlery available.


31%

This hostel was disgusting!! It smelted really bad there, staff members were smelling like old alcohol.. You couldnt sleep there because it was too noisy.. The front door was open all day long.. Just dont stay at this hostel!! Or well if you dont care about sleeping but you just want to party all the time, then this's your place. Thank god I stayed there 'only' 3 nights.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

There for 5 days (the minimum during new years). The staff were meh, loud partiers, they hardly cleaned room probably because people in the room had their stuff everywhere. Had to put my own sheets on the bed, no blanket just sheets. Bathroom had no curtain for the windows. No soap for hands. Probably the dirtiest kitchen out of 2 other hostels i've been in Sydney. Even though it was properly supplied, Very lazy partying backpackers there. Probably because the workers were loud and crazy.


29%

I beg of you do not stay here. I wish there was a rating less than very poor. The pictures on their page are extremely deceiving. The rooms were most likely cleaned in the last millenium. The staff is clueless. Don't be surprised if your bed gets taken when you are out of the room. If you love to party hard then please stay here because they have that atmosphere and some. On the weekends don't expect to get any sleep as they like to play loud music into the the early morning.


34%

Could not get any sleep, kitchen was a mess. Random people could walk in to hostel at any time of the day including the early morning which they often did.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Worst place i have stayed in my life. Bad cleaniness/staff/lodgers. rats in the kitchen, fridge smell like a dead corspe,cockroaches everywhere,no soap in shared bathroom

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Only stayed one night so can't give an in depth review but it was perfect for what I needed. Bed was comfy, staff friendly and the facilities sounded like they were great! Will definitely stay here again when I am back in Sydney.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitely my favorite hostel in Australia!!!! Loved the people and atmosphere. staff were soooo friendly and helpful!!! I had such a great time! My room was clean and also had wifi. Kitchen was also clean and great place to hang out with other travelers. I'd recommend brados to all my friends!!!!

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great Hostel! Amazing atmosphere! So easy to meet people due to the layout of the building and nature of the hostel! Staff are very informative and helpful! Free breakfast, free wifi, free drinks and entry to kings cross clubs. Was here a few months ago and the hostel has refurbished all common areas, and they now have professional cleaners. Much improved. Will be back again for sure!

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Good start to make a few friends because of the location near many bars and clubs. Breakfast was toast and cereals with milk and coffee.. I always got enough food.. the nights were quiet enough to sleep (in my opinion) and the staff was okay

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Would not house livestock in this hostel, albeit staff were nice people.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

so dirty, dirty beds, rooms and the bathrooms were awful


54%

The rooms in this hostel are not clean at all! There is a lot of stuff lying around from previous stayers and it seems like the bathroom in the room hardly gets cleaned. The shared bathrooms on each floor are ok. The location is good for tourists but its in Kings Cross...

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Perhaps it would be better if there were less cockroaches and condoms lying about the room

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Definitely not the best hostel...Rooms are ok, but kitchen and bathrooms are very dirty. I've been there for 5 nights and they had never cleaned the toilette on my floor, disgusting!!! Staff isn't so friendly and the hostel gets very noisy during the week ends (till 3am but for some could be fine).


77%

Bit of a mixed bag. The hostel is really lively, there is always something going on and the long stay guests are friendly and welcoming however if you're not looking for somewhere so boisterous and social I'd give it a wide birth. Not for everyone. They do seem to be on top of the cleaning however I did see a lot of bugs so perhaps they're missing something. I'd recommend it if you're looking for a good time and an introduction to Sydney's social life. I struggled to find it on arrival.


60%

The staffs are friendly and approachable. However, the room has leftovers drinks from the previous or current people who are staying over at the dorm rooms, and smells bad due to those leftover drinks.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback