Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brighton Youthful Hostel.....by the Sea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
3.1

The hostel is not secure and the reception does not work 24h per day as informed. There is no one place which we could leave our bags and personal things secure. The are no toilet enough. The hostel is dirty, the kitchen is small and is not permitted using it after 21h. The internet wifi does not work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
8.3

Without a doubt I recommend this hostel. The staff and the treatment they give you is simply fantastic. It's not expensive, well located and with a lot of facilites.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
3.4

Very dirty, cramped and not at all like pictures advertised. Toilets were hideous and barely big enough to fit into. Bunk beds were stacked 3 high and 6 beds were fit into a shoebox room, leaving very little space remaining, e.g. to put down bags, sit down, etc. Also sheets were very dirty and are most certainly infested with bed bugs--have the bites all along my back to prove it. Tons of hidden costs--e.g. extra 2.5% to pay by card (which was NOT advertised anywhere).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
2.6

This place is more like a homeless home, than a hostel, and the people that lives here is not nice at all. I had two of them in my room, they were so dirty and disrespectful, they arrived they played music and videos while I and other people were sleeping l, hadn't their phone in silence. Toilets are so smelly and dirty, and the shower as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
25th Jun 2017
5.7

The staff were friendly, but apparently the reception isn't 24/7 as stated in the description. Breakfast starts at 9:30 and ends at 10 which is quite late. The bathrooms don't contain soap, so I would avoid physically touching most door handles. It's what you expect for the price you pay. Probably wouldn't stay there again. The place just feels a bit dead.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
4.0

Assaults, violence and outburst of verbal abuse! This place is dominated by long term residents who are not managed by the hostel manager. Lots of lack of boundaries and poor management. This place is not very safe and there is a lack of duty of care to guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
5.1

The room (a six-bed dorm) and the hostel in general were not very clean. The whole property felt quite run down. The breakfast (included with the room rate) was a bad joke. I paid much less the following night for a much better experience in the YHA hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
5.1

I've paid a security deposit and was supposed to pay the amount left when I arrived at the hostel. However, they've charged my card with the amount left without noticing me. I was told that the amount will return to my account in 7 days, but I don't think it's fair as I wasn't told about this at the time of the booking. And to be worse, they charged me with a different hostel name than the one I booked. I called the hostel to speak about this and the receptionist had no idea of what was going on

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
27th Mar 2017
8.0

Big kitchen plenty of common areas. only a few mins walk to the beach. Good place to stay for a weekend or a week. No lockers and a few people had things go missing. long term guests are nice and make you feel welcome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2017
5.4

Had a weird vibe, rooms were not clean, bed was terible but down stairs facilities were great. Close to beach, but long walk to brighton centre

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.