Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brighton Youthful Hostel.....by the Sea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
4.0

Assaults, violence and outburst of verbal abuse! This place is dominated by long term residents who are not managed by the hostel manager. Lots of lack of boundaries and poor management. This place is not very safe and there is a lack of duty of care to guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
5.1

The room (a six-bed dorm) and the hostel in general were not very clean. The whole property felt quite run down. The breakfast (included with the room rate) was a bad joke. I paid much less the following night for a much better experience in the YHA hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
5.1

I've paid a security deposit and was supposed to pay the amount left when I arrived at the hostel. However, they've charged my card with the amount left without noticing me. I was told that the amount will return to my account in 7 days, but I don't think it's fair as I wasn't told about this at the time of the booking. And to be worse, they charged me with a different hostel name than the one I booked. I called the hostel to speak about this and the receptionist had no idea of what was going on

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
27th Mar 2017
8.0

Big kitchen plenty of common areas. only a few mins walk to the beach. Good place to stay for a weekend or a week. No lockers and a few people had things go missing. long term guests are nice and make you feel welcome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2017
5.4

Had a weird vibe, rooms were not clean, bed was terible but down stairs facilities were great. Close to beach, but long walk to brighton centre

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
4.6

Though it sits in a good/ accessible location just a straight bus ride away from Brighton center the hostel itself was dirty and overpriced for its face value. Our toilet was broken in the first room we got placed in so we were kindly upgraded to a larger space and we were told the toilet worked.. it didn't. So, we had to use the public restrooms that were absolutely horrendous. My bed was absolutely the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on and my friends all agree.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
2.0

Me robaron la tablet y mis gafas de sol, no se si los mismos huéspedes o el equipo de staff mientras limpiaba la habitación fueron los ladrones, respecto al hostel en las habitaciones no hay lockers, me abrieron la mochila para encontrar la Tablet y las gafas, las camas son ruidosas, la gente que reside en el hostel muchos son gente alcohólica y sin trabajo o con problemas mentales, pocos viajeros, el peor hostel que he estado en mi vida, tampoco esta en zona céntrica, no lo recomiendo por nada.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
9.4

friendly staff,good location in a quiet street only 5 minutes walk from seaside...!!! good facilities and cleaners always in action...!!! Recommended...!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
8.6

Great location , clean rooms , you should watch your possessions because the lockers in the room are reserved even the locker that have my bed number .however the hostel was great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
3.1

This hostel was awful. Avoid at all costs. It claims to be close to the center of Brighton but it was over a 45 minute walk. Rooms were covered in dust, wifi didn't work, and the bathrooms were so unclean we all held it for our entire stay. Even immediately after they were cleaned, the bathrooms were still unusable. Overall the rooms were disgusting. I almost cut my foot on a rusty nail sticking up from the floorboards. Don't ruin the lovely city of Brighton by staying in this dump.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.