Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brisbane Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Mar 2017
8.9

Great location, super close to boundary street (great restaurants), 10 minutes to south bank (beautiful river walk with restaurants and the streets beach!), and only 20 or so minutes across the river to the CBD. Awesome staff (especially Nic!)! The atmosphere was good, maybe a bit too good if you value a good nights sleep and the smoking table down below gets rowdy. Pool area was nice, bar had good deals, and the wifi wasn't cheap and fast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Mar 2017
8.0

Pretty good hostel! Friendly and helpful staff; when a drunk British guy filled our sink with puke the poor receptionist came right away to clean it! Only problem was no AC, and only two fans. If you're on the top bunk you'll die of heat! Seriously, choose a bottom bunk lol! Other than that it was good place to stay, and free shuttles to transit centre and southbank!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Mar 2017
7.4

One of our favourite hostels in Australia due to the atmosphere! Social but not too much of a party atmosphere. However a lot of the people at the hostel stay there long term but we didn't mind this. Only complaint is that the rooms are too hot due to no air con at this time of year. The staff were excellent and we'd definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Feb 2017
6.6

Stayed in the hostel for 2 nights. Great staff at reception, very helpful and willing to answer questions. Found the hotel to be safe, access cards are required to get into the rooms which is very good. Lockers are in a safe space as well. Great location as well. Only negative about the place is the cleanliness of it. Bar area just didn't smell clean, the shower and the basin in our dorm was not clean and our sheets did not smell clean. But otherwise, value for money at the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
3.1

Really dirty room, hasn't been cleaned at all during my stay!! Staff at reception not helpful- booked the airport shuttle there, because they said it's convenient, it didn't showed up!! Would not recommend this hostel, literally the worst I've been to in OZ.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
7.7

Party hostel with too many rules

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alixpenn
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Great atmosphere at this hostel, good value for money, I stayed in the 8 bed mixed dorm, and there were never more than 4 people in at one time. I was there 3 nights and enjoyed playing in the pool competition, kitchen facility is good, although could do with more knives/chopping boards, etc. The swimming pool was clean and nice. The bar is relatively cheap, jugs of beer are $11 between 5 and 6, when it's happy hour, and $15 normally. I enjoyed my stay here and will be back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.4

Over all the place is pretty good. The staff can be hit or miss as far as attitude goes. They "threw out" my food despite it having a date from the day before "clean out day" labeled as the day put into the fridge. It was all still in my bags completely intact but i had to retreated it from garbage bags in the back fridge area. As for cleanliness the staff tried really hard to keep the place clean but it is in need of an update. THEY HAVE A NO BYO POLICY ON ALCOHOL, BE WARNED!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Perfect West End location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
5.4

So the staff range from extremely helpful to completely incompetent its a luck of the draw to which member is behind the desk. When I first arrived I was put in the wrong room, They have a bullshit policy on cooking utensils where you need to exchange your room card, and I was given the wrong room key back. To which they just gave me a new one which raises a security question as to who had taken my room card. READ THIS PART! YOU CANNOT BRING YOUR OWN ALCOHOL INTO THE HOSTEL BE WARNED!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.