X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Britannia on William Reviews

253 William Street, Northbridge 6003, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
577 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

This place is all about location! It's in a cool neighbourhood, close to many restaurants, bars, nightclubs, etc. Also 5 min walking to the city center. The bathroom was really clean but the building and sheets were really really old.. our bed was noisy. Staff was friendly!


51%

The single room stunk of cigarettes, no effort to put some air fresh in the room ,the pillow if you could call it that was old and flat . Would they be happy using the pillows provide , no. So why put them in the room ??? , I arrived at 10 pm and all the bin tour out the out the hostel were over flowing with food stuff , good look to walk in to a hostel ... The French guy at reception was helpful ..but won't stay there again

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

lGreat location, easy to access public transport with lots of interesting places to visit near by. Loved the interesting retro shops, short walk to the museum and art gallery, coffee places, Kakulas Bros for interesting food and numerous Vietnames cafes to be found along William Street. Staff very helpful and run " a tight ship" with regard to security. Would love to see the dining room chairs/tables up-graded.


63%

Big hostel with many rooms, but dirty,management not good


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
54%

Unbelievable how rude hostels can be. Been to a lot of hostels in Australia and These one was by far the worst one. Facilities are alright but staff is rude and not helpful. They even complained about me because I asked them if its possible to check in earlier. Good location rooms are alright.


83%

Clean hostel. Friendly staff.


37%

awful! Run down place with unfriendly management! Administrative( backpackers themselves) are fine, but the permanent stuff is rude, unfriendly and irritable! Rude posters addressed to the guests are on the wals. Guests are very nice, normal relaxed people. No airconditioner! NEVER AGAIN!

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

The staff was unpleasant, the room was small and smelly , it looked like a prison cell. The bathroom and kitchen was ok, no more. We had twin beds instead of a double bed. Would not stay there again


89%

A paradise for backpackers on tigh budget.kitchen good , clean and conducive.

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

good hostel, amazing staff and perfect location


29%

We didn't even stay in the room after being given the key to a room someone was already asleep in. There was a spider in the second room we were shown to and the staff refused to get rid of it for us. Walked around perth in the middle of the night and only went back to use Internet so we could find somewhere else to stay. We sat in the hall to do this. We checked in at 3am and checked out again at half 5 and when asked if everything was ok we said no but the staff didn't seem bothered.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Only stayed here one night. It was good that reception is open 24 hours a day as I took the red eye flight into Perth. Location is great. Right in the heart of Northbridge. However right next to clubs so outside, it does get quite noisy. Whilst staff upon check in was fine, the lady working at check out was demeaning. Cleanliness is what was expected for a hostel.


71%

Facilities are little old But quiet good management by steps And common manners are very good Hope I have chance to stay here again

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Clean bathrooms, average rooms, kitchen crowded (there are many many rooms), expensive wi-fi, good location.


66%

it was good for only few nights. its a bit sad that it looks like a chail...there many space for some colors and ideas!! anyway it was okay :)

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Very noisy hostel, inside and outside the property. Could hardly get to sleep until 4am most days. Very unreasonable, unprofessional and disrespectful Asian manager that annoyed me on so many occasions.

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Of course i spent small money for this stay so didnt expect 5 star hotel service. A chinese lady at the reception did not know How i could solve wireless problem although they charged $3 per hr. She shouted at me when i asked how i logged in and out and repeated she doesnt know about computer. Hmmm nothing to say...very disappointed overall...

  • 15th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place to stay, reasonably priced, lovely staff. Was really only there to sleep so can't really comment on the atmosphere.


31%

This is by far the worst and most disgusting hostel we have ever stayed in, the building should be condemned. The price is an absolute joke. Our private room had holes in the floor and a carpet that looked like it had been taken from the bottom of the ocean. If you are considering this hostel unless you have been sleeping rough for the past 6 months, go elsewhere.

  • 21st Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

backpacker is all good ,room and kitchen is tidy and cleanliness is good ,the location is excellent .

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(354 results)


View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback