X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

British North American Internship Program Reviews

1 University Plaza, Brooklyn, NY 11201, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
157 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Wonderful place in Brooklyn, great location. The staff was great, the rooms and bathrooms we're clean and the campus was big with a very nice courtyard.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It's a good hostel, well located with a subway station right around the corner, DeKalb Av - Q Line which takes you right to coney island or central park in the blink of an eye, a McDonald's and a 7-eleven nearby too (and it's safe to go in the middle of the night). The security staff and the hostel staff are very friendly and helpful. The restrooms could use a little improvement, but in average it's a good place to go. You're going to enjoy NYC, not the hostel's facilities so it's good.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was my first time staying here and I'm glad I tried it. Check in was fast and hassle-free. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and so were the common bathrooms. Overall, my experience was very pleasurable.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It's very spacious and lots of place to put stuff in . It comes with a fridge and microwave and a safe. The subway stop is right outside and takes you to the city in 20 minutes. Rooms and bathrooms were clean.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great place! just right across the subway. safe and quiet place. wonderful staff!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice location with a beautiful courtyard. Great way to meet other people.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very inexpensive with a great friendly atmosphere.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

I don't like this hotel at all

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The place was great for what it was. It's a budget-friendly place that's very accessible. There's always lots of people but that's to be expected. The rooms and bathrooms were clean.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bahrain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Never ever again would we ever stay in this place! Don't even do it to save money people! Terrible place with cockroaches everywhere ! The bedrooms are horribly small with peoples mess everywhere! No bins in room so everyone's food was there from weeks ago! Don't get me started on the toilets ! Public toilets are better in the middle of a homeless neighbourhood!i would not pay 10 a night to stay here! The location is not safe as we were told to avoid walkin at night! Very scary place! Don't doit


86%

I had the greatest time. Security is 24/7, staff is nice and i would choose BNAIP again.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A good location, several metrostations nearby and easy to get anywhere in Manhattan. Also lots of stores, Brooklyn Flea, Atlantic Center, Prospect Park etc within a walking distance. Good value for money: room had enough of space, service was nice and everything went smoothly. Bathroom was a bit messy, but of course it's the customers to blame for that mostly; it seemed that the bathroom was cleaned regularly. All in all a nice basic hostel, price was pretty reasonable for a location that good.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The rooms were ok for the priced payed ( one of the cheapest options in New York ) but the common bathroom facilities where in very poor conditons. The toilet cabins didn't have a lock on the door, and what is more, the doors where small enough so that one could see outside throught the slit ( or someone could see inside ). I don't know about New York culture but I like to have some privacy when I have a number two.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location and excellent secure building. Only downsides were the staff not really having any clue who was in what room etc., and the restrooms were filthy, although the cleaner came through every few days.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

If you are looking for dirt cheap and nothing else, this is it. My room reservation was mixed up. Was first assigned the wrong room, then after being moved, guests incorrectly were directed to my private room, waking me up. The cleanliness of the bathrooms needs to seriously be improved, very dirty and grimy, bring a bottle of lysol lmao!!! Bring your own towel, the ones provided are tiny. The sheets were rough, no blankets. Location is decent, nice courtyard outside. Close to metro.


66%

The location is great. It is next to DeKalb station, not far from Atlantic City. The brooklyn bridge is only 2 km away. The walk there, will give you a good idea of downtown Brooklyn. The entry security is excellent: if you check in, you receive a QR code that you have to use everytime you check in. However, the hostel is actually some dorms on the Long Island University, run by some British students. You imagine the results: rooms are not so clean, and several things malfunction. Cheap though!


83%

Very thing was great. Some times, At night the bathroom had no light


69%

Good location and safety is good...the weak point was cleaniness and not really a hostel spirit to meet people, etc. But i would stay again!


97%

Great location,friendly staff and atmosphere ,great value for money ,was there last year and back this year ,will be back whenever I return to Newyork in summer

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

I don't know where the other reviewers have been staying... The rooms were dirty and stuffed full with unnecessary furniture. There was no bin in the room and previous guests had left their garbage on the tables and floor. Washrooms were extremely dirty as well! Staff at reception didn't tell as about the security policy and we were all mixed up with different information every day. The only good thing was location, but even with the cheap price, this hostel was waste of money!


(54 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback