X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

British North American Internship Program Reviews

1 University Plaza, Brooklyn, NY 11201, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
65 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Its the best deal all summer on accomodations in NY. They should make a better effort of putting ppl in rooms with others who want the A/C on or simply make the default that A/C is on in summer since its 90+ degrees out. Arguments with room mates over air conditioner on or off were rampant due to such preferences; in my opinion its unreasonable to request it not be on when it is so hot in NYC.

  • 17th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Inside the university campus, the showers are dirty


57%

dirty bathrooms little atmosphere good location & security


43%

There are two important aspects that I need to refer to, the first one was that at my arriving I wanted to pay (USD.160) the price booked and sent to me by e-mail from Hostels.com but the girl who attended me wanted to charge me more than the double (USD570) price that was not agreed at my booking and that I showed her in my e-mail, she didn´t want to accept it, she said I had to pay what she said at over 9.00 PM or I just couldn’t stay in the Hostel, after arguing other girl came to us and ..

  • 12th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Huge room for three people - ie. no bunk beds, a lot of space for your stuff and there was also a desk and a couch! Air conditioning. definitely a bargain for the amount of money you pay (25$ per night in NY!). Really close to metro station. Breakfast and dinner included in the price but I didn't have the chance to try it. This accomodation is inside a nice university campus so security is seriously enforced and meeting new and different people is really easy. Really recalled my student days :)


83%

It was ok for a trip to NYC

  • 8th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I'm a bit not happy staying in here because the bathroom smells not good even though looks clean,and they only provide thin linen blanket.. there's no towel,and if we wanna wash our clothes you must buy a card cost $5 and add the value of money for washing machine and dry machine.. On the other hand,I really like the location of this hostel because only 10 minutes from Brooklyn bridge which is has very beautiful view during sunset and delicious cheese cake in Junior restaurant!


74%

Great place, great location but we felt it could have done with a games room - pool table, books etc..,. to give it a bit more life. other than that was very happy.


83%

Had a great time! The trip was amazing! Getting in and out of the city was really easy. It was nice to be away from the city but be super close to everything. Really enjoyed the stay!!

  • 3rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good value and excellent location. Sitting inside of University with responsible security guard makes it a safe place. Only 3 beds in each room compare to 6-8 beds in other hostels with similar price. Lots of cupboards and 3 desks which are very convenient for store your luggage and studying. I've never waited for shower and toilet. The only problem is the noisy air condition that we have to turn off when sleeping. No blanket provided so you'd better prepare your own if you easily get cold.

  • 30th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Old furniture, dirty bathrooms, little atmosphere... Rooms were good, so was location & security. Great wi-fi too.

  • 28th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

good value for money, only one stop to manhatten on the express train. good for short term stay, no kitchen though, so unless you want to eat out everyday wouldn't recommend for long term stay


100%

Lots of students and interns. They had really cheap monthly rates on the website.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Close to the subway.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice place to stay, dinner was a surprising touch.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very convenient location, close to everything in downtown Manhattan.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a bit of a hassle with the security guards. There's two security guards on at all time.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Glad we booked this place. It was surprisingly convenient.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

They had breakfast and dinner, which they didn't mention in the advert.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was on a big college campus. They have really cheap monthly rates.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(42 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback