X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Brodies Hostels Reviews

93 High St, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
286 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Staff were helpful and beds were clean but the room, bathrooms, and kitchen were messy. Fruit flies in kitchen and the kitchen was locked up at 10. Location was super convenient.


66%

A little (!) maintenance won't harm (showers, chairs in the kitchen)


57%

Smell not the room was so bad the door as propped open hen I arrived and even with Windows open it was overpowering, ground was dirty and toilets smelt like paint stripper or some toxic chemical. There were mice in the kitchen. Stove was good to cook on but little else positive about the place, glad I was only there for one night


43%

The experience was among the worst I have had at a hostel. The bed was comfortable but that was where it ends. The building was just so loud. With people coming in all through the night there ought to be some measures to prevent the noise carrying as it does. As such any time it felt as if we were going sleep there'd be an interruption from another guest entering. This was very stressful and meant of us slept until around 4 am. There was also no water from the taps on the top floor either.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

No free wifI which made it hard to organise further travel and contact home

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location and really good price ! Facilities are quite basic but the hostel is clean and quiet . Good choice for backpackers!

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Concerning the price there is not much to ask for. Never the less we expected a certain standard which wasn't met... not even close. The toilets/bathromms do smell heavily, you brush your teeth right next to unclean urinals and the hallways pick up the ever present, intrusive smell of unrinal cake. Neither lockers nor wifi are available for free, the costs are rip-offs; it's already 2015! Staff was friendly, that's a plus. Conclusively I woudn't wook here again.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel is well located, but the rooms have not lockers and the bathrooms are very dirty.


60%

Excellent location. Everything else is questionable. You have ro pay for wifi! Its very cheap so you fet what you pay for

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Was happy with everything else apart from the staff who were pretty rude....Would still go again as it's a good price for Edinburgh City Centre.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

None of essencial facilities like wifi, lockers, chargers, etc Very good location The hostel stinks


63%

I was the worst hostel because you cancel my reserve and I have to pay again!! I don't buy more with you! Thz!

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

You could do with some nice chairs or a settee in the livingroom and the wifi was really bad. Fix that and the hostel will be brilliant. Brodies needs some cosiness!

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The location is great, right on the Royal Mile. However, as soon as we arrived we were made to feel very unwelcome and on the 2nd night we wanted to just make a cup of tea before we went out to dinner. It was 6pm and we were asked to leave the kitchen cause someone was cleaning. It would have been fine but they were really rude and it was 6pm (peak dinner time). The hostel also smelt, I think that the drainage of the showers was not the best because there was a very strong damp smell.




View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback