Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brown Kiwi Travellers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Jun 2017
8.9

This was my favorite hostile ever! Great community atmosphere, beautiful garden, and wonderful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
8.3

I've stayed at a couple hostels in Auckland and I would recommend this one over them all. The bathroom and showers were very clean and it is small and cozy which makes for a more comfortable stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Lovely backpackers, ideally suited for both Ponsonby and Auckland Centre. The staff are very friendly, and were very helpful throughout. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Small hostel in an weatherboard house with some rooms rambling into the garden. Lovely garden, great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Chris_barker
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

I could not recommend this hostel more...I had such a fantastic time here. The staff are friendly and promote a communal atmosphere where everyone talked to each other and small groups join in. Great few nights having a few drinks around the garden table in beautiful surroundings. It felt like home or visiting family for Christmas. The rooms are clean and comfertable and the showers are spotless, hot and powerful. I shall be stopping again at the end of the year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
8.3

A nice, simple place with a great staff and quiet community. Just far enough from the CBD to be walking distance but removed - would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bennojb3365
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel in a great location in hip Ponsonby. Great garden, common room. Showers are warm and a good pressure. Really good social vibe. However the best thing about this hostel is the staff. Hannes is an amazing manager with a great sense of humour and a really welcoming approach. Yasmin is an awesome night manager who keeps the place spotlessly clean and is incredibly funny and friendly. Damaris, the owner is a really kind and lovely lady who will go out of her way to help you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
6.9

Room was such a mess I couldn't even find space on the floor to put my bags...and the floor was the only space left available for bags. I got stuck in the top bunk with no shelf, no electricity, and it was right by the endlessly-slamming front door of the building. Moved to a hotel after one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.0

Good hostel, good location, free wifi! Easy to meet people and good vibes. It is small hostel and not run like a large chain. That said, the female bathroom has no hook etc and little space to get changed. Add a hook? The kitchen is also small. People living next door join and use the facilities. When the hostel is booked out it gets very busy. Hard to sleep due to all the construction work at the end of the road. Plus roof is being repaired next door. Reception shuts at 7pm- a little early?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
7.7

Good location at Ponsonby, it took about 30 mins walking to Sky City tower (city centre). The private room is located in a separate block, which overlooked the inner garden, pretty nice. Kitchen is fully equipped. However, the bathroom nearest to the private room is very basic, it's a shed. You have to walk outside a bit to reach the bathroom, which is not quite convenient. The staff is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.