Hostelworld.com

Brown Kiwi Travellers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
9.7

I really liked the Brown Kiwi hostel, it has very friendly staff, nice community atmosphere, is clean and close to the city centre. There is a fairly large kitchen with everything you need and a nice outdoor area with tables. Reccommend the place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
8.9

The brown kiwi was absolutely adorable. Had a wonderful bed and breakfast feel and awesome company. Location is pretty central for Ponsonby but a little far from the city center of Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.9

Extremely well run and friendly hostel. Delightful outdoor socialising. Great character.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
8.0

Lovely cosy hostel in ponsonby. Garden/living area is really nice. Ponsonby is a really nice area but a bit out of the main city. Also most people staying are staying long term and so it is not that sociable if you are just traveling through. But nice place to relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice cute little home stay hostel. Very adorable. The room was nice. Only 2 showers and one toilet for the females. We must have come during a family reunion of sorts as we entered the hostel after a day of sightseeing to a kitchen and common room full of people but not one person said hello back to us when we said hi to them... So we just hung out in our room instead. The staff that helped us during the day were nice though! Not their fault the guests at the time were really cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
9.7

Groovy hostel, right near Ponsonby Road

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
6.0

Basic facilities....pretty cheap but kitchen is far far too small for the (up to) 30 people that can stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
8.9

Stayed 3 nights in a private double with no bathroom. It was a little annoying to have to cross the garden to get to the bathroom in the middle of the cold night... sometimes raining... other than that, it was very nice staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.7

We originally booked three beds in the four bed dorm but Hans (the wonderful manager) was nice enough to move us to a triple room for no extra charge. This ended up being in the building next door, which was like a separate apartment we got to share with just a few other guests. Only a 30 minute walk into downtown but situated on top of a VERY steep hill, climb it for some exercise or take one of the many buses that are situated close by. Very good hostel, highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.