Hostelworld.com

Brown Sugar Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Brown Sugar Backpackers Located at 75 Observatory Avenue, Observatory Extension, Johannesburg.
Brown Sugar Backpackers
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 2198 75 Observatory Avenue, Observatory Extension
79% 429
-26.1802620 28.0861401
Brown Sugar Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
9.7

I came to Brown Sugar Backpackers in a very low point of my life. I needed escape, I needed to forget, and I needed to feel safe. BSB made me feel welcomed, treated me with respect and courtesy even when I had booked their cheapest accommodation. Their facilities were all one could ask for and more. Finally exploring in the morning I realized just how big BSB is, how much it has to offer and just how homey it is. Thank you BSB for making my stay in JHB a memoarble one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
7.4

It was overall ok, but it was cold at night.Very cold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
6.9

Note visite de soweto avec eux a été très décevante

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel. My second time visiting Brown Sugar and would happily choose it as my third time if I visit Joburg again. Excellent facilities and the dinner every night is a nice touch, not to mention the pick up from OR Tambo, it is actually quite a drive! Very happy with the hostel and would recommend to you all to make this your choice. Great amount of information on what to do in the city and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.3

good staff...friendly and efficient arrangement in trips and tours nice service for drop off & pick up due to own car poor breakfast not really clean

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2016
5.1

Security - gate with a pin, no security guards like other backpackers Location - out of town although near a shopping centre. Staff - not very welcoming and friendly. everything felt like we were asking for too much Atmosphere - hostel was quite empty, they charge if you stay in the community areas after 2pm on the day you checkout. Cleanliness - bathrooms seemed clean however bed did not seem freshly made with clean sheets. Facilities were average

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2016
6.9

Brilliant place to stay nice and clean. They offer free pick up from the airport which is great and will save you a few bob. The price includes free breakfast added which consisted of egg , polony chicken, fruits, toast, juice, tea- coffee. You can buy lunch and dinner onsite or you can use the kitchen to prepare you own meals. Tea and coffee are provided free of charge 24-7. The staff are friendly and helpful. The downside is the location which is out of the way of everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2016
8.9

Truly awesome hostel! Would be a 10 if the location wasn't so off! Then again, for group travelers, they offer affordable shuttles to almost everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
8.3

For me Brown Sugar was an easy choise to spend my last 24h in Johannesburg before heading back home. Safe place and helpful staff. Taxis available whereever i wanted to go aswell. I consider this good value for the money paid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2016
8.0

Stopped here before knew what to expect and does for me , staff rating down just cause of there driver ( different from last time I stayed he was great) as giving price at reception but was charged more when arrived , found local taxi cheaper. Apart from that good stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.