Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brown Sugar Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Brown Sugar Backpackers Located at 75 Observatory Avenue, Observatory Extension, Johannesburg.
Brown Sugar Backpackers
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 2198 75 Observatory Avenue, Observatory Extension
80% 450
-26.1802620 28.0861401
Brown Sugar Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Helpful staff, clean rooms, excellent breakfast included and affordable dinner. Would definitely reccommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
9.1

Thanks Brown Sugar for your hospitality, friendliness, & just overall greatness! If/when I make it back to Jo'burg, I'll definitely stay with you again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.7

Great place. Friendly staff. Loved the home cooked meals. Good vibes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
5.7

I expected a room not a cabin, I didn't like the decor and old furniture (too cluttered), hardly anyone was staying there, the wifi was only good near reception. driver was hitting on me, even running his hand across my boob, checking my seatbelt (with an open fist). The location was really far from anything, even a local corner store/bakery. There was a school group screaming and running around. Positives: friendly helpful staff, dinner menu, converter powerpoints, view of city.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
6.6

We do believe that one day this place has been great but obviously, this belongs to the past. Material is old and broken, cleanliness is very relative. Laundry Wash machine only works with cold water. But we still appreciated the good location (near airport and close to the city). This is not the best accommodation we had in South Africa but it was not the worse either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed there for one night. Really nice and helpful people. Cosy and beautiful place...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.6

Lovely hostel with friendly staff and a good security setup. We only stayed one night so didn't have much opportunity to enjoy the facilities but the hostel looked like it would be a lot of fun for longer stays. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2016
6.9

Only had one night here in transit but staff were very nice and helpful - not many other guests there but after a long flight from Aust dinner and bed was all I was after - had dinner was huge servings and put me to bed with a full belly - great for a stop over

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
6.3

Don't recommend staying past two days as the location is isolated and far from anything interesting. They offer a R10 shuttle to the mall and a few places nearby but are up to 10x more expensive return. An example would be going to the 15 minute away mall, it would cost R10 to go pp, but 160 to come back. The free breakfast is good compared to other places I've been to, they offer eggs and yoghurt and toast with juice/coffee/tea. Wifi is horrible in the rooms which was really inconvenient.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
9.7

I came to Brown Sugar Backpackers in a very low point of my life. I needed escape, I needed to forget, and I needed to feel safe. BSB made me feel welcomed, treated me with respect and courtesy even when I had booked their cheapest accommodation. Their facilities were all one could ask for and more. Finally exploring in the morning I realized just how big BSB is, how much it has to offer and just how homey it is. Thank you BSB for making my stay in JHB a memoarble one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.