Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brown Sugar Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Brown Sugar Backpackers Located at 75 Observatory Avenue, Observatory Extension, Johannesburg.
Brown Sugar Backpackers
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 2198 75 Observatory Avenue, Observatory Extension
82% 475
-26.1802620 28.0861401
Brown Sugar Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
8.6

Great airport pick up service and nice food. Only serve beer in a great wine country??? Why?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ChinaGulliver
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Nov 2016
6.0

Brown Sugar Backpackers has the potential to be the best accommodation for travelers in Johannesburg. However their WIFI is catastrophically bad. I could not stay here again unless I knew their WIFI had improved. One backpacker spent 5 hours trying to Skype with their family back home. Other times they would simply turn it off without letting anyone know before hand. Accessing something as simple as an email was an excruciating experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Kevin thank you for the comment. We have a FREE uncapped ADSL internet with a limit of 32 users. It's like the highway, when it gets busy it slows down. We are also frustrated by the slow internet at times. As a South African citizen you are well aware of the poor service and slow speeds provided by Telkom, which are capped at 2mbps. I have tried numerous times and still busy to improve on these services and are on the waiting list for FIBRE internet. Joburg started rolling out FIBRE in certain suburbs.The staff did explain this to you. In severe thunderstorms my staff is instructed to shut down the routers as we have lost many routers due to lightning as we are located on boulders on top of a hill. Apologies for the inconvenience but be assured that we are working on it. Warm regards Liezel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.9

Friendly staff, clean facilities. They have tours from the hostel so it's easy to sign up there and get picked up by the driver. The wifi is available at the main lodge but not from my room. Bring enough cash as they charge 5% fee for credit card payments. The location is bit far from everything and because of both distance and safety, you cannot walk around to places. Always ask the reception if you wanna go somewhere so you can get a driver.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
8.6

Recommended.....a location out the way (taxi required to go anywhere except maybe Chinatown) but in a very safe location away from the center with its awfully bad reputation. WiFi limited to the main building area, an inconvenience. Special mention to Nosi and Goodness for their gracious ways in their assistance to make stay more enjoyable with a good breafast every morning. A plus is the complimentary pick from main train/bus station and airport

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Oct 2016
9.1

Sadly only stayed for one night, but the food was delicious and the bar area was cool with an outside balcony area where you could see the city lights of Johannesburg. The pool was really nice and the staff helpful and friendly. A great place to start your bazbus route. I know that you can arrange trips with them including one to Kruger Park. It was a bit quiet whilst I was there, but my friend and I had a very enjoyable experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
6.6

Make sure you get the security code for the door or you will spend the night outside in the cold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Michael thank you for the comment. Yes we have general information cards in reception for every guests that reminds them to write down the security codes for the entrance gates that get locked after 22h00. We are high on the security of our guests and you will be glad to know that we have attached a security gate key on the log cabins and outside rooms to gain access at the front door, in case you don't have the code. Warm regards Liezel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
7.7

Nice vibe, friendly staff and a really wonderful breakfast. There was a large group of young (10-14 year olds maybe) students who were staying in the large dorm rooms so we were upgraded to a smaller dorm with no extra cost which was nice but having kids run around unsupervised was a down side. Overall not bad for a night's stay but not really close to anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
7.1

Friendly staff , easy vibe . Dinners made are pretty good for what you pay , bit of a walk to the mall or anywhere to eat , but besides that defiantly recommend this place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2016
8.6

Very nice and helpful staff, shuttle service, washing machine, dryer, nice breakfast included, dinner available. Unfortunately not in the centre but only a few minutes away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Helpful staff, clean rooms, excellent breakfast included and affordable dinner. Would definitely reccommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.