Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brown Sugar Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 494 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 494 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.9

I only stayed here for 1 night but I do wish I could of stayed longer. They have really good facilities - atm, computers, wifi and breakfast is included in the price. Had a nice comfortable stay here and staff were friendly and helpful. When I return to joburg, I will be staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.4

Very nice hostel, well equipped, comfortable beds, cool pool and barbecue. The only problem is that is really far from everything, you need your own car or to take a taxi, even to go to the supermarket.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice staff and it is a quiet place to rest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Dec 2016
2.0

I think hostel.com should not book for this pothetic place. I trust hostel.com. but had a very bad experience. Brown Sugar is located in the heart of criminals. You can not even walk out side. Staff is so rude that instead of guiding the guest they try to misguide and loot him. In short it's my advice not to stay here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Muhammad. I had a meeting with my staff regarding the review. Free Pickup: The office informed you to wait at the normal pickup point at the airport and it would take 10-15 minutes only. The driver could not find you, circled around the airport and came back to the hostel. You arrived in a meter taxi shortly after him. The staff member that checked you in informed me that you arrived in a "bad mood" because your phone was stolen (Not on or even outside our premises). We are NOT situated in the heart of criminals as claimed. Our guests walk to the shops daily without problems. After you signed in she tried to orientate and show you around the hostel but you insisted to go straight to your room. When you asked to go to the city you were angry when she suggested a meter taxi or Uber because it was a "ripoff". We have no control over the meter taxi's. You left the next morning. My staff would never misguide or try and "loot" you as claimed and feel this is uncalled for to blame them of any wrong doing when they clearly tried to help you. Safe travels. Liezel - owner

  • Anonymous
  • United Arab Emirates, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Dec 2016
8.0

My stay was pleasant, I enjoyed it. Extra point as Brown Sugar arrange for a pick up. I like the atmosphere and the friendly staffs. However this hostel is a bit far from the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
8.6

Great airport pick up service and nice food. Only serve beer in a great wine country??? Why?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
6.9

I felt like this hostel was lacking character. It has so much potential, but its just run down a bit. People don't really stay here to see JO-berg. The stay here to stay here one night, and then leave. If you need a base for Kruger, not a bad choice. I just wasn't feeling this place at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Alex. Thanks for the review. I see you only stayed with us for one night. Please feel free to send me an e-mail (sugarbrown@mweb.co.za) on any suggestions where we can improve on our serves or facilities that was not "there" for you. The type and quantity of guests at the hostel also determines the atmosphere and vibe at any hostel. I am sorry that you did not have the best time but maybe we will see you again in the near future and hopefully you will "feel" the place. Kind regards Liezel - owner

  • ChinaGulliver
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Nov 2016
6.0

Brown Sugar Backpackers has the potential to be the best accommodation for travelers in Johannesburg. However their WIFI is catastrophically bad. I could not stay here again unless I knew their WIFI had improved. One backpacker spent 5 hours trying to Skype with their family back home. Other times they would simply turn it off without letting anyone know before hand. Accessing something as simple as an email was an excruciating experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Kevin thank you for the comment. We have a FREE uncapped ADSL internet with a limit of 32 users. It's like the highway, when it gets busy it slows down. We are also frustrated by the slow internet at times. As a South African citizen you are well aware of the poor service and slow speeds provided by Telkom, which are capped at 2mbps. I have tried numerous times and still busy to improve on these services and are on the waiting list for FIBRE internet. Joburg started rolling out FIBRE in certain suburbs.The staff did explain this to you. In severe thunderstorms my staff is instructed to shut down the routers as we have lost many routers due to lightning as we are located on boulders on top of a hill. Apologies for the inconvenience but be assured that we are working on it. Warm regards Liezel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.9

Friendly staff, clean facilities. They have tours from the hostel so it's easy to sign up there and get picked up by the driver. The wifi is available at the main lodge but not from my room. Bring enough cash as they charge 5% fee for credit card payments. The location is bit far from everything and because of both distance and safety, you cannot walk around to places. Always ask the reception if you wanna go somewhere so you can get a driver.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
8.6

Recommended.....a location out the way (taxi required to go anywhere except maybe Chinatown) but in a very safe location away from the center with its awfully bad reputation. WiFi limited to the main building area, an inconvenience. Special mention to Nosi and Goodness for their gracious ways in their assistance to make stay more enjoyable with a good breafast every morning. A plus is the complimentary pick from main train/bus station and airport

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.