Hostelworld.com

Brown Sugar Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Brown Sugar Backpackers Located at 75 Observatory Avenue, Observatory Extension, Johannesburg.
Brown Sugar Backpackers
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 2198 75 Observatory Avenue, Observatory Extension
80% 409
-26.1802620 28.0861401
Brown Sugar Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel. My second time visiting Brown Sugar and would happily choose it as my third time if I visit Joburg again. Excellent facilities and the dinner every night is a nice touch, not to mention the pick up from OR Tambo, it is actually quite a drive! Very happy with the hostel and would recommend to you all to make this your choice. Great amount of information on what to do in the city and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.3

good staff...friendly and efficient arrangement in trips and tours nice service for drop off & pick up due to own car poor breakfast not really clean

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2016
5.1

Security - gate with a pin, no security guards like other backpackers Location - out of town although near a shopping centre. Staff - not very welcoming and friendly. everything felt like we were asking for too much Atmosphere - hostel was quite empty, they charge if you stay in the community areas after 2pm on the day you checkout. Cleanliness - bathrooms seemed clean however bed did not seem freshly made with clean sheets. Facilities were average

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2016
6.9

Brilliant place to stay nice and clean. They offer free pick up from the airport which is great and will save you a few bob. The price includes free breakfast added which consisted of egg , polony chicken, fruits, toast, juice, tea- coffee. You can buy lunch and dinner onsite or you can use the kitchen to prepare you own meals. Tea and coffee are provided free of charge 24-7. The staff are friendly and helpful. The downside is the location which is out of the way of everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2016
8.9

Truly awesome hostel! Would be a 10 if the location wasn't so off! Then again, for group travelers, they offer affordable shuttles to almost everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
8.3

For me Brown Sugar was an easy choise to spend my last 24h in Johannesburg before heading back home. Safe place and helpful staff. Taxis available whereever i wanted to go aswell. I consider this good value for the money paid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2016
8.0

Stopped here before knew what to expect and does for me , staff rating down just cause of there driver ( different from last time I stayed he was great) as giving price at reception but was charged more when arrived , found local taxi cheaper. Apart from that good stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2016
8.0

Another good return visit, helpful taxi to/from airport with staff, one free !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
23rd Jan 2016
6.0

The beds had plastic underneath the sheets which when you move make a lot of noise! It seemed to be very quiet there. Most people only staying 1 night before moving on. Breakfast included was a nice touch. The wifi was terrible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Apologies about the plastic, the staff must have forgotten to remove from the new mattresses. I see you stayed with us for 3 nights and you should have just informed reception to remove te plastic or move to another bed. During Dec 2015 and Jan 2016 we had very low bookings (All over RSA) and this often reduces the "vibe" at any hostel. The slow internet was caused by a damaged "seacom cable" in the ocean, which effected a rather large coverage area all over South Africa and we had no control over this. We still hoping for optic fibre in our suburb to speed up the poor speeds we are restricted to by our ADSL service provider.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jan 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Very friendly and helpful staff. The airport pickup is fantastic. Would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.