Hostelworld.com

Bru Bar & Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4,747 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4,747 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Bru Bar & Hostel Located at 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork.
Bru Bar & Hostel
Ireland
Cork 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City
83% 4747
51.9015474 -8.4659314
Bru Bar & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Jun 2016
7.1

The hostel is situated in the city center and train/bus stations plus the shopping street and english market are all within 10-15 min walking distance. The rooms were a bit cramped but I did not expect more for a cheap deal. The main problem with the hostel was that there was not enough ventilation and it made the rooms very suffocating and the bathrooms so so smelly. I would go there again only if they can solve the ventilation problem. The reception people were very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
6.3

You get what you're paying for. Look - to their credit, the service is prompt and friendly, the rooms are clean, the accommodations adequate, and the word "bar" is IN their name. If you're 20 and looking for a place to crash between site seeing and partying, this is a great place, and surely accounts for their excellent rating. - If you have grown out of your wild youth and were looking for someplace comfy and relaxing to decompress between activities, you're better off somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
8.3

Overall good place to stay for one night. In front of many bars outside and below. Staff were very helpful. Close to the bus station. Close to bars, supermarket, and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
6.0

Although in a great location- not much else is going for this hostel. Very dirty and unorganized it seems the bar downstairs is their priority. The rooms were not clean- the bathrooms gross and smelled aweful. The 'breakfast' was non existent- not even coffe guys! The bread was all out of its packaging and stale. Thankfully I was only there for 1 night and I left on an earlier train just so I wouldn't have to stay longer. Try somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jun 2016
2.9

Easily one of the worst hostels I've stayed at. I left two days early just to get outta there. Light was broken by bed and they told me they couldn't fix it till next day. lockers which DONT LOCK and they were unpleasant about me asking for luggage Storage. Tiny rooms, no wind flow through them so stuffy, some staff nice, some were rude. Made you put down a deposit for everything (even a towel!) literally just cereal and toast for breakfast. Not a much better location than any other hostels.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.0

Great location; friendly staff, kitchen needs a few more bowls for breakfast and their is no laundry facilities or service at the hostel...but their is one down the road and brubar customers get a discount from 12 euro per 5kg load to 10 euro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
4.9

Upon arrival we were told we had to pay with cash since their card machine was down, we were lucky we had cash to pay, otherwise we would have had to use an atm and pay a fee. AFTER we paid the host let us know the wifi is down and "someone should be coming to fix it," it was past 7pm when we were checking in...The wifi did not work the entire time we were there. If we had known there were all these issues, we would have stayed at the inn down the street.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
10.0

We enjoyed our stay at Bru Hostel, rooms were grand as were the bar facilities, we will definitely return

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! Friendly staff and guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel, there is no common room but the bar is fantastic. Met some great people and staff was really nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.