Hostelworld.com

Bru Bar & Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4,570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4,570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
Bru Bar & Hostel Located at 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork.
Bru Bar & Hostel
Ireland
Cork 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City
84% 4570
51.9015474 -8.4659314
Bru Bar & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • prazakcz7784
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
26th Apr 2016
7.1

There are no lockers!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2016
7.1

Brú had a very chill atmosphere. The staff were helpful. Our room wasn't very clean but it was in a good location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
2.3

Avoid at all costs, the room was dirty, the bathroom still had foam from the previous guests. Heater was full of Cotton dust Family travellers avoid this hostel not suitable for children. There wasn't wifi in the room. Paid parking. My and my friends where in Ireland for seven days and this was the worst hostel experience we got, so keep away from this hostel if you want safety, comfort and clean bathroom and room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
7.4

This hostel is in a good location, the room was clean, and the bar downstairs was a good option for going out. However, there's definitely a party atmosphere and some noise at night, so it might not be the best place if you're trying to get a good nights sleep. Also, I felt the kitchen area / common room were dingy and dirty and had a strange smell to them, so much so that I didn't want to hang out there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.1

Horribly rude staff. Would not return because of them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
5.1

The kitchen and common room were really dirty, and on some days there wasn't any bread for breakfast. The hostel was advertised as a non smoking facility, yet you couldn't get in or out without going through at least five smokers blocking the door. The room itself was quite clean, though the security lockers under some of the beds didn't have a way to lock them

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

Great staff, great value accomodation! We'll be back! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.3

5 minute walk from the bus station. there was two bathrooms for two rooms so there weren't any issues waiting for bathrooms. we stayed on the third floor which has lots of steps so if you have a heavy luggage it's going to take a long time to get to the room. the hostel is above a bar so maybe staying on the third floor was better. if you're sitting in the kitchen/ dining area you can feel the floor shake when the band was playing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
6.9

Terrible wifi, only 1 temperature on showers- push a button to turn on and it turns off automatically. Staff was friendly enough, but no real backpacker atmosphere, not good for a solo traveler.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
10.0

One of the best overall hostel experiences I have had. Great pub too. The atmosphere and staff can't be beat if solid music and friendly people are what you like.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.