Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bru Bar & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.6

Bru Bar Hostel is ideal for an ivernight stay either travelling or just for a night out in Cork. Perfevt to get the head down. Great atmosphere in the bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • scottjenaway
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Overall good hostel, front reception girl was very nice and helpful. Told us all the good local pubs and where to get cheap parking. Normal basic Ireland breakfast included, public bar downstairs with common room upstairs. Nice location too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Really nice place and a great location. The staff were so lovely. I was on the top floor and it was a trek to walk all the way up. Otherwise it was pretty good. The rooms were tiny and got incredibly hot at night which was uncomfortable. Otherwise not a bad place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.1

Spent 2 days in a hostel, so can't tell a lot of it. But the stuff was really nice, specially the guy in the bar. Location is great, walking distance pretty much to everything in Cork! The only thing I missed was plugins in/around beds. Otherwise really nice hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • duncanshowell2594
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
7.1

Pretty standard. Breakfast was very basic but value for money - it's no frills. Nice enough bar.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

I love Bru! I've stayed here 3 times and each time it's been great. The rooms are small but clean. It's lovely to sit in the downstairs bar and have a drink and a chat. They play live music every night and I think it's a great way to support up and coming musicians. Everyone is so friendly. The kitchen/common room has a bit of an awkward layout but you soon get used to it. More tables would be nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.9

The staff was friendly and the location was great but the place could use some updates. The bathrooms were a little shabby but everything was clean. The room was a hot but we kept the window open and it was fine. The biggest issue was that the outlets were not beside the beds at all. Each bed had its own light but you had to get up for outlet access no matter what bed you were at. The breakfast was a basic hostel breakfast but I got what I expected for the price I paid. Would recommend overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.9

Dorms were very cramped

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Great location. I found everything clean and was in a 4 bed room with ensuite. Kitchen and bathroom did the job but not amazing. Hard to meet people if you're travelling solo because the only meeting place is the TV room, where the TV is always on, or the bar. Both can be noisy. Still a good place overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.6

Staff were really helpful. There's an additional baggage storage area after check out, which really helps a lot. The rooms are extremely tiny though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.