X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bru Bar & Hostel Reviews

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3780 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Pretty close to the train and bus stations. Nice to have a bar on ground floor. There is live music every night. Kitchen, bathrooms and common area are fine - everything you need.


97%

The combination of a bar and a hostel works fantastic at this establishment.


100%

Loved it - was only staying one night but I was greeted warmly by the guys behind the bar. Thank you for keeping me company!


100%

Great professional and friendly staff. Will definitely use again! Thanks for the stay.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, in the middle of the downtown area. Within walking distance to multiple restaurants and bars with live music and other great sightseeing ideas. The bar on the first floor can get loud, but the noise does not translate up through to the living quarters. Under-the-bed cages for security; bring your own lock. Key cards changed nightly for safety and required to get inside.


94%

Such a nice bar and such a good crowd. Good craic guaranteed. Can't wait to return.


100%

perfect place


71%

One single woman in a 4 beded room with 3 men she didn't know is a bit much. Bar downstairs had a great atmosphere and staff were excellent!

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The room and bathroom were both great, although the kitchen should be monitored in the mornings, it was pretty crazy in there.

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I really enjoyed my stay at the hostel, it was perfect for our needs :) (A friend and I were sharing a double room). My only gripe was that the internet barely reached our room, it came and went and it was sorely needed for work emails and so on. Apart from that, a fantastic stay was had :D

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Easy convineant location, very nice and friendly staff

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Good hostel : clean and good location. But room are too small (lot of bed) to stock big suitcase, it's a problem... And notice that hostel have 3 floors without elevator : very hard to take big luggage


71%

The pub was nice with great music.l stayed in a 4-bed female dorm and met some really nice girls. The bed was comfortable, great with a lamp next to the bed and there were plenty of warm water in the shower. The kitchen was a mess. Breakfast poor, the TV-room was very dark and not cosy at all. No wifi in the rooms. Next time I would try another hostel.


83%

great location and great staff. Rooms bit small but you pay for what you get. enjoyed the stay.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Bru bar was an excellent walking distance to the city center, and was very easy to find. The bathrooms were kind of gross, but I guess that's what you get when you share two with 8 people. Very cramped in the room-there is only room for the beds and a small walking area to the side (think hallway next to bed). The bedsheets didn't look like they were washed either. You get what you pay for.


86%

I think it should have wifi in the rooms

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The location is good here, close enough to where you want to be but quiet enough at night. Good internet signal too, necessary as a traveller! Only one bathroom/shower available though and the room is a tight squeeze.


71%

it seems that ppl in bar can easily go into the hostel part


94%

Room was warm and clean and showers were hot during our stay. Only noise was a bit of traffic in the morning. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The bar downstairs was fantastic. I would recommend staying here.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The room size has never been something I cared about before my stay here. the rooms were TINY. Peoples stuff had to basically be on tops of each others. There were only one set of plugs and it was at the head of someones bed which made it impossible for others to use comfortably. there were cages under the beds but there was no way to lock them...what's the point in that? breakfast was hardly worth it. Warm milk, cereal and toast with jam available.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(107 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback