X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bru Bar & Hostel Reviews

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3345 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great hostel, great bar. Stayed there for only 2 nights but should've been longer. Locals say Bru is the best bar in Cork.


86%

Our only concern was safety , due to both the location, but mostly because the lock bolt on our bedroom door was broken. We woke up at 4am to a tapping on the door and creaky footsteps that was very frightening. We called down to the front desk and whispered that there was someone outside. A man from downstairs came up immediately and found t was another resident just wondering the halls drunkenly for his room. The staff was very helpful, we were just shaken up. dive bar downstairs is awesome

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice having a bar in te basement. Showers were a bit too hot, not something normal For a hostel.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice place.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

If Carlsberg did hostels this is it, there is a bar on the premises!


86%

A good hostel in the centre of Cork with only a few mins walk to all the shops. They have nightly entertainment, the bar has some character and there are a few places to eat nearby. Security is really good as you need a room swipe card to gain access to rooms from the bar. a side door is also available when bar isParking can be an issue though to get near hostel, especially if carrying bags. Having a motorbike I was able to squeeze into a permit area outside of stated times of Mon-Sat 0830-1830.


89%

The staff were sound, the room was just what we needed, and the bar is great. I'll definatly be going back

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It's an ok hostel but some things are just not that great. The reception area is in the bar and the bar is poorly lit, so you can't really see. Some of the security cameras seemed to be flickering and not working properly. The bath was not clean, in fact the floor was soon disgusting. The water in the shower comes from a knob you have to press and it goes out after 10 secs or so which is very annoying. The bar downstairs makes for a quiet stay, though, since people party there instead of in room


100%

Nice place and great staff!!


100%

Does not get any better than this place for 19 euros inc. breakfast , great value . Only thing would say if your not having 4 or 5 pints of guiness , bring your earplugs as bar closes at 4am .


40%

I was awoken by 2 drunk guys that entered my private bedroom at 4am : it was a mistake but their key could open my door!! Security=0. The lady at the reception did not care at all when I told her.


89%

The only thing i didn't like was the very squeaky bed. I couldn't move without making a noise. Very annoying. And it would be great to have something unlike jam for breakfeast, maybe honey? But the stuff was very helpful and the bathroom nice and clean.


71%

Rude staff, tiny rooms!! Other than that was good?

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Definitely a must if you're going to a gig in the Marquee, only a 20 minute walk away. 2 minutes from the bus station. Very welcoming staff and met some really cool people, both locals from the area and people who were staying. Can't wait for a chance to go back!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Not to far from train station and shops, staff are friendly and hostel is good place to stay with clean rooms and comfortable beds. Will be back to stay in the future to stay.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gerald, Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed the Hostel. Good luck, Ash McRae Manager

91%

So great placer

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A wonderful stay in Bru Bar. We stayed only one night and the late bar served as a great attraction to us. We checked in with no hassle, were informed that the bar should be open until 4am and were generally welcomed in a very friendly manner. However, the barman who was attending the bar when we arrived back to the hostel (at about 1.30am) was quite rude and told us the bar was about to close. It didnt detract from our trip that much as we had just seen the PIXIES, but was quite disappointed

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The owner was very accommodating. As we arrived, we were told that our booking was not as we had thought it was, but he rectified it. The breakfast was quite adequate. The WiFi did not work in the room, but did in the day room. Even though the bar is non smoking, it reeked of cigarette smoke. This is because all the smokers, and there were many, stood right outside the door and the smoke re-enters by the draft and since the owner smokes himself he doesn't notice. Other than that, all is well.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This was a lovely hostel, the bar downstairs and the communal kitchen area provided a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Me and my mother felt safe here and the staff were helpful (even after our stay ended). It is walking distance - 5 minutes, to the centre of the city and situated on a street with local amenities. I now live 2 streets away from the hostel and pass it every morning on my way to work, I will definitely be back in for a beer!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

great discounts for different things, e.g. tearoom and Queenstown saga in Cobh :) unfortunatelly there are some tings to complain: - molded bread for breakfast (!!!) - butter was out of date, too - very hot room, window was always open - old timetables for visitingpoints in the near of Cork

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Elisabeth, Thank you for your review. I must apologize for the out of date products placed out for breakfast. This has been highlighted to the relevant staff. Unfortunately, as with a lot of Hostels, air-conditioning in the rooms is simply out of our price range. The timetables were updated at the start of the year but will be looked at again immediately. Good luck, Ash McRae Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback