Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bru Bar & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 5434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 5434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.9

very central hostel with nice staff. Livemusic downstairs at the bar was awesome...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
7.7

Shower required pressing for more water every few seconds which I guess saves water. But the requred frequency of presses did feel a bit excessive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.9

I stayed in a 4-bed ensuite on the third floor. I couldn't hear any noise from the bar below, however could still hear vehicles passing outside so you should still bring earplugs. The bathroom connected to the room itself and was just for the four of us to use, and it was always very clean. The cages under the bed were good for storing bags, though they need a largeish size padlock. Breakfast was standard hostel fare - choice of cereals, toast with choice of spreads, tea, coffee - no complaints!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nae_bunthita4689
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.3

Great location hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.0

The Bru couldn't be in a better location in Cork, honestly. My room was very quiet at night, despite the presence of the bar downstairs. My only drawback was that my room was very hot at night even with the window, but that's a small thing for such a snap location. Breakfast was fine. It's a hostel, not a hotel, and overall it was a comfortable stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
7.7

Everything was dandy except I had to wait ten minutes to get my key deposit back because staff couldn't find it. This was not my issue but surely a more time efficient way could be explored.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
9.4

I stayed here for 1 night with my partner and 9 year old over easter. Staff were friendly and the location is central. Traffic is busy though so if you are a light sleeper- bring earplugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.6

We enjoyed our stay at Bru Bar & Hostel. The location was a quick 10 minute walk to the city center. The room was lovely and bright with a huge window. Surprisingly you didn't hear much noise from the bar downstairs where there is music every night. One downside are the showers where you have to constantly push a button to keep the water running. Overall a nice experience during our two and a half day stay in Cork.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.3

Good hostel in great location, very friendly, relaxed and helpful staff. There is a relaxed vibe here, generous basic breakfast, and plenty of space in the main lounge area or the bar downstairs which is great (live music and seating booths). The room I was in (private, 3-berth) was small and very basic, not much storage space, and internet didn't work too well in the room (although it was fine in the communal areas). It was clean, and had a good shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel with friendly staff :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.