X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bru Bar & Hostel Reviews

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3578 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good location near the main bus station and everything in Cork (which isn't hard with it being quite small). An acceptable but certainly not a high standard hostel. Classic case of older hostel with average wifi, no lift so if you're on the 3rd floor it's a pain, lack of power points in rooms and average beds. It's fine though, just don't expect a top tier hostel.


86%

Great base during the Jazz Festival. The bar downstairs was one of the venues, and the other guests were great. A real backpacker's hostel.


91%

Great value for ,money. Only draw back was that we were waiting for ages to check in, as there was no one at reception for a good 20 or so minutes which wasn't ideal.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice people working there! Accommodation was standard to any other hostel I've stayed in before. The live music really made it a neat place to be and there was a real range of different people. The bar was pretty standard but they had good drink deals and the aussie bartender was awesome at learning the different shots we requested! Definitely a good place to stay!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff were most helpful


86%

Good hostel. Would stay again. Everything you need for budget traveling.


69%

Some staff were nice- an Aussie guy- but a very grumpy girl behind front desk. Nice museli at breakfast

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Bed was alright. En-suite less than expected, good deals in the bar but kind of a weird vibe.


74%

This was a pretty good hostel, really close to the main bus station. All the rooms were ensuite with the bathrooms. It was nice to have a bar downstairs and they had live music every night.


86%

This hostel is good to stay at for a couple of nights. The room was clean and smelt of bleach. The bar downstairs is quite small and dark but quite convenient. The tv room had good wifi reception, however the room didn't. The hostel is a short walk away from the centre of the city.


86%

Nice hostel, close to stations, bar downstaires was loud, though.


89%

The hostel is awesome. The staff was really nice and helpful. The only thing that I didn't liked, that there is not enough light in the tv room. It's a bit depressing.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend and had a great time The bar downstairs is a great place to chill and drinks are the cheapest in cork with weekly specials ! The kitchen was well equipped and large and the breakfast served was handy The rooms were nothing special but the beds super comfy and having a bathroom in the room was great Definitely recommend


71%

Dirty and not well equipped kitchen. A guy snoring in my room (I know the hostel is not too blame)


94%

Stayed here for a nite as the 1st day of arrival in ireland on a weekday. Thx for the friendly staff. Wifi works well in the big mixed dorm on the 3/F n wasnt that noisy even theres a bar. Thx again!


26%

This was a terrible hostel

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

really nice contact beforehand because of our somewhat difficult booking requirements (one of us was there 4 days before the other but we wanted to share a room which wasn't a problem at all); it was my third stay and I would stay again when coming back to Cork.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

All staff members were friendly throughout from cleaning personal to managers and cooperative at any problem. As an example, I asked them whether they would contribute in some kitchen knives, that I wanted to buy (the only thing that was missing in a really well-assorted hostel-kitchen) and they told me, they would buy them (and a sharpening steel) via their own company. Until then, we were allowed to borrow ones at the front-desk for cooking at any time. The front desk was manned 24 / 7 !

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

All in all not a bad hostel, not outstanding either. The beds were really crammed into the 6 bed dorm with no room for maneuvering and only 1 socket. Wifi and breakfast were both decent, not great. Staff were polite but not overly friendly. The place was kept clean. It's a decent hostel at a good price.


94%

overall great hostel but breakfast was very poor, a small fruit selection and yogurt would have made a big difference

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback