Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bru Bar & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • scottjenaway
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Overall good hostel, front reception girl was very nice and helpful. Told us all the good local pubs and where to get cheap parking. Normal basic Ireland breakfast included, public bar downstairs with common room upstairs. Nice location too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Really nice place and a great location. The staff were so lovely. I was on the top floor and it was a trek to walk all the way up. Otherwise it was pretty good. The rooms were tiny and got incredibly hot at night which was uncomfortable. Otherwise not a bad place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.1

Spent 2 days in a hostel, so can't tell a lot of it. But the stuff was really nice, specially the guy in the bar. Location is great, walking distance pretty much to everything in Cork! The only thing I missed was plugins in/around beds. Otherwise really nice hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.9

The staff was friendly and the location was great but the place could use some updates. The bathrooms were a little shabby but everything was clean. The room was a hot but we kept the window open and it was fine. The biggest issue was that the outlets were not beside the beds at all. Each bed had its own light but you had to get up for outlet access no matter what bed you were at. The breakfast was a basic hostel breakfast but I got what I expected for the price I paid. Would recommend overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.9

Dorms were very cramped

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Great location. I found everything clean and was in a 4 bed room with ensuite. Kitchen and bathroom did the job but not amazing. Hard to meet people if you're travelling solo because the only meeting place is the TV room, where the TV is always on, or the bar. Both can be noisy. Still a good place overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.6

Staff were really helpful. There's an additional baggage storage area after check out, which really helps a lot. The rooms are extremely tiny though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
8.6

excellent central location, good facilitities with 8 man dorm and en-sute bathroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.6

2 of us stayed in a 3 bed private. Nice place! Pros: •very close to Cork bus station (Parnell place) and St. Patrick street •The room was small but the bathroom was very clean and useful with warm shower •staff was very friendly and helpful (when I asked one of them how to use the radiator, she came up to our room and showed me how) •free breakfast and luggage storage after checkout Cons: •wifi in the room wasn't stable. Good in the kitchen •if you mind noises at night, you would need earplugs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
9.7

Very friendly and attentive staff. At times it was a bit stuffy in the room as the radiator seemed to be on all the time so maybe someone needs to check the settings etc. Other than that I had a good second stay and would deffo come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.