Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bru Bar & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5,167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5,167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Bru Bar & Hostel Located at 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork.
Bru Bar & Hostel
Ireland
Cork 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City
82% 5167
51.9015474 -8.4659314
Bru Bar & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Dec 2016
7.7

I came to this bar/hostel thinking it'd be full of those who drink till they fall or are not fully there but I was impressed. All the people I met were genuinely nice and nobody was sick from alcohol...from what I saw. Some of the staff were super nice and others were a bit odd but in the end it was worth the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2016
8.6

Good Hostel to stay for one night. Breakfast is enough and the pub/Bar downstairs is very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
9.4

I loved my stay! The location is extremely convenient for getting to know the city, the staff and bar itself are lovely, and the hostel kitchen and commonroom are really nicely set up to allow for meeting fun new people. Will definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Nov 2016
10.0

i have stayed before, its a cool spot, bar down stairs, but I still slept great, was not disturbing to me..2 mins walk from the bus station and 2 more to the shopping centre, lovely staff also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
8.6

Review for 3-Bedroom Reservation: First off, very welcoming and friendly staff! The location is ideal for catching the best fish & chips at "The Fish Wife" - and the vibe is unique from other hostels with a bar on ground level. The room itself was a tight squeeze with 3 people - but manageable with your own bathroom. Be prepared for an early wake up by trucks in morning! Street parking is hard to come by, but you are able to park at the train station down the road overnight. (10 min walk)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.1

The cages under the bunks didn't have a locking system, but other than that my stay was great. I was in a 4 bed ensuite and everything was clean and the people were nice :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
9.7

Very good stay - Awesome staff. All very friendly and hilarious to spend time with! :) I stayed in a single room which was very good. Bar downstairs is brilliant and you get all sorts of discounts around by stating that you're staying in this hostel. Though there is a bar, it wasn't too loud (at least on the top floor). Only thing I'd note as slightly negative is that the wifi didn't reach the top floor. Worked ok further down though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Nov 2016
7.1

Stayed in the 6 bed dorm. It was alright and close to the bus staion. Has a decent kitchen with oven but the wifi was a bit spotty at times. Only had one bathroom on my floor that I knew of, but it was clean atleast. Includes a basic toast and cereal breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.6

Handy location for transport and not too far from the city centre. There were a number of guests just looking for work so atmosphere was a bit so-so. Nice staff, rooms were pretty small but fairly clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
5.7

Pros: The staff were friendly, the location and the bar downstairs were great. Cons: Everything else, unfortunately. The facilities were poor/old, and the room/bathrooms were noisy, dirty and in poor repair. The bunk beds were open/wobbly, the mattresses terrible, the under-bed storage couldn't be locked shut due to bad design. Too few (poorly-located) outlets for the people in the room, and the bathroom (NOT in-suite, though it's listed as such) was tiny, smelled awful, and poorly lit.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.