Hostelworld.com

Bru Bar & Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4,679 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4,679 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Bru Bar & Hostel Located at 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork.
Bru Bar & Hostel
Ireland
Cork 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City
83% 4679
51.9015474 -8.4659314
Bru Bar & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
6.6

There were storage areas for our bags but no place to lock it away. The staff was friendly but nonexistent. The Wi-Fi was spotty at best

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
7.4

This was acutely hostel on top of a pub. The pic was never too loud and my room only had four people. The rooms were small and the building was old but it was kept very clean and an easy walk to anywhere in Cork.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
23rd May 2016
7.4

A good hostel, which comes with its own bar. Great! No sockets at the beds, and no lockers, unfortunately. Great people around, so would definitely stay here again. Staff was also very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
8.0

The hostel is in the back of a bar, but the bar isn't very lively and it closes at 11. The hostel receptionist is also a bartender so she isn't always available. It's a great location in downtown cork, but there's no where to park overnight near it-so keep that in mind if you're driving. The room was pretty tiny and squished, even for a hostel and the one bathroom was shared amongst 15+ people. Nice atmosphere and key cards for safety.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your kind words. Just to let you know, you had booked a 6 bed dorm and the toilet for that room is the door outside your room. The most people to share 1 toilet would be 6 people. We only have 2 x 6 bed dorms in our hostel and both have the toilets across from the room door. All other rooms are ensuite. Enjoy the rest of your travles.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2016
7.7

The reception staff is very polite and nice, but the women who clean and change the beds and everything are just very rude and giving everyone, even their own coworkers, bad looks. so I personally felt uncomfortable around them! the rooms are great, everything else is nice! The wifi stopped working after my second or third day but other than that, I can recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
6.0

Extremely tiny room, not easy to move around in the room. Very few shower rooms and toilets. Guess there must be other better options in Cork.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
8.9

I was traveling on vacation with my brother, and this was our favorite hostel on the entire trip. The rooms were small but clean. Our own private bathroom was also a huge plus. Having the bar right downstairs made it so easy to meet other guests and make fast friends in Cork. The bar itself has a great atmosphere with friendly employees and fun live music. We definitely plan to stay here again when we're in Cork next.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
9.7

Great value and location for the price. Room faced the street, so it was a bit noisy but the proximity of the bar and friendliness of the staff more than made up for it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
9.4

Very clean hostel and comfortable. We had a private room ensuite. The only issue we had was that the doors around the floor tended to slam really hard. This was only an issue for the most part 1 night when we went to bed early after a long travel day and the neighbors we think got in later than us. Otherwise, we were happy with our stay. The showers were cleaned everyday which was a surprise since it was a private shower. The kitchen was well stocked with supplies and breakfast was comfy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th May 2016
8.9

Good bar deals, great value for money with the 4 bed dorms. Biggest let down was that the wifi didn't work in the rooms. The common area was also quite dull

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.