Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bru Bar & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4,928 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4,928 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Bru Bar & Hostel Located at 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork.
Bru Bar & Hostel
Ireland
Cork 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City
83% 4928
51.9015474 -8.4659314
Bru Bar & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.3

It was ok. Not the best place i've been to and not the worst. If you stay there you obviously have to Party and Check out the homebrewed beer they sell.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
6.9

You won't get wifi unless your standing very close to the source. More of a bar for local musicians with the secondary focus being a hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
9.4

very friendly, very central, lots of fun. no problems with noise at night either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
6.9

We stayed for 3 nights here, in a private room directly above the bar. This had its pros and cons... Having the convenience of the bar just downstairs was nice, however having your bed literally shaking to the music until at least 12:30 was not (better than 2am I suppose!). It does feel more bar than hostel oriented. The wifi was brutal and we couldn't connect in our room. The bed was so-so comfortable. There was a large kitchen and an eating space with a TV that was best for wifi connection

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Everything is perfect except poor Wi-Fi signal in the room (My room was in the 3rd floor). Almost impossible to connect when I was in my room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
8.6

Bru has an awesome atmosphere and great staff that made my stay enjoyable. However, I stayed in a 6-bed dorm which was extraordinarily cramped. You're toe to toe with everyone and the room is constantly humid and hot even with the window open. Definitely the old bad thing. There's an awesome fish and chips place just down the street!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • galledbladder
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.4

Nice location. Very clean place with an exellent kitchen. The bar was good. There is no lift so hop you like stairs if you're on the higher floors. Wifi was patchy but did the trick. The road out the front got a but loud sometimes. Would stay here again probably.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.7

Great location and a welcoming atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Really good hostel, can lock all of your things away, kitchen facilities are great, the bar downstairs is a great way to meet others. Staff were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Aug 2016
2.9

Where do I even start ?! Not a single person was happy in our room and after reading the ratings , the place was not what any of us expected it to be . 6 beds crammed in a tiny space. No room to fit all our bags. Linen had hair and food in it. 6 people sharing one bathroom and shower - all in same space - so if you have to pee you better not have a small bladder when someone is using the bathroom/shower. Let's talk about the bathroom now! FILTHY. Hair stuck in drains from years ago. Never again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.