X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bru Bar & Hostel Reviews

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3532 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The 6 bed dorm was tiny and it's been like 35 degrees in the room.


89%

The atmosphere is great in the bar and the staff is friendly. My stay was great aside from the bathrooms getting unbearably hot and muggy, the ventilation was horrible. The location is great though, just across the river from the town center, close enough to walk pretty much anywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gabrielle, Thanks for the review. We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us :-) Unfortunately the bathrooms can get a little hot sometimes, especially during the rare hot summer we had! We are currently updating our ventilation system. We hope to see you again at some stage should you return to Cork. Kind reagrds, Maria.

86%

This is a good hostel for people wanting blasting music till into the night and the smell of alcohol and smoke throughout the rooms and hallways. Yes, there is a bar in the lobby and with that...the smell permeates throughout the building. There are signs posted every 5 meters warning people not to smoke...but that doesn't stop anyone from smoking and it's really bad. Having said all of that, I met wonderful people and the staff were very kind to chat with.


77%

Good all round Hostel but don't expect too much. Great bar! Showers were virtually unusable and a lot of the promotional signs around the hostel were not accurate (staff were sometimes narky when you asked about them too!), but despite this it is an enjoyable place to stay. Good for meeting people (including locals) in the bar!


91%

Great place to stay very clean and tidy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Millie, Thanks for the great reveiw! We're really glad that you enjoyed your time here with us, and hopefully we shall see you again at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Maria.

54%

Room was small, bathroom small and dirty and took staff a long time to check us in and respond to the drunk guy pounding on multiple doors at 2am.


94%

There is a bar with rock bands on the street level, but my room was quiet. The breakfast was very basic… Tea, Cereal, Toast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stephen, Thanks for the reveiw, hope you had a great stay here with us, and we hope to see you again at some stage in the future should you be returning to Cork. All the best, Maria.

91%

It may be over a bar but upstairs is quiet enough to sleep with great live bands downstairs for entertainment. Close to the train station and good price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kara, Thanks for the great reveiw! We're glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we hope to see you agian at some stage in the future should you be returning to Cork. Kind regards, Maria

83%

Very small room for having six beds in it. Bathrooms weren't very clean and would have water on the floor almost always. Good to have a kitchen and nice common room for meeting people.


86%

Not a trendy or cool place as described by others. Ensuite was nice, bar downstairs had good music. WiFi poor, even downstairs.


97%

Great hostel, great bar. Stayed there for only 2 nights but should've been longer. Locals say Bru is the best bar in Cork.


86%

Our only concern was safety , due to both the location, but mostly because the lock bolt on our bedroom door was broken. We woke up at 4am to a tapping on the door and creaky footsteps that was very frightening. We called down to the front desk and whispered that there was someone outside. A man from downstairs came up immediately and found t was another resident just wondering the halls drunkenly for his room. The staff was very helpful, we were just shaken up. dive bar downstairs is awesome

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice having a bar in te basement. Showers were a bit too hot, not something normal For a hostel.


69%

Some rooms better than others. Mine had a weird misty smell which was especially bad in the bathroom. Pretty sure there was mold in places too because I saw some in the ensuite and they had a dehumidifier in the room. But not all rooms had those issues.


100%

Really nice place.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

If Carlsberg did hostels this is it, there is a bar on the premises!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ha! Love the review Don, cheers :-) Hopefully we'll see you again at some stage in the future. -Manager

100%

Great spot in Cork. Friendly staff and great little bar downstairs! Even helped me when i left something at the hostel and they shipped it home! Fantastic would recommend to anyone!


86%

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was just a few minutes walk from the town centre. Recommend the stay as was cheap and easy!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again at some stage in the future. - Manager

86%

A good hostel in the centre of Cork with only a few mins walk to all the shops. They have nightly entertainment, the bar has some character and there are a few places to eat nearby. Security is really good as you need a room swipe card to gain access to rooms from the bar. a side door is also available when bar isParking can be an issue though to get near hostel, especially if carrying bags. Having a motorbike I was able to squeeze into a permit area outside of stated times of Mon-Sat 0830-1830.


57%

It was a nice enough hostel, but absolutely NO atmosphere whatsoever. Also, there is no "common room", just the kitchen and a strange room with 2 computers and tables and seats - kind of like a dining room, but no one actually speaks to each other. Not a good place to meet other backpackers.


(150 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback