X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bru Bar & Hostel Reviews

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3511 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Room was small, bathroom small and dirty and took staff a long time to check us in and respond to the drunk guy pounding on multiple doors at 2am.


94%

There is a bar with rock bands on the street level, but my room was quiet. The breakfast was very basic… Tea, Cereal, Toast.


91%

It may be over a bar but upstairs is quiet enough to sleep with great live bands downstairs for entertainment. Close to the train station and good price!


83%

Very small room for having six beds in it. Bathrooms weren't very clean and would have water on the floor almost always. Good to have a kitchen and nice common room for meeting people.


86%

Not a trendy or cool place as described by others. Ensuite was nice, bar downstairs had good music. WiFi poor, even downstairs.


97%

Great hostel, great bar. Stayed there for only 2 nights but should've been longer. Locals say Bru is the best bar in Cork.


86%

Our only concern was safety , due to both the location, but mostly because the lock bolt on our bedroom door was broken. We woke up at 4am to a tapping on the door and creaky footsteps that was very frightening. We called down to the front desk and whispered that there was someone outside. A man from downstairs came up immediately and found t was another resident just wondering the halls drunkenly for his room. The staff was very helpful, we were just shaken up. dive bar downstairs is awesome

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice having a bar in te basement. Showers were a bit too hot, not something normal For a hostel.


69%

Some rooms better than others. Mine had a weird misty smell which was especially bad in the bathroom. Pretty sure there was mold in places too because I saw some in the ensuite and they had a dehumidifier in the room. But not all rooms had those issues.


100%

Really nice place.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

If Carlsberg did hostels this is it, there is a bar on the premises!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ha! Love the review Don, cheers :-) Hopefully we'll see you again at some stage in the future. -Manager

100%

Great spot in Cork. Friendly staff and great little bar downstairs! Even helped me when i left something at the hostel and they shipped it home! Fantastic would recommend to anyone!


86%

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was just a few minutes walk from the town centre. Recommend the stay as was cheap and easy!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again at some stage in the future. - Manager

86%

A good hostel in the centre of Cork with only a few mins walk to all the shops. They have nightly entertainment, the bar has some character and there are a few places to eat nearby. Security is really good as you need a room swipe card to gain access to rooms from the bar. a side door is also available when bar isParking can be an issue though to get near hostel, especially if carrying bags. Having a motorbike I was able to squeeze into a permit area outside of stated times of Mon-Sat 0830-1830.


57%

It was a nice enough hostel, but absolutely NO atmosphere whatsoever. Also, there is no "common room", just the kitchen and a strange room with 2 computers and tables and seats - kind of like a dining room, but no one actually speaks to each other. Not a good place to meet other backpackers.


74%

Stayed here for one night in July! Had books with one friend, although could not be allocated to the same room, could have been avoided if better planning by the hostel. Overall, nice hostel although rooms were on the small side! Would like to see lockers or money security in the bedrooms. Nice location-close to train station and city centre


89%

The staff were sound, the room was just what we needed, and the bar is great. I'll definatly be going back

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It's an ok hostel but some things are just not that great. The reception area is in the bar and the bar is poorly lit, so you can't really see. Some of the security cameras seemed to be flickering and not working properly. The bath was not clean, in fact the floor was soon disgusting. The water in the shower comes from a knob you have to press and it goes out after 10 secs or so which is very annoying. The bar downstairs makes for a quiet stay, though, since people party there instead of in room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vera, I'm sorry that your stay was not as great as it could have been. In relation to the showers being timed, we do this to conserve water, I'm sorry if this was unpleasant for you. We did have some flickering cameras, however thay have since been repaired! We hope to see you again at some stage in the future where we will do our upmost to give you a fantastic time :-) - Manager

100%

Nice place and great staff!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Hope the rest of your travels go fantastic, and perhaps we shall you again at some stage in the future :-) -Manager

100%

Does not get any better than this place for 19 euros inc. breakfast , great value . Only thing would say if your not having 4 or 5 pints of guiness , bring your earplugs as bar closes at 4am .


(149 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback