X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bru Bar & Hostel Reviews

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3630 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good hostel. Unfortuanetely it is in a bit of a sketchy area, but it is close to the city center. The staff is very nice and in the bar downstairs takes place a different event every day of the week.


89%

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome !!! Best hostel ever in Cork !!!!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Wifi was awful and the computers were terribly slow. It's your average hostel, for the moneybit was no better or worse then the others we stayed in.


74%

Did the job but not much atmosphere and the staff were not unfriendly but neither were they particularly welcoming.


94%

Nice hostel with nice bar; everything was very clean. I would stay again!


100%

Great venue and lovely staff. Enjoyed my night there and the bar is always good fun. Thanks to the girls for the lovely sausage BBQ and I know eating is cheating but the food smelled to nice. Overall the venue is very good but the staff make the place a home away from home. Cheers


83%

Location was great, atmosphere was great. They held a free BBQ downstairs which was a nice addition and the bar was a great place as well. My only complaint was the rooms were way too small to fit four people into. Would stay here again!


69%

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting a friend. I had forgotten to swap my key one day and therefore it didn't work when I came back to the hostel at 11:30. The worker inside let me in and kindly gave me a new key. The day I left I had to catch a bus at 7 a.m. therefore I wouldn't have made breakfast in time. The guy on reception fixed up some quick breakfast for me which I really appreciated as I was due for a 3 hour bus journey...all in all I would recommend this place.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Phoebe, Thanks fo taking the time to write a reveiw. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again at some stage in the future if you are ever back in Cork :-) Kind regards, Maria.

77%

Nice central location with a nice bar downstairs with live music most nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kurt, Thanks for taking the time to write a reveiw :-) We have live music 7 nights a week! So if you are ever back in Cork, be sure to pop in! Kind regards, Maria

63%

Key card very unsadisfactory, worked only half the time.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maurice, I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with your key card. We are currently undergoing an extensive upgrade of our door systems, and we hope to eliminate any problems such as the one you experienced in the very near future. I hope that despite this you enjoyed your stay here with us :-) Kind regards, Maria

86%

wifi didnt work!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Iago, Sorry to hear that you were having problems with the wifi while you were here. We have recently updated our wifi so that it now works efficiantly throughout the whole hostel. We hope to see you agian at some stage if you are ever back in Cork :-) Kind regards, Maria

80%

Room was small and there was just one toilet and shower for everybody. Good for one night sleeping, but not for longer...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dominika, Most of our rooms are 4 bed dorms ensuite. To have one toilet / shower between four people is really the standard for most hostels. To have a shower / toilet per person is just not feasible. I hope you enjoyed your stay all the same :-) Kind regards, Maria.

74%

Good breakfast, nice bar

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Laura, Thank's for taking the time to write a reveiw! I hope you had a great stay here with us, and we hope to see again should you ever be back in Cork :-) Kind regards, Maria

100%

Very clean, good service, good value, good location. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Amanda, Thanks for the great reveiw! Really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we hope to see you again at some stage if you are ever back in Cork :-) Kind regards, Maria

80%

Bar downstairs, use a key card to get into hostel area. Wifi only works in bar and sometimes in the kitchen. Room was small, but that's irrelevant since you want to be seeing the sights right?? Location is close to city center, 5 minute walk. Close to bus and train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Adam, Thank's for taking the time to write a reveiw. We have updated our wifi so it now works throughout the hostel :-) I hope you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we hope to see you again at some point if you are ever back in Cork. Kind regards, Maria

74%

needs an extra WC for when people are showering in the ensuit, no lockers, but staff is ok and bar downstairs is nice


94%

The bar underneath is great especially when they have lock ins for the residents, showers had a push start and only one temperature and it was way to hot, wifi in rooms is good and the breakfast is fine, kitchen is big and they have lots of stuff to add to your meals


29%

Disgraceful. Filthy.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice hostel with a pub downstairs. Very nice staff. Location is pretty good, because there are a lot of food places around. City center is close to walk.


94%

Great stay at a nice hostel. Very good atmosphere especially if you're up for a bit of 'craic' etc. The bar is quite nice and always plenty of interesting people to meet even for the solo traveler. Recommended!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Brian, Thanks for the great review! Really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we hope to see you again at some point in the future if you ar ever back in Cork :-) Kind regards, Maria

(171 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback