X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bru Bar & Hostel Reviews

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4148 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We had a fantastic time in Cork at the Bru Bar and Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the place!

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

great location! walking distance right around the corner from the bus station and city center. rooms and bathroom are pretty clean. staff were amazing (esp Gary and Ronan)! great atmosphere! live music and bar downstairs! nice way to meet the locals as well as fellow travelers. only bad were that each bunk didn't have their own outlets as well as awful wifi. you can only get it in the kitchen/tv room and sometimes on the stairs. barely down in the pub. other than that would recommend!


100%

was great place defo go back

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I loved this hostel!! They have a bar downstairs with live music, which made meeting fellow hostel stayers and locals super easy and fun! Bathroom was clean, the rooms are a little cramped but if you're just planning on sleeping in it its fine. Friendly staff, and met some very cool people here. I would recommend to anyone and I'll be going back for sure! Great location as well, and easy to find.


89%

It was a great experience, the receptionist was nice and helpful (the tall guy) and no complaints. However, the bathroom had a musty smell that I could not get over and bothered even when the bathroom ventilation was on. Overall, great stay at Bru, cool people, bar atmosphere is pretty cool too, plus you get 10% off if you stay at the hostel.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Mighty Craic ,the staff are sound and gaff is great


100%

excellent stuff

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The kitchen was very dingey and didn't give off the feeling of being clean (even if it was). The "lounge area" wasn't very welcoming as far as places to sit, activities or lighting and the bar was too narrow to even try to move to maybe talk to someone new.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great stay- very clean! The windows are a bit thin if you're on the street side, but the staff were super lovely and OUTRAGEOUSLY helpful. Overall, A+!

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Mick and Ramon were the best hosts/bartenders! Very friendly and personable! The room and bathroom were small- hard to move around a bit with 3 of us in there, but kind of expected. It was nice to have a bar downstairs for pub access BUT watch out for the 5am recycling truck- bottles being emptied is pretty loud! Right in the city center so lots to see and access- even a little convenience store about a block away for those last minute things.


40%

Bru bar hostel is located on a street that has lots of strip clubs and the like, which wasn't part of their description. They say that smoking isn't allowed but I smelled it several times throughout our one night stay. The kitchen and hangout spaces are extremely small and the sink was full of dirty dishes in one half and scummy water in the other half. The security door to the hostel was also consistently left open allowing anyone access.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

No complaints, good pillows, it's comfortable, bathrooms were clean and the location is great! We would stay again!


91%

It was very clean. The 4 bunk female room had its on bathroom which was nice. Only complaint is that the wifi did not extend into the rooms. I had to sit on the stairs to get wifi.


77%

The lady that helped us was amazingly friendly and very helpful. It was nice having live music every night. Wi-Fi was terrible in the top floor rooms. Also we booked a room for 3 people and we received a room with a bunk bed that had a slightly bigger bottom bed so two of us had to share a bed and comforter for the two nights. Breakfast was good but kept running out of food and not restocking.


91%

The staff was very friendly and helpful! We spend a night in the bar and had a great time! Would recommend it to anyone.


89%

Location is perfect Room was very clean. I saw their cleaning system this system is trustable You can get discount when you drink beer Just bring your card to bar I can recommend to you I stayed here 2 times


86%

A three person bedroom for two: too expansive, with no room/bedsheets for the third. Super clean, cool staff, a little loud because of generator that turned on at night! Perfect for party people, and if you don't need a lot of sleep! Would love to come back, though.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Just stayed here one night traveling to the western part of the country. Rooms/beds were nice. Kitchen was a bit small, but breakfast was basic and nice. Didn't venture to the bar, but it looked nice.


80%

All in all, I find that the stay was pleasant and the staff were really great, however I only stayed at Bru Bar & Hostel for one night, and that was enough. The window did not close, so there was a gap letting the Irish weather inside the room, making it very cold. My head was 30cm from the window, so I did not feel great the day after. This was also amplified by the loud music throughout the night (a Monday) which boomed through the open window. Conclusion. Fix the window: solve problems!

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It was a good place all in all. Staff were friendly, place was relatively clean. Close to the station and down town area. Everything you need is there, nothing too fancy but it all worked!


(146 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback