Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Budget Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Budget Backpackers Located at 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Budget Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JR 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket
88% 5439
55.9478060 -3.1930303
Budget Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Sep 2016
8.9

Great location and good staff. Showers and toilets very clean. Decent sized lockers for medium sized bags. Good laundry facilities and well priced. Decent food at café downstairs. Power points and lights next to every bed. Push button showers were a pain, but always hot. No real complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us and giving us such great feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Sep 2016
8.0

The only drawback is push-button showers, if you can live with that you're sweet

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
8.6

Very safe hostel with a very good location. My biggest gripe was how small the bathrooms were but it was very good value for money all around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great comments . We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Location and Value for money on point. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2016
7.4

Not my favorite, but good in a pinch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the 10/10 for our Location. We are sorry that we where not your favourite but we appreciate all your good ratings. We hope you had a safe onward journey and enjoyed our beautiful city while you where here. BB Crew :)

  • janehal1990
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
8.6

Great Hostel, Close to castle and other sights Trendy clean and a great atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback . We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our location. Hopefully you will visit us again on your next trip to Edinburgh. BB Crew :)

15th Sep 2016
6.9

It wasn't a bad place, just not very social. Many cliquey residents living there killed the vibe a bit. The staff was helpful but distant. All this isn't too conducive for a friendly environment. The place was very clean, in a sterilized sort of way. The showers although tidy were terrible. Many hooks, which were nice, yet no shelves for placing things when cleaning. Push showers are annoying enough but there was no direction nozzle which blasts water like a hose and no temperature controls.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the 10/10 rating for Location. Our staff are normally very helpful and friendly. We are sorry if they did not achieve their normally high level of customer service in this instance. Our Push showers have recently been installed to improve our carbon footprint and reduce the level of water used by the hostel. We are so sorry if you found this an inconvenience. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope you enjoyed our beautiful city during your stay BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
10.0

One of the best hoste I've stayed! The private room totally worth every pennies, and the hostel location is perfect! Definetly staying back there if i came back to Edinburgh!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
10.0

This place is really cool, I strongly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there. Thanks for the great Recommendation. We really appreciate you taking the time to review us and giving us such great feedback. Hopefully we will see you back soon. BB Crew :)

9th Sep 2016
9.7

Perfect location and friendly staff. Really nice rooms and facilities. But had to pay for luggage storage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
8.3

- Cold water in shower (no calibration) - locker in room not included - Slow wifi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the 10/10 rating for Security Location Staff Atmosphere and Cleanliness. There should always be hot water and we have asked our maintenance team to investigate. Thanks for the heads up. We have noticed recently with us being so full that at certain times of the day the wifi slows down a little. We are in the process of upgrading our wifi to make it super fast. We hope you where not too inconvenienced at the points in the day if the wifi slow down. Thanks again for all the great ratings you gave us BB Crew :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.