Hostelworld.com

Budget Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,129 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,129 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
Budget Backpackers Located at 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Budget Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JR 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket
88% 5129
55.9478060 -3.1930303
Budget Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd May 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel and even better location! Just a block away from the castle and Royal mile. The best shower I took all trip! Very clean and I slept like a baby. The bar had great selection for food and beer and even better prices. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I went back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2016
10.0

This hostel is just amazing!!! We stayed only a night and we regret not staying more time there. Rooms are clean, big and with comfy beds, every bed has its single socket and lamp. We were in a room of 30 people but it is like two rooms, one over the other one. Bathrooms are very modern. It has a little "restaurant" to eat breakfast or dinner, it has also a big kitchen and what it makes the difference to other hostels, it has a lounge room, with a big screen TV, sofas and poufs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel. They have a free walking tour, nice staff, great location and 5 min away from the station Waverley. My only complain would be that the music coming from the bar was loud, but I would just wear some earplugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2016
7.1

Dirty kitchen and dining room, not enough toilets and showers, nice big rooms with really big lockers and tons of sockets in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
8.0

Considerate staffs. Very nice location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
9.1

I only stayed in this hostel for a night, but the rooms were very clean and the staff was lively and amazing. Great location and spirit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • arsturges956135
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
4th May 2016
8.3

Cool place to stay but found it hard to meet people. Very clean- the staff clean the washrooms something like 3 times a day (which meant they were always in there scrubbing when I wanted to shower) it was kind of a pain that you had to rent tubs for dry storage in the kitchen, especially when you don't have enough dry food to fill a tub/there isn't space on any of the shelves for another tub

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st May 2016
10.0

Great location, clean and nice! Bright rooms and friendly staff. They have an agreement with a bar in another hostel also, and offer deals in both bars! Loved the place and the city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
9.7

Really clean, lots of doors to keep the sound out of the rooms, nice big kitchen (its closed after 10 though so no drunk food for you), and a nice cheap bar downstairs. The only thing that sucked, which is mostly my own fault, is that i left my glasses there and they haven't turned up apparently..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.