Hostelworld.com

Budget Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Great locations. Great atmosphere for young people. Cheap Bar and food inside. Free walking tour around Edinburgh and 5 minute walk from Edinburgh castle. Location is ideal!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
6.9

The hangout area was very nice and the beers were cheap and affordable! Although the rooms were very hot and I'm pretty sure the person about me was living there had garbage everywhere! They should check those things beforehand and the bathrooms were pretty dirty! But good atmosphere, not sure if I would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for the great comments on our chill out spaces and the great ratings for our Value Security Location and Staff. Our heating has been on high as it has been cold in Edinburgh but all the heaters in our rooms can be turned down by our guests. We are sorry if there was another guests that was messy . Our rooms are checked every day but thanks for the heads up and we have asked our housekeeping team to be more aware of any guests creating a mess. We hope you had a safe onward journey after your departure. BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.9

Really cool staff and great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback. We really appreciate it. BB Crew :)

  • kathryn1588678
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Feb 2017
6.9

About what you'd expect for the price. All we needed was a bed for a few hours & a hot shower (mine needed running to get hot) we were in a large dorm & as you'd expect it was noisy people coming & going all hours of the night & early in the morning. There was also loud music until 3. We probably got a bit more sleep than we would have done on the airport floor & it was OK for the price but prices are cheap in Edinburgh in February I've got much more for a similar price in the past.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.4

The hostel is very well located. Te atmosphere is super cool. The bar is excellent, great food, great beer and great prices. I would totally recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us and giving us such great words of recommendation . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon. BB Crew :)

6th Feb 2017
9.1

Nice hostel in a great location. Easily walkable to all the main sights. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Luggage storage available if you arrive early. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are pleased you liked our Location and Cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to review and giving us such great feedback. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.9

Great location and worth your money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Had a really lovely stay there!! It was my first time staying by myself somewhere new and the staff were super friendly and approachable. The whole atmosphere was really chill and relaxing, and probably best of all, there were plenty of bathrooms everywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.1

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the budget backpackers. The location was perfect for us, there was a lovely view of the castle and everything we had hoped to see was right on our doorstep. Our beds were comfy and the four bed dorm was large enough for us to comfortably spend time in. The bar downstairs was the cheapest we found. Thanks for having us, we will definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.