Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Budget Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5,686 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5,686 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Budget Backpackers Located at 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Budget Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JR 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket
89% 5686
55.9478060 -3.1930303
Budget Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jan 2017
10.0

The staff were very friendly and open. They were helpful and resourceful when answering my questions. The beds in the 10 room dorm are comfortable and I would be happy to recommend the hostel to other people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time and writing such a great review. We really appreciate it and we hope that you will stay with us again when you next visit our great city. BB Crew :)

13th Jan 2017
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here, especially because their cafe was awesome and priced extremely well. I would recommend this hostel to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the recommendation to our future guests. BB Crew :)

12th Jan 2017
9.7

Pros: Great location, great staff, laundry cost 3 pounds to wash and dry, clean, a lot more Con: Wifi is not the best Overall a fabulous hostel that I would recommend to anyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great comments and recommendation to our future guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have asked our IT guys to check the wifi as it has only just been upgraded and should be good most of the time. We hope you had a safe onward journey and that you will stay with us again when you next visit our great city. BB Crew :)

8th Jan 2017
10.0

Everything was great! Perfect location in old town. Quick walk from everything (but Edinburgh is small enough where you really can walk everywhere). Everyone that worked there was so nice and helpful! The rooms were clean and the food in the cafe was good and cheap. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Mighty10
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.4

Top 3 hostels I've ever stayed in. Brilliant place that had everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thank you so very much for your great comments. We really appreciate it when our guest take the time to review us and give such positive feedback. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
8.6

The location is good - you can indeed walk to many major sights (after all Edinburgh isn't a very big city by my Asian standards). The staff were very nice and friendly. You could deposit your luggage there for free before check-in if you arrived too early. And the bathrooms were very clean!! This really made my experience quite pleasant, especially compared to my stay at another hostel in London LOL. The only thing I have to complain about is the WIFI, I wasn't able to connect at all...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great feedback . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are not sure why during your stay you where not able to connect to the wifi as we are not aware of any problems but thanks for letting us know and we have informed our IT guys to investigate. We hope you had a safe onward journey and that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

What a hostel. Probably the nicest, cleanest and most fun hostel I've stayed in. Bathrooms were so clean! Great shower pressure and nice and warm. Kitchen is well stocked. Bar/cafe downstairs is great to hangout in and reasonably priced. Treetop room is great for a chillout. Plenty of lockers, comfy beds. Great location, everything you could want in walking distance! Loved the stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey. Thank you so very much for your kind words. We are all smiling here after reading your review. It means so much for us for our guests to have an enjoyable experience when staying with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have taken the time to write such positive comments. Hopefully you will stay with us again on your next visit to our great city. BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

Over all a great stay, only slightly knocked by the attitudes of some of the others staying there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us and giving us such great ratings and feedback. We are so sorry that some other guests staying put at bit of a damper on your visit. We very much hope that you had a safe onward journey and that you will stay with us again when you next visit Edinburgh. BB Crew :)

  • hamishmitchell4625
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel, great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so very much for the great feedback. Its always so nice for us here at Budget Backpackers to see such positive comments. We hope you will stay with us again when you next visit our beautiful city. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
5.7

Most of the receptionists were very unfriendly, specially one Italian guy, one Spanish girl and the manager, they were very unpolite and unhelpful, they deserve a bit of education and manners face to the customers. The cleaners staff were great and good workers. Location was good enaugh but noise at night is annoying. The bedrooms need ventilation, definitely. The price was normal if consider what you can find there. Cheers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.