Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Budget Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2017
9.1

This hostel is in a great location and the staff is super helpful. Everything works and there are plugs for every bed. It's a great place to meet people, but it can be loud at all times of the day and night. With the shower, you have to keep clicking a button to make it keep going which can be annoying but is fine. It is definitely one of the better hostels we've stayed at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
8.3

Awesome location! The attached bar is a bit strange. Staff were okay but not overly friendly. Room was excellent. The personal stacked lockers and charging stations were a huge bonus

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you liked our great location and our Security. This is always a hit with our guests. We are so sorry if any member of our bar staff failed to deliver the best possible customer service. We pride ourselves on good customers service and we have passed your comments onto our customer service team. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope you will stay with us again when you next visit our beautiful city.

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.7

Great overall!!! Definitely recommend it. One minor defect is that the shower water temperature is uncontrollable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome rating you have given us. We really appreciate your feedback. Our shower water temperature is centrally controlled to give the most comfortable temp although we have sometimes found some guests like it a bit cooler and some like it a bit warmer. We hope you where not too inconvenienced by our set up . Thank you again for taking the time to review us BB Manager :)

17th May 2017
8.0

Very secure place, in a perfect location, next to the royal mile and the castle. Almost everything in the city is in walking distance. The kitchen is quite large, but dirty. This place is also kind of a maze that takes a while to get used to. Overall, it was worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
5.7

It was noisy outside until early morning. We could hardly sleep. We could not close the window because it was hot. We had a miserable night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so sorry if you where disturbed by the noise outside. Our awesome location is in the very heart of the historic old town next to all the cafes and bars We do have double gazing to stop the noise from outside but unfortunately this will not deliver if the windows are left open. We have now turned down the heating as we are in the summer months now so hopefully this will now not be a problem. We are sorry that you did not think our £11 per night was good value. We appreciate your comments to enable us to always improve our service to our guests. BB Manager :)

14th May 2017
9.7

Everything is quite good. Only the shower is little bit annoying with pressing every 10 s and the shower place is narrow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great feedback and ratings. We really do appreciate it. We do hope the size of our showers was not an inconvenience for you. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
10.0

Great spot, very central and great value for money. I shall be back 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great feedback and awesome ratings . We are so pleased you liked our Location and Value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back . BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
9.4

I had a great experience! The staff was very helpful and they are at the desk 24/7. The best part about this hostel is definitely the location and atmosphere. I was traveling alone and went to the cafe on the first floor and met some awesome people. The location is great, because you are in walking distance of basically everything in city center. You are also right near bars and clubs. Would 100% recommend going there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased your stay with us was such a good experience. We appreciate your positive comments and we hope you will visit us again soon. BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th May 2017
9.4

Had a really nice stay. Only drawback: if you're in the shower at night the lights might go out and you will not be able to activate them cause you're not in the activation-movement-zone.... Apart from that good deal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you had a nice stay. Yes our bathroom sensors are just outside the shower areas. This is not normally a problem during the day but late at night when there is less traffic . We have noticed on the odd occasion the the lights time out and they need to be reactivated by moving into the activation zone and they will stay on for another 20 minutes. We are sorry if they deactivated while you where in the shower but thanks for the heads up and we have organised for the activation time to be increased. Thanks for the great ratings and hopefully we will see you back again soon. BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
9.1

I had a hard time finding the hostel after being dropped off at the Waverley Bridge. However, I was able to find it after asking about five different strangers. The rest of my experiences at the hostel were wonderful. The spaces were clean and lockers were well-maintained. I felt safe leaving some belongings when I was out and about. The bathroom was also spotless, with good lighting. Most importantly, I met a few very nice people and they made my trip memorable. Thank you, Budget Backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so very much for your very kind words . We are so pleased you stay with us was a memorable enjoyable experience and you liked our clean bathrooms. We hope you had a safe onward journey after you left us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some time in the not too distant future. BB Manager :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.