Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Budget Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5,591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5,591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Budget Backpackers Located at 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Budget Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JR 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket
89% 5591
55.9478060 -3.1930303
Budget Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Dec 2016
8.6

My stay was great! The only downside was that the 30 person room did not have windows that opened. Ventilation would have been great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are not sure why the windows did not open as they certainly should do . They are on restrictors to stop them opening too far for safety reasons but they certainly should partially open for ventilation. We have asked our maintenance team to investigate to ensure that they do open. Thanks for the heads up. We appreciate your great comments and we hope you had a safe onward journey after you checked out. BB Crew :)

1st Dec 2016
8.3

The location is absolutely perfect. It feels very secure with lockers big enough for a travelling backpack (bring your own lock). The washrooms were clean. No free breakfast :( but the paid breakfast was very good and there are daily food specials to keep an eye out for. Typical young "kickass yeah!" atmosphere, really lame. Also I think it must have been some kind of Spanish holiday when I was there, making it impossible to meet anyone being the only English speaker... Oh well!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Dec 2016
8.3

So my overall review is a good one. The front staff were helpful and the rooms were suitable for the value in my opinion. The best rating I would give is the location as it was literally in the center of everything. The only negative mark I would create would be the CO ED bathrooms. I attempted to use the shower on a few occasions and noticed female pads not being disposed of ..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for all your positive comments on our Location,Staff and Rooms. Some of our sink areas are mixed but our showers are private pods with a shower and private changing area in front. We can only apologise if at the point when you used the toilets that the bins had not been emptied yet. We have passed your comment onto our housekeeping team to ensure the high standards that we like to deliver to all our guests are maintained. Thank you again for all your positive comments and we hope to see you back again soon. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
8.6

BUDGET BACKPACKERS was in a great location, close to the Edinburgh castle and a short walk from the royal mile and George street. The hostel itself was welcoming; my friend and I stayed in a private twin room which was great value for money. If you're not used to noise it was moderately noisy overnight. The most frustrating thing about our stay was the quality of the wifi; at least in our room it was pretty bad. Overall a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback and all your positive comments. There should be good wifi in all part of our building but thanks for letting us know and we have got our IT guys onto the case. The good news is we are upgrading our wifi in 14 days time to a much faster network so this should improve wifi speed all round. Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you back again soon. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
9.1

The location is perfect, just a few walk from Edinburgh castle! The staff were really nice.. One thing that I would suggest is don't forget to bring your own towel, because we didn't get one!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome 10/10 ratings for our Value for Money, Security, Location and Staff. We really appreciate this great feedback. We do provide Towels for the private rooms but also hire towels for only £1.00 for any guests that forget to bring a towel. Thanks again for the great feedback and hopefully we will see you back again soon. BB crew :)

23rd Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved our stay! The staff is great, great with directions, and especially awesome when we went on the walking tour with Christina! Kitchen could use some proper bowls but other than that the hostel itself was lovely! As a queer couple, we felt safe as well, at the hostel and the city in general!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks a million for the awesome review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to write such great comments. Thanks for the heads up on the bowls we will get this fixed pronto. We hope you will visit us again soon. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
9.4

Very strategically located.All the attractions nearby. The staff was very cheerful and helpful. I believe I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you liked our location and that you have taken the time and written such a positive review. Its good to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.1

Great Hostel, very clean, great location near to the main touristcs places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Nov 2016
6.9

Massive hostel - guests dont matter. Very bad staff when checking in (unfriendly, didnt help, started small talk about Brazil commenting about crime and violence) - gotta say a night recepcionist was very kind though. Lights in the bathroom turn off while showering. Rooms are nice and warm but shower rooms are cold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the 10/10 rating for location. Our staff are normally very friendly and we can only apologise if on check in they did not attain their normally high level of customer service. Our bathroom lights are on sensors to ensure our green credentials but only go off if there is no movement in the bathroom area but they do go on again when anybody enters the area. We are pleased you found our rooms warm . Our shower rooms do have heating in them and of course lots of hot water. but the heating in this area is generally set lower than the dorms but we do have controls on them so we have turned them higher after your comments and during the cold snap we have just experienced. We do hope you where not too inconvenience by the lower temperature in the shower rooms and we hope you had a safe onward journey after leaving our hostel. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.1

Really great hostel, brill location, top staff and great cafe/bar area with prices of £2.60 for a wine an welcome break from London :) Thing that could make it better? Asking people if they are more up for a party or chill room. We were died tely inthe party mood but sharif a room with people who had the lights of at 6pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great comments. Its always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Thanks for the great suggestion for a party/chill dorm and we will definitely consider this. Thanks again for the awesome review and we hope we will see you back again when you next fancy a break away from London. BB Crew :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.