X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Budget Backpackers Reviews

37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
4940 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The showers were cold, both in the morning and in the evening. Aside from that it was very nice, the atmosphere seemed very fun and the staff were friendly. The bunk beds were fairly large and the room was clean. Plenty of outlets and multiple USB outlets.


91%

Awesome location for a hostel with a really good vibe! Walking distance to anywhere you would want to go in Edinburgh, including places for a night out.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The toilets need more attention towards remaining clean.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect in every way. Everything was as promised. Ticked every box for what we wanted in a hostel. Exceptionally friendly staff, helped with everything. Really great location, we didn't have to get any public transport, everything was walking distance. It's also very funky looking on the inside, in a good way!

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Required a key card for entry into the room areas and additionally for your room. The location was nicely located about a 10 minute walk from the royal mile, 7 minutes from the castle, right on the street with several pubs and bars, and about 17 from the bus station. It was however, fairly loud all throughout Saturday night.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel, great place to stay for a week and meet some amazing people. Good social atmosphere. Decent bar and food. Would stay again.


100%

The security pieces of paper are annoying but everything else is great!!


69%

The mattress and pillow were good.the common areas were mainly hard surface. The bartenders were friendly, but the front desk staff was not. Male staffers are more helpful than the female staffers.I booked in here by mistake because somehow I missed the word PARTY in the description!! This is a party Hostel.


94%

One of the best hostels I ever stayed at. The room was nice and clean and the staff was more than helpful. The nights in the lower floors were a little noisy from the parties so I'd recommend earplugs.


86%

Convenient location to explore Edinburgh by foot and a walkable distance from the train station - makes this hostel a good option for spending a few nights!


100%

Really great option in Edinburgh. The location was excellent, easy to find and a short walk to the train/bus station. Each bed came with 2 USB ports and regular outlets. The cafe had lots of options for those who wanted a quick bite whenever. Definitely would recommend!


100%

Can't fault this hostel. Love it


97%

Nice hostel.Very good location.Very good and cheep food in the bar.Animation in hostels.like games,movies.Stuff is very helpful and very kind.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Other than a couple of the bathrooms being out of order and the food they served not being very good it was a great place to stay! I really recommend the free walking tour! One of the best tours I've been on!

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I only stayed for one night, but from what I could tell the place was great for the money. The lounge/bar area is very modern and welcoming, and the staff was very helpful. It is in a great location as it is just a short walk from the Edinburgh Castle as well as some of the better clubs and bars in town. I would definitely recommend to a friend.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Extremely friendly staff, beds were super comfortable. And rooms were great.

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice - recommended !

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really great hostel, good communal areas and a big kitchen.


97%

Great centrally located hostel. Easy to find and in a perfect location for exploring Edinburgh. Loved the set up downstairs. I stopped in the twelve bed dorm. There are large lockers near the beds and each has it's own powerpoint and light. The showers didn't get overly warm, however it's not a major complaint.


100%

The kitchen was amazing! A chef would even be happy here. The staff was extremely helpful, putting full service hotels to shame. Keep up the great work!!!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(115 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback