Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Budget Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Budget Backpackers Located at 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Budget Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JR 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket
88% 5354
55.9478060 -3.1930303
Budget Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Aug 2016
7.4

Not really a great place for solo travelers... It's a big place with not too much atmosphere, but to be fair I didn't take advantage of their communal spaces. Staff were really friendly and helpful! The location was very good, but I had difficulty finding it at first because Edinburgh can be a bit confusing with the two levels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there . Thanks for taking the time to review us. and the 10/10 ratings for our Security and Location. You stayed during the Edinburgh Festival which tends to be the time when backpackers avoid the city as it can be a bit expensive to stay and most hostel chill out spaces always tend to be quiet as there is so much going on outside at the numerous venues that open for the 3 week festival and most hostel guests at this time are here to experience the Fringe which is such a fun time. We hope you will visit us again as our hostel normally has a great atmosphere with lots of event put on for our guests. We hope you did enjoy some of the festival events that where going on outside our hostel and we hope you had a safe onward journey. BB Crew :)

19th Aug 2016
8.3

Loved that there are outlets next to every bed! Very convient. Noise from the bars nearby was loud, but I was there one weekend during Fringe, so I figure that was to be expected. Very nice facilities and helpful staff, I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review. We are in the middle of the festival area so yes there can be some extra noise during festival time. We really appreciate your understanding and we are so pleased you found our staff, facilities and location on point . We hope you will visit us again soon. BB Crew :)

16th Aug 2016
9.1

Right in the middle of everything! The place was clean and comfy. The cafe in the common area makes for a social environment and has pretty good food as well. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey . Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location always gets the thumbs up and so nice to hear you agree. Its gets a bit crazy during festival time . People having fun, partying, late nights, the buzz that comes to the city with the Fringe can't be understated. Thanks for the awesome review and we hope to see you back soon. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Fantastic place to stay and the location is perfect esp at Fringe time!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review. Yes our location during the Fringe is second to none. We are in the heart of the festival district which is great for all our guests who are coming to have fun and experience this unique festival which is only on for 3 weeks of the year in Edinburgh. Thanks again for the awesome review and we hope you will visit us again soon. BB Crew :)

11th Aug 2016
8.6

Room was nice, overall hostel is very modern, located right in the middle of everything happening in Edinburgh. I hated the toilets, too high and the square shape made it awkward. Otherwise, nice that they have grab and go foods and some other little items available

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us and giving us such positive feedback. We are sorry you found the toilet shape uncomfortable. We have just upgraded all our showers and toilets and opted for the square toilet as it looked very cool and modern . We hope they did not inconvenience you too much and we hope to see you back again soon. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
8.6

Funky hostel in the heart of the city. Really helpful staff. I had sent emails before we checked in, asking a few questions, and got responses back quickly. Thanks! Sandy Osborne and Eric Denholm

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff very helpful. We hope to see you back again soon BB Crew :)

10th Aug 2016
9.7

Pro's: the staff checking us in was amazing, the atmosphere was super chill, the people were great. We stayed in a 4 bed mixed room and it was very spacious with lockers to store your things and a USB port at every beside . Cons: one member of the overnight staff was very rude, the blankets and pillows were worn and raggedy and felt gross to sleep with. But my biggest problem was the mouse in the common area- no doubt because of all the dirty dishes left in there by other guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback and positive comments. Our duvets and Pillows are replaced every 6 months to ensure good quality but thanks for letting us know and we have instigated a full check of all our linen to ensure any items needing replaced is done so immediately. Thanks for letting us know that a little furry friend has managed to find it way into our building. We have immediately contacted our specialist team to ensure he/she is swiftly removed. Thanks for the heads up. Thanks again for the awesome ratings and we hope to see you back again soon. BB Crew :)

  • olympus78667
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2016
6.9

An okay hostel, lovely beds and lockers, and overall cleanliness suitable. Staff however were unfriendly and unapproachable, like they just didn't want to be there. Doors to rooms were sometimes difficult to open and close and very loud. Absolutely no atmosphere at all, which was surprising for the fringe festival.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. We are pleased you liked our beds , lockers and overall cleanliness. Our staff are normally very friendly and we can only apologise if they did not reach their normal high levels of customer service. Our hostel always has a great atmosphere. Although festival time is the only time when the hostel break out spaces are very quiet as everybody is outside enjoying the festival. We hope you had a safe onward journey and enjoyed our beautiful city during your visit . BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.4

I can only describe Budget Backpackers as first class. It was much better than I had anticipated. The staff were intelligent and helpful and always responded to ones enquiries. I would definitely use Budget Backpackers again and recommend to friends. Thanking you Sir Robert

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. so very much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We all try really hard at Budget Backpackers to ensure our guests get a positive experience and it is so very nice for us when we get such great feedback. Thanks again it is very much appreciated and we hope you had a safe onward journey. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Aug 2016
9.7

Excellent location with friendly staff and clean facilities. Bed was comfortable and quiet. Nice cafe and chill out area and the place felt safe and secure. Had a very enjoyable 2 day stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly . Thank you for using us during your stay and we hope you will visit us again soon. BB Crew :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.