X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Budget Backpackers Reviews

37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
4387 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

great place to stay, friendly, helpful staff, good nightly meal deals from the cafe. only downside, kitchen is very small, there's not a lot of plates or cups and the dining room is quite small. the non-alcoholic drinks from the cafe are quite expensive too £1.60 for a cup of tea! may just be edinburgh prices though?


94%

Budget Backpackers had a very unique atmosphere; edgy and colorful, kind of a hipster place. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The hostel also has a cafe/bar area with reasonably priced drinks and food; myself and those I was travelling with spent a lot of time there. The bathrooms are shared by women and men, which took some getting used to, but everyone was respectful. My only complaint is that the showers did not get hot water.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kiera. Thanks for the great review. We have investigate the hot water problem you pointed out and have found a couple of showers in the building require their mixer valves to be replaced as they are not letting hot water through. We are on the case to have them replaced immediately . Thanks for letting us know. We hope you have had a safe onward journey and hope to see you back soon. BB Crew

74%

Those who love mainstream music and culture will surely like this hostel. The hostels logo - donkey with sunglasses - is a great indication of the atmosphere here. Imagine brightly coloured rooms with the latest pop and dance music blasting. Surprising contrast between the loud and busy social spaces and the quiet room. Acceptable washrooms and showers. Rather untidy kitchen, when I was there, but acceptable cooking equipment. Staff were friendly and honest.


97%

Taking away 1 point for facilities. The bathroom showers were malfunctioning and would suddenly throw bouts of cold water in the middle of a shower.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Sometimes too noisy. Crowded fridge, need better system. Free stuff shelf broken.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

was really good, quality price excellent, all the rooms are really cool refurbished and full of colors. the kitchen is really nice to enjoy a hot meal there or take away. Everything was excellent

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location and services include a large bar and an awesome chill out room


97%

Really good hostel! Excellent location, right in the heart of Edinburgh Old Town, being possible to see all the tourist attractions by walking. The atmosphere in the hostel is also nice, they have a bar inside with reasonable prices and nice staff and the common area is great to meet people, talk and drink. The only way it could get better, would be with free breakfast. Great experience, definitely recommend!


94%

Location is great, but showers were a bit cold! Amazing place!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

For only charging me £10 a night, I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked a 4-person female dorm room. But the staff was pleasant, friendly, professional, and eager to have guests come along on the free walking tours and pub crawls that they offer. The lobby, cafe, toilets, and room were all very clean and the layout interesting to say the least. Plus, it's close to the Royal Mile, has a chill, artistic atmosphere, and just up the the hill, you can stop in for a coffee at The Elephant House.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Good and clean .. Nice staffs friendly staffs bathroom are clean .. Overall Happy to stay .

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Overall everything was fantastic however there was never any hot water in the showers which was brutal to deal with in the heart of winter


77%

Given that it's one of the cheapest hostels in the city centre, I can't really complain - great location, well taken care of and generally quite pleasant. Could use some more equipment, like a hairdryer, permanent locks on the lockers and some more accessories in the kitchen. Also, decent insulation in the rooms would be great because we practically had a little gap between the window frame and the window and the room had a hard time warming up. The hostel could save a lot on bills too.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

There is something magical about this hostel. The staff really help lift the already amazing atmosphere. I always find amazing people hanging around as well. It's just so...fantastic. The showers, toilets etc are clean and good. The beds are comfy and the common area is great fun. They even have a bar and pool tables. You are really central (it's hard to get more central in fact). Plus the staff offer amazing ideas of where to go if you don't know.


97%

I really enjoyed my stay! The staff was super nice and helpful, and the facilities were on point. We have clean sheets when we arrived, and each bed has its own reading light, which is is great for the nights. Moreover, the hostel gives the opportunity to cook your own meal at the kitchen or to ask for something else at the bar. The wifi was fast ;) I hope I have the opportunity to come back soon!


71%

This hostel is overall pretty good. I would recommend a 4 bed room over 6 or 8 or more because people make a lot of noise. Trust me it's worth the extra pound or two. My only complaints are that the showers are not hot. They have a block on it so you can make the water lukewarm and it is bearable but when you're travelling in January a hot shower is necessary. Also the staff aren't overly friendly at all and they have the music cranked in the cafe so you can't hear to talk to anyone in there.


80%

The showers were lukewarm at best (and I tried a couple) and I found the mixed gender bathroom for my room a bit weird. everything else was really good.


100%

I would like to thank you all staffs whom are nice and friendly. That is so nice the reception works full time and the room and bathroom are cleaned everyday.


74%

Facility was okay; there was everything necessary, but the shower water needed a couple minutes to warm up, and the temperature was not controllable. Atmosphere was quite nice, I liked it how it kept its "social life" with a lounge yet keeping it quiet; most of the time the lights in the room was off and people were quiet after 10pm. However, my room was next to the TV room (room 11), so sometimes people talking or watching TV was heard over the walls. The staff was really nice and talkative.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The showers only had cold water and they were in a shared bathroom were there was no place to leave the towel and the clothes.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback