X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Budget Backpackers Reviews

37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
4273 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Hostel was pretty bog standard, would say the location is great but the toilets and showers weren't. Good security with swipe cards etc & lockers in each room.


100%

Great place to stay! You can pay by card in the bar, which is great if you are leaving the country next day and dont have much cash on you :) Wifi is quite bad in the room, but at least it gets you out of the room to meet with real people ;)

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, nice vibes, great chill out/bar area and café. Staff were friendly and helpful, walking tour was good too!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Really friendly hostel, in a nice location yet still a slight walk to main attractions. The staff were great! Slightly pricey for a double room with a shared bathroom however.


80%

The hostel had a great common area to meet other backpackers. The floors could have been a little cleaner - the floors in my room were very sticky the whole time I was there. Otherwise, the hostel is in a great location.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great atmosphere. Staff are nice and helpful. Good to have a secure room to let people arrive early to store their luggage.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, friendly staff and a nice bar. The hostel parties are in the other hostel but it is less than 5 minutes walk. Internet works decently for a hostel and in the room as well. Showers a bit small but clean. Would stay again.


97%

I had really good time at there. Services were great, clean rooms, facilities, costs... I'm really satisfied with this place!!


83%

Overall this is a very good hostel. Clean rooms and bathrooms, not too loud, good wifi etc. Just a 5-10 minute walk to all the main attractions in Edinburgh. Plus they have a very good restaurant/bar on the ground level. Only a few minor complaints, like one shower was broken so you had to actually hold the button down to keep water flowing while you showered. Otherwise a very good hostel.


91%

Staff service was great. Toilets got a bit messy during big nights.


97%

One of my favourite places to stay in Edinburgh; I'll always come back here! Its always really friendly and welcoming....if its partying you are after then you have the option to join in with the great free events at the "sister hostel" down the road, though the bar at the Budget is always nice and busy and the drinks are well priced.


94%

It's a very good place to stay.. Nice atmosphere, friendly crew, also clean bathroom.. Great experience during my visit.. Keep it up..!!!

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This was THE place to stay in Edinburgh just steps away from everything fun! They were very welcoming. We got wifi in our room. There were people from all over the world and the cafe was awesome. The staff did a great job they were very friendly- the walking tour could have been better but it was somewhat informative. We would definitely stay here again


100%

Excellent hostel, couldn't really fault it. Everything was on point; good wifi everywhere, hot showers (go to the second floor), good atmosphere with the free pub crawls and daily walking tours (loads of people get involved even in off-peak season), personal lamps at each bed so you don't get woken up all night, very clean and laundry is cheap. Only downside would be the kitchen is very small and was pretty gross the whole time i was there - but that says more about the guests than the hostel.


77%

Cold showers!!! Not fun... Not ideal to have cold showers in Scotland. It wasn't just a one off, not once did we get hot water over the four days we were there. Other then that... Good location, cleanliness could be improved eg. Bedrooms. Staff were friendly enough and wifi was good.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Narissa . Thanks for your review . We have checked out the showers looks like faulty boiler . this has now been fixed . Please note because our boilers are in the basement if customers are using shower on the 02nd or third floors it can take a minute or so for hot water to reach these levels but defo hot water always on tap 24/7. Thanks for your good comments regarding staff and wifi. We are also boosting our clean team to ensure high levels of cleanliness are maintained. BB Crew :)

94%

Great hostel with excellent staff...the best location possible in edinburgh, near the castle and main atractions.


97%

I would like to thank a girl named cathrine i think her name was, who worked in the reception, from new zealand, she helped us in any way possible, so a big thanks to her and we will most definitely recomend this place!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean hostel and fun...Alright location. Good bar attached for meeting people and fun free pub crawl organised by the hostel. So it's good for the solo traveller or groups. Staff are helpful and decent security with lockers inside the rooms. Also powerpoints next to beds and wifi reaches the rooms which is always helpful. Would stay there again.


89%

Very good hostel, good location and a very good sleep. Comfortable beds in the spacious 6 bed dorms. Toilets and showers were kept clean all day and there was hot water all the time. The common area could be better, as usual alot of people just glued to their phones and laptops so not much interaction. Good fun with the staff at the bar though and the kitchen was huge with plenty of space and utensils. Security was very good. Very safe place and close to great bars!


77%

Showers were cold. Overheated dorms and no air circulation. Quirky and clean cafe/bar area. Lovely NZ staff!

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(76 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback