Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Budget Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Feb 2017
7.7

Very clean hostel, good staff. No quiet area to relax in, cafe always playing very loud music. Other than the cafe the hostel was good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
9.7

I booked a few nights in a30 bed dorm, thinking that it was going to be noisy, dirty, small and uncomfortable. Such a surprise ! Super clean, lots of bathrooms, laundry, perfect location, free pool table, good.environment and the staff is amazing. Going back in a couple of weeks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
9.7

This place was super clean, had a really cool vibe, and the staff were super friendly. It's also located just down the hill from the royal mile. Less than a 5 minute walk. Only complaint is that the showers turn off every few minutes unless you keep hitting some button. It makes sense so people don't take ridiculous showers but still inconvenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks for the awesome feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is always a hit with our guests. We do you push button showers to try and reduce water usage and improve our carbon footprint. We hope that you where not too inconvenienced by this and we hope you will visit us again soon. BB Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
6.9

Overall a good place. Location is perfect if you want to party. Biggest problem is the staff. Go to the bar and you'll waiting 5 minutes to get a beer or a coffee because they will be finishing their personal conversations first, go to the reception and you'll be left feeling like you're irritating them by being there. But it's a hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Great locations. Great atmosphere for young people. Cheap Bar and food inside. Free walking tour around Edinburgh and 5 minute walk from Edinburgh castle. Location is ideal!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks for the awesome review. We are always so pleased when our guests enjoy their stay with us and take the time to write such kind words. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon. BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
6.9

The hangout area was very nice and the beers were cheap and affordable! Although the rooms were very hot and I'm pretty sure the person about me was living there had garbage everywhere! They should check those things beforehand and the bathrooms were pretty dirty! But good atmosphere, not sure if I would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for the great comments on our chill out spaces and the great ratings for our Value Security Location and Staff. Our heating has been on high as it has been cold in Edinburgh but all the heaters in our rooms can be turned down by our guests. We are sorry if there was another guests that was messy . Our rooms are checked every day but thanks for the heads up and we have asked our housekeeping team to be more aware of any guests creating a mess. We hope you had a safe onward journey after your departure. BB Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
4.9

I was a little worried at the fact that the fire alarm had parcel tape (brown sellotape) wrapped round it to hold it together and to the ceiling. I left food in the fridge in the kitchen overnight and wanted to collect it at 6am as i was going to get another bus to travel elsewhere. The kitchen opens at 6am and closes at 10pm. I arrived at the kitchen 06.10 to get my food and it was locked, went to reception and got messed about and eventually got my food at 06.30 which meant i was running late

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
10.0

One of the best hostel in Edinburgh, there is a bar with cheap drink and good food easy to meet people in the evening also (can also got to kick ass hostel bar which is sister hostel) big kitchen to make ur own food, large rooms with sturdy beds, loads of bathrooms cleaned several times daily only some bathrooms are better than others so check out them all before you actually take a shower ! Good option for solo traveler

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.9

Really cool staff and great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback. We really appreciate it. BB Crew :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.