Hostelworld.com

Budget Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,085 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,085 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
Budget Backpackers Located at 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Budget Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JR 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket
88% 5085
55.9478060 -3.1930303
Budget Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • crafty_stonzi
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Apr 2016
10.0

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the pressure in the showers was good and always hot, it had a great vibe and had good music, also cheap beers and fairly cheap meal options at bar, shout out to Matt and marina on there map skills

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the great vibe . We will let Matt and Marina know you appreciated their help. Its always so nice when our guests take the time to let us know they have enjoyed their stay . Thanks again. WE hope to see you back soon. BB Crew :)

  • Jelifish
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.6

Whilst it was a short stay, it was a good stay. The hostel was in a good location and had everything I needed for a comfortable stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Apr 2016
6.6

There were no hooks or places to put things in the rooms. Also there were no hooks in the bathroom and no bathmat, so you had to put the towel on the floor. If you are a hobbit the facilities are great, but if you are a bit taller the facilities are bad. Windows were open and the heaters were on. Think of the environment!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

All the bathrooms have just been renovated and unfortunately the fitters had forgotten to put the hooks on . They are now being put in . Thanks for letting us know. Heating is about to be turned down . April is a funny month sometimes it can be cold outside so we needed to keep the heating turned up for most of April just in case it did get too cold and customers where affected but thanks for the heads up . BB Crew :).

  • Paige187
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.4

I stayed here for 4 nights and although I was checked into the wrong room on the first night, the only downsides were just the bathrooms which were laid out in a way that there want much space and in the one there was nowhere to put your things when in the shower. The other thing was that the self catering kitchen got really messy but it got cleaned up after it was closed at night. Other than that I had a really enjoyable experience, staff were friendly and there was a great atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JessFeiss
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
4.3

The staff were uninterested and not helpful. There was no atmosphere or feeling of inclusion. Half of the bathrooms/showers were out of order which meant there was two showers and two toilets for about 20 people. Someone vomited in the hallway which was not cleaned up for the three days we were there. The wifi is terrible, even in the bar downstairs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us. There is indeed one bathroom closed at the moment as it is the last one to be renovated and brought up to the high standard of our other bathrooms . It will reopen on the 23rd April . All our other 8 bathrooms are open for our guests, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience the closed bathroom may have caused. Our cleaners start at 6.00am and all areas are checked every hour until 7.00pm . Thank you for letting us know that this may have not taken place during your stay. We have passed your comments onto our house keeping team and this will receive their immediate attention. Our staff are normally very helpful . We are sorry on this occasion they did not meet our normally high standards. this matter will also be investigated to establish any weak areas we may have on customer service. We value all customer feedback to enable us to continually improve our customer experience. BB Crew

12th Apr 2016
8.9

The hostel was good enough to stay one night in, however I thought the time of the check out was very early (10am)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.1

Great hostel ! Clean bedrooms and bathrooms, rather quiet and good atmosphere, especially at the bar downstairs where they serve good food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
8.0

As a solo traveler I was excited for the walking tour, pub crawl, and other activities the website said this hostel offered however, upon arrival I was not told of any of these activities and when I asked I was told they are not actually at this particular hostel but the "sister" hostel a couple minutes. Met plenty of cool people in the hostel but it would have been nice to have had more access to these perks. Staff was friendly but not all that helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
3.4

I would not recommend this hostel because: it's not value for money, staff are rude and unhelpful, no coat rail to hang coats up and no table to place items down, the toilets/showers were either not working or had something was wrong. The shower cubicles were devoid of privacy/ practicality, there was no private shower cubicle where you could hang your towel or even lock a door, not clean, pay for luggage holding after check out at 10 am. We have been to many hostels and this the worst.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is very unusual for us to get such negative feedback on our staff. We normally get very positive feedback but we have passed your comments onto our customer service team to investigate. All our showers are new private pods with private changing facilities and are all lockable. The bathroom beside your room was closed for renovation but all our other 8 bathrooms where open for our customers to use. We are so sorry if this was an inconvenience for you. We do charge a £1 charge to store bags for 24hours. We are sorry you did not think this was value for money. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful city and had a safe onward journey. BB Crew :)

31st Mar 2016
8.9

Reminded me a lot of university atmosphere. There's a quiet after 10 rule but no one follows it. Bring ear plugs. Everything else was fine and comfortable though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you found our beds comfortable. Thanks for letting us know that some guests are ignoring the keep it quiet in the corridors after 10.00pm. We will address this issue to ensure guests keep the noise down outside the dorms after 10.00pm to ensure all our guests get a good night sleep. We hope you will visit us again soon BB Crew :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.