Hostelworld.com

Budget Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
Budget Backpackers Located at 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Budget Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JR 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket
88% 5209
55.9478060 -3.1930303
Budget Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Fantastic value for money right in the heart of old town. Plenty of sites nearby to see and experience. Beds were a good size, place was very clean. Only recommendation is that there wasn't any plug points in the shower room, so maybe installing one or two of those would be good. They did hair a hair dryer though which was great! Would stay again :) thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel was in an excellent location! The staff was friendly, there were lots of people to talk to, they had towels to use when I forgot mine, and everything was quite easy to access and understand. The bathrooms were clean and actually quite nice. The one downfall was that the overhead lights remained on until about 1:00am, which was not ideal for going to bed at a reasonable hour. I would still highly recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • arpapats
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
10.0

I love it here. It's my first time in an hostel and I have no idea why it took me so long to try. Our room was very nice. I stayed in a mixed / 12 beds and it was fine. Their staff was friendly. The kick ass bar was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.0

Good location but Kitchen was a little unclean- also it's a very busy younger vibe hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Many of the toilets/showers were out of order during my stay. But, overall, a very nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
10.0

Fantastic vibe, very friendly staff, modern and colourful decor, great value for money - will definitely be staying there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.6

Location was right in the city centre. My dorm was out side a banging club which went off every night so got little sleep. One of the showers wasnt working. Great bar where you can meet new people easy enough. WARNING - a lot of people live at this backpackers but there are travelers there too just like you, you just have to find them

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
9.7

I'm a mutate person. And my stay there was very welcoming The room was what you would expect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.9

Great place, totally recommend! Around all the main attractions and the staff is super cool. Beds are pretty comfy too, and the Kick Ass Cafe is fun to meet people!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel in an excellent location. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.