Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Budget Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5,286 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5,286 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
Budget Backpackers Located at 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Budget Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JR 37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket
89% 5286
55.9478060 -3.1930303
Budget Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • indy_winky2436
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.9

Great hostel, helpful friendly staff and the dorms were clean and comfortable. All the beds had reading lights and power sockets which was great as well as cheap laundry facilities and the bar was quite cool and had character. Didn't completey rate the bar food but it wasn't bad either and pretty cheap. It was also in a great location close to the royal mile and the castle. I'd definitely stay here next time I'm in Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.7

Absolutely recommend this hostel! The price is fair and provide really good service.The bedroom was really clean,bathrooms were depends where u were,u have to probably figure it out where is the best for you, like I found a great place to shower everyday with a clean one. another best thing was the electricity plug was just right next to you! only one thing was certain bedrooms don't really have good air flow, which was bad for summer! another thing, prepare your own map,Free citymap was awful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.7

A very helpful staff and safe place found for our bikes. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and meeting fellow travellers. Well done to the team who kept the place clean and friendly. Our room also was quiet and we slept like logs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
7.7

Internet wasn't working in my room, I was informed that was because it was too many guests. Well the hostel should consider the number of guests, right? The internet password changed everyday as if was kind of secret of state, It's just an Internet for God's sake! I've been in poor countries and haven't have this kind of problem with internet password or signal. Otherwise everything was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Jul 2016
10.0

This is the most wonderful hostel and I would recommend it to anyone. It is in the middle of Edinburgh's old town, easy to find from the train/bus station or when coming from the airport. It is clean, the staff is wonderful and the food sold at the bar is yummie and not expensive. There is also a big self-catering kitchen. Bathrooms are spacy and clean. There are lockers in all the rooms. The only downside was the smell in that oe 10bed mixed dorm. but hey, it's a hostel ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
10.0

I haven't got anything bad to say about this place! Kind staff members, clean facilities, secure lockers, amazing location, and even a great cafe/lounge! Definitely recommend staying here if you're coming to Edinburgh!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.6

The view out of the front door is Edinburgh Castle and Grassmarket: AMAZING! They have a full kitchen and you can head to Lidl's for cheap groceries. Never had to take public transit because literally everything is walking distance. If you do choose to cook then beware: some dirtbag stole all my leftovers for themselves, about 2 days worth of food for two people. Apparently it's somewhat unusual but still a problem they have.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel. Rooms were really clean and roomy. Awesome vibe and layout of the chill out/bar area. Location is perfect and you can even see the castle from the front door. Would definitely stay here again. Only small annoying thing is the push button showers that only stay on for about 5 seconds but the showers themselves are fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.4

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I LOVED this place! The staff were incredible, the common rooms just blew my mind and the atmosphere, well you just couldn't beat it! The only down falls were you can only have one pillow (and its not plump) and they could do with a bit more options for vegetarians. Even all the people who stay here were awesome, it is such a perfect place for a lone traveller; everybody just said hello to you. I would DEFINATELY stay here again! Note: bring your own padlock.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.1

I was moved last minute to their sister hostel due to overbooking but they were still able to accommodate my room choice and emailed me the day before so I didn't go to the wrong place. Even threw in a free drink at the bar! Overall good hostel, great location and clean facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.