X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Budget Backpackers Reviews

37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
4941 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice place to stay. Check in is very late 1 Pm And check out is very Early. Should be at least at 12.


80%

Good location for a cheap place. 30 person dorm was surprisingly roomy and people were very respectful. Every bed has its own outlet. Staff are a bit stand offish and the kitchen is always crowded (even at 3 in the afternoon).


94%

Vincent is great.very patient when it comes to helping us out with some of the tours around Scotland.stayed in a 20 person bedroom which was very spacious and surprisingly very quiet.clean bathrooms and warm showers.cool bar in the first floor.overall great experience but of course there's always one person that ruins it,like one of the staff who we didn't get his name but he was Asian looking looked really annoyed when we had to ask him questions about how to get to the airport.not cool.


97%

Great place to stay, just a little disappointed that the showers weren't very hot. Otherwise there's free pool!


97%

The nicest staff and best location for an extremely fair price...highly recommended

  • 1st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good bed and nice staffs. Good shower and clean toilets. It was a very nice stay, I would recomend to my friends.

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Kind of noizy but value for money

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Bit loud at night time but overall such a nice place to stay for the price. So valuable and an unreal location. Would 10/10 stay again.

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel, good location. Staff was nice and helpful. Was only here for 1 night but it was good.


83%

Good hostels..clean..furnished..good atmosphere.


94%

Third time here, still marvelous!


74%

I think that the staff were not very friendly - they were slow and didn't seem to care that you were waiting about and had been travelling all day to get there. The showers were cold also - which is completely unacceptable. The rooms were warm and clean.


94%

This was an awesome hostel. The staff were friendly, and the facilities were clean. The beds were spacious, I could comfortably sit in the bottom bunk. The individual lockers were also a plus. The kitchen could be a bit hectic and it was located on the second floor, away from the main areas, but it wasn't inconvenient. The location was pretty central, but a bit of a walk from the newer areas. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I'll come back here for sure! Staff is great, people are great, already loved it!

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and good around for the price. At times walking through the open areas it felt very odd and awkward, only negative was that all 3 staff members I spoke with all seemed cold and that they didn't want to be there, which is disappointing.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The only downside was the water at night wouldn't get warm enough for a shower. Sometimes people like to shower at night :) but other than that it was excellent and I strongly recommend it!


97%

We both really enjoyed our stay there - thanks !

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a really good stay. Comfortable, quiet and very well located. I just saw one negative point, the kitchen was always dirty.


86%

I had booked a double room for just me, which was excellent. Clean and the bed was very comfortable and Large enough. No issue about noise either slept like a baby. Only issue I had once was cold water in the shower but it worked the next day.


94%

Very Nice hostel, good value, good location, clean, nice atmosphere :) Would definetly return'

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(115 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback