X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Budget Hostel Hong Kong Reviews

Flat 3, 10/F, Block D, Chungking Mansion, 40 Natha, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
98 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I think it's a good hostel inside the crazy labyrinth of Chunking Mansions. The room is tiny but has everything you need (air con, fan, TV, safe, small bathroom). Just cleanliness could be a bit better (especially the floor).


94%

the place is very convenient. the hotel room is good, clean and value for money, the staff are very helpful and nice.


51%

The hostel is located in a tall building whith plenty of hostels, probably all same. At the entrance people try to sell you fake bags, watches,...and also beds in the hostels there, what is really annoying! The 4 bed dorm was tiny! No space for bags or anything. No sunlight. On the information sheet in the room it says a wrong door code. You can't lock the bathroom which is attached to the room and the room itself neither. If you have any other possibility don't stay in Chungking Mansion!


31%

DO NOT GO HERE !!! My friend and I took a bus from the airport, and as soon as we got out, there were over 15 people there harassing us and trying to get us in to this big building. We had already reserved, so just walked in the building voluntarily. The building looked like it was going to come crumbling down, the stairs were half way done, and the hostel level was pitch black with a broken door hanging sideways and a big sign 'No entry'. We had to find a new hostel at 1 in the morning !!!

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The place was really good for the price. I am glad to have booked that place. The only suggestion i have is that in the website give the options to book a twin bedroom, so 2 people can stay in the same room in different beds. I couldnt find that option available in the website so i had to book a double bedroom and then in the hostel ask for an upgrade.

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a nice hostel in a very convenient location. Harry and Josie were very helpful and kind. Thanks you two!

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The staff were very impolite, not really service minded which was a hugh minus. The room was so small it felt like a prison and it was so warm we barely stood it. The fan was extremely noisy and was not enough to cool the room down. The toilet was really poor quality and qutie disgusting. It was plastic around the handle in the toilet so unfresh, why?.. regarding the heat in the room, the air con didnt work at all.. We thought it was an ok hostel when we booked but it was a nightmare...

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Scary place but you get what you pay for.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Lov, Josie and Johnny were all really nice and helpful during our stay! The location was close to a MTR station (TST) and also a CityFlyer Airport Express line (A21). The hostel is in Chungking Mansion, and there were pros and cons to this location. There were multicultural cuisines in the mansion as well as small shops. You'll probably get attention in CK mansions as a tourist. Some of the best exchange rates are in CK mansions! The room was alright and as expected. I would stay there again.


60%

Poor response from staff in email communication ahead and no clear replies. They wanted a 5% additional surcharge for paying with credit card.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Whilst this is in Chunking Mansion and that has all sorts of negative connotations, the hostel really isn't that bad. The location is perfect and the hostel was clean, with fresh towels every day. Only problem was when they tried to turn the six bed dorm into a seven when there really wasn't room. Also I would like to have had a key to the dormitory door, even thought the entrance is password protected. For the price though, definitely value for money.

  • 29th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

Photos are nothing like the actual rooms, very deceiving as there are no pictures of dorm rooms and they are the worst I've seen. They tried to make us stay in a different hostel to this one. The owner is extremely rude and even began to be a bit racist so we left straight after that. Would not recommend at all. Stay at yessin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please note Dorm is a shared room for 6 person with Shared Bathroom , Your booking only 2 dorm beds 109 HKD for you and your friend for 15th Sept15 arrival date and you never show up in our location , no entry of passport was made and u went to a wrong hostel in a different block

74%

This hostel's stuff is so kind. Particularly Raaj is very kind. Thank you.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback