Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Budget Hostel Hong Kong

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9
Budget Hostel Hong Kong Located at Flat 3, 10/F, Block D, Chungking Mansion, 40 Natha, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong.
Budget Hostel Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Kowloon Flat 3, 10/F, Block D, Chungking Mansion, 40 Natha, Tsim Sha Tsui
74% 116
22.2964622 114.1727757
Budget Hostel Hong Kong
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • juanfktravel
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Hello! Im John, I was in vacation in Hongkong last july 12 to 15 2016. i stayed in here for almost 3nights, i can share it on u that this place is very safe-clean-and very accomodating staffs specially to the one who really accomodate me, their names Ms JOSIE and Ms CHERRY this two woman are very awesome thumbs up for u guys! you wont regret if u gonna choose this place, make a memories having good people around u and clean/safe place to stay in every country u will visit.-John from Philippines

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
4.3

Location is terrible, so many Indian hawkers that nonstop harass you, if you're a woman, expect to be sexually harassed verbally by the men who stand around all day trying to sell you fake Rolex watches and SIM cards. The rooms were nice, got towels and nice mattresses, and good working A/C. Rooms didn't have key, so anyone who knew the floor code could have access to 5 different rooms, which was very strange and upsetting. The whole building was filthy and smelled like cooking oil.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
5.1

staff aren't very friendly, it's run like a business, but they can be helpful none the less, average air con, no locks on toilets and no common room which means no atmosphere, but space is a premium for Hong Kong so this was expected, Chungking mansions just isn't for me, having people shout 'SIM card sir?!' Every time you enter and exit the building got a bit tiring, but try it for yourself, I wouldn't stay again though, not the worst place to stay in Hong Kong but not the best either

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
7.4

POSITIVE: All stuffs are very friendly and responsive to my needs, so I gained access to hair dryer, hot water bath, and laundry when I requested. Great location, right next to MTR, Kowloon Park, Canton Street, Victoria's Harbor, and museums within walking distance. NEGATIVE: Found a bed bug on my pillow, and the blanket stinks like unwashed feet, even with freshly changed bed linens, couldn't breath sleeping in it, so I got rid of it by turning down the AC. Suspicious mirror in bath.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

The dorm room was really small for 4 people but thanks to Josie always tidy and clean. As it's not possible to lock the room, it's better to take the valuables always with you (there is a small locker inside the room). The location of the hostel is perfect - about 5 minutes walking to Victoria's harbour and people there very friendly. Actually a really good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
10.0

This was my second time staying here. It is a great location, the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly. What more can you ask for?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
5.1

GOOGLE 'CHUNGKING MANSIONS' FIRST TO SEE THE REPUTATION - RECOMMENDED ONLY FOR DIRT CHEAP SOLO MALES - coffin sized room, clean on the surface but if you look close it's dirty, extremely dangerous location/building full of men harassing you, especially for females, kind staff, fast wifi, fast reception, free tea and coffee.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
10.0

Location central, room very clean, lovely staff very helpful. Thanks for the free coffee! Chungking mansions is a great place to be, and the price is also great! Wifi was good too. Thanks for everything, guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2016
6.0

We had a private room which was nice, the location was great. Unfortunately the entrance to chunking mansion is full of men harassing you. As a group of girls, the harassment is very unconformable. However, the hostel was good for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
30th Apr 2016
7.4

Chungking Mansions is always an adventure, enjoy the Indian food and buy almost everything for cheap prices, if you are ready to bargain! Hotel staff is easy going, rooms are small, which is normal in HK, location is the best for getting around and eating. Thanks to the staff for cleaning, but you could consider to put new towels in the room, when you are taking the used ones out. Beautiful view from our room over Victoria Harbour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.