X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Budget Hostel Reviews

Josefská 7, Prague, Czech Republic

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
99 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

A school turned into hostel, u literally sleep in classroom and use students' lockers, no wifi, it is cheap though.


86%

Nice place, but the wifi doesn't work at all. Stayed there for 5 days and it totally was worth the money 😊


80%

Excellent ubication! near every thing. it´s kind of a little hostel so ypu get to meet many people. The atmosphere is so good

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hosters are very cool and friendly.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

:( Location unbeatable, transport close and 2min to Charles Bridge. Facilities poor. Mattresses fine, bad curtains so rooms fully lit early and venue next door playing terrible loud music till at least 3am. Kitchen well equipped but accessed through a bedroom, I feel sorry for people sleeping there. For women, 3 showers and one mirror in entire hostel, total 6 toilets I think. Didn't meet much staff, one lovely one rude. No socialising whatsoever, atmosphere was cold and depressing! WORST WIFI!


83%

They do not have their own wifi. Only one side of the hostel has signals (not good strength) of a nearby open wifi hotspot. Paying by card attracts 2.5% fee which they haven't mentioned anywhere on the page. Receptionist was new and didn't know much but was helpful. Even if they had free bed, they will allow check in at 2 PM. 2 means 2, not 1:59 PM.


69%

The building is actually a school, so the 20 bed dorm was actually a gym hall with 20 mattresses on the floor. Toilets were clean, but they smelled like chloride. You could charge your phone in certain places in the gym hall and there was no reading lights etc. Wifi only worked in one place in the building. Location was good, just a walk from everything you want to visit in Prague. Staff was super nice and helpful.


66%

Good backpacker hostel, extremely helpful staff, Bern is expensive though :s


40%

Overpriced for what it is, you are paying what i would consider as far too much for a mattress on the floor. The atmosphere is just strange because it's in a school, it feels very eerie and because there's no social area there's no social atmosphere AT ALL at the hostel. There wasn't wifi available either

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Was really nice hostel for this money


69%

The hostel is clean and very well located. In the heart of Mala Strana. There are no beds, just mattresses on the floor. No so bad for the price you are paying. It lacks of common places. Not the right place to meet people. If you travel alone and you have some more money to spend go to another hostel. This is just a place to sleep.


74%

More hotel than hostel, nice building, comfortable beds. good rates, not far from main attractions. Bathroom could've been a little cleaner though


23%

the rooms were filthy classrooms with filthy matress on the floor, without lockers. You had to sleep with the bag in your "bed" because everyone can enter in the room. You had 3 bathrooms for 2-3 rooms of 20 people.. DO NOT stay here!! it was the worst place I had ever seen in europe (and I travel a lot) and for this price? they are crazy... for 1/2 € more you can stay in a NORMAL hostel, not this crappy accomodation that they sell to you as hostel. this seems as you are a refugee!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we appreciate all of them You can see very clear on the hostel pictures that we provide just the matresses. You can book room with 5, 10 or 20 beds. It´s up to you. This is the reason why you can sleep just for 300czk (in high season) next the Charles Bridge, the pretty cool location!!

91%

Slightly bizarre sleeping on a mattress in a classroom but it's more comfortable than it sounds! We were in a room with eight people which was fine and the toilets/shower facilities were better than in some of the full time hostels we were in. Central location too, very close to Charles Bridge meant that it was so convenient for seeing the castle and the old town square.


71%

Excellent location for sight seeing. Easy walk to Castle and bridge. Literally just mattresses on the floor in a school building. Slovakian girl at desk was really helpful, irish guy seems angry at the world.You work in customer service, work on your people skills. Ok kitchen but shower facilities have no curtains so had to shower in my swimming suit.


80%

If you are looking for luxus, dont go there. But if you are looking for a cheap but secure place, with an excellent location, it is recommendable. The hostel is a school during the year, and a hostel in summer. Beds are just matreces on the ground, and showers are like in a school. But it is excellent for young people. Wifi only in the corridor, it doesnt get into the rooms...


60%

Staffs were unpolited

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Hostel was alright, just very limited security, would have been nice to be able to lock the doors to our rooms. I woke up with a strange man next to my bed going through my bags trying to steal my things. I jumped up and caught him red handed so he couldn't take anything, but it was more the fact that I was sleeping alone in the room and anyone could just come in. I felt extremely unsafe.


89%

Stayed here for 12 days and had an absolute blast. Met some amazing people staying there and was the perfect location. Right in the centre close to everything. Would definitely recommend.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall, a good hostel. Only thing is that it is a school during the year, so all the facilities are far away, like the showers, bathrooms, and lockers. Friendly staff, good for the price.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Prague Hostels

Please give us your feedback