X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Budget Hostel Reviews

Josefská 7, Prague, Czech Republic

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
79 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Was really nice hostel for this money


69%

The hostel is clean and very well located. In the heart of Mala Strana. There are no beds, just mattresses on the floor. No so bad for the price you are paying. It lacks of common places. Not the right place to meet people. If you travel alone and you have some more money to spend go to another hostel. This is just a place to sleep.


74%

More hotel than hostel, nice building, comfortable beds. good rates, not far from main attractions. Bathroom could've been a little cleaner though


23%

the rooms were filthy classrooms with filthy matress on the floor, without lockers. You had to sleep with the bag in your "bed" because everyone can enter in the room. You had 3 bathrooms for 2-3 rooms of 20 people.. DO NOT stay here!! it was the worst place I had ever seen in europe (and I travel a lot) and for this price? they are crazy... for 1/2 € more you can stay in a NORMAL hostel, not this crappy accomodation that they sell to you as hostel. this seems as you are a refugee!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we appreciate all of them You can see very clear on the hostel pictures that we provide just the matresses. You can book room with 5, 10 or 20 beds. It´s up to you. This is the reason why you can sleep just for 300czk (in high season) next the Charles Bridge, the pretty cool location!!

91%

Slightly bizarre sleeping on a mattress in a classroom but it's more comfortable than it sounds! We were in a room with eight people which was fine and the toilets/shower facilities were better than in some of the full time hostels we were in. Central location too, very close to Charles Bridge meant that it was so convenient for seeing the castle and the old town square.


71%

Excellent location for sight seeing. Easy walk to Castle and bridge. Literally just mattresses on the floor in a school building. Slovakian girl at desk was really helpful, irish guy seems angry at the world.You work in customer service, work on your people skills. Ok kitchen but shower facilities have no curtains so had to shower in my swimming suit.


80%

If you are looking for luxus, dont go there. But if you are looking for a cheap but secure place, with an excellent location, it is recommendable. The hostel is a school during the year, and a hostel in summer. Beds are just matreces on the ground, and showers are like in a school. But it is excellent for young people. Wifi only in the corridor, it doesnt get into the rooms...


60%

Staffs were unpolited

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Hostel was alright, just very limited security, would have been nice to be able to lock the doors to our rooms. I woke up with a strange man next to my bed going through my bags trying to steal my things. I jumped up and caught him red handed so he couldn't take anything, but it was more the fact that I was sleeping alone in the room and anyone could just come in. I felt extremely unsafe.


89%

Stayed here for 12 days and had an absolute blast. Met some amazing people staying there and was the perfect location. Right in the centre close to everything. Would definitely recommend.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall, a good hostel. Only thing is that it is a school during the year, so all the facilities are far away, like the showers, bathrooms, and lockers. Friendly staff, good for the price.


89%

good hostel and nice and close in the city centre, although there weren't many people there staying at the hostel this was nice in a way as we had the whole dorm pretty much to ourselves but there was however little atmosphere


86%

The staff is very kind. The location is perfect! I would stay here again.


46%

The lack of security is frightening and so was the amount of robberies that take place. Anyone can walk into the building and rooms at anytime. I had ants in my "bed"- a mattress on the floor. The kitchen was fine but only one table for the whole hostel to sit

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have 24hours recepcion, but of course you shouldn´t leave your money under the pillow, please use your locker (for free)...Pictures show very clearly that we do not have beds, just the mattresses, which are very comfortable (incl.blanket, pillow, bed sheets, everything for free). Hostel is a school which works just during summer holiday (no reason to bring 100beds...). That´s why we are sooo cheap and you can stay next to Charles Bridge and spend your money for other purposes:

94%

Cheap, but still too good for the money. A good opportunity to spend a night in the heart of Prague!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

I've stayed here twice now mainly because its so cheap and right next to Charles bridge however it's really dirty, I haven't seen it being cleaned once both times I stayed there and the second time there was long black hairs all over and around my mattress. But, you get what you pay for and this hostel is the perfect example of that.


40%

The kitchen was in a mess, the state of the toilet was awful, as if someone would've tried to whistle with a mouth full of weetabix.


71%

Great location, nice building and good sleeping-conditions. But how easy would it be to let the person at the entrance lead a simple and quiet cafe, in the hallway, like they always did in the other summerhostels, like Travellers Hostel Ujezd. A missed Chance to make some money and atmosphere!


63%

Very good location, but we had 2 or 3 problems with itens missing on the rooms. The rooms are big and the beds are comfy. There are lockers just in case you have something valuable. The staff don´t receive you with a smile but what can we do ? For the price and the location i would be there for sure.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was extremely cheap and great location. The mattress was comfortable but yeah no security and the lockers were far away and way too small for a backpack. It was a school if you want a cheao place just to crash this is your place.


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Prague Hostels

Please give us your feedback