Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Buena Onda Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 93 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 93 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Buena Onda Hostel Located at Next to the Petrol Station, West End, , Roatan.
Buena Onda Hostel
Honduras
Roatan Roatan 0000 Next to the Petrol Station, West End
82% 93
16.3059709 -86.5881872
Buena Onda Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • facundovillar3834
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2016
10.0

I had an amazing time in buena onda the owner sofi was so helpful and always ready to help us out. I would definitely stay here again or recommend to people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
5.7

This hostel isn't the best bang for your buck. I stayed in a private room in Buena Onda and did not enjoy my experience. Because it's very hot and humid in Roatan and Buena Onda does not have A/C and the fans in my room were not very strong or cool, my friend and I were unable to fall asleep at night. The hostel is also located on a road that is a 10 minute walk from West End that I did not feel safe walking along at night. I'd recommend finding a cheap hotel on West End Road with A/C.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th May 2016
9.1

Great Hostel. It is an easy five minute walk to the beach, shops, restaurants and bars. The hostel is clean but there are mosquitos everywhere so wear bug spray!! The rooms were mosquito free. From the Ferry terminal you can get a taxi (if you ask to share they will find someone) cost us $230 for two people. Or you need to take two collectivos to get to west end. Cute island vibe on the town must nicer then west bay which was very touristy and expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.4

I had a great time staying at Buena Onda, very friendly and helpful staff and a great atmosphere. Met people from all cultures. The location just outside the centre of West End is perfect. I would definitely return to this hostel on a future trip to Roatan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
7.1

Pros: good kitchen for guests to use, friendly owner, clean, OK wifi, nice chill out area, lots of plug sockets for charging, some bottom bunks are double beds, cheap Cons: very hot in dorms as not enough fans, slightly outside town (only 5-10 min walk though), loads of mosquitos and cockroaches

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nora_sullivan4672
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 42 reviews
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Great hostel tucked away in a quiet place 5 minutes from West End beach, with West Bay beach 45 min walk or directly by $3 water taxi. Homey, relaxed atmosphere, Sofie (owner) and Diego warmly welcoming. There's a fully equipped kitchen, seating all around, a rooftop terrace with hammocks, above all an 'adult' hostel that treats you as a responsible guest, in a lovely 'home' which was clearly created with care and attention to detail. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

Absolutely wonderful place to stay. Thanks for everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 83 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.0

The place is really well setup but it was really quiet when I was there. Make sure you bring plenty of insect repellent though, as there are mosquitoes literally everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Mar 2016
6.0

This is a nice budget place, one of the few in West End. It's not far from the action, but there are lots of places right on the waterfront. If you're going riding, it's right next to the horses. That said, soap in the bathrooms would have been good, and a couple extra pillows in the chill area would make it better. I also got woken up in the middle of the night by someone who I think was confused about where their bed was. Bring a lock. It gets very hot and the bunk bed have no railing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.