Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 764 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 764 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • wesley_primrose9146
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Don't have any complaints about this hostel. Staff were extremely helpful and understanding. A special thank you to the beautiful Fiona who helped us out with our skiing catastrophy. 😚

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

We were only here for one night at the back end of our Queenstown trip but I wish we could've stayed here much earlier. It's a great hostel with a good vibe, clean rooms and facilities and a really ideal location. Would definitely stay here again! Thanks Bumbles!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are very welcome. Thanks for writing about your stay. Hope to see you if you return to Queenstown. From Fiona, Anne, Cat & all the crew

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.1

Great communal areas with nice views but shared dorm not clean. There was only One small bathroom for six people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for writing a review. It's surprising to read your thoughts about the dorm room, as each shared room is cleaned to an extremely high standard every day at Bumbles. Perhaps you had some untidy room mates? If so, apologies on their behalf. Best of luck for the remainder of your travels, from Fiona & all the team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.3

Really liked the hostel - was very chill with hot showers and comfy beds. Definitely not a party hostel and a few mins walk from town where the main hostels/bars/restaurants are but the view is amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to hear that you enjoyed your quiet stay at Bumbles - from Fiona, Anne, Cat & all the team

21st Jun 2017
10.0

Bumbles is a fantastic hostel. It's by far the best one I've stayed in. First, it's in a great location. The center of town is only a short walk away, and yet, Bumbles is a pretty chill and quiet area. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. They recommended and helped me book a number of great adventures. They keep the facilities very clean, and they work hard to maintain a good atmosphere. You definitely get your money's worth at Bumbles.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's super to read your positive review. Thanks so much. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Bumbes - from Fi, Anne, Nat, Cat & all the team

  • audrystephenson3544
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.7

Spectacular view!! The facility was updated, very clean and walking distance to everything! It could however do with more lighting at night. Had to use my phone's light to see steps. The staff did a really thorough job of cleaning and vacuuming each day. Mattresses were thick and comfortable. It gets cold esp at night but there are heaters you can control (and a portable one too). The staff was very friendly and accommodating and gave great tips for sight-seeing. Would highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your detailed review. We will look into brightening the lights up at night. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Bumbles - from Anne, Nat, Cat & all the cleaning crew :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2017
6.9

Not a bad hostel, bedrooms have a basic ensuite. Kitchen and lounge area were okay. No atmosphere whatsoever, hence wouldn't recommend for those trying to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry to hear you found it difficult to meet people because Bumbles and Queenstown is a very friendly place. Thanks for your rating, from all the team at Bumbles

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
6.9

The hostel was okay - my major issue was the room I was staying in was absolutely freezing. There was one heater for a ginormous room which did nowhere near the job to heat the room up, and the rooms windows/doors meant any time the door was opened all the heat would escape. Most people were sleeping fully clothed. That said the hostel was clean and well located.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sincere apologies if your room wasn't warm enough. It's a shame you didn't mention this to staff when you stayed, as extra heaters, blankets and hot water bottles are available. Glad you liked our lakefront location - from Anne, Nat & Cat

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
7.4

Bumbles was pretty basic but offered everything I needed for a short stay. The staff were friendly and check in was easy and fuss-free. Great location; about a 5 minute walk to the town centre and had a nice view :) Common area was clean and tidy, it was inviting and had all the essentials.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments ;-)

3rd Jun 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel. The double rooms are very nicely decorated, the only slight issue is a single shared bathroom between 8-10 people and if you are in a double room you have to enter and leave through the dorm room (we had to leave very early and felt very disruptive having to walk the dorm with all our stuff). The kitchen is excellent and has a great view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for writing about your stay. We're glad you liked it. From Anne, Nat, Cat & all the crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.