Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown Located at Bumbles Backpackers, Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Sts., Queenstown.
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown
New Zealand
Queenstown Bumbles Backpackers, Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Sts.
88% 664
-45.0341385 168.6553287
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jocrisfield2060
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jocrisfield2060
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Nov 2016
10.0

Great location, beautiful views, great facilities and Fiona was amazingly kind when my card refused to work!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
10.0

Bumbles Backpackers Hostel is honestly the perfect place to stay. When they say they have a beautiful view, they ain't lying. The walk from town takes about two minutes. Also the staff is top notch. I didn't have a phone that worked so any time I needed to make a call someone was there to provide help. Also I broke my foot while in Queenstown and a kind staff member, you know who you are, drove me all the way to the hospital. Highly recommend, because this hostel will go above your expectations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words! Hope your foot is on the mend and you're making progress on your essay :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Really clean and spacious rooms. The staff were lovely and the facilities all well kept. Good spot too, really close to town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
10.0

Bumbles was excellent! The view out of room 7 was exceptional-- you looked right over the lake. The location couldn't have been better, either. I had a car while in Queenstown and actually kept my car parked at Bumbles the entire time because I could walk to my various destinations easily. Having bikes easily available was definitely a plus, too. The one thing I would say needing improvement is the wifi. Many of the people in my room had a difficult time connecting.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will look into options to improve the wifi. Cheers for the feedback :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.7

Would come back, had a great time! Wonderfully helpful staff, good location, I just loved to look out of my window and see the lake and the Remarkables! Kitchen was superb, very content!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
8.6

Great location but parking was extremely difficult if you weren't lucky enough to get a spot in their off-street lot. The wifi was PAINFULLY slow when you could manage to stay connected. Also didn't really like not having soap or anything to dry hands with at any of the bathroom sinks. The staff was great though and they kept the place very clean, and we lucked out with good roommates. The location is great but the wifi situation was so bad that I don't think we will stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are very fortunate to have off street parking at Bumbles, where there is usually enough space for all guest vehicles. Luckily there are no time limits or charges for the street parking outside Bumbles if you need to park there. Apologies for the wifi - it can become slow when all guests are trying to use it at the same time. We are looking into making improvements :) There are soap dispensers on the wall by all the sinks at Bumbles. Towels are availalbe for rental for $1. Great to hear you were pleased with the staff, your roommates and our location - Fiona, Bumbles

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.3

Lovely hostel, small shower though. Extremely bad wifi though! Oops!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
8.3

Absolutely fantastic view. Good vibes. Some annoying teens in party mode but hey that's Queenstown. Only gripe would be their lack of an oven. Poorly designed kitchen...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking time to write some comments. Glad to hear you appreciated our amazing views, and didn't let the younger travelers affect your stay. There is an oven in the kitchen. Happy to hear you enjoyed the vibes @ Bumbles :-)

5th Nov 2016
9.4

Oh Bumbles, you were fantastic! Clean room and en suite bathroom. The top bunk was super, super shaky, but when I moved to a bed in the other room, I slept like a rock. Staff was great to work with - moving beds, extending a night, recs for day trips - they were understanding and helpful. The view from the window was unparalleled - right over the lake directly across from the mountains. And I made friends with roommates, which is exactly why I stay in hostels. Overall a very lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.