Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st May 2017
7.4

Really nice hostel in general. But soooo cold now in the winter season. Changed hostels after 2 nights as it was just cold and not fun. Would book it again but only in summer season.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
8.9

Amazing location, and overall lovey atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd May 2017
9.7

Location is great. Just on the outskirts of the town so it only takes a few minutes walk to be in the middle of it all but it's quiet enough to get a great nights sleep. Dorms are separate rooms with their own showers and toilets and there are lockers and storage space within the rooms. Comfy beds, clean rooms and bathroom facilities. Kitchen is a good size and the dining\communal areas are clean and a good place to meet people. If it wasn't for the rude cleaner I met on my last day... 10\10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
9.1

I've stayed in many a hostel, and Bumbles Queenstown ranks as one of my top 3! With the ideal location close to town and right on the lake, the super comfy beds, and great staff and facilities I had a great stay. The dorms are quite large with ample common space inside and en suite bathrooms. Only thing that's missing is lockers to secure your things (although I still felt pretty safe). Staff was great and provided awesome recommendations for restaurants and activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.7

Really Liked that place. Your dorm is like a small separate house with ensuite bathroom. Nice view from the shower to the Lake and mountains. Kitchen is small but big enough. Could be more places to sit. Location is great, it's quiet at night but in 2 min you're in the heart of the city. Staff cleaned bathroom every day for more than 45 min, so it was quiet clean. Mattresses could be better, too soft and you feel the springs. But it's alright for a few days. My room had a balcony/kitchen spot

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2017
10.0

It was a great place, clean, met a lot of solo travelers like me. Great wifi! It has a nice kitchen and comun area, and the staff was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
10.0

One of my favourite hostels I have stayed at in New Zealand! Everything was very clean, staff was great, and the views from the room/private balcony were more then you could ask for from a hostel. Kitchen and lounge area were a good size and cleaned everyday. The only possible negative is only having 1 bathroom per dorm, but having it in the room is great. Awesome atmosphere at Bumbles, would deffinately recommend/ stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad to hear you enjoyed Bumbles so much. Thanks for your comments :)

  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
9.7

The hostel has all you can dream about. Fantastic view from the common room, great kitchen with all possible devices you may need, comfortable beds. Staff is nice and really takes care about the place. One of the best hostels ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow thanks for your great review :-)

  • jeanettechng
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.7

Staff were really friendly and helpful. The location was really fantastic! We had an awesome view! The kitchen had all necessary equipments and big! Only complain was prolly the toilet, had to share a single toilet with 9 people. I loved the bed still! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Apsolutly one of the best hostels I have stayed in . The kitchen is small but clean, has everything you need for cooking well minus an oven that's rare to find in any hostel. The kitchen was never jammed packed and there is even a sitting area beside the bbq outside! Yes you read this correctly a BBQ! The rooms were very clean with a bathroom to share. The only issue I had with this hostel is the kitchen wasn't open until 7:30am . For early risers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for your review. There is an oven in the kitchen - it's on the counter beside the window. Early risers just pop into reception the day before to grab a key for the kitchen for access before 7.30am :) Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bumbles - Fiona, Isa, Cat & all the team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.