Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bunchun

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.2
Bunchun Located at 92/10 Sridonchai Road, T. Chang Klan,A. Muang, Chiang Mai.
Bunchun
Thailand
Chiang Mai Chiangmai 50100 92/10 Sridonchai Road, T. Chang Klan,A. Muang
79% 390
18.7811916 99.0026897
Bunchun
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
5.4

Hostel is not cleaned at any stage and there is a smell of cats, the self catering section is not used and the cats hang out there. Anyone can get into your dorm room but you do have a locker for your small valuables.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
9.4

Great staff, incredibly friendly, very hippy vibe, not too clean, but it's a $3 hostel so can't expect 5 star. I would go again if I needed to save $$ because again, staff is so chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Great place for a night or two. The owner and all the staff and so friendly and helpful. Met a lot of great people; it's a perfect place for solo travellers. Close to the night market and a pleasant walk to the city. Everything in the large room is a bit open, but they still have lockers for small valuables. Only two bathrooms and two showers. Not always pristine, but they were never so bad you wouldn't use them. Sleeping was fine evem without air-con. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.3

The hostel was nice in itself, not great but good enough, the main thing about it was the staff, they came out with us and showed us some really nice bars and clubs we wouldn't have found ourselves. I would recommend it just for that

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
9.4

The place was really clean, and the staff really helpful and friendly! Miss V (owner) gave good advice about things to see around the town and speaks perfect English. the place had a cool artsy vibe, and so cheap to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
6.3

Wouldn't stay here again! I know it's cheap but the whole place smelt so strongly like a mixture of body odour and p**. The beds were comfortable enough but I spent the whole night with ants crawling all over me. The fans were broken, with one falling off the wall so it was so hot the whole night. The staff weren't that friendly and were of no use when we asked if we could book a taxi to the airport for our 5am flight the next day. Although it was so cheap, I expected a better stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jul 2016
4.3

Staff didn't care about anything. Unclean, with strong smells of dog, cats, and unwashed humans. WiFi doesn't cover the whole building. Not enough bathrooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
4.3

Backpackers' does not mean dirty! I was disgusted with this place, UNfriendly staff (completely disregarding you, speaking on the phone when checking you in, speaking Thai to the others in the middle of the conversation with you, not greeting in the morning or evening, much less than communicative English), awful smell, heat beyond belief (making the smell even worse) and ubiquitous dirt. Worst hostel in Thailand so far. Highly NON RECOMMENDED.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
7.7

Good location to get around in the city. Met many awesome people. The staff was helpful with booking tours. Just 2 showers so may be a problem for you when you stay on the weekend. Did have a money issue when I was checking out with them saying I didn't pay for one of the nights when I was certain that I did. Overall good relaxing atmosphere to meet people and have some fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • victor_ec09
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.1

Bunchun was the best place I could stay in Chiang Mai. Originally I chose it for the price and value but soon realized the people that come through Bunchun are super open and great people looking to share great experiences. I stayed there over 2 weeks so can personally say that the staff are great at keeping the place up and providing convenient services like 24 hour laundry and for recommending several different tours, treks, and classes. Bunchun is definitely a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.