Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bunchun

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • OlliB23
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
4.6

We're not normally ones to review but we wouldn't recommend this hostel. We have no idea how this place was rated 8+. Except for puppies, that was about the only decent thing about Bunchun. It was the dirtiest hostel we've stayed at in 3 months of travel; our 10 bed dorm smelled unbearably disgusting (even despite 4 air fresheners in the room). The bathroom? Stagnant water everywhere with worms (larvae) swimming within it by the time we left. Felt more dirty after we showered. Needs serious TLC.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Elizabeth98
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th May 2017
5.1

This is a very cheap hostel so for the money it's fine! Not any security on rooms at all, many ants on the floor. This hostel had puppy's so I loved staying here for that! Staff were nice but forgot they checked me in so at night they were asking to see ID and made me feel a bit odd!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • palamarre
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
9.1

Really good hostel. Staff is realy nice and helpful, they can book everything you want for you, tell you nice spots and how much you should pay (like taxi). Realy quiet place with a lot of animals (chickens, dogs/puppy, rabbits, fish). Its about 15 minutes walk from the old town chiang mai. I would go back there anytime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mortimoreemily7911
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
5.1

Bathrooms and dorms unclean, host wasn't present on arrival, and when he did appear had no idea what he was doing - tried to put us in a full dorm, told us there weren't anymore beds when there was a whole other floor- we booked 3 nights left after one very hot uncomfortable one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel is fantastic! It is one of my favorite places in Chiang Mai. The staff is fantastic and so helpful and welcoming! They consistently provided us with great local things to do in Chiang Mai. I booked one night here and ended up staying over a week just because of this hostel. Bunchun is so relaxing and kept away from the bustle of the city while still being only a 5 minute drive away. The yard out front is a wonderful hangout spot and a great place to meet new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Really great place! Such a cool hangout spot. Will definitely book again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
6.6

Friendly environment and cool animals on site. Indoor bathrooms were not clean so bring flip flops to shower with! Staff was friendly and gave good recommendations.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
4.0

Booked this place because it was super cheap and I understand you get what you pay for but this was by far the dirtiest hostel I've ever stayed at. The rooms smelt gross, they hadn't been cleaned in a long time, bedding was dirty, lockers weren't secure. Workers were nice but not very helpful if you booked a tour online and not through the hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.9

Wonderful people and great vibe to the place. The location isn't perfect but hey, you know how to read a map.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dreinhart38
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
8.6

Cool place, dogs outside were cute and hilarious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.