X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bunchun Reviews

92/10 Sridonchai Road, T. Chang Klan,A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
184 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Funky atmosphere with lots of art. Owner is very nice. Very safe.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an awesome stay here, instantly meet new friends when i came to the hostel. The staff was also very helpful and friendly and one of them even took some guest to a local thai restaurant on the river and then out for some drinks. Will definitely come back here again!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Very poor service. This hostel only wants to take commission from you to allegedly fund keeping their pets. Staff were not helpful at all. Dirty bathroom. Electricity turned off during the night/early hours of the morning so everyone woke up sweating and gasping for air as it became incredibly hot and stuffy. Very difficult to charge any electrical appliance. You are better off looking elsewhere.


97%

This place is great, stayed here when i first got to cm and came back a few weeks later and stayed at this place again. The staff are great, more than happy to set things up for you, they have tons of info for you to look at for activities and vee is always making recommendations. The space is super cute and they have the cutest animals running around. Only a min walk to the night market and about 15 to the old city. Nice location.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

great overall place to meet backpackers! not really a party hostel though


66%

Good for a cheap option. Owner will try push over priced trips, I ignore him. Bus station is cheapest place to buy bus tickets! !! Hostel has 3 small dogs living in it...


100%

Friendly helpful staff that made the experience!! Well worth the money! Will definitely return to the bunchun! First class!!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff were very friendly and helpfull, met great people, overall great hostel

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Ridiculously cheap hostel in a great location if you're looking to go to the night market. Staff were helpful to a certain extent - though one did throw up in two of the bathrooms our first night - after which we were woken up to be asked about it like it was one of us that had made the mess. You get what you pay for, though - for the price it's good.


91%

Had a great time here, so sociable and comfortable. They're really good for organising tours through and everyone meets in the common room downstairs. Great for solo travellers


100%

LOVE IT HERE. Most welcoming and relaxing hostel we've stayed in in thailand. Would definitely come back just to stay here. Very social and Vee let's you know what's going on every night.


83%

Lovely place! Staff very friendly and great location for night market. Only issue is that the dorm is just one big room with 16 people in, this means there is alot of opportunity for noisy guests / people coming and going. And the bottom bunk is just a mattress on the floor- not actually a bed! Great little locker for each person.


89%

Funny little hostel with lots of art and an abundance in atmosphere. They can and will arrange everything for you, give suggestions and even let you tag along for boxing, eating or ladyboyshows. Good speed internet available and you can safely leave your bag there during a trek through the jungle.


66%

Bunchun was great for meeting people and beds were comfortable enough but still it wasn't great value for money. The staff were very pushy with day trips and their advice wasn't always to the best of the guests interests they are more worried about making money. The bathrooms weren't cleaned near enough the downstairs toilet had an unbearable stench.


23%

Do not stay here!! Unless you are looking to be kept up all night by drunken antics, want to sleep in a bed bug infested 'bed', shower in a filthy shower and generally be surrounded by dirt and grime then this place is not for you! After reading positive reviews I decided to do two nights at Bunchun expecting to meet some people and be closer to the night market. Big mistake. All anyone in this place really cared about was getting trashed every night, and sleeping all day, which is fine but not

Owner Comment (Hide)
Im sorry that you didn't enjoy Bunchun hostel like the majority of people do. We have a rigorous routine to prevent bed bugs at our hostel, however we can't prevent new backpackers bringing them with them to our hostel that is why we have the ongoing bed bug prevention routine. The hostel also has a maid who cleans daily all areas of the hostel so I am not sure why in your case "everything" is dirty when this is not the case at all,

71%

Good hostel. Sometimes things just got throw around by staff which is clearly not good because they than get mixed with other peoples stuff. Owner sometimes push trips to hard to get commision. More showers and toilets wouldn't be bad. All in all I would recommend it!!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I Love Bunchun! My favourite hostel of my entire trip! A great place to meet people and the staff are the best ever! So friendly. Would recommend to anyone.


89%

Great location and excellent staff. Aorcon only being on 10pm -8am wasnt a problem. Really good social atmoshere. Would reccomend it!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent hostel for backpackers. Staff become friends. Great place to meet people.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was amazing!!! Wen and Vee are two of the most amazing people I have ever met, they made my stay there so much fun. Super helpful and friendly with a awesome artsy atmosphere.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(139 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback