Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bungalow Bay Koala Village YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.0

Great Koala Sanctuary next door, but apart from that buses or a car are needed to get to anything else on the island. Good relaxed atmosphere at the hostel, but security needs to be improved as there is no luggage storage, bags are just left in the bar area, and no lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
7.1

The dorm cabins were very nice and clean. They also appeared to be recently renovated which was a nice treat! The koala sanctuary on property was also a cool bonus, and was totally worth going to see. The one issue I had was that the cabins didn't lock automatically when you left the room. There was a sign on the door, but I didn't notice it the first couple times I went out and so I probably left the cabin unlocked. But otherwise a great hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Jan 2017
6.6

Not to bad. There isn't really Michael to do on the island anyway. There's a beach and some restaurants 5minute walk away so that's good. You need to hire a 4x4 if you want to see the island, the staff at reception can arrange it all for you. The koalas are in the hostel, it's at the back bit you need to pay to go inside the sanctuary and extra to hold the koala so just know. If you're only staying here for the koalas it doesn't really matter, anyone can come in and visit the sanctuary.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jan 2017
9.4

Lovely little cabins.. amazing showers, very clean & good aircon! Cheap happy hour & nice vibe around the bar/pool area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.9

Stayed here just for one night but I can really recommend this place. I stayed in a 8 bed shared dorm and the cabins are really really nice with the nicest bathrooms I had so far. Sadly it's not the best place to meet other travelers but if you're looking for a relaxed place to stay for 1-2 nights and if hugging a koala is still on your bucket list you should go for this place!!! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
8.9

Pros: -It has a super cool open air living room/kitchen/bar -The rooms have AC -The atmosphere of the hostel is great Cons: -The pool closes a bit early -The pizzas they make are just frozen pizzas -They really have koalas for people to hold (I feel it is super unnatural)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Dec 2016
6.3

I thought the room was very clean and tidy and on the whole the staff were friendly, - but not especially helpful. The kitchen really let the experience down for me, a $5 deposit was needed for cutlery and crockery and a very bad smell always lingered in the room - particularly the kettles. It was a beautiful island and worth staying there to see the Lorikeets in their masses and great location, near to a the small coves. Unfortunately I wouldn't stay again though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Dec 2016
7.1

no many Facilities ( every limited kithchen stuff) , you dont have any access to the sanctuary, staff are alright, pools dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Dec 2016
7.7

Was great having breakfast with koalas, great wildlife there too. Good location. Dorm bungalows were ok, when we got there our sheets were dirty and we had lots of ants in our room which can put people off

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.9

Loved this hostel - the 8 person bungalows are brand new and so clean and lovely. The resort itself is amazing, you are literally submerged in nature! While staying there we saw a baby koala, possums, wallabies, bush-curlews, kookaburras and lorikeets - just around the resort and facilities! Plenty of travellers pass through here but it's not a party hostel (fine with me) - they could make a bit more effort involving people in activities in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.