Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bungalow Bay Koala Village YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2017
10.0

Loved staying here - a bit of a more chilled atmosphere than some hostels which was really nice, they had stuff to do each night in the bar and the showers in the shared dorm are the best I've used. Staff are really friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Aug 2017
6.9

Staff rude! The staff were very rude to me about my sunburn, which of course I couldn't help! ...This was such a shame as I found this hostel fantastic in every other aspect. If you love nature stay here! The free Lorriket bird feeding was brilliant and so is the koala breakfast, with a koala sanctuary on site. Shame about the humans though...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
20th Aug 2017
8.0

We loved our stay here! If you love animals and wildlife stay here! We saw wallabies outside our bungalow, lots of birds etc. We did the wildlife tour which was amazing! So much better than other places in Australia as you hold lots of animals and get to take your own pictures with the koala. We hired a topless car and saw wild koalas in the trees close to the hostel and on the Forts Walk. Hostel has a lovely chilled out feel and does good drinks/ food at the bar. Staff were all lovely!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th Aug 2017
7.4

It's more like a family bungalow park. A lot of kids running around during the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
9.7

I loved the location of Bungalow Bay YHA. There was so much wildlife about. I also liked the cabins for the accommodation. You will need your own utensils and blows, plates etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.9

I stayed in a mixed 8 bed bungalow and really enjoyed it. The bungalows and communal areas are clean and have a good atmosphere. It's quite a chilled out hostel but there are things on at night so good for meeting people. Only downside is that there were no lockers in my room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing spot and super staff! Jackie is simply superb! All the best to everyone :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.4

Nice place, with more of a relaxed vibe. Not too much going on in the evenings. Cool Koala and other animal sanctuary onsite, but does cost extra, around $40.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
8.0

Decent place to stay on Maggie Island, good location and friendly and helpful staff. My room did feel a bit small and cramped though, and also the wifi is absolutely awful. Nice kitchen with good clean facilities. Would stay again but only for a couple of nights at most.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
8.9

A good hostel for staying a night or two on magnetic island. Options for bungalows, as well as camping with van or tent. It got everything you'd expect from a good hostel. It is easy to get to as the bus from the ferry stops just outside of hostel. The beach in horseshoe bay is a five walk down the road, and there is a strip there with several cafes and restaurants, and a small grocery store as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×