X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bunk Backpackers Reviews

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1844 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

One of very few hostel that really get one very very important things- BED/ READING LIGHT! Also a great plus for power plugs and a shelf by each bed. Really clean hostel, more like a hostel than a hostel. I only stayed for one night but I have already made a reservation at Bunk for when I come back to Brisbane.


83%

Great staff, location and facilities. Nicer kitchen than most restaurants and clean, modern washrooms. They have the slowest wifi in the 1st world though. Wouldn't work in the rooms, and barely work in the lobby. I would rather and did walk a block to Duncan or Wagaya in Chinatown and used the free wifi provided by the City Council or Telstra.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great stay. Comfortable, safe and fun.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Had alovely timw. Great facilities and excellent friendly staff.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for giving a shout out to our staff! They work really hard make sure everyone has a memorable stay so it's great to see that they helped make your stay a special one! You'll have to come back!

86%

Really huge hostel. Excelent Location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Although we are a big hostel we work hard to make everyone feel comfortable and at home and clearly this worked for you! Hopefully we'll see you again!

100%

Really good hostel. Clean, helpful staff. Good travel desk. Very big hostel but well run.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review mate! Glad you had a good time and hope you enjoyed your trips!

86%

Great place. Staff were really friendly. I was worried it might have been a party Hostel full of 18 year olds going crazy, but you can hardly hear the bar from the top floors. The place was hit by a storm, but the staff handled it well and accommodated everyone, which was nice. About a 10 min walk to the centre. Thanks!


77%

just a little improvement with the beddings i supposed. it make it a little uncomfortable to sleep in. something more comfy which can make you relax and homey. thanks

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I thought a $10 charge for sleeping in was a bit rough. Maybe you could offer a wake-up service?

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Pool wasn't clean Happy hour..... Ran out of beers twice Wifi strength very poor

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Good backpacker for young student but not very confortable and a bit noisy. Good for people who want to do parties.


86%

Great location in fortitude valley


91%

Really nice hostel, excellent rooms, free wifi and a nice breakie!

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

A nice hostel in the heart of Fortitude Valley for nights out. Dorms were clean and comfortable. Creaky beds like in every hostel but decent sized lockers available too. Bathroom and shower facilities very modern. Communal area a little small for the number of people always wanting to use free wifi so many people sat on the floor. Not far walk to city center. Would definitely stay here again. Also free transfer to Lone Pines Koala on Mons, wed, and Fridays! Great extra!


89%

Good atmosphere and easy to meet people. Got my room upgraded to an ensuite , decent size and fairly private for an 8 person dorm. Bed was fairly squeaky but wasn't a problem.


86%

Despite being a party hostel with a good own club (at least on Saturday it was great fun), our room was far off and we had a good night's sleep when required. Clean showers. Big kitchen with top modern equipment! Breakfast was standard but good. Unfortunately no free computers or WiFi.


43%

We've stayed in some pretty shady hostels in the last few months, but this place is disgusting. Not only will the smells around this place haunt me (mainly the kitchen and bedrooms) but we woke up to pee all over the room- and I can't blame him because the bathrooms were so gross I didn't want to pee in there either. Don't do it unless you'll be completely belligerent your entire stay.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good hostel. Great atmosphere for such a large hostel. The activities were all awesome and the staff were super friendly right form the start. The rooms are super clean and so are the bathrooms. Located out of the CBD of Brisbane but still a good location if you want to go out. There's a bar downstairs so you don't need to go far for a night out and the noise was not a problem. Great hostel for a great price. Excellent kitchen facilities also.


91%

We had a great time at Bunk. It is a party good times hostel so you can hear the music from the bar but we put ear plugs in and slept fine. everything was clean and tidy, the kitchen was big and the tours they offer are great. we went on the koala tour.


80%

It's a huge hostel and many people don't talk of each other very much, so if you're traveling by yourself it's not easy to meet new people, but if you're not alone, it's much more fun. The staff were very nice and even change my room when I asked them too. Nice breakfast and fast WiFi, 10 min walk to Woolworths, few min walk to China town.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback