X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bunk Backpackers Reviews

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1921 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The kitchen is just awesome, spacious and free brekky. Staff is friendly, free wifi was good. Rooms are big, bed is good and showers and toilets are clean. Birdees club was fun. But as I'm traveling on my own I found it hard to find new people. Most people go to work t school and aren't really 'backpackers'. Also, the beds all have a wall around it so its hard to connect with your roommates. Luckily I met some cool people in the kitchen and lobby which made me stay for another night.


80%

Good clean hostel, good location, worrh spending a little extra for a 4/6 bed room with ensuite. Air con is a god send. Helpfull staff. Wifi signal is poor in the rooms though. All in all extremely happy with the place.


66%

There is no oven in the kitchen which I think is a little odd


91%

Great hostel, by far the best I've stayed in in Australia so far! Lots of privacy and a great place to meet like minded people. Highly recommend. Birdees is a good night out too. Not much to do when the weather is bad though


83%

The bunk beds are very creaky.


69%

Staff wasn't the most helpful. My friend and I booked two nights and when her flight got canceled they wouldn't refund her money. They said 24 hour notice was needed but obviously in this situation it was unreasonable. Location is far from main city we moved hostels to upper Roma street and are much happier. If you want to get trashed and party I'd stay there but if you want to see the city I would not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Every accommodation provider has a cancellation policy and this is why it's recommended to take out travel insurance to cover cancellation fees. We are located in the Entertainment district of Brisbane which is only a 10 minute walk to the city centre. We hope you have an amazing time on your next adventure!! Love BUNK xx

60%

Worst beds ever - unstable, soooooo noisy and too soft mattress! Staff wasn't very helpful when we arrived.. One staffmember just sat behind the desk and told us she couldn't help us, the other ran between us and one other guest instead of just checking in one at the time! Wouldn't recommend to anybody!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. We have new staff members in training at the moment and this is who was trying their best to help you, We've all been there!! Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

71%

Pretty average. Can't complain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

83%

great place for meeting people and the staff were great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

83%

This is a well run place, the bar downstairs is noisy especially until late on Friday and Saturday night, but most of the backpacking crowd will be out on those nights anyway and it's pretty good to have a bar directly downstairs. It's in a better location than similar hostels, you want to be in the valley in the evenings not downtown.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

89%

Extremely clean and cosy hostel. Stayed for two nights on my way to Noosa. Maybe better for long time visitors than overnight stays.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

97%

Very friendly staff, made us feel welcome. Great hostel and right beside many of the bars. Only negative thing was the lack of proper lighting in the rooms.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

86%

Friendly staff, made you feel welcome. (Philip, Stacy, Paul from the travel desk ) Not so good: -no freezer -cooking cutlery could be more

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

77%

Only stayed here for 1 night in a private double. It smelt lovely, was clean and tidy. The shower was cold though. Reception guys were lovely

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

97%

Bunk is a brilliant hostel in a lovely part of town. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful; and the 8 bed dorm with en-suite shower and toilet was clean and comfortable. It is very much an upbeat hostel, great parties at Birdees as well!


63%

The rooms and beds were nice. I found it very hard to meet people though, so probably not as suitable for a solo traveller. I liked the activities that were planned, like the tranny bingo.


71%

We are a couple and stayed for 7 nights, 4 in one 6er upstairs and 3 more in a 6er downstairs. The rooms were tidy and clean. The free WiFi around the reception was ok, the best free WiFi in a hostel we had. Paid WiFi in rooms for 12 Dollar a week was fine. Free breakfast and welcome drink was a nice plus. The staff is almost nice, sometimes too busy and a bit overworked, but acceptable in total. We would stay again.


94%

It's best hostel one of I've tried in Australia ! I've stayed for 1 night but I did very nice experience . Breakfast is included to price , Free wifi in Lobby and They dropped me Brisbane Transit center as free ! I'll come back again !

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm glad you thought we were the best....we have been voted the best hostel in QLD again at the latest awards but it's good to see that we are living up to it! See you again soon! The BUNK Crew

80%

Good place to stay. Many lockers inside of the rooms, a socket for every bed, clean room. Poor ar conditioning situation in the rooms in the Jungle and the bed lights were all damaged. Free wifi just near the reception and not very good. Not much things to do in a raining day, except go to the night club/bar Birdees. 24h reception with friendly staff. Free breakfast, Free shuttle to Transit Centre where the Greyhound bus departs. Close to Chinatown and walking distance to Woolworths.


97%

In THis HOstel i meet amazing People. They have a really cool bar and disco. reasonable prices. The Staff is Good, someone working during the night look a little bit cold but then he changed. Nice Common Area, computers, hige loundry room a lot a lockers, few restaurant shops around.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback