X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bunk Backpackers Reviews

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1787 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good place, its close to Fortitude Valley food/shops/bars/clubs and train station. stayed in a 4 bed room with ensuite, each bed has a light/power socket and is partitioned from the other set of bunks so a bit more private. shouldn't have to pay for wifi at a hostel ($4 a day) but thats an issue in oz and nz generally, good for young people and good big kitchen if you want to self cater


89%

Bunk is situated just out of the city & only takes a pleasant 15 minute stroll to get into the center. Bunk has its own club next door if you want to grab a few beers with other guests or just have a dance. Just around the corner you can find plenty of night life that is thriving on a Fri & Sat night. Bunk is very secure & the staff are very helpful with great advice on trips & things to do.


83%

One of bad point is have to buy a card to use wi-fi. But I used wi-fi comfortable that speed. Breakfast is just bread and cereal and standard few drinks. Thats easy but enough for me.


80%

Friendly helpful staff also enjoyed the day out at lone pine would recommend it :)


71%

Party hostel. In my room it was very noisy until very late. All other criteria meet the standards...


91%

Bunk is a great hostel! Fun party atmosphere and very friendly staff. Went on the night tour and pub crawl put on by Bunk and it was really fun; great way to meet people and see the city. Birdees is the club attached to the hostel and is full of both backpackers and locals most nights of the week. Interactive activities every night of the week. Weekends here are a party. Dorms are nice, little stuffy but cleaned everyday. The kitchen is big and equipped with all the facilities you need.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

There are MUCH cheaper options available in Brisbane. (GoNow or Brisbane Backpackers). The location is amazing if you like to party. Be wary, though, as they have a bar on site that you will not be able to bring your own drinks into the hostel. If you like to hear BUNNNNNNNK Backpackers everyday over the loudspeaker about some random event each night then go for it. If you're trying to catch a mid afternoon nap this will most definitely wake you up. Staff could be a bit friendlier as well.


46%

The events planned at Birdees and the free breakfast were nice, but the rooms were terribly crammed and very dirty and smelly, the bathrooms were just as bad, and the rooms did not feel safe at all. The beds were also unsafe


91%

Staff were welcoming, friendly and gave appropriate advice to any queries.


83%

I arrived at 1:30 am in the night and came from Bali. I was really tired but the girl at the reception was so friendly and explained me everything but fast that I could go to bed. I've read all these comments about noisy nights but the window in my dorm was open and it was pretty quiet. I only stayed one night but the breakfast in the morning was awesome and after checking out I still could use the kitchen and lockers. Overall a pretty good experience :-)


63%

so much noise


86%

Good place to stay with nice bar, quiz night and other games, so it's easy to meet people. Rooms are clean and nice, lockers inside and outside rooms, free luggage storage. can't really complain about anything. except maybe that free wifi would be awesome, as everywhere in australia...


86%

Good place to stay with nice bar, quiz night and other games, so it's easy to meet people. Rooms are clean and nice, lockers inside and outside rooms, free luggage storage. can't really complain about anything. except maybe that free wifi would be awesome, as everywhere in australia...


20%

Absolutely DISGUSTED! Came to QLD for the sole purpose of being tattooed and was not allowed in BUNK's attached 'backpacker's bar' because I have tattoos. Not only that, I was removed by bouncers who had more visible tattoos than I do. Not allowed to eat or drink anywhere else in the hostel, so I essentially paid full price to stay at Bunk without having access to any facilities. No warning of this at ANY stage during booking or check-in. Pure discrimination!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! Unfortunately, statistically most violent offences in Fortitude Valley now days involve an offender with either a hand, throat or face tattoo. We don't make these stats up! So to provide the safest environment possible we don't allow people with these marks into the bar. ONLY Throat, face and hand tattoos have this ban. It's unfortunate I know, but the safety of our guests comes. This rule is across most venues in the valley. Love BUNK

89%

The best hostel in Brisbane attached to a nightclub! Sucks that they charge you for Internet.


57%

location good. bathroom facilities ok but just ok. kitchen normal. rent dish for 5$. no own alc allowed. they sell beer for 4$ a bottle. thats too commercial. we had to drink our alc somewhere else instead chill there. very negative.


49%

Abrupt, verging on rude staff on front desk. If sticky seedy night clubs did accommodation then Base Brisbane would be it... and thats essentially what this place is. Obscene flyers for 'dildo racing' plastered up in stairwells.... smelt like a damp stale old man's pub. Horrendous.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel attached to the bar that all the backpackers in Brisbane go to! Cleanest kitchen I saw in Australia. On Thursdays you can go on the night tour, which is a good way to meet people and see Brisbane whilst getting drunk in the minibus!


89%

Good place to meet other travelers and you get a lot of help from both the staff and others. All the people who work here are really nice and they are not just from Australia. You can get really great help with bookings and tips on what to do and if you have a chance do the night tour - amazing and fun! The only thing that was a big minus was the terrible wifi that also cost 4 dollars...


(52 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback