X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bunk Backpackers Reviews

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1695 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Good location and friendly staff. Not the nicest facilities but very busy hostel.


83%

make the wifi work? but you had the best staff i've met in a backpacker. they were all smiling , available, and polite.

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guadeloupe
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We had a amazing time and thw food and drinks was good! We just stayed there for three night but I really want to go back.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

See you in September :D

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Slept with window directly above bar. It was extremely noisy and I was unable to sleep at all until after midnight. Not a great place if you're exhausted/jetlagged/Needing to be up for an early flight. Bathroom was full of cobwebs, would be nice if there was evidence of it actually being cleaned once in a while. Staff were all super friendly and helpful. Great place to meet other travellers. Close enough to Queen street and south bank to go for a nice walk. Great location for air train.

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean hostel with good dorms and facilities. Free breekie can be skipped though. Free WiFi would be better.


74%

bar staff need to work better. staff did not clean bar area and tables for over two hours.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice hostel really clean would highly recommend staying here

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, great bar, helpful friendly staff, amazing kitchen, nice pool - what more can you want !!! I had a wicked time here.


89%

This Location was good! Nice Rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. The atmosphere was more party-like but when you like that, then crash here! Just a few walking-minutes from Fortitude-Valley Station and Chinatown. We really loved it, and recommend this Hostel! don't forget to ask the crew for a yolobucket!


74%

Big and good kitchen!


100%

One of the best hostels in the East Coast. Super friendly and helpful staff, made Brisbane my favourite spots.


74%

Two weeks later I'm still here! the bar is great fun and a good place to meet people. its defiantly worth at least a few nights stay here!


86%

4 dorms with our own bathroom so that was kinda nice! :) The location was good, near the bars and the restaurants! People at the reception where nice and helpful. The ones doing the pub crawl where funny and made the night worth it! Cool place to meet people, good wifi, but youll have to pay 4$per day.. A big terrace and a bar so that was good to meet people! I would definitely go back there!!


86%

Great place to stay! I spend most of my time at Birdees and enjoyed cheap drinks, free games at the pool table and partys every night. The rooms have not a lot of space to put stuff but most of them have aircon, toilet & shower. Most of the stuff is very friendly and helpful, there are only a few people who pull grumpy faces.


91%

nice, clean kitchen; good atmosphere; bad: 20 min walk to the centre


89%

Really loved my stay here. The bar outside is really relaxed and it makes it easy to meet people. Location is good too, just a 10 minute walk to the center and a 3 minute walk to a supermarkt.

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We really enjoyed our stay at Bunk Backpackers, and we wished that we could have stayed there longer! The staff was really nice, the rooms were great, the kitchen was big and well organised. The hostel also has free shuttle buses to different things and they pick you up and drop you off at the bus station! Awesome!


69%

Good hostel with a big kitchen,nice people, nice bar area, enough facilities and a lot of fun! There could be an exhaust hood in the kitchen though, or at least windows that can be opened. Some 8 people rooms are a bit too small for the amount of people in there, some insects running around on the floor. All in all much better than the hostel that I'm staying in at the moment. Definitely worth going there and check out the ultimate hostel-party every night- experience! :) Cheers mates.

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Except for cockroaches in the hostel rest was good. Enjoyed my stay there

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Why Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're stoked that you enjoyed yourself! We have the hostel sprayed by professional pest controllers every month. You might have been staying on one of those days that the critters try and escape the garden and look for a safe spot to die. mmuuuha ha ha ha. (evil laugh) We rarely get complaints about this. We'd love to have you back! Love from the PUNKS and SPUNKS at BUNK

(58 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback