X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bunk Backpackers Reviews

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1761 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

so much noise


86%

Good place to stay with nice bar, quiz night and other games, so it's easy to meet people. Rooms are clean and nice, lockers inside and outside rooms, free luggage storage. can't really complain about anything. except maybe that free wifi would be awesome, as everywhere in australia...


86%

Good place to stay with nice bar, quiz night and other games, so it's easy to meet people. Rooms are clean and nice, lockers inside and outside rooms, free luggage storage. can't really complain about anything. except maybe that free wifi would be awesome, as everywhere in australia...


20%

Absolutely DISGUSTED! Came to QLD for the sole purpose of being tattooed and was not allowed in BUNK's attached 'backpacker's bar' because I have tattoos. Not only that, I was removed by bouncers who had more visible tattoos than I do. Not allowed to eat or drink anywhere else in the hostel, so I essentially paid full price to stay at Bunk without having access to any facilities. No warning of this at ANY stage during booking or check-in. Pure discrimination!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! Unfortunately, statistically most violent offences in Fortitude Valley now days involve an offender with either a hand, throat or face tattoo. We don't make these stats up! So to provide the safest environment possible we don't allow people with these marks into the bar. ONLY Throat, face and hand tattoos have this ban. It's unfortunate I know, but the safety of our guests comes. This rule is across most venues in the valley. Love BUNK

89%

The best hostel in Brisbane attached to a nightclub! Sucks that they charge you for Internet.


57%

location good. bathroom facilities ok but just ok. kitchen normal. rent dish for 5$. no own alc allowed. they sell beer for 4$ a bottle. thats too commercial. we had to drink our alc somewhere else instead chill there. very negative.


49%

Abrupt, verging on rude staff on front desk. If sticky seedy night clubs did accommodation then Base Brisbane would be it... and thats essentially what this place is. Obscene flyers for 'dildo racing' plastered up in stairwells.... smelt like a damp stale old man's pub. Horrendous.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel attached to the bar that all the backpackers in Brisbane go to! Cleanest kitchen I saw in Australia. On Thursdays you can go on the night tour, which is a good way to meet people and see Brisbane whilst getting drunk in the minibus!


89%

Good place to meet other travelers and you get a lot of help from both the staff and others. All the people who work here are really nice and they are not just from Australia. You can get really great help with bookings and tips on what to do and if you have a chance do the night tour - amazing and fun! The only thing that was a big minus was the terrible wifi that also cost 4 dollars...


80%

great party hostel!!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really enjoyed my stay at bunk. Checked in and got an upgrade from a 8 bed mixed to a 4 bed with en suite for reasons unknown so was chuffed with that. Staff where friendly and always helped. The food was actually better than expected and the drinks were reasonably priced especially good during happy hour. Would reccomend it to anyone! Definately a party hostel but not so much you couldn't sleep! Only thing I could complain about is the beds were so creaky everytime u moved everyone knew it!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Gibraltar
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Do not stay here! Staff is super nice. But the beds are soooooo loud and uncomfortable! Plus the hostel has an attached bar, so you can't drink anywhere in the hostel. You can only buy their drinks!


86%

I was actually so stoked on the '6 bedroom deluxe apartment' - had everything we needed for the weekend, kitchenette, spacious rooms, views of the city, lounge room


74%

it's a nice hostel and easy to make friends. Easy to drink with people, coz the bar is downstairs. I would like to stay longer next time :)


83%

Good that the popular bar is attached, and met some cool ppl. staff were helpful and genuine.


89%

The best hostel in boring Brisbane


57%

The door to the lobby is broken so you don't need a key to get in after hours, anyone can walk in. The shower curtains have mold growing on them. The bathrooms rarely have soap or toilet paper. The locker doors are broken, so there's no where to safely store items. And to top it off, there was someone sleeping in my bed when I got back late the last time I stayed there. When a staff member came to kick him out, there ended up being 3 people who weren't meant to be in there.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! Rooms are beautiful, modern and clean, pretty good bar and restaurant, the kitchen is big and well equipped. Every night there is something going on, so it's pretty easy to meet new people and have fun! I was just disappointed by the internet, it was so weak in my room, but it worked grand downstairs.


89%

Hostel was very nice, had good location and free breakfast which was great! Hostel has also a bar and a night club which is nice if you like to party. We were upgraded from 20 bed dorm to 8 bed dorm with no reason mentioned but the room was very nice. There were walls between the beds which gave little more privacy and I didn't hear anything from the club downstairs. The room was on 5th floor though.. But overall very nice experience and I would go there again.


(65 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback