X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bunk Backpackers Reviews

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1698 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Except for cockroaches in the hostel rest was good. Enjoyed my stay there

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Why Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're stoked that you enjoyed yourself! We have the hostel sprayed by professional pest controllers every month. You might have been staying on one of those days that the critters try and escape the garden and look for a safe spot to die. mmuuuha ha ha ha. (evil laugh) We rarely get complaints about this. We'd love to have you back! Love from the PUNKS and SPUNKS at BUNK

83%

The bar staff are rude, but everything else is good, easy to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! Here at BUNK we pride ourselves on +1 customer service. I apologise if the standard was below par. I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself regardless. Hope to see you again soon! Love from the PUNKs and SPUNKS @ BUNK.

57%

If you like a big big Hostel with 200 or more guests and a party bar with awful music - this is the right! Especially good for persons round 20 but i wouldnt recommend for someone who is looking for a relaxing time!


100%

Absolutely the best hostel I've been in so far !!! The rooms are really nice and air-conditioned, there are so many different things to do without even leaving the hostel ( swimming pool, spa, bar/club, pool table....) and they organize all sorts of cool things to entertain you such as eating contests, tours... The area is also perfect ! next to all the good pubs, very close to Story Bridge, not too far from the city. And the staff is really nice and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
WOAH! You're making us blush! It's fantastic to hear feedback like this. Make all our hard work worthwhile. It's a real treat to have people like you staying with us. Contact jordan if you're coming back to Brisbane for a night on us! Love from the Punks and Spunks at BUNK

80%

Stayed 5 nights over Xmas, it was a good time :)


91%

Very nice kitchen..the only location were we enjoyed cooking. Nice rooms and perfect with electricity. Nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for taking time to leave a review. Our kitchen is the biggest of its kind in Brisbane. All our 8 share dorms have private power points so you never have to wait to charge your electronics. Love from the Punks and Spunks at BUNK

54%

The place just felt really dirty. The staff were quite unhelpful and we couldn't check in for 2 hours after check in time with no explanation. While we were waiting the 2 hours in reception, saw 2 cockroaches. Room was really dark and showers quite dirty. Wouldn't recommend. Was glad I only stayed a short period of time.


100%

best Hostel ever!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Best review ever! Love from the Punks and Spunks at BUNK

91%

Great bar, amazing kitchen!


74%

One mix room for 20 people. At 12:00 am the people still on party inside the rooms! So, very noisy. The beds are very uncomfortable and noisy too. The staff great! The breakfast begin late (until 7:30 am).


71%

More of a party hostel than a chill hostel but if that's what you are looking for then no issue!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We make no apologies for our party atmosphere. We celebrate it. Check out the text that in our property information. ''Bunk is much more than just a place to sleep, and Brisbane is more than just a stopover! Our hostel rocks - simple as that! Warning - don't come here if you don't want to party. You might not sleep, ever!!!'' We'd love to have you again! Love from the Punks and Spunks at BUNK

57%

I'm glad I only stayed for one night. Could barely fit in my room and did not feel very good about any of it. I've been to heaps of hostels, but this is one I'll probably never choose again. Maybe I was unlucky, no one can tell.


63%

this is a very commercial hostel, i never had any hostel that was so eager and aggressive when it was about selling bustickets, tours etc. what i also did not like is that they dont take a key deposit in cash but were relatively agressively insisting on storing my credit card data for that. everyone knows that something like this is not safe as the reception computers are connected to the internet and most probably poorly administrated. so it would be easy for hackersto steal credit card details


74%

Nice hostel, very big and loud but good fun. Rooms are ok, and kitchen facility was ok too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The hostel and late night bar can get a little loud on the weekends. We have rooms that are away from these areas though. Next time you're in town let us know and we'll make sure that you're in our quiet areas Love from the Punks and Spunks at BUNK

43%

We checked out early and didn't get our money back. There were cockroaches in the bar area and don't bother trying to wash your hair in the shower as the pressure is so poor. We couldn't close the window in our dorm and the curtains didn't shut properly but the main problem with this hostel was the beds. We were awake all night as they were so uncomfortable and I had a bad back the next day. It turns out the mattress I was on had a slash down the middle hence the lack of support.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving a review. We have the hostel sprayed for pests every week. We currently have a couple of crickets around the hostel that turn up about this time of year. I can assure you that they're not cockroaches and are completely harmless. All of our mattresses have since been replaced with brand new ones! Our maintenance expert is looking into the shower pressure in your room right now. Thanks for brining this to our attention. Love from the Punks and Spunks at BUNK

74%

The place was extremely noisy, not the kind of place you'd go out to relax, but if your plan is to party all the time, its really fun. The bad part is... there's loud music every single day! even if you don't want to party, there's not much left to do, when it's 12pm and you cant sleep...


63%

This hostel is dirty and the mattresses are made out of plastic which leaves you sweaty from the Brisbane heat, and every time someone moves it makes a loud noise making it impossible to sleep. There is also no airconditioning in the rooms. The Australian girl at the front desk is incredibly rude and left us quite angry with some of her comments

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It wasn't right for me. I know they say they are a party hostel and I enjoy a good night out, just not every night. Yet the bar was often dead apart from Sunday when it was a total wreck due starting early. The location is good, the value for money is really good. They are obviously trying to keep the kitchen clean though not entirely managing it.


1 2 3 Next » last »
(58 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback