X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bunk Backpackers Reviews

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2091 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

There is no oven in the kitchen which I think is a little odd


91%

Great hostel, by far the best I've stayed in in Australia so far! Lots of privacy and a great place to meet like minded people. Highly recommend. Birdees is a good night out too. Not much to do when the weather is bad though


83%

Had a good stay there before my trip on the East coast! We booked a deluxe 4 bed dorm and I do think it worth it - Toilet and shower are clean and separate so it's really practical - Own bed-light - Power points all around the room (be sure to check for them, there is a technical/electrical tube running around the room with them) Haven't had the chance to try the facilities though, maybe next time!


40%

Had a horrible stay here. Arrived to be told our reservation didn't exist, even though I had a confirmation email. They blamed the situation all on Hostel World, and when we contacted Hostel World, they said everything was confirmed. Luckily they had room in a larger dorm. Staff was unhelpful and didn't seem to care to help. We cancelled the rest of our stay here. Wouldn't recommend.


83%

The bunk beds are very creaky.


69%

Staff wasn't the most helpful. My friend and I booked two nights and when her flight got canceled they wouldn't refund her money. They said 24 hour notice was needed but obviously in this situation it was unreasonable. Location is far from main city we moved hostels to upper Roma street and are much happier. If you want to get trashed and party I'd stay there but if you want to see the city I would not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Every accommodation provider has a cancellation policy and this is why it's recommended to take out travel insurance to cover cancellation fees. We are located in the Entertainment district of Brisbane which is only a 10 minute walk to the city centre. We hope you have an amazing time on your next adventure!! Love BUNK xx

60%

Worst beds ever - unstable, soooooo noisy and too soft mattress! Staff wasn't very helpful when we arrived.. One staffmember just sat behind the desk and told us she couldn't help us, the other ran between us and one other guest instead of just checking in one at the time! Wouldn't recommend to anybody!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. We have new staff members in training at the moment and this is who was trying their best to help you, We've all been there!! Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

86%

Best hostel I have stayed in so far! Amazing location, bar next door, staff are great and helpful. Clean and well maintained. Wifi is by far the best if you need to look for jobs. Staying again this week!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Scottie91
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Pretty average. Can't complain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

86%

Great hostel and very social! Would stay again.


83%

great place for meeting people and the staff were great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

83%

This is a well run place, the bar downstairs is noisy especially until late on Friday and Saturday night, but most of the backpacking crowd will be out on those nights anyway and it's pretty good to have a bar directly downstairs. It's in a better location than similar hostels, you want to be in the valley in the evenings not downtown.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

89%

Extremely clean and cosy hostel. Stayed for two nights on my way to Noosa. Maybe better for long time visitors than overnight stays.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

97%

Very friendly staff, made us feel welcome. Great hostel and right beside many of the bars. Only negative thing was the lack of proper lighting in the rooms.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback as we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Have a wicked time on your travels! Love BUNK xx

1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(94 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback