X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bunkhouse Plus Reviews

47 Walpole Street, Weymouth, Dorset, Weymouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
327 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Really enjoyed our stay and only a ten minute walk from the town centre. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by James the lovely volunteer - received such a warm welcome and he always made the time to talk to us. A real credit to the hostel! Very clean and good communal areas..well equipped kitchen and WiFi facilities.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was clean and tidy, which is a big plus. The location was reasonably close to the city centre, in a quiet neighbourhood. The room was very small though, it would have been difficult to manage at the room's full capacity. The atmosphere was a bit strange, with some very weird jokes put up on the walls, not in particularly good taste. Other than that everything was fine.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a good stay with us. Re the weird jokes - these are comments that back packers from around the world send in, we would like to hear from you as to which comments have upset you or perhaps you didn't understand correctly so we can review them? Cheers Colin @ Bunkhouse Plus

97%

Good location, clean and friendly staff.


89%

Very helpful warden


71%

Didn't like antibac-handgel instead of soap in toilets - i'm not at a festival and you have plumbed water. Make sure you request a parking permit by email if you need one

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good stay with us and sorry you did not appreciate the complimentary hand gel in each of the toilet/bathrooms. The use of Hygienic hand gels were advised to be put in place by the assessor from 'Visit England' Parking: we try to advertise this as much as possible that the local authority only gives us 4 guest parking permits each year, so it's a 'first come first serve' policy. Fear not as the restrictions end only 2 streets away!

97%

Very friendly staff, hot shower, comfy bed, complementary tea and coffee ... all I needed for a very reasonable price. Thanks

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location.Lovely place to stay, will definitely return very clean

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Had wonderful stay there. Was really relaxing. Right natch train ration and the beach ! The owner was really friendly and helpful ! Definitely would go back

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very Helpful. Thanks for the screwdriver.


100%

Was not expecting too much for the price, but how wrong could I be. The gentleman that greeted us could not do enough for us during our stay. The place was very clean and a good design. Situated about 2 minutes from the seafront which was ideal for us. Overall an excellent place to stay if you are on a budget

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

James was a brilliant host. Funny and always helpful, even though he had much to do around the hostel. The place is perfect for taking a stroll through Weymouth or head to the Jurassice Coast or the Isle of Portland. James you are "wonderbar"! :D

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean and tidy double bedroom, and a pleasant hostel in general. The man who runs the place is unbelievably nice and helpful - makes this hostel a pleasure to stay it. Highly recommended.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Spotlessly clean

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly, clean and easy place to stay on Weymouth, quiet neirbourghood though only 5min far from the seaside. The "inkeeper" is lovely and very helpful. I'd definitely recommend this place !


69%

would recommend & stay again

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Our stay here is excellent, the room is super clean and neat, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Yet we were informed that the entire flat was booked the day we have to checkout, therefore we could not store our luggage. This incident cause huge problems to us the rest of the day until we found out that only tourism center in town allow us to store luggage. At tourism center it took us 8 pounds to store, 4 pound per item, and only until 16.30. Just one thing I am not happy about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a good stay with us. We do have complimentary left luggage for our guests on request. However we do let the whole building out from time to time for exclusive use. Please note it will not be possible to leave luggage on those occasions as there will be no staff on premises once the exclusive use guests arrive. Colin @ Bunkhouse Plus

100%

Lovely welcome from james who is extremely friendly. Hostel spotlessly clean. Parking permit handy for parking near hostel. Excellent location 2 mins from beach. Kitchen also spotlessly clean.


100%

Very nice, the best hostel ive seen.


86%

excellent stay with a great host

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

On previous short breaks in the UK we have stayed in B&B. The Bunkhouse compares very favourably, spotlessly clean and secure. We had a double room with en suite and have no complaint regarding the comfort of the bed and the shower facilities. Walk to centre of town along the seafront very pleasant. The Bunkhouse is a relaxing friendly place to stay. Thank you James for your 'guidance' and cheers to Colin and Jane for your hospitality. P.s. Would somebody please take James to Bridport!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Weymouth Hostels

Please give us your feedback