X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bunkhouse Plus Reviews

47 Walpole Street, Weymouth, Dorset, Weymouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
304 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very nice, the best hostel ive seen.


86%

excellent stay with a great host

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

On previous short breaks in the UK we have stayed in B&B. The Bunkhouse compares very favourably, spotlessly clean and secure. We had a double room with en suite and have no complaint regarding the comfort of the bed and the shower facilities. Walk to centre of town along the seafront very pleasant. The Bunkhouse is a relaxing friendly place to stay. Thank you James for your 'guidance' and cheers to Colin and Jane for your hospitality. P.s. Would somebody please take James to Bridport!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The reception doesn't open till 4pm which is incredibly inconvenient, especially if you have a car as you need a guest permit from them.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi We are glad you had a good time with us and thank you for your comments. Yes you are right we open the reception between 4 to 11 pm each day. However staff permitting, we are more than happy to receive guests earlier or later if you telephone the reception in advance. Colin @ Bunkhouse Plus

80%

Please make sure you know if you are arriving before 4. We did and without warning the hostel, since it was pouring with rain we rang to get in and we were NOT welcomed with a smile. After this episode I have to admit that the guy working there has been nicer and helpful, so I don't want to leave a bad review. The place was incredibly clean, especially common areas. Close to station, close to seaside. Not the cheapest of hostels for sure though.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi We are glad you had a good time with us and thank you for your comments. Yes you are right we open the reception between 4 to 11 pm each day. However staff permitting, we are more than happy to receive guests earlier or later if you telephone the reception in advance. Colin @ Bunkhouse Plus

100%

We booked a private double room with bathoom. Nicely furnished, perfectly clean. Quiet street very close to waterfront tourist mecca. James our host worked nonstop to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. Full kitchen facilities for guests, and useful tourist info. Highly recommended!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent staff, felt very welcome and happy, perfect place between the beach and the station.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The bunkhouse had good mattresses, this is often not the case with bunkhouses or hostels and definitely made my stay far more comfortable

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent. James is a star.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Already think about next time of staying here.


100%

Fantastic: spotless, quiet (low season), friendly and helpful manager, entertainment facilities in the lounge. Very close to beach, as well. Excellent value for money. If you stay elsewhere, it's your loss. I don't mind sounding like a marketing expert, this place truly deserves being recommended.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here while working for the week in the area. Was really comfortable and felt at home. Would strongly recommend. Thank you!

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice and warm throughout. A very comfortable place to stay like a home from home.A very well equipt kitchen which was kept very clean. The other guests obviously took notice of the signage.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The manager was very friendly and helpful. The place was clean, well equipped and the communal areas well laid out and homely. The room itself was comfortable but slightly on the small side. Overall good value for money, the self catering facility makes it a cheap place to stay if you are on a limited budget. Good free wi-fi.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The host was extremely friendly and the hostel looks very nice. Our 4 people room would have been very tiny to actually share it with 4 people but otherwise the rooms were nice. The beds are really comfortable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your review and we are glad you had a good stay with us. Your stay was in a 3 bed female dorm. To all appearances it may look like a 4 bed dorm as there are 2 bunk beds in the room. We did away with the 4th bed a long time ago as the room was smaller than our standard 4 bed dorms, we removed the mattress and replaced the spare bottom bunk with a wooden cover for guests to place their luggage on, this enables more room for guest comfort. Many thanks Colin @ Bunkhouse Plus

80%

Very clean hostel, although we were the only people here so to be expected! Free wifi is nice, but no soap! Can it cost so much to provide soap?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We are glad you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. The subject of soap has come up before in reviews. We used to do this and had a major problem of soap being taken into showers, going missing etc. which meant we were replacing soap/towels throughout a day! So rather having to allow for a price increase in beds and on advice from our 'Visit England' assessor we replaced all soap with hygienic hand gel dispensers in all washrooms

89%

We had a great coupe of nights here in Dec 2014, James (the receptionist) was really helpful and made us feel very welcome, the whole hostel was very clean and looked after, bed was comfortable (we stayed in room 2 which was a double en suite) and we had the whole place to ourselves on the first night! Its a bit of a walk into the busier part of town with bars & shops etc (took us 15 mins) but not too bad, and it was very quiet around the hostel at night.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely hostel, well equipt, friendly and helpful staff, would stay again.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Weymouth Hostels

Please give us your feedback