X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bunkhouse Plus Reviews

47 Walpole Street, Weymouth, Dorset, Weymouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
239 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We had a good night at Bunkhouse Plus - it was easy to find and in a quiet street, beds were comfortable and clean. The manager was friendly and helpful. Seagulls were noisy!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

First class

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

the guy that runs it is so friendly really great

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Value for money, good for holidays when you spend most of the time in the day outside and want a bed to sleep at night. The rooms are really clean, bedding and linen were very clean. Would certainly recommend it.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The manager was great. Friendly & helpful - carried my heavy bag up 2 flights for me! Hostel only 2 blocks from the seafront & there were lots of interesting attractions. A day trip to Portland lsland is worthwhile - about 35 mins on the bus each way.


80%

only problem was that the wifi didnt work at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. We had a problem with the wifi a while ago and this was repaired. Sometimes personal computers have proxy setting issues which will prevent them connecting to some networks! We encourage all guests to come and speak to us and we will assist as far as we can.

83%

we had a private room that was clean and tidy (toilet flushed after 2-3 flushes), would have liked to be able to lock our door from the inside. Staff were friendly and helpful although had never visited some of the local attractions e.g.portland. great location close to shops, beach, transport...Hostel was very quiet room was comfortable and clean just like staying in a hotel.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review and we are happy you had a good time in Weymouth and Portland. We are not sure of the comment regarding the locks, as all room doors have key code locks, it will be impossible to open the door from the outside unless you have the key code? Again many thanks Colin @ Bunkhouse Plus

97%

What a surprise this hostell! Very affordable price for an excellent place. Both toilets and room were clean, the common area is spacious and equipped with TV,, books, and anything you need to chill out. We really enjoed our stay here!


89%

Very clean kitchen.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Tiny room and smaller bathroom but suited purpose.


100%

Great and very helpful staff, fantastic atmosphere. Very close to Weymouth seafront. Good value for money. We enjoyed our stay. Monika and Tomasz.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Had a great stay here, the staff are very friendly and really made us feel welcome. It's in a great location right around the corner from the beach and bars would definitely stay again.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is in a quiet residential area a short walk away from the main promenade, and about 15-20 minute stroll from the main part of Weymouth. All areas of the hostel were really clean, although it was a bit odd not having soap in the bathrooms (and one toilet doesn't have a sink). The owner was super friendly and really helpful. Definitely reserve a parking permit in advance if you are driving.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi we are glad you had a good stay with us and thank you for your review. The issue of soap has come before in a previous review. Just to clarify again, Only one toilet has no sink as there is no room for one, however all of the toilets have Hygienic gel hand rub Dispensers as recomended by the 'Visit Britain' Hotel inspector. We have tried all other options previously and this seems to work really well. Cheers Colin @ Bunkhouse Plus

94%

Arriving late from a trip to guernsey, the gentleman upon my arrival was quick and concise with all he had to say. Recommending a bar for me to go to as a late night cap which resulted in meeting a few very good people that I will call upon my next stay in Weymouth. The room was clean, tidy, the bed was comfortable, and overall, a very pleasant experience. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you very much for the warm welcoming, keep going like that !

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We enjoyed our stay, the hostel was good value for money. Only one issue, the shower could have been a little cleaner. Otherwise, the manager/owner was very friendly/witty and the accommodation was just what we wanted for our purposes.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have undergone extensive refurbishments within the building, part of this was to replace all communal showers. We still have work to do next winter, part of the work will be to replace the shower cubicles in the en - suite rooms as they are a bit dated now obviously giving the impression of cleanliness. We can assure all of our guests they are cleaned to a high standard.

74%

Reception is from 4-11pm which was inconvenient as it was difficult to get hold of staff in case of emergency outside of these hours. My boyfriend and I found this when we phoned reception at just before midnight to say that the room was cold. The manager answered finally and advised us the location of the room thermostat to turn up heating but was unable to provide us with an extra quilt that night as our double quilt was thin. A free nights stay was given as compensation which was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Yes we can only apologise for the problem with your stay. Having just reburbished the entire building we forgot to place the signs in the room on how to operate the central heating, we have now done this again. Also we have emergency quilts available for guests that are unable to attend reception between 4 and 11 pm. We are pleased to note that our compensation for your Inconvenience was excepted well. We hope to see you in the future. Colin @ Bunkhouse Plus

91%

Very cosy, homely feeling to the hostel and staff welcoming and friendly.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I was greatly by a very helpful friendly staff member into one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. It was a very pleasant quiet sat night. Beds super comfy and they were able to supply me with a towel when I realized I had forgotten my own. Highly recommend this as a great central spot to stay in Weymouth :)

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Weymouth Hostels

Please give us your feedback