Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bunkhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
Bunkhouse Located at 94 St Mary street, Cardiff, Cardiff.
Bunkhouse
Wales
Cardiff CF101DX 94 St Mary street, Cardiff
83% 1082
51.4781488 -3.1779670
Bunkhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Nov 2016
9.7

The location is super vibrant and central. The hostel itself is tiny in terms of bed amount, so don't be surprised if you decide to book it later and when you come back it's gone. People in reception are cheery and lovely and fun to talk to. Beds are ok. Under the beds they have the cages for you to lock your stuff, but have your own padlock. Communal area is so cozy and nice, they even have a PS2, but the games aren't great, take one for the team and donate your old PS2 games if you have any.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
7.7

Great location, does the job for a single night stay etc. However, warning to people staying is that checkout is at 10am (early for a hostel, in my experience) and I didn't get my key deposit back for leaving 90 minutes late, which is incredibly tight for a 'laid-back' place etc etc. Atmosphere wise, it was very quiet, but that's a given in November when it's completely out of season and actually suited me as I was off out 99% of the time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Oct 2016
8.0

No hot water, limited warm water and was challenging to get the facilities restocked with toilet paper and such.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
3.4

Warning: unsafe for travellers!!! This hostel attracts dodgey people, and lacks facilities. I would NOT recommend this hostel to anyone. During my stay, a very disturbed male was kicked out for making violent threats towards ethnic minorities, and harassing backpackers. Other guests were also kicked out for money issues, and urinating in the hallway way. Furthermore, the lockers were broken, kitchen supplies were bismal, poor WiFi, and there was no soap in soap dispensers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Oct 2016
9.1

The hostel couldn't have a better location, right in the brewery quarter and very close to both Cardiff castle and the train station. I went in what is probably a slow season, so that's likely why the atmosphere was less warm than I've had at some hostels. Only thing that could have been better would have been wifi in the bedroom. But was a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
7.7

Interesting and unusual decor in the hostel - I liked this a lot. Good location too, and surprisingly quiet for a main street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2016
8.0

Ticked all the right boxes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
7.1

Uncomfortable beds and showers were awful. You have to hold down the knob in order to keep the water running more than 5 seconds and if you are in the shower room for too long, all the lights go off and you have to fumble around naked in the dark trying to figure out why.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
7.7

Pretty decent place. But garbages in the room never seemed to get taken out and toilet paper wasn't replaced for a couple days in the ensuite bathrooms. Shower drains also seemed to be clogged and you'd be having more of a bath than a shower from the amount of water on the bottom of the shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
8.0

Great place to crash and the staff is really cool. Definitely would go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello There! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunkhouse.Thank you for your review:) We hope that you can come and stay with us again sometime. Many thanks Bunkhouse Hostel:)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.