Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bunkhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
Bunkhouse Located at 94 St Mary street, Cardiff, Cardiff.
Bunkhouse
Wales
Cardiff CF101DX 94 St Mary street, Cardiff
84% 1041
51.4781488 -3.1779670
Bunkhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.6

I had a great time. The staff were the best of any hostel that I've been to. The only downside was the ridiculously short timers that all of the taps and lights ran on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.9

Perfect location, right in the city centre and it only cost me £12.50! Staff were all very helpful and friendly and chatty :) If I had any criticism it would be the bin in my room wasn't emptied from the previous occupants but I was informed they had left it in such a mess that I imagine the staff were focussing on making it habitable again. Wifi could have been better in the room, but these are both very small criticisms when compared to how lovely my stay was. Highly recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
8.6

Stayed for two nights in a 16 person room and had mixed feelings about this hostel. The location is great for this area, very central and is easy to get around. The hostel itself is clean, but Wi-Fi only really works in the hallways close to the reception desk. The showers are on a push button timer so be prepared to push the button frequently for continuous water. Also the lights are motioned activated so be prepared for the lights to cut off after a few minutes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.7

Location was amazing! All the fun bars, clubs and restaurants are right next door and on the same street as it. Even more, the castle is only quick walk away. The staff was great, they were so kind/helpful when we asked for advice on where to go and what to see (even how to get there) Though it is undergoing some construction, the downstairs area was very relaxing (and the only place you could get good wifi). The bathrooms were smaller but for the price this was an amazing place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.9

Very nice and great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
7.1

Good location, right downtown. Almost too good as you are surrounded by bars and stripclubs and the noise from the streets on a weekend is loud. Downstairs lounge area was nice. Breakfast was pretty standard. Didn't like the bathrooms as it was a automatic switch and would turn the lights off if you stayed in the toilet or shower for too long so I hope you don't mind sitting in the dark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

really good location. near by cardiff castle and cardiff rail station and even tesco and lots of restaurants and kind staffs ,but there's no mirrors in shower room and very tiny sink it was a bit uncomfortable. everything else was great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel right in the centre of Cardiff. Everything you need is within walking distance which was great. The staff were so friendly and very helpful if you had any questions about what to do to pass time. Very clean bathrooms, bedrooms and lounge area. Only negative would be the wifi wasn't great, but would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jun 2016
6.0

Was only here for one night. Easy to find from bus station. Nice location. Comfortable beds and blankets. Rooms were nice and cool. Toilets a bit gross. There was no where to lock your bags after check out so that was too bad. Basement smelt a little funny.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.4

The location and atmosphere of the hostel is excellent, plus staying in the all-girl room meant we had in-suite showers, which was great. Not having a place to lock up our luggage was a bit of a problem, since we weren't just backpacking during our trip. Nothing happened to it, but we would have preferred having the security of locking up all of our things. The staff was very friendly and suggested great places to see and things to do. Will stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.