Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bunkhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
Bunkhouse Located at 94 St Mary street, Cardiff, Cardiff.
Bunkhouse
Wales
Cardiff CF101DX 94 St Mary street, Cardiff
84% 1063
51.4781488 -3.1779670
Bunkhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • caiachiv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Sep 2016
7.7

Pretty decent place. But garbages in the room never seemed to get taken out and toilet paper wasn't replaced for a couple days in the ensuite bathrooms. Shower drains also seemed to be clogged and you'd be having more of a bath than a shower from the amount of water on the bottom of the shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
8.0

Great place to crash and the staff is really cool. Definitely would go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello There! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunkhouse.Thank you for your review:) We hope that you can come and stay with us again sometime. Many thanks Bunkhouse Hostel:)

  • alexrobinson
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Great hostel, just the garbages in the rooms seem to pile up and never get emptied. Nice fan ventilation system in the rooms for hot nights though! The staff were insanely helpful and nice. Good free breakfast. Overall a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.9

One night (Saturday) in Cardiff & the Bunkhouse catered for my needs. Price even covered a basic breakfast. Very happy with the service provided. You need to bring a padlock to lock a security cage under the bunk beds. No complaints & would use Bunkhouse again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello There! Thank you for your review. We were really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunkhouse. We hope you can stay with us again in the near future. Many thanks Bunkhouse:)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
6.3

It was a great location and perfect for the night out we had planed cause the strip of night clubs is only a street away. The staff could have been more helpful the seemed a bit disinterested in helping us. The toilets need to be cleaned more after 6pm they where discussing with no toliet paper and where not flushing and it stayed like that all night and into the morning.Overall it was alright for one night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
7.4

Very noisy on the Friday and Saturday which is fine if you're going to be out but as I had to be up the next day it was quite annoying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
8.6

Good for what you pay for! However, The 'locker' is a caged box under your bed that you have to provide a lock for (wouldn't of minded bringing my own if I knew I had too) and the female dorm only had the one toilet as the other was out of order! Staff were so friendly and really welcoming and the place was kept nice! I would go again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
8.6

Be warned that the likelihood that the wifi will reach your room is ... extremely unlikely. My mattress was the lumpiest thing I've ever slept on - I spent the majority of my nights sleeping on top of my duvet - which was feasible because the room I was staying in was stiflingly hot. The fan was on the first day I was there but it didn't seem to make any difference and on top of that it was incessantly loud and annoying. The windows don't open either. The staff are very friendly though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.1

The location is just perfect, 2 minutes walk of at least 5 clubs, if you walk up to 8 minutes than you can go to any club from Cardiff. Lots of bars around the hostel and a "gentleman" club just oposite.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello There! Many thanks for your review and kind words. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunkhouse. We hope that you can stay with us again in the near future. Many thanks Bunkhouse:)

30th Jul 2016
7.7

The pictures are a little misleading. The Good - Location was perfect. Chill basement. The Bad - Bathrooms... It is an old building with old things. Weird Smell. The Bathrooms - I hated them. Decent size and private. But they don't tell you that the water for the sink and shower is press on and it only lasts 2 seconds before you have to press again. btw the light turns off automatically after 5min. Pitch black, you have to walk into the hall to turn them back on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.