Hostelworld.com

Bunkhouse

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,015 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,015 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
Bunkhouse Located at 94 St Mary street, Cardiff, Cardiff.
Bunkhouse
Wales
Cardiff cf101dx 94 St Mary street, Cardiff
84% 1015
51.4781488 -3.1779670
Bunkhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • maartenvanbeek
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.6

Nice central, hostel, in the middle of the pedestrian area close to restaurants, bars. Clean place, looks new, but a few points that should be improved: Sanitary facilities - clean, but design of shower area was kind of strange. The automatic light turns off all the time when on the toilet or in the showers, the only sensor is in the central area. No sink to brush teeth, shave etc. except really small ones in toilets. Shower turns off every 20 seconds. Also, use that basement as common area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.1

Good clean bathrooms and rooms even if a little cramped. Lack of real common room or hangout areas let it down a bit. Pretty much a bar with rooms upstairs. Still not a bad place to stay though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Mar 2016
10.0

Seriously : an amazing hostel. Dont miss it !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
8.3

great location and friendly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.0

I don't tend to stay at hostels very much have to say this one was very nice in comparison to others I have stayed at. Friendly staff and helpful to. The location of this place was in the centre of town so everything you might need is close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.9

Nice hostel with friendly helpful staff, good atsomphere and very central location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tkapp03
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
2.6

I had such a bad night the first night, I decided I would stay somewhere else the second night even though I had already paid for It. There were 20 Italian rugby fans having a snoring competition the entire night. And it smelled like old man farts. Also, the wifi doesn't work in the rooms, and they don't allow you to use the lobby late at night. To top it off, they would not give my key deposit back when I returned my key. If you can stay somewhere else, it's worth the extra money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Mar 2016
7.4

The best thing about this place is the security. It's like Fort Knox. Its right on the main strip between all the pubs. Making it extremely noisy. This place really is just a bar with beds upstairs. There is no common room. There is no kitchen. The pictures you see here do not accurately show the current configuration. The cinema area is overflow storage for furniture from the bar upstairs and is unusable and cold. Wifi was hogged by the same people having a LAN party for the 3 nights I stayed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2016
10.0

Bunkhouse is my favourite hostel O have ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • azzacalvin6170
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
14th Feb 2016
8.0

They say they have self contained but I wouldn't count a microwave and bar fridge as self contained

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.