Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bura Surfhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Mar 2017
7.4

Stayed for a few days in late March, the hostel gets really cold at night so just be prepared! Showers were super spotty with the hot water situation

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
9.4

Bura Surfhouse made my stay in Lagos the best it could be! The staff were SO sweet and there to help you with anything you needed. Every morning there was an amazing breakfast that included home-made banana pancakes!! You also have the option to have dinner at the hostel and their chef cooked what might have been the best-tasting meal of my life. The hostel had a great atmosphere - it was super chill. Doesn't hurt that there are also great sunsets from the roof :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2017
10.0

Have not felt more at home than when staying at Bura. The location, the house and especially the staff made it the best hostel experience I've had! See you soon guys! Alex

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
10.0

Bura was incredible! Immediately felt apart of the family, the staff are all the most amazing people! Such a chill vibe👌🏽cannot wait to be back miss them already! Love Scott

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.9

I had a wonderful time at Bura, arriving on opening day for the season. All the staff were so welcoming and fun. I had plenty of good times, great facilities and vibe. Even though it's a walk into town it's close to a beautiful beach and I would highly recommend the cliff hike! I loved Lagos and Bura was a huge part of that!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
10.0

We went when it was slower and got to know the staff really well. Everyone we encountered there were chill and just amazing. Katy made us feel at home right away and we would go back to Lagos just for this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Oct 2016
8.9

Overall a fantastic hostel, I would definitely stay again. Something to be aware of is that it is a 15-20 minute walk from town, although a great shuttle service that picks you up from the bus station. I felt reasonably safe, but, many of the hostel room doors on the lower floor open out to the garden, which is on street level..and often dorm room doors were left ajar. This was not mentioned or monitored by staff as the office is upstairs. But there are good lockers for each person in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
9.4

A friend and I stayed here and loved the atmosphere of the hostel. The staff are all travelers so they're friendly and down to hang out. There's a pool, an indoor lounge, a great kitchen, an outside bar, and a rooftop. You could spend a whole day here just enjoying. This hostel is about 15-minute walk from center of town and beach. But it's very quiet and enjoyable. Downside, to get to some rooms, you have to walk through other, lack of privacy and one bathroom for some 20 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
14th Oct 2016
10.0

This place is amazing! Mainly from the staff, all amazing not one person who wasn't willing To help! Loved this place would want to come back for sure. I'd even love to work here if I could :) the location is out the city but so nice, with a bar a pool and 15min walk to the beach. Nothing more you can ask for. Rooms are good and kitchen, breakfast and dinners were amazing! All the guest were likeminded and all had a great time! Can't recommend this hostel enough! Just go check it out! ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
10.0

Only about a 15 minute walk to the town center, which isn't a big deal because there's not a lot to do in town, and about 20 minutes to the coast. Amazing, fun hostel with great people and a super chill staff. The breakfast is really good and there's dinner with a pub crawl every night. Can't wait to go back next summer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.