Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bura Surfhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st May 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay here. The pool was great, the bar had cheap drinks, and there was a very social atmosphere between guests and staff. Be aware though that some rooms are connected and you have to walk through one dorm to get into the other. This created disturbance for those in the outer room. Also, there was one bathroom for 3 dorm rooms. The bunk beds were also very wobbly! Other than these slight inconveniences I had an amazing time during my stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • riccardodunnigan8521
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.1

Great place, I think this hostel attracts friendly people and the staff facilitate the needs of each individual. Thanks guys. Ric.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th May 2017
8.6

I had a a really good time staying here. The banana pancakes in the morning are awesome and the dinners are to die for. The staff are a great group of people! Lindsey & Maria are the perfect people to work in a hostel. They do an unreal job of making sure your comfortable and included in everything. Only minor complaints are the bathrooms/rooms could be cleaner. Also the staff end up using the hostel to hang out so it can get really crowded.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
8.3

Bura Surfhouse had an excellent atmosphere! We loved our stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.1

Staff were excellent and nightly dinners were delicious. Activities organized out of the hostel were somewhat pricey but often worth it. 20 minute walk from town which didn't end up being a major problem. Only one bathroom for 18 people in the main dorm made was the only real negative. Overall an excellent hostel and would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
8.9

The property is pretty neat. A big house with stocked kitchen and also a nice view from the terrace. The receptions are great and always willing to help you. Only downside that its a bit of a walk from the bus and train station and also the beach is like a 30min walk..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
7.1

the room set up was weird. you had to walk through one room to get to your room, which didnt have its own lock. one bathroom for 16 people was ridiculous. the bathroom smelled like mildew. there was mold. the biggest thing was the fact that half the people at the hostel were "staff." they were very cliquey. didnt associate much with the guests. made us feel uncomfortable. beds were comfy. pool is awesome! kitchen great. easy walk to the beach and nightlife.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.1

Had a great time here! Staff were great! Location is pretty close to the centre... only downside of staying there is it's so popular we tried to book a second night and it was full... definitely book 2-3nights here in advance!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Fantastic atmosphere, the group dinners are an great way to meet people and give the whole place a very welcoming and friendly vibe. Good range of activities or you can just chill by the pool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel, friendly staff, nice breakfast,easy place to meet people as a solo traveller. Could do with another bathroom but easy to work around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.