X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bura Surfhouse Reviews

Rua da Pedra Alcada, Lote 15, Lagos, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
161 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

This place is good if you're looking for cheap and relaxing but there's no real atmosphere to the place. One staff member was quite friendly and the others were very unhelpful. It's quite a walk into the town and in a really residential area. They also advertise the hostel as some luxury getaway when in actual fact it's just a hostel. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here but it was a fine experience with no real dramas.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Had the best time here, extremely friendly staff and guests, recommend it to everyone!:) wish i could have stayed more here

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Fantastic atmosphere even in the low season, right next to a big supermarket which is great, you can bring your own alcohol in. Free towels pool table and ping pint table too. Free breakfast


94%

Great place to stay, like a holiday house but a hostel. The communal areas are great and there's a real community feel about the place. The bathroom in the dorms may just need a bit of maintenance but other than that would recommend this place to anyone going to Lagos.


89%

Great vibe and cool atmosphere! TJs tour was awesome!!!


91%

Was planning to stay here for two nights ended up extending to four. This is probably the best hostel I have stayed at. The staff are amazing and it feels like a little family. Would highly recommend.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had the best stay at bura and Lagos is my new favorite place! As every one else does, we extended our stay to 8 nights and quite easily could have stayed longer. The staff are so helpful and love to have a good time with all the guests. The pool tops it all off! The best hostel I have ever stayed in I think.


89%

We stayed there for few days and it was an amazing time !! The westcoasttour with TJ was incredible and really great fun ! We hardly recommend to do this amazing experience! :)


100%

Iv never stayed at a hostel that has consistently gone above and beyond for its guests, a girl broke her leg while she was there and the way the hostel handled it, making sure she was safe and comfortable, driving her too and from the pharmacy, the rest of the hostel experience was exemplary.. And free pancakes


57%

The hostel is located quite a walk away from the town centre, so we ended up catching cabs. Our room was essentially a walk way between 2 other rooms and a bathroom, so whenever someone came inside to access their room they had to pass by our beds. It was extremely disruptive and noisy. There was only one bathroom shared between the 3 rooms (18people). The staff were drinking at times while on duty and forgot conversations from the previous day, which made them quite unhelpful. Not worth the $$$


91%

Had an amazing stay! The staff was welcoming and i really enjoyed coming to this beautiful hostel! I would recommend it to my friends anytime


74%

Very nice mansion/ Hostel in Lagos. I enjoyed staying at this place, Especially TJ's tour was amazing. Breakfast is nice. Dorms and beds are not the best since 8-bed dorm is a walk-through room in order to reach a 4- and 6-bed dorm. So I would highly recommend to take the 4- or 6-bed dorms. Staff is friendly and helpful but as I experienced not local. So, recommendations are nice but mainly touristic things. Hostel is 10-15 min walk to centre of Lagos but the best supermarket is very close by.


100%

Best place I stayed at on my trip. Awesome staff !!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Bura is excellent. It's a short 10 minute walk to the closest supermarket, 15 into the city centre and 15 to the beach. The staff are lovely and you feel very welcomed. The place itself is great and there's loads of activities if you want to participate. Do a TJ tour!


89%

Awesome place. Short walk to city but you will appreciate being away from the loud town. The surf house has a cool rooftop bar and a pool. The best vibe I have come across. Stay here and add an extra night. You won't want to leave!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

great place to stay, beds were not the most confortable but still ok. its a bit far to walk downtown but perfect for peace and quiet.


94%

If you are going to Lagos - STAY HERE!! The atmosphere is great and the staff are really helpful and friendly. plenty of space to hang out by the pool or on the roof garden. Supermaekt close buy to get food and an easy walk into town/the beach. Dont forget to go on TJ's tour - the best day out ever!!!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Chillest place on earth.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Waaaaaay to far away. Nice if you're with a group and don't want to party, was hard as a solo traveller to meet people and the nightlife was a 30 minute walk away. But great pool and pool table.


100%

This hostel is just the best! A combination of great facilitys and just awesome people. Its the staff that really make the place though zack, mel, sarah, katie and rob are just phenominal. Im definitly going to make an effort to come back because ive been gone a week and already miss it!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Lagos Hostels

Please give us your feedback