Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bura Surfhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.7
Bura Surfhouse Located at Rua da Pedra Alcada, Lote 15, , Lagos.
Bura Surfhouse
Portugal
Lagos 8600 546 Rua da Pedra Alcada, Lote 15
84% 307
37.1005735 -8.6868557
Bura Surfhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

AMAZING!! The rooms were clean and a good size, the villa was huge with great facilities, huge pool, awesome rooftop, bar was super cheap with great cocktails. It was a little bit out of town but that was expected and also next to a large supermarket. The staff where amazing - a special thanks to Katie for all of her help! Must stay while in Lagos

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2016
5.4

It was not a 15 min walk, but instead 30 min. The map provided by the hostel was not very helpful or accurate. The staff were all great friends and hung out together around the house which made some guests feel left out. But I met other travellers outside of the hostel in the city center. The tiny shower in Africa was always flooded, dirty and not to mention shared by more than 15 people. I tried on several occassions to book outdoor activities but was told to come back at 8AM.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry you did not understand the map provided, these maps are widely used by Lagos accommodations and we have not had any issues using them but thanks for bringing this to our attention. Our bathrooms are cleaned 6 times daily but it is a very busy time at the hostel just now but you are welcome to use the other bathrooms throughout the building. The feedback about staff interaction is very helpful, this is not good to hear and has been addressed straight away. With regards to booking activities, the providers do not operate 24 hour communications so we cannot contact them at any time during the evening and some activities are subject to conditions such as the ocean swell and therefore cannot be determined prior to the day in question. Again, thank you and enjoy your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Nice place and nice people. A perfect place. Thank you all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel that feels more like a big shared house. Staff are all super friendly and helpful. They have lots of suggestions of things to do and will book any activity for you. Super chill atmosphere. It's in a residential neighborhood so it's pretty quiet at night. It's a bit of a walk from the main area of town which is nice if you like a quieter atmosphere. The bar and pool are awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.4

Beautiful airy house. Like others said, only two bathrooms so you have to wait. Cute pool. Staff are lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
6.6

The atmosphere was great and the staff superb but we had issues re. security and facilities. Eg. the blind in our dorm did not close properly and as the aircon didn't work we had to leave the window open 24 hrs (which overlooked a main street). This was a security issue & a factor that inhibited a good night's sleep. security was also compromised by the fact that there was one door for 3 dorms..and 1 bathroom for 14 people. The lock didn't work properly so ppl climbed through the window.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you enjoyed the vibe we aim to create here at Bura. Our sincere apologies for your fellow guests climbing through the window - guests are absolutely not permitted to do this and we provide 24hr reception and security to ensure any issues with misplaced keys or locks can be solved immediately. You were most welcome to use the aircon in your room - in the interests of being environmentally friendly we keep the remotes at reception to ensure these are not left on all day. Thanks again, was great having you to stay with us

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.7

Amazing place to stay. Really cool vibe in the place, social, relaxed but enjoy a party too, staff are amazing, one of the best hostels I've been to, the only down side is it is a 15/20 min walk from the town, otherwise is a perfect place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome place!! Loved it here and wish we could have stayed longer! Olly is the best barman ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
7.4

Hostel is a great. Love the big house, rooftop and the pool. Staff are very friendly but some are a bit cliquey and focussed maybe a little too much on their own popularity rather than making guests feel welcome. Also, we were asked to move rooms in the middle of our stay but not given much reason as we booked all together in 1 booking online. It happened to be the day after a night out so we were stuck without a room or bed for about 4 hrs which was annoying but other than that, we enjoyed it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
8.0

Really great hostel, staff were super welcoming and helpful. However the location is about 15min walk from the town which was a bit annoying. otherwise was a great hostel with great facilities and staff 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.