Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Burg Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
4.0

Location is great, right in upper part of the old town & close to cafes and sights. However, facilities are very run down & not the cleanest. Shower curtain was gross, mildew & stains. Beds were uncomfortable and also noisy. The slightest movement produced a lot of loud squeaking, and we both woke up in the morning with backache. Walking around we saw many "pensions" with rooms available for similar prices & much nicer. Not worth it!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
4.9

Very misleading. This is a restaurant with a few guest rooms. Staff was a waiter, didn't have much to offer us. No electricity in our room at first. Shower doors didn't close. That beautiful basement bar heavily featured in their photos? Closed down, no one using it. No maps of the city, or city info of any kind. We had a flimsy lock on our room door, otherwise no security to speak of. Looks nothing like the photos. Maybe dorms are nicer, but incredibly disappointing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2017
9.7

A lovely, quiet hostel, perfectly in-keeping with the Sighisoara experience. The staff were really attentive and made sure we had everything we needed at all times. A really nice stay that we would fully recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th May 2017
7.1

The reception is slightly hard to find, you have to go through the small alley to be able to find it. Location was perfect, in the middle of the citidel. However, the toilet was not nice smelling.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2017
5.7

Bathroom not in good condition. No kitchen facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
8.9

I came to burg hostel before high season so not too many people were there. There wasn't really a common area so I'm not too sure how the atmosphere would be if there were more people. There was no kitchen, but a restaurant downstairs that was pretty decent. The location is great, 15 minute walk from the bus and train stations and right in the middle of town. Good value for the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • arsenalalice4381
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 53 reviews
15th May 2017
7.4

This place was virtually empty when I visited, so I'm sure things might be different in higher season. Stayed for 2 nights and had 1 night in the 8 bed dorm alone and the other with a nice girl. Restaurant downstairs, food was good. Location is perfect. Sighisoara is so small, you probably won't need more than one night/a full day here. Very pretty though. Didn't see any lockers in the rooms. Female dorm in the attic, I liked that but some may find the low ceiling provides less space. Clean area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
15th May 2017
7.1

The location is great, but it can't really not be as the historic centre is so small! We stayed in a double room which actually turned out to be a triple, it was decent and had an en suite. Unfortunately somebody woke us up by unlocking our room and coming in during the night which was annoying and rather scary. The staff were helpful when asked but otherwise offered no advice. I was given a map after asking for one with strict instructions to give it back. Not really a hostel vibe either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
7.1

Location was good, room was large and there are plug sockets and a lamp near every bed. However no lockable lockers in dorm rooms. Staff were nice but we were not given a map and our interaction was brief and a little rushed. The hostel seemed quite empty while we stayed so not much atmosphere, although not necessarily the fault of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
9.1

The room in dorm is spacious and clean. Huge lower bunk bed- actually double one. The lady (the owner, I guess) is very cheerful, helpful and friendly. Would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.