Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Byron Bay YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.1

Byron Bay YHA is going through some renovations at the moment and so there are some areas which could do with renewing but they are doing that. They also started work early so we were woken up about 7am. I understand why and it didn't really bother me. The staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
10.0

My stay at YHA Byron Bay was very pleasant, the room was clean and airy - I was able to open the window for fresh air. The location is very close to the shops and the town centre and the beach. I was able to run up to the lighthouse from here and enjoy the beauty of this beautiful place. The staff were very polite. There was no noise nuisance and it was a pleasure prepare my meals in the open courtyard kitchen. Nest time I visit Byron Bay, I will bring my family and friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
7.4

Very noisy. 7/8am wake up call from the builders. Will be a much better experience once the expansion is finished!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jul 2017
7.4

Kitchen was way too small compared to the amount of people. Hopefully will be better after renovation. Nice staff, good beds, nice hot showers and good central location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
8.3

Good hostel, the construction happening also didn't bother me at all. Never really heard it. Sometimes the kitchen is crowded but its fine. Nice to have a pool! It is annoying though that wifi is only in the common room and kitchen. If you want it in your room you have to pay for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
7.4

There's building work going on at the moment, but it wasn't too much of an issue. I didn't really use the pool though since the builders were overlooking it. There's some fun activities going on, so it's not too difficult to meet people. And you're really close to the beach and the Main Street, so easy enough to get around. Kitchen was pretty decent too, although I imagine it would be difficult to cook in when it's really busy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
8.9

Nice hostel with clean bathrooms. Little noisy and kitchen is small but I think mainly due to ongoing building work

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd May 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed our time here. Great location for beach/shops and Cheeky Monkeys. Pancake breakfasts are a must!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2017
8.6

Hostel was under going renovations which was very loud and dusty while I was there. Will be awesome when it's done I'm sure. Staff were very apologetic and happy to alter my booking when I asked due the renovations. Bathrooms were really clean and new.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
7.4

Very quiet, relaxed hostel and easy walk from the beach and food places. Good outdoor area with a slightly run-down pool table. The swimming pool looked decent, but wasn't being used much. Staff were friendly and helpful, offering very cheap bike hire and morning pancakes. No problems with the building work going on next door. Only minor complaint was that the floor in the room was a bit gritty, could have done with more regular sweeping or vacuuming. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.