Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Byron Bay YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd May 2017
7.4

Very quiet, relaxed hostel and easy walk from the beach and food places. Good outdoor area with a slightly run-down pool table. The swimming pool looked decent, but wasn't being used much. Staff were friendly and helpful, offering very cheap bike hire and morning pancakes. No problems with the building work going on next door. Only minor complaint was that the floor in the room was a bit gritty, could have done with more regular sweeping or vacuuming. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Super hostel with a great location. Loved the common area. Very welcoming and pleasant despite the expansion work occurring at the moment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
8.0

Terrible wifi connect Mattress was so thin Left with a hurt back

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.3

Really nice hostel, great facilities, very clean. Helpful staff and good location. Byron is a party scene but sill managed to get good nights sleep in this hostel. Seemed abit more chilled out than some others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
6.9

If you're looking for a place only to crash for the nights definitely stay at the YHA. Rooms are somewhat comfortable, kitchen has everything you need and the common areas are nice to chill in. The place basically has everything you need but depending on the people staying there at the same time, you'll either have a lot of fun or just be really bored. No drinking, socialising or anything after 10 so be prepared for the fun police but before 10pm hits, go nuts.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
6.3

The No Fun Hostel. Rules for everything here - no drinking games, no pool table after 10, no kitchen after 10, no drinking after 10. Surprised they didn't tell me I couldn't wipe myself. Hostel does have a decent location a few blocks from the beach and right off the main street. Staff was friendly as well, did help us with a few things. Go here to relax.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Mar 2017
8.6

I enjoyed my time and met some amazing humans in the Byron hostel. I would recommend it based on friendliness, and location. However it is to be expected that some facilities will get a bit messy due to the outdoorsy style of the property. The staff at the desk were super friendly, and everyone I met was thrilled with the pancakes!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
8.6

Nice, relaxed hostel, a little on the edge of town but still easy walking distance to beach and bars etc. Very friendly staff and activities such as lighthouse walk were great :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danj0rdan
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Feb 2017
7.7

Good hostel, surfboard storage etc which is great for Byron, close to beach and shops (Woolies etc) and he BBQ on Friday is great, free use of BBQ is sick as well. Staff were quite cliquey and sat by themselves which is fair enough but in general was not the best place to meet people asides from those in your room. Kitchen a great size too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.1

Been twice at YHA in Byron Bay, I always choose it because I know I can't go wrong with it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.