X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CVJM/YMCA Muenchen Reviews

Landwehrstraße 13, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
306 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

When I arrived at night,there is a guy that not very good, I asked him first to give me some hot water,he told me that only solution is the tea and cafe machine,and I should pay for every single time(1-2 euro)!! The other day, another girl helped me a lot and very kind. For the wifi, as I see on the website, there is free wifi in some specific space but when I asked the same guy, he said the 'only" wifi is 1 euro! I said that it was the first time to pay for the wifi in the hostel and the price

Owner Comment (Hide)
The internetterminal is for free, the wifi is 1 EUR for registration with unlimited access (only available in the lobby).

63%

too noisy, breakfast service starts too late (7:30), but the staff is nice, although there is only one person but have to receive all visitor and help to solve all the problems...

Owner Comment (Hide)
breakfast staff depends on the number of guests or groups. If breakfast is too late we can offer a lunchbox instead.

94%

This was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good location ! The bedroom is very good !


86%

nice place to stay. breakfast is ok. no lock for locker in room, hopefully your room mate is nice. two shower for the whole floor, but still acceptable. all staff really helpful. for people >27 years old had to pay extra money per night, don't know why. had to pay for wi-fi and only near reception. only one key per room. need ask for another key when you want to go back after 00.30 AM. stay for 3 nights, overall is satisfied even with numbers of difficulties. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
still the same: 3 EUR more per persons over 27 is contained in the important information. It is a question of tax recuction for persons under 27 years.

80%

I think that this hostel is good. It is very quiet though, it is not the best place to meet people. That has pros and cons, obviously. But in general, I was happy about everything. I only have one slightly bad comment to make. The beds are super short. That should be improved. I am 1.80m and I didn't fit in that bed...

  • 17th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Breakfast was huge!


60%

Too many restrictions, you better have nice mates in your room, as your luggage is not locked. Breakfast could have something warm, it´s just cold one. If you go ina group, that you take full room is not bad for couple of nights.


63%

No wifi included, staff was alright, they let me check in at 15:00, before was not possible, nice breakfast buffet included though (fair enough for the rate they charge). Also be aware about their age policy, which is if you are older than 26 you have to pay 3 extra euros, so they don´t respect hostelworld rates whatsoever ... For being a christian hostel, there is nothing like fellowship or nice atmosphere, it´s just a business with a bible in your room. Period

Owner Comment (Hide)
3 EUR more is shown in the "important information", it is a question of tax (reduced in Germany for people under 27 years of age.

94%

Great location, great quality, very clean, amazing breakfast, probably the best one you will always have in one hostel.


83%

Nice location n provide breakfast :)


91%

Very conveniently located (if you don't mind walking by some stripclubs) and probably one of the cleanest and most comfortable hostels I've ever stayed in!! Staff were friendly and helpful. It's a good place to crash if you're traveling with friends, as there's no social atmosphere whatsoever so don't expect to meet people!!


74%

The location is excellent. Near the train station and the city centre. The showers are really small and could be cleaner. If you plan to sleep in, take some oropax with you (the walls are very thin). Nevertheless it's a nice hostel. I'd recommend it for a short stay.

  • 15th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Quiet place. Most staff were friendly; a few were excellent. Some people complain about the policy of returning your room key every time you leave, but it wasn't an issue for me at all. The area isn't a prime tourist location, but it is very close to the main train station, and you'll also get a much more ethnically diverse experience of Munich here. I don't think you can beat the price unless you want to stay in a huge dorm.

  • 9th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you for our stay in your Hostel. We found all your staff very friendly and helpful and would definitely come again next year will be booking soon!! Your Hostel made visiting our trade show in Munich very enjoyable!

  • 3rd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

This hostel was too expensive for what it was - Each floor only had two showers for 40± people, not sufficient when trying to check out early. It also lacks atmosphere - solo travellers avoid, you will be extremely bored here. The staff were pleasant, the only plus here. Note no lockers in rooms, and only one room key, both can equate in logistical and security disasters.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is correct, there are only 2 Showers on the floor but not at max for 34 persons, depends on the floor (2. Floor 34 P., 3. Floor 28 P., 4. Floor 23 P.). One key for a room is more security because you only get it with the guest-card.

69%

This hostel is in a good location and pretty standard. However they treat you a bit like a child. You have to give them the key each time you leave, and return before 12:30AM unless you specially ask for a night key. They also lock you in before 7:30AM! If you need to leave the hostel before that you can't without a code, which was not made obvious. Also, unmarried couples can't stay in the same room, and no alcohol is allowed on the premises. Quiet and clean though. Great for visitors

  • 1st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Arrived just before 1300 Hrs and found office unattended. When the staff member came back I was told to come back in 1/2 hour because it's lunchtime. On the next morning 2 guests arrived at 7am, and they had to basically stand around until the office opened at 0730 Hrs. Must be the German way. Guys, if you were going to have times when your office reception is unattended - put that up on your websigte please. For travellers on a time schedule, that's a precious 1/2 hours lost.

  • 10th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was nice place and I will come whit may familly.

  • 26th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean, nice common area, good (and free!) breakfast, great location. I would stay here again.


(160 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback