X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ca' Barbaria Reviews

Castello 6668, Barbaria De Le Tole, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
48 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Clean and super friendly. Great help and the breakfast getz you going, Great espressos!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice location only 10 min walk from st. Marks and 5 to Rialto. Cheaper than most other opti


86%

We enjoyed our stay at Ca' Barbaria and would be likely to return if we came back to Venice. Great coffee in the morning! The lower marks on security and facilities are because anyone could come into our room from one of the bathrooms via the balcony (there wasn't a problem while we were there, but it was a little weird) and because the water pressure in the shower is terrible. It's just because the pension is on the top floor, but it was pretty bad. But great location and charm!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Beautiful place but needs an area where you you can chill out rather than your room. The breakfast that is included needs to be improved as it is not that great and there should be a staff member present at all times. The manager was very helpful with information.


69%

The staff were friendly and always willing to help. Very decent flat with clean rooms. Very good for family group to stay here.


91%

We stayed there for 3 nights and we loved it. The owner has very friendly attitudes and warmly hospitality as he offered valuable guides to show where we should go looking around and shop the stuff. I think this guy knows every Venice's belonging such as a single "local olive store" as we asked for. He also has the world class coffee making :)) every morning that we enjoyed at least one cup or two. I liked my room where we stayed with a quite open view in height with two big windows.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The host was very friendly and helpful. We definitely appreciated his help with printing our plane tickets! It was awesome to spend a few moments with them enjoying an espresso and sharing experiences.


91%

The bad news -- it is on the 3rd floor with no lift. At first the location seems out of the way, but it is less than a 10 minute walk to St. Mark's Square. It is in a quieter area with more locals. Fabio is very helpful and gives you a map on arrival. There are 2 shared bathrooms (with soap, shampoo and toothpaste), but you rarely sees the other guests except perhaps at breakfast -- which is simple but with good coffee. Great Wi-Fi connection.


100%

Ca' Barbaria is a beautiful old apartment where you rent beautiful rooms with original interiors. It is the owner's (who is an architect) grandfather's old apartment, and you can tell he was an artist. I rented the single beedroom which was small and not as charming as the other rooms but it was clean with a very comfortable bed and a window overlooking the nearby roofts. There are two, clean, shared bathrooms. Good breakfast and excellent coffee. There is a terrace and the location is great.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Good price, good location.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice team in working in this B&B, rooms are very "authentical"... We had a large book case and a piano in our room! Location is perfect to visit Venezia!


91%

Although we found it difficult to find at first, it was in a good quiet location but close enough for a ten min walk to st marks square. Had an amazing view from the balcony in our room which was next to the shared bathroom, we were there when it was quiet so this wasn't an issue. Staff were lovely and happy to help - gave us a map marking everything we'd need on it. We didn't try breakfast as were meeting friends and only stayed one night. I would stay here again. Thank you.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

My brother and I really enjoyed our stay here! Ca'Barbaria is in an amazing location, it is an area where more locals are, rather than a touristy area. The B&B was clean and safe. We had to leave early in the morning for our flight, breakfast normally didn't begin until 8am but they woke up early to serve us breakfast before we left! Great hosts, very helpful with places to visit and how to get there. Would stay here again!


83%

Very niсe and specific place with a lot of old furniture. You can feel yourself very great here. Staff is perfect, he told me a lot about the place and his family, some stories about the furniture. I like it! Thanks a lot for a good stay. Room is big, clean and bright. not very far from the centre. a lil expensive, but it's a Venice!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

I would suggest not to book this place. You have to climb half a Pisa tower with your luggage as there is no lift. The bathrooms do not have good water drainage. There are no towels in the bathroom. I would not suggest to use their towels even if they provide as I found they do not maintain minimum cleanness. They provided very low quality breakfast. We find pieces of broken roofs are falling on us inside the room.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry next time Whan you come in Venice you have to book in 5 statrs hotel...

60%

The guy at the reception didn't have change, not even one euro, so we paid one euro more. Curtains of the room didn't work and the barhroom smelled bad. Poor breakfast. Clean bed and clean room. I have been in better hostels for less than the half of the price but venice is expensive.


60%

I would recommend Ca'Barbaria for those who are spending just a few nights in Venice (one or two, maybe). The room was very tidy and clean and breakfast was included and very good! The (shared) bathrooms were not very clean, and we even had to wait until one of the responsible guys returned from supermarket with toilet paper to use the toilets.


97%

Our room was very spacious and beautiful as we had a terrace overlooking Venice. We were greeted with espresso and cookies to enjoy on our terrace before we went out. Only complaint is that I would have preferred a private bathroom, but we wish we could have stayed more than one night!


89%

Fabio was very welcoming and helpful especially when we arrived with our bicycles and were in trouble to park them ! The place is perfectly located in the center of Venise in a very nice appartment. We recommend the place, good value for money ! Virginie and Camille

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The water pressure was not good in the shower and not warm. But Fabio was Fabulously helpful and kind. Breakfast was great too and so was the room.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Venice Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback