X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ca' Venezia Reviews

3271 Castello, Calle dei Furlani, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
420 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Not very clean, staff not efficient, location is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR GOOD REVIEW. YOU BOOKED A 8 PERSON SHARING ROOM. WHAT YOU THROW IN THE FLOWER ( ROOM ) , OTHER PEOPLE AL SO DO IT . WE CLEAN EVERY MORNING , NOT EVERY HOUR. LOOK AT OTHER REVIEWS, WHAT THEY SAY ABOUT STAFF?

60%

We were greeted by the very helpful hostel owner giving us tips on where to go in Venice, supplying both citywide and local maps. Unfortunately, the room was not of the same standard compared to other hostels. The bathroom suffered from damp and the smell lured into the adjoined kitchen/diner through a six inch gap at the bottom of the door. The kitchen was fairly grotty however the bedroom was of a fair standard. For those staying, don't walk from the train station, it takes over an hour!

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

57%

the hostel was clean, but no wifi in the bedroom, had to go down in the courtyard. also the bed is made of a matress, a sheet and then the wooden (and scratching) blanket straight on your skin... the guy is nice and helpfull.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Because each dorm had its own kitchen and living room, and there weren't any common areas, so there wasn't much opportunity to socialize. However, there were very few options in Venice within our price range.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a great time, the hostel is located close to Piazza San Marco. The staff is super friendly, Amran is very friendly and welcoming and gives great tips about what to see in Venice. The rooms are clean, couldn't complain about any facilities. The only remark I could make are holes in the mosquito nets - got terrible mosquito bites.


57%

Not easy to find the hostel without a goos map. The kitchen is poor and the common room is not confortable at all. Doesnt help to create a good atmosphere between the backpackers.


63%

The guy that runs the place is the most bipolar man. He'd be way cool one minute and then ignore you the next. He has a whole bunch of "we love you" letters from previous guests which confused us I think he wrote each one himself but hey that's me being an ass. The floors were pretty nasty in the rooms so I always had shoes on. One toilet and shower shared by 10 people wasn't too fun but at least they worked. There was a cute upstairs patio with a good view but dirty. No lockers.


91%

A very pleasent stay very organized


77%

This being what it is in Venice, I find that the customer service is a little lacking with the staff. But that by no means makes for a bad experience - just can make it better if it adds good customer service. Great place to stay otherwise!


69%

Hostel is in a fairly good location, about 15 mins from St Marks square but takes a long time to walk to from the train station, water taxi is available but it is also very expensive. The staff were very friendly on arrival and are happy to give advice. There's a supermarket about 2 mins from the hostel, which is useful if you want to use the kitchen to cook something. There is only one toilet/shower. There is a roof top terrace with great views, but the main problem was the lack of air con!


94%

Amran makes the Hostel , he is friendly and very helpful, gives a good insider view of where to eat and best places to visit plus how to get there . Your biggest problem is asking the right questions to get the best answers.


71%

Hostel was not marked well from the street. Directions online and signs within the hostel had many spelling and grammar mistakes, making finding it even more difficult than just trying to navigate the crazy streets of Venice. Man who checked us in was SUPER friendly and helpful, as he carried my two bags up about five flights of stairs. Other workers barely interacted with us. Room was clean, but the bathroom needed some attention and a MIRROR and plug. One mirror and plug for 10 people is bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR GOOD REVIEW .

46%

There is no air conditioning so it's very hot. They leave the windows open so mosquitoes are plenty. I was part of a group of two and both left covered in mosquito bites. Sheets/blankets/pillows are dirty. We had booked a two night stay and ended up leaving after the first night because of the conditions.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
ESTHER, YOU WAS ALONE , YOU BOOKED A 6 PERSON SHARING ROOM , YOU ROOM HAVE A BIG FAN , AND SHEET BLANKET PILLOWS , EVERY THING IS NEW. YOU STAY ONE NIGHT IT'S TRUE , BECAUSE YOU TOLD ME , YOU NEED TO GO SOME WHERE WITH YOU FRIEND . FOR GIVING A REVIEW , THINK ABOUT IT . IT IS NOT LIKE THAT , I CAN WRITE ANY THING. THANK YOU AGAIN FOR GIVING THE GOOD REVIEW .

26%

Well it seemed that there wasn´t any other customers when we were there first. I didn´t feel safe to be there.awasn´t very clean. We had only one sheet, not any for the blanket or as a blanket. I don´t know if sheet was clean or used

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOU GOOD REVIEWS . YOU STAY WITH US IN APPEASEMENT , AND YOU HAVE THE KEY , NOBODY GO IN SIDE IN YOUR ROOM . AND YOU FOUND ALL BED COVER NEW. EVERY HOSTEL THEY GIVE BED COVER ONLY NOT EXTRA BED SHEET , THERE WAS BLANKET INSIDE YOUR ROOM. THANK YOU AGAIN

71%

The staff is very nice. It's near St.Marco Square. There's a supermarket nearby.Wifi signal is not stable in bedroom and public area.


71%

The hostel definitely needs some basic maintenance that seems to get ever overlooked, but for the price and location you won't find any better. The rooftop terrace has an amazing view but some real chairs that aren't horribly uncomfortable would be useful there. The host is very friendly and helpful. Some rooms are huge and spacious, others are very cramped, so ask to change if you don't like where you are at. Each room has its own en-suite mini kitchen and toilet/shower so that is cool.


74%

This was convenient and for Venice a relatively good price. My only disappointment was the absence of personal lockers for the 8 person mixed room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR GOOD REVIEWS.

83%

Location is great! Kitchen is tiny and poorly stocked, but functional. The WiFi is awful and hardly ever works, so if you need to use that a lot, be warned. Staff are pretty friendly, but they tended to throw out my stuff if it was on the floor (or looked like garbage?) - soap container, razor, bottle of olive oil, etc. Make sure you keep your stuff organised so that doesn't happen. Otherwise the apartment-style set up is great and homey and the roof terrace was a real treat.


80%

Overall enjoyed our stay there. The location can be a little hard to find but that's normal for Venice. It is, however, very close to San Marcos. The staff were helpful with places of interest and how to get where. One minor gripe is that the wi-fi only works in the common area. Price was very reasonable especially by Venice's standards. All in all, pretty good!


89%

Really liked this hostel despite its flaws the roof terrace provides a great view of the city, particularly at night after the football with a few bottles of wine & beer. Only two downsides were WiFi rarely let us connect if at all & secondly the bathroom was not entirely... you could tell it had been wiped down but the shower had mold stuck in various grooves and seals which was quite off putting although it was given a proper clean while we were there. No idea how regularly. Shiny now tho :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback