Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caballo Loco Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • chrash
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Feb 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay at Caballo, staff were helpful and accommodating atmosphere was awesome! Great hostel would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

Very accommodating staff. Stayed less than 12 hrs here in total, but location was great and would have stayed longer if possible. Only complaint is the drinks there are very overpriced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
8.0

Not much atmosphere (but all of Montevideo was dead while I was there). Would not recommend for a solo traveler looking to meet others. Would be great it your looking for a clean quiet place to stay. Solid comfortable facility. Wifi was decent and breakfast was solid - bread, fruit, cereal, coffee. Lockers in room. Mens bathroom was clean but the stalls were very crapped. Also couldnt get the showers to be a comfortable temperature. Either super hot or cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.9

We stayed here one night before we went to the airport. Nice hostel, really helpful staff. Awesome mural in the common area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Nice place in a cool old building. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and the breakfast was good. Pretty good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.0

Considering the low price, the hostel was pretty good! Unfortunately it was really cold during our stay, and the hostel didn't seem to have any heating. Even the staff was covered in blankets. We luckily were provided with many blankets, so in the end it wasn't that cold during the night. The breakfast was basic, and the bread was kind of old the second day, but the showers, staff and atmosphere were great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
9.7

This is a hostel that treats the customer like an honored guest. The shower has truly hot water. The kitchen is a pleasure to use. There are games, a pool table, a good television. Plenty of space. Only one suggestion. Perhaps a piece of cheese or a hard-boiled or raw egg to cook with the breakfast? Montevideo is a pricey city so a hearty breakfast would help the budget traveler. I will stay at Caballo Loco whenever I return to Montevideo. Good job!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Everything is very good. The only negative thing is that it gets very cold in the common areas as the heater is hardly ever switched on. The one in the bedroom is switched on when you want so that one is ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.