Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caballo Loco Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Caballo Loco Hostel Located at Gutierrez Ruiz 1287, , Montevideo.
Caballo Loco Hostel
Uruguay
Montevideo 11100 Gutierrez Ruiz 1287
87% 289
-34.9072084 -56.1914205
Caballo Loco Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Everything is very good. The only negative thing is that it gets very cold in the common areas as the heater is hardly ever switched on. The one in the bedroom is switched on when you want so that one is ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2016
8.9

Regina and Filipe were so amazing. Sooooo helpful. Lovely big rooms too :) breakfast was best I've had in South American hostels

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel very centrally located. Staff were very helpful and accommodating, especially in helping us with our onward journey. Good breakfast, clean bathrooms, good common seating area. We were easily able to extend our stay last minute. Would highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to Montevideo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
8.0

Fist of all, I guess I did come here solo in off-season... The atmosphere was pretty much non-existent...Thankfully I did end up meeting one other person to hang out with, but yeah...it was weird. There was a guy who was "living" in the shared dorm? Which I thought was pretty odd... bathrooms were ok, definitely a little small for the amount of people staying there. Water was always hot. Location is awesome, super close to ciudad vieja y La Rambla. I'd recommend if you got a private room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lauraetyler
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.1

Great place and arranged an evening candombe dance tour which was great. Also recommended the free walking tour (tip based) and how to get there etc. I was looking forward to an asado but unfortunately it wasn't available the nights I was there :( Only problem was that it was freezing. The staff let us keep the heating on in our room and it was still quite cold. Would definitely recommend for summer maybe bring extra clothes if you want to come in winter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kbrowning1192544
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
28th Jun 2016
10.0

Most comfortable beds I have slept in in South America. Also the best showers in South America. Staff are great and extremely helpful. Free pool table. Breakfast was good!! Highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
6.9

One word, weird. I've never been to a hostel with a more subdued atmosphere than this. The common area was always silent and nobody said hello to each other. There were 2 long stay residents (one claimed to be staff but I saw no evidence of this) who made everyone very uncomfortable. The facilities were great but honestly, this place would suck the life out of anyone. Avoid.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
17th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 44 reviews
16th May 2016
9.1

Nice hostel centrally located downtown. Super clean and open plan lends nice atmosphere. High ceilings and open plan makes it a little drafty though when it's cold. Still recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.4

Great location, nice breakfast. The bathroom and the kitchen were one of the best I have seen so far! Definetely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.