X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caballo Loco Hostel Reviews

Gutierrez Ruiz 1287, Montevideo, Uruguay

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
259 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Wonderful place to stay. Great staff and atmosphere!

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Overall, a truly excellent stay! Great facilities, super staff, exceptionally well maintained, and very, very clean. Atmosphere was on the quieter side, but that was likely at least partially due to the hostel seemingly being at only 40-50% capacity. There's definitely a lot there to have a great time if you get a good mix of folks (pooltable, games, patio, etc.). Highly recommended!!


94%

This hostel was so wonderful! Amazing staff, great facilities and great location. No complaints, would definitely stay again.


40%

Should explain u more about the city Not clean Not many activities The girl on the frontera del does not speak spanish or english Not a friendly enviroment Breakfast sucks Not enough bathrooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is the first time ever we have to answer a review. We always respect people's thoughts and critics about our hostel, as every guest lives the hostel it's own way. However, we wanted to point the fact that everyone in the staff speaks fluently either spanish or english, and most of us also speak portuguese. We are sorry you couldn't enjoy anything at all about our hostel, and we wish you have better luck in the next hostel you stay.

71%

Nice hostel and rooms but having only tao showers and toilets is really bad. Breakfast is OK, helpful staff. Should provide lock for lockers.


86%

Weird thing: hostel doesn't let you bring alcohol in. You have to buy theirs, and you have to pay in dollars -- and the prices are steep even by US standards. Other than that, the hostel was fine.


94%

Caballos Locos is a good, sound hostel: the facilities, rooms, kitchen, bathrooms (great showers)... are good, secure, spacious... The staff are cool, friendly, helpful and professional... The place has a lot of light (e.g. in the common-room area)... There is quite a nice area outside... It is worth going to, for sure :)


97%

Great place, the workers speak great English. Breakfast us reasonable - dulce con Leche was a nice touch. A bit far from the main nightlife area which was about 5 mins walk. But only 10 mins from Ciudad Vieja. Showers had plenty of hot water but they were a little cramped. Awesome local craft beer in the hostel fridge- I highly recommend the volcanica dubbel. Plus a free pool table.




View all Montevideo Hostels

Please give us your feedback