Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caballo Loco Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jul 2017
5.7

It is just am average place, nothing special. Bathrooms need improvements. WIFI is awfull, breaker is awfull.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
8.9

Amazing Place!! if i ever go back to MVD i'm certainly staying there! Awesome Staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
7.1

It was fine. Not many people. Most people spoke Portuguese and not Spanish lol. Not sure if just because off season. But nothing special and a bit expensive. Seems like there aren't many choices in Montevideo though. It was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

Very nice hostel! Good mix of ages of guests in the hostel. Very clean bathrooms and attentive staff. Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
8.3

The hostel was okay. My bed was fine and there is a nice area to hang out. The bathrooms weren't always the cleanest and the toilet paper bins need to be cleaned out more! They're almost always overflowing. That was gross! Other than that, it was pretty standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th May 2017
7.7

Montevideo - don't bother. There was probably as many people in the hostel as there was in the entire city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
9.1

We stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are spacious, beds comfortable, good bathrooms with hot showers. Good kitchen and a really great breakfast and lots of different common areas to just hang out. Location was perfect, easy to get to by bus and right in the centre so we just walked most places we wanted to go. i really enjoyed my stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2017
10.0

The Caballo Loco is a wonderful hostel to stay at, it offers everything a backpacker needs at a very good price. The location is great and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. I can totally recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.