X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1460 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Brilliant place, right at the heart of it all, just a few minutes walk to Copacabana beach. Super attentive owners and staff, and great common areas. Rooms could do with a bit of modernisation, and a night staff member who speak English would also go a long way, but overall a superb place


91%

Great hostel. The staff are really friendly and helpful and it's really easy to meet people to go out on the town with.

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I would recommend this hostel to anyone. It is located in a great area and is safe and clean. The staff at this hostel are friendly and very helpful, particularly Agnes. She was great helping me plan tours and giving me directions around rio and was generally just a friendly face when entering or leaving the hostel.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

What really disappointed me about my stay at this hostel was the EXTREMELY rude reception staff. There was in particular 2 women who spoke to me in such a disrespectful and condescending manner which I have not experienced before at any of the many hostels which I have stayed at. This left me extremely upset and really ruined the end to my stay in rio. On the contrary the kitchen staff/ cleaners/ security guy were all very friendly and the hostel is in the perfect location.

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

A lot of mix up with the beds (double booking) Very bad wifi No gas after 12pm No beer allowed into Hostel so that you have to buy at Hostel price Unfriendly security staff

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Asked at reception for a good place to eat, and the girl working there recommended an all you can eat bbq place the hostel has a deal with. She said it would cost around 40-50 reals each so we went ahead and booked. They don't tell you how much the buffet costs when you arrive so we assumed it was what she said. In the end the bill came to 140 reals per person. It's an absolute joke that a backpackers hostel has a deal with such an expensive place, and I felt pretty misled. Really not impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us! There must have been a misunderstanding, our staff would never have said that, since they all have been there and know the prices. They must have told you 40-50 USD, and they are the cheapest Brazilian Churrascaria in the area, and everyone wants to try it once while in Brazil, even backpackers. Didn't you ask the price on arrival there? It is common sense to do that. Anyways, we can see you are from the UK, so the all you can eat BBQ place must have cost you about £ 23 with drinks, so not that bad we hope. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

100%

Nice hostel right off the main roads. Love they have lockers in the hallway which is good for someone who can be noisy without interrupting people in the room sleeping.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your review, we are glad you had a nice time! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

86%

It would be nice if there was cheese at breakfast and hot water. I think those are more common than potatoes with bacon. It would be nice if every bed had an electric point. Mine didn't. I liked it that the stuff helped me with new sheets, when somebody decided to take my sheets. It was very hot in the girls dorm, the fan helped, but I got the impression i got pain in my troath because of the airconditioning. But could also be somewhere else, it just started there. One shower missed lock.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Besides the staff this place was a disaster. By 8 am every morning there was hammering and grinders going steady, so don't expect to get any sleep. The a/c didn't get turned on in our room most nights and the security personnel doesn't know how to turn it on for you. No hot water and very low pressure in the showers. We stayed in the new part of the hostel maybe the old part is better? It definitely can't be worse! Oh, and the wifi is terrible!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us. The construction is almost done so there is not as much noise. And we never have any construction before 10am. The A/C gets turned on every night, if not you can request our reception staff anytime. All the showers have hot water now. Our internet connection is 120Mb so if one modem is slower, it is perhaps because of too many connections at the same time, so try a different one. Once our expasion is done we will be one of the newest and nicest hostel in town for sure! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

54%

When we arrived we were waiting a lot of time until a staff member pay attention. Next, we want to make breakfast but the kitchen was open only between 2pm to 9pm. And its was disappointing beacuse NO ONE was at the kitchenkitchen at that time. I think you should be less striker with the rules. And thired - we put our things at the refrigerator with name on and their were stolen. Twice.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We were short of staff when you came to check in because one of them had to call in sick. We have kitchen hours because at the moment we only have one kitchen for guests and staff to cook breakfast. Soon we will have a kitchen staff and the one now will be just for guests, with wider hours. Unfortunately in a backpackers hostel you share the facilities with other guests and some are not as respectful as other, so we cannot take care of everyone's food in the fridge, we believe in common sense. One thing we can guarantee is that it was not our staff who stole your food, maybe another backpacker on a hangover. Safe travels! Kind regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

It is a pretty nice place, kind of big which make it very spacious, they stick to the rules, these rules are given to you from day 1. Overall I really enjoyed my stay, the only downfall were two girls from the staff, it really upseted me that it was the only place from all the places I visited in Brazil that had unfriendly staff (hint: they are not Brazillians). A part from that everything is wonderful


69%

Wifi barely works and doesn't on one side of the hostel. 4 bed dorm was good with aircon. No hot water on our side in any of the showers, no mirrors, and construction work next door starts at 7:30-8 with loud drills and hammers waking you up. Breakfast very standard. One computer for about 80 ppl who stay there. Wouldn't highly recommend it but was good to meet ppl and go out with that's about it. Made myself drunk enough to sleep on the mattress. Huge hill is a bit annoying to!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us! We have a 120MB internet connection and we are expanding the wifi reception to all the property. Only one shower, within 4 bathrooms didn't have hot water but we are fixing it now. The construction only starts at 10am and it is almost over. The hill has only 30 meters, so not that bad. To compensate we are installing an elevator in the property quite soon. We are glad you met a lot of people, as our goal is to have a very sociable backpackers hostel! Our breakfast is standard because our prices are quite cheap if you book ahead! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

74%

The new building hasn't got hot water nor wifi. The air conditioner is on the full day, in a very cold temperature. The don't turn it off nor allow us to do it, and they don't modify the temperature. The wifi connection doesn't work adequately in any part of the hostel. But I recognize it is a clean place, the staff is helpful and it is good located.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us. Sorry for one of the six bathrooms of the new building not having hot water yet, that problem has been fixed. We have wifi in all common areas, and soon in the new building too. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

80%

Location is OK, but it's on a hill so it can be frustrating to climb it up with luggage. Staff is friendly and the facilities ok. Bathroom was a bit crowded and wifi doesn't work on the room. It's definitely a party hostel, but at least to my room on 3rd floor you couldn't hear any noise from the bar

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us. The new entrance will be in the lower part of the building so soon the hill will be half the size to walk. :) We have more bathrooms in the new building. Wifi works in most rooms, but we are putting more routers to make it work in all rooms. Glad you had fun! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

80%

The wi-fi rarely works. This can be very frustrating. If you tell the staff about it, they make excuses and blow it off. Its awful when you are travelling and you are unconnected. The wifi there really, really sucks, and the staff does nothing about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us. We are improving our wifi connection and as soon as it is available it will be of 120 Mbs. One of the routers is faster than the other so maybe try the different networks, that all have the same password. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

63%

regular lack of ice, alcoholic drinks, inconvenient sliding door, airco problems, flooding and wet floors, some staff very friendly, other very unmotivated,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us. Our staff has been handling a lot of guests as we are full most days in high season, but we try to keep all of them motivated. We will also change the sliding door soon, but it is so beautiful that we are reluctant. We had problems with our ice machine but now it is working better at the bar. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

86%

Great place to stay, location was good with great security presence. There is always something to do here. Stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us, we are glad you had a nice time! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Its a great place to stay, the atmosphere is awesome, people from all over the world and near of the beach!

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you had a nice time! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

100%

really good hostel with everything you need and a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are really glad you had a nice time! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

71%

Location was great., metro station close by and just 10 minutes to Copacabana beach. However, we experienced a lack of flexibility & service. The washing machine was broken and it was obvious that it was not the first day when we arrived and it did not seem that it will be repaired soon. Moreover, the discription how to get to the hostel was not updated, new lines have already been installed half a year ago. The wifi was very bad. And we got the impression that the staff was afraid of the owner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We have a new washing machine now. We will update the directions and improve our wifi. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback