X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1107 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very nice atmosphere and close to main sights in Rio. i definetly recommend this Hostel for people that want to explore the city on their own! I did a great tour of the city called Big Dude Tour with Brazil Expedition recommended by the staff! Funny guide and good value for money! thanx for the staff to let me know! Say hello to Carlos!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff unable to help with most stuff, doesnt seems like they know a lot about the city. A shame since the hostel got a lot of potentiality.


100%

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, the location was great- a secure area near the beach, metro and supermarkets. I also loved the vibe of the hostel, something that always makes your stay extra good. Another plus is te cleanliness of the place and the good facilities they offer. The breakfast was really good for hostel standards. This will for sure be my go-to place whenever I'm in Rio again.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Das einzige Hostel bei dem man beim Check-in komplett bar bezahlen muss, Handtücher nicht gestellt werden, man die Betten selbst beziehen muss, die gebrauchten Bettbezüge beim Check-out an der Rezeption abgeben müssen, ansonsten gibt es die Kaution nicht zurück. Personal an der Rezeption: Man spürt, dass ihnen der Job keinen Spass macht. Überall Schilder mit Vorschriften wie man sich verhalten soll: Nicht nach 10:30 pm draussen Lärm machen; wird nicht eingehalten. Lärm bis am frühen Morgen.


51%

The hostel needs a massive overhaul to be competitive in 2014 (start with new management that will take charge for the owners, then progress to some new more professional staff, but most of all you need to gut this place and then the guests and staff will feel the need to take better care of it. If a place looks nice, people are less likely to litter the place). The pictures provided for customers to make their decision are nice and new - so they are a few years old as it looks nothing like that

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello & thanks for your comments. We are currently renovating parts of the hostel & building a new bar & rooms for the world cup. Some of the guests during your stay weren't as polite as usual and maybe they were littering the building. But the photos on our websites & booking portals are from last year, so not that old. Hope to see you again after our rebuilding. Kind regards, CabanaCopa

83%

I liked the Hostel, the staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was good and, of course, excellent location. Only disappointment was there was no airport transfer service, as was agreed!! I had already agreed on the BRL 80.00, for the service and sent one final email on the day of my departure to confirm this and very quickly received a reassuring reply that I'll be met. Not even an apology from the front desk! Other than that, all was good.


86%

Slightly hard to find but once you know where you are going then it's no problem! Good breakfast and women's only dorms/bathrooms which were kept very clean. Helpful staff and good wifi too.


51%

It could be an awesome hostel but I found some of the stuff quite serious and not very happy to help when they needed. I think it is REALLY BAD the fact that you can not bring your own drinks so you HAVE TO PAY crazy prices at the bar. Also is VERY BAD that you can not get access to the web site hostelworld through their wifi as they blocked it for I am not sure what reason. Not cool. On the other and breakfast was really good everyday and everything was well cleaned but I would not go back.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place, nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us and writing your comments! We are glad you liked our place and had a good time. Our new staff is also in a very good vibe. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

57%

- It's one of those hostels where the guest is not allowed to sleep unless everyone goes to bed. Some other guests kept making noise by my window until 3:30am and no one from staff asked them to keep it down. - At night secutiry doesn't ask you for any ID before going inside, you just ring the bell and go in. - Reception was supposed to open at 8am, nobody arrived till 8:15 so I checked out with a security guard. - Unfriendly staff;


86%

excellent location

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for taking the time out to leave a review. It's always appreciated :) Glad you liked our location. See you next time. CabanaCopa staff

80%

expensive carnival package with compulsory 6 nights

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us & ratting. Everywhere in Rio is expensive during Carnival, and has at least a 6 nights minimum stay. We used to have a 7 nights minimum stay, but we decreased. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you back soon. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

66%

The hostel was fair enough. However, the staff was not very helpful as they did not really seem to know their city. Furthermore, the bar closes at 22:30 which does not make it a very sociable place. During the carnival it was very expensive which applies for all hostels. Yet, if you hear somebody checking in for your last night and they pay 1/3 of what you paid for the exact same night, that's not really nice!


46%

the I don't know hostelThe staff never know anything theycan't tell u where anything is even if you show them address n quite rude about it n no maps exceptEvelyn only staff that knows anythingThey have blocked hostels from wifi so u can't look others up they kick u out at 10pm to bed or out of hostel very poor kitchen facilities in my month in brazil worst breakfast sohappy to move to Vila Carioca after 9days of prepaid at Copa now I get why they make u prepay n add5%if out of country don'tstay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us. We were very busy during carnival, and some of our staff was new, sorry if they were not very knowledgeable. We have 2 internet providers & wifi's, so our internet is never down. We have 3 common area living rooms, 2 with TV's and one with bean bag chairs & couches, but our bar/lounge & outside areas have to close at 22:30. During carnival & special events every hostel request guests to prepay, but not during regular season. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

57%

The staff was very offair and nonchalant. According to the facilities they offer free airport transfer, We told them twice by e-mail to pick us up. They answered and we even confirmed a second time the arrival with time and flightnumber but they didn´t show up. When we arrived by cab and pointed the default transfer they didn´t care and blamed it on a new man in the staff. The dorms are fine with open spaces but shared bathrooms quite disgusting. Good securitu with lockers and 24h securitugua

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us. Glad to have cleared out this issue with you through e-mail now. Your message was never replied because for some reason it went to our spam mailbox. Our transfer is not free of charge, and that is described in our website. We are sorry for not being able to pick you up but we never confirmed it in the first place! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

60%

There was no internet during the two days of my stay. The staff told me they couldn t made a reservation if I don t pay right now... ( i just need to go the bank to withdraw money but they wouldn t hear it !!). The staff is too young to give advices to the travellers and bring some services. I would not recommand it. Sorry for that. Sandrine HEITZ

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have two internet service providers to ensure we have internet at all times, perhaps you weren't aware of the second one. Since we have a lot of requests and some people may reserve and not show up, it's a hostel policy to always pay for the reservation. Sorry if our staff seemed too inexperienced, we try to hire a wide range of individuals from different ages and nationalities. Of course we will make sure our staff is better informed regarding advice and services! CabanaCopa

69%

The hostel in general was nice enough. Fairly clean and with a nice atmosphere. But the staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful. When I came back to Rio i decided to stay someplace else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review! We're sorry to hear the staff didn't meet your expectations, we will take this up with them. CabanaCopa management

77%

Very well located, near the metro. But the hostel is too Big and no one knows who You are and they don't Really help when You ask for information. Poor breakfast. No air conditioning in some Rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked our location. Our hostel has a busy atmosphere during high season, so it is hard for our staff to keep track of everyone's names. Our breakfast is buffet is free & from 8:30 to 10:30am, but of course the last 5 minutes are not the same as the first, and after a big party night everyone comes down at the same time, so things can run out. Now all of our dormitories and most of our privates have A/C. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

60%

Do not provide the 3 digit security code from the back of your card to this hostel! I'm happy I didn't provide mine, although they cancelled our reservation bc of this. If you do provide they will charge the whole amount right after you made the reservation online, and that will make it impossible to cancel in case you need. In the end we paid for a 8 people room as we were walk-ins, but got to our room and realized it was a 10 people, the 15 reais a day difference was not refund!!

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

This hostel was maybe my worst experience in so many years.Standard response to any of 'reasonable' requests are NO.They are mostly rude to guests.They are well abusing their position in the market and customer demand which I don't understand how they created in the first place.People are shouted at and kicked out of the door.Internet hardly working,if wifi working so many sites blocked including hostel world. Kitchen equipment poor.Basically it has been abused by poor staff.and the rest.


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback