Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

CabanaCopa Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
CabanaCopa Hostel Located at Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro.
CabanaCopa Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22011-100 Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana
81% 1638
-22.9628980 -43.1806468
CabanaCopa Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sarahcarroll91
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
9th Sep 2016
6.9

This hostel was a bit of a rip off, an extremely high deposit and I was charged for an extra night even though I had given notice stating that my dates had changed and received a response back saying this was fine. I felt the room was a little overpriced. However the hostel was very clean considering the amount of people. The rooms were nice and quiet, good showers. Breakfast was not bad. Staff could have been a lot more helpful/friendlier.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and reviewing. As per terms and conditions, if you cancel with less than 72 hours from arrival the first night is charged, so we only followed the reservation rules, due to your late cancellation. We are sorry if this made you upset with our staff but make sure you read the terms and conditions of your reservation next time. You paid around 13 USD per night per bed for a 4 beds dormitory with A/C, individual power plugs, bed curtains, spring mattresses (we are the only hostel in Rio with that good mattresses in dormitories). Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

9th Sep 2016
8.6

Good clean hostel with a friendly staff , great breakfast and only 5 min away from the beach and next to a metro station! The only con was that the showers had a really low pressure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and reviewing. Our showers are environmentally friendly and we offer a lot of water but with the same water pressure as The Standard 5 star hotel in New York city. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

8th Sep 2016
9.1

Very nice close to everything clean breakfast was worth half the money you pay for the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and writing such an honest review. Yes we offer low prices and try to provide the best service and budget accommodation possible! :) If the guest books in advance like you they most likely will get the best deal! Hope to see you back sometime soon! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

31st Aug 2016
9.1

Great stay. Lovely people and staff, good location and lots of fun!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks we love you too! Come back for some more fun sometime soon! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Aug 2016
3.4

Diabolical. Basil Fawlty could run a place better than these guys. So they could accommodate a large group, the staff packed my bags themselves & moved me rooms! I came home at 11pm to discover this. Said they never asked me B/C their internet was down that morning! 2 days later as I am walking out the hostel at 10am they ask me to pack my bags and move rooms that very instant. I come back @4pm to find they have packed my bags & moved me again! Probably illegal. Manager completely incontactable!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. We are sorry for your experience but you were aware of the necessary changes from the start, as it was the only way you and your friend could stay in the same room together. Also you have been making up issues since your arrival to try to get a refund, but you were advised that during the Olympics reservations were non refundable. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
6.9

I visited the hostel at the olimpic games, so it was so crowded and a bit desorganized. The hosts are very kindly and speak perfect english. Nice location, close to the subway. Remember to use the restrooms upstairs, at the last floor, more new and clean. The breakfast was not got enough for me, but its not a problem, you re surrounded by copacaba, with plenty of options.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • katjalarnholt6237
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.0

Nice and well organized hostel in a good location. Kitchen is clean but should stay open longer than 9 pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit! We are building a new kitchen so that the guest one can stay open longer. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! I originally booked to stay 3 days but ended up spending more than a week! The staff are friendly, funny, fluent in English and very keen to help. I had a great time and would return any day! I met some amazing people and I had a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and writing the review! We are glad you had a great time! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
5.4

I found some of the staff to be rude, although I will say some were friendly. One woman spoke poorly about me in Portuguese to my Brazilian friend I met at the hostel, which is extremely unprofessional and rude. I found their rules to be over the top and annoying, my friend staying at another hostel could not even come inside at night before we left for the bars. Most things are an additional charge. I wasn't crazy about the location, I have a lot more to say but out of words. stay in ipanema

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel. Great security: lockers, key card for bedroom door, and you also have to buzz in at front door where a security guard is. Stayed there for a week and am returning to stay for Olympics. Staff helpful, friendly and approachable. Only down side is the huge inclined hill you have to walk up to get to it! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks a lot for the visit and review! Come on, it is only 30 meters, and from the new entrance, soon to be ready, only 20 meters! ;) Amazing Olympic Games, if you want to experience something similar come back for NYE or Carnival! :) Cheers! CabanaCopa staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.