X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1305 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The Hostel is within walking distance to Copacabana beach. The beds were very uncomfortable and only two showers for 10 people. Apart from that, it was fine. Cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location, clean rooms, big lockers that fit our 48L backpacks, nice atmosphere in the lobby with music playing and friendly staff. Good breakfast! Recommended !!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness, atmosphere and staff. Sounds like you had a good stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

74%

Very cool hostel. Bathrooms are cleaned twice a day. Wifi works all right, sometimes it crashed during the evening. They shut down the power during the day to save energy, so you can't charge your phone in that time (only in the rooms though). For some reason the cleaning lady starts cleaning the dorms at 9.30 which is really annoying if you have to pack your stuff for checkout at 11, because you'll be in the way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel. We try to make the cleaning as swift and efficient as possible, but if it disturbs you in your ability to pack for checkout please let us know and we will move the cleaning of your room for earlier or later. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

I stayed there twice, both times in a 4 bed dorm. You should pay a little more to get one of the superior rooms, it's totally worth it! I liked the room much more, since it came with an own bathroom and wasn't way down in the basement. In general a good place to stay in Rio, especially because of its location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and that you had a good stay. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

43%

This is the worst hostel we have all ever stayed in. When we checked in we paid a key deposit of R$10 per person, when we checked out they tried to give us back R$10 in total. "Deluxe" means ac. The ac only turns on at 8pm and off again in the morning. One night the ac leaked on my bed and suitcase, so we moved room the next day

Owner Comment (Hide)
We assure you, we did not "try" to only give you 10 reais back, that was a mistake and in the end you got the right amount of money back. The dorms are spacious with individual lighting, curtains, lockers etc. Which is above regular hostel standards. The aircon is turned off after checkout time 11am and then turned on again in the evenings. This is because the rooms are normally empty during these hours. In special cases we can turn them on if requested. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

71%

Staff were not that friendly over the carnival period, it felt a lot as though the hostel was trying to get money out of you. Luckily had a great room of people but in general the atmosphere wasn~t built by the hostelto get everyone together to go outetc. The staff did have great knowledge about carnival though. cleaned often and in a safe area close to metro supermarkets etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness and location. We're sorry about our staff, during busy times they get more stressed and don't have time to help and socialize as much. Safe travels! Best regards, CabanaCopa

86%

I enjoyed the stay immensely, great atmosphere with the other guests and staff. I'd just like a slightly better breakfast and consistent Wifi to top off the whole experience.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our atmosphere and staff. We are working on improving the breakfast and will look into the wifi issue. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

On the plus side this hostel is in a very good location and the security is excellent too. But location aside this is not a great place to stay. The atmosphere is lacking, not enough common space and wi-fi is horrendous. But most of all it's the Staff that let this place down. They are appalling, rude and lazy. They can't be bothered answering basic questions and I found them to be extremely unhelpful. It's an effort to tell you what bus and train to take. Very frustrating dealing with them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review! We are glad to hear you like our location and security. We do actually offer plenty of common space at our hostel and have very few complaints about our wifi. It is carnival times and our staff is very busy, of course this is not an excuse for being rude towards guests but during busy times they get more stressed and don't have time to help and socialize as much. Best regards and safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

69%

Positive: big lockers in room - good location - okay breakfast - good A/C Negative: Staff unfriendly (saw the bossy old lady who owns the place screaming so loud to a guest that the guest checked out and left) - wifi never working - when you wake up at night when its nught you see all the glowing worms/insects that are moving inside of your matress and blanket. Disgusting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The owner was upset with a guests for breaking the rules of the hostel and had her reasons for being mad. We are sorry about the mattress, we are next to a rain forest park which has a lot of nature and wildlife. We fumigate the hostel regularly to avoid this. In these rare cases, please inform the reception and we will respond with the necessary action. We have sent you an email offering you some advantages on your next stay to hopefully make up for what happened. Best regards and safe travels!

89%

Breakfast was really good, staff was nice and helpful, close to the beach (looks far on the map, but it's only a short walk), rooms were good, excellent security, great backpacker vibe!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our breakfast, staff, location and vibe. Sounds like you had a good stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

71%

The are so many rules

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you think we have too many rules, but with years of experience, we know they are needed. Not only for the best of the hostel but also for the best of our guests. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

74%

Some of the sheets were a bit dirty.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear that, your should have returned them to us and asked for new ones and we would have been happy to replace them for you. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

31%

Internet did not work after 11pm. There are no desk staff available after 11pm (only security staff that do not speak english and do not have any ability to do anything other than guard the door) so you could not even ask about this. I find that there could be potential for a very big crisis to occur if a problem happens after 11pm because there is no staff on hand to resolve this. They claimed that there was a computer available but both computers were broken.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Positive points: good location - nice building - clean - good events organized Negative points: cameras in every corners like in big brother - wifi password not welcoming "checkout11am" - bar closes at 10H30pm sharp, too early - wifi is not working everyday between 10 and 11 am and pm (not convenient at all) - websites to book hostels and hotels are blocked all the time!? (upsetting if you need to book a hostel in another city).

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness and the events we organize. The cameras are there for your safety, in case anything would happen or someone would get robbed. Trust us, they are not there for any type of amusement like in big brother. We do need to take to these extra reminders because guests simply forget, or sometimes ignore the check out time. Best regards and safe travels! CabanaCopa

77%

Only one staff member was friendly and helpful. (Girl from columbia) Wifi is turned off between 10-11 both am and pm. If further booking is required they say there is no room and make you pay for more expensive rooms. When in fact there is plenty of room. They shut everything down at 11 and don't allow alcohol on site. Feel unwanted past 11 Other than that, perfect location and the people staying there were great. Air con was awesome and hostel is clean.


60%

Great location, but poor staff. I'm usually someone who likes to cook, but since the kitchen was filthy with ants climbing up the walls, it was quite impossible. Rooms weren't clean at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We fumigate the hostel as needed, and try to instruct people to use common sense and not leave food out, which is what the ants live on. We clean the house top to toe twice a day, and make sure nothing in the hostel is "filthy". We do our best but also need guests cooperation in keeping everything neat. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86%

Great staff. Location isn't bad at all. Rooms are clean also contains good security.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location, cleanliness and security. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

The Good: - Great cleaning staff - Fun party atomostphere The Bad: - Horrible reception staff. Never appear to be working hard, always bored, lazy, rude, and would rather promote their partnerships with other organizations than consider what's best for you. This applies to everyone except Evelyn. She's extremely nice and works hard at being helpful. - Breakfast is disgusting. I'll usually eat anything but this was going too far. I could make a better meal with a sock and two pop tarts.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you like our cleaning staff and atmosphere. During high season the reception staff gets really busy and don't have time to socialize as much. But appearing lazy or rude is of course not acceptable and we will look into this. The breakfast is a buffet offering more things than your typical hostel breakfast. Perhaps you came in a later hour when a lot of things were running out. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Absolutely superb hostel which made my experience in Rio special. Friendly staff, perfect location and a very lively atmosphere. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and atmosphere. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

94%

The key didn't work when I arrived in the night then I had to sleep in the sofa cause the security guy couldn't solve the problem, besides this I really love this hostel and totally can come back including New Years if wasn't cheap haha

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to hear you love our hostel and look forward to your return! We're sorry about the key, we have just installed new key cards and our staff is getting used to the changes. We have informed everyone about what to do if the situation repeats itself. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback