X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1158 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

5-10minute walk from Copacabana beach. It is very clean and the WIFI worked well. Has a good happy hour. The staff were awesome and friendly though they were a little new. The tour we went on was excellent.The night guard doesnt speak english which caused some late night arguments that woke us up when drunk guests came home. School next door starts at 8 so is an alarm clock for those with windows facing it. Overall good hostel def recommend.


100%

All I can say is what a great place.


57%

I was pretty disappointed, the single room is like a prison cell and the bathrooms were dirty. Staff and location: good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to hear you like our staff and location. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the single room and cleanliness of the bathrooms. We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but some of the shared ones can get messy depending on guest's use. We are planning on adding one more night cleaning shift, to improve service quality. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86%

The staff were really fun and contributed to the great vibe in the hostel. The bar had a cool atmosphere and from 8:00 onwards everyone sat together chatting and sharing stories. Great location - 5 minutes from Copacabana beach and 3 minutes to the metro station. The rooms are clean and there's never a wait to use the communal bathrooms. The monkeys in the morning were a highlight! I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and vibe of the hostel. We are also happy to hear you like our cleanliness. We hope to see you back here again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

The location of this hostel can't be beat. Right by the Arcoverde Metro station, lots of shops and food stands within walking distance and there was a taxi post nearby. You can walk to Copacabana beach and the staff was incredibly hospitable and knowledgeable of rio and activities it has to offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

This hostel is very well localised! 5 min from the beach ! I recommand it for traveller's who want to party and meet people ! The staff speak english and is really sympathic! The beers are not expensive at the bar ...

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and location, it sounds like you had a good stay here :) Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

80%

Let's summerize: Location - exellent, close to the beach and the metro. Rooms - everege, nice but ordinary. Wifi - poor, lots of problems, not strong and they shut it down from 7 to 8. Showers - exellent, hot water and fcilitate. Atmosphere - nice but not crazy.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, showers and atmosphere. We're sorry the Wifi wasn't working well during your stay, we will look into making the connection stronger. Shutting it down from 7 to 8 is something we do to encourage the guests to interact more. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77%

I made a reservation for 3 people in a 4 bed room and then they gave us beds in a 6 bed dorm, anyway we had to pay the same price


63%

I had to change my booking after having paid over $120AUD per night. I know it was during the world cup and there was a no cancellations policy but I did bring a friend along to stay which was extra revenue for the hostel and they were not able to accommodate any refund even when I suggested taking out a cancellation fee. There was also a policy of booking at least 4 nights when I booked which was then not applicable to others who i was staying with. Not great


97%

Great Hostel, Friendly staff. Would definatly reccomend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and hostel. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

46%

I tried to canceled a couple of nights and they didn't return the 50% policy promised. They say they are going to clean baths twice a day and they do not do it, by the evening baths are a pigsty I did the reservation 6 month in advance and they charged 100% fee + 15% hostelword.com ask for. Now I need to ask for a refund to hostelworld.com 15% becuase hostel manager didn't know anything. Ventilation in rooms is really poor. Ventilator and lights don't work properly. Worst experience ever.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at this hostel during the World cup group stages. The staff was professional and friendly and the restrooms were clean. One of the things that i particularly liked was the happy hour in the evenings when you could get 1 for 1 caipirinha. Its location is also amazing given that it is a 5 min walk from the beach and few mins walk from many restaurants and cafes.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and the cleanliness of our restrooms. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

The staff were amazing!!! They took care of us, partied with us, shared all their knowledge of the city with us, and even kept in touch! This was by far the most happening hostel I stayed at, with a great location right near the beach. While always a ton of fun, they also maintained a high level of cleanliness and integrity which was greatly appreciated. There's now way you can't have an incredible time and not meet a memorable group of friends here- I look forward to my next visit!


91%

Amazing Hostel, friendly staff and great atmosphere!

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and atmosphere. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

stayed here during World Cup. Over priced charging hotel prices for dorm. Word of advice the only good activity on offer is the favela funk party. All the rest are sh!t clubs regardless of what Lucy the little blonde girl tells ya. Just go party in lapa!!!


100%

Genuinely the best hostel I have EVER stayed in. Staff were unbelievable. Always getting you involved in trips and the local things going on. Pleasantly surprised with the included breakfast every day that wasn't advertised too. Will definitely look this place up if ever in Rio again. Thanks for everything guys!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are very happy to hear ours is the best hostel you have stayed at! We are also glad to hear you like our staff and breakfast. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

I loved CabanaCopa! It was my first time in a hostel and it was beyond what I could have imagined. It was clean, staff was friendly, and I met cool people. I love how the would have happy hour and they would turn off the wifi so people could like you know....talk! Lol. I would definitely go back. ENYA was super nice as was Carlos. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant first experience in a hostel staying with us. We are also happy to hear you like our cleanliness and staff. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Thought the hostel was great. Great location, great people. Best hostel I've stayed in so far

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and people. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

49%

Felt dirtier going in the toilet than going out. Charged me for 2 nights but I canceled 24 hours in advance. No where in there email did it say 48 hour cancelation. Very loud at all hours.


94%

Stayed here for about 6 nights and had a very pleasant and enjoyable time. The atmosphere was always really good. If you're travelling alone it is easy to meet people. The staff were great andthey always came out on any nights out. Lucy and Enya were great as were the other guys.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time staying with us and that you like our atmosphere and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback