Hostelworld.com

CabanaCopa Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1765 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1765 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jamylee
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jan 2017
4.9

We stayed here in a private room for 3 nights. The staff were quite rude and unhelpful. The bedroom had a very moldy shower curtain and no mirror, if the rooms aren't cleaned or towels changed after 3 nights at least put hooks in the room so we can hang the towels to dry ..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jan 2017
6.3

Good location for Copacabana beach, although the downstairs communal area could be better. Found not many of the guests spoke english and there wasn't much to do in the surrounding area later at night - although near a metro! Had a much better experience at other hostels during my stay. Could not fault the staff though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice hostel with a lot of travellers! Quite close to the beach. Breakfast not that good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • vix19871183
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
5.4

A badly run hostel; 1) Internet didn't reach the rooms 2) they say that the air con is on from 8 till 10 yet we had to continually go down to reception to ask them to switch it on. Supposedly only one person, being the security guard, has the 'code' to switch it on and one particular night he wasn't there until 11.30pm 3) you can't extend ur stay. You have to go online to make a new reservation, check out in the morning, wait till 2, check in again, even if same room, 4) staff are rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
4.6

No soap in the bathrooms, no toilet paper for a while. Manager Marcell is incredibly rude and did not assist with addressing an overcharge. Noisy at night way into the morning.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for your visit and review. We did not overcharge you, we explained to you the balance paid is the same of your booking balance due. The hostel has a lively atmosphere and during the summer in Rio guests go out most nights. Next time we recommend you get one of our private rooms for more silence during the night. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.0

Been there for almost 10 days. - washing machine "under maintenance" (couldnt wash my clothes) - computer "under maintenance" (couldnt book another hostel for my trip) - you have to ask if you want to cook! - THEY SWITCH OFF THE AIR CON DURING THE DATE. Can you imagine? 40° and no AC.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for your visit and review. We are sorry but during Christmas and NYE the new washing machine took some time to be delivered. During such busy period we just have a list to sign up for cooking to help backpackers organize themselves better. On our private rooms we can turn on the A/C during the day, but the dormitories not always otherwise they will be on 24hours and break as guests come and go in different times, but we do turn it on as much as possible. We do have big windows and ceiling fan in most rooms and A/C in our lounge and a big rooftop and balconies. Most of the year the hostel is very cool. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
2.0

Overpriced hostel, security couldn't speak English and were very rude when I arrived late in the morning. Also tried to kick everyone out of the common room at 11:00pm. Staff were not helpful, when asked about a few tours they said they would get back to me and never did. Screwed up my booking and split my friend and I up when we were meant to be in the same room. Wouldn't turn on our ac and kept making up excuses, do not recommend this hostel at all

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for your visit and review. We are located in a nice, cozy, residential area in a 24hours secure street next to a national park, so we must close our bar, balconies and patios after 11, but we have other common area where guest can hang out. Besides, we are located in the heart of Copacabana, walking distance from several bars and clubs. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.7

The Hostel is located in a very safe place, close to Copacabana beach. I was there during new year so there was a lot of people around. The tours offered at the hostel are a little expensive, so if your are looking for tours you might want to check other options.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.9

Reception staff are so incompetant. We were awaiting an important Fedex delivery and informed them that it would need to be signed for and they said this was fine.However after checking with Fedex when it hadn't arrived, they informed us that the hostel said we weren't staying there and turned the delivery away! They said they couldn't find our name on the 'list' of guests, but they had no problem taking copies of our passports and all our details when checking in! Wifi was awful too.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for your visit and review. We are sorry about your fedex, but you had advised us there was some important mail coming, we weren't aware it was a fedex to be signed for. Also when we checked your name in the system, you had your other surname registered what created this confusion. We are upgrading our Wi-Fi connection to 240Mbs with more routers, 120Mbs per building. It is more than 1Mbs per guest. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.9

I stayed there over NY so I paid almost a triple price, over 211 reals for a dorm. While I was staying there, the kitchen was closed for 3 days so we could not cook or use the microwave. The A/C is only turned on between 8pm and 10am and the fan in my room did not work, so it was not possible to stay there. They did not have soap in the bathroom wash with after using the bathroom, and nothing to dry your hands with either. No hangers in the showers so you had to put your clothes on the floor,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for your visit and review. Everywhere in Rio the raise their prices during NYE. During a couple of days we had to close the kitchen to cook the Christmas free brunch with turkey, and the NYE dinner. We can turn on the A/C anytime for private rooms but dormitories must be regulated so that the A/C equipment doesn't break, but we can make exceptions in hot days, just ask reception. Dormitories ensuite do not have toiletries, just in all common bathrooms, but we will take all your suggestions and upgrade the hostel asap. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.