X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1172 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice hostel and good if you want to party. However it would be nice if you could get some sleep as well! The staff were excellent though and provide some great activities. We went to the Maracana to watch a football game. Everything was provided for the very reasonable sum off $R100. Good location also. A short walk from Copacabana and the Rio subway.


80%

My sister and I enjoyed this hostel, fantastic location and it has a great atmosphere and friendly staff but it is a bit of a party hostel and there isn't a curfew so don't come here for tranquility.


57%

I liked some parts of this hostel - it had a nice bar & atmosphere, and they put some activities on. Some things let it down though - e.g. couldn't pay on card for 2 nights on arrival, (despite what the info says - it has to be over a certain amount - i.e. 3 nights), the staff made me go get cash out. The beds weren't very clean, and smelled unpleasant. And one night the water stopped working in the whole hostel, so couldn't wash/shower/cook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our atmosphere and the activities we offer. We accept credit cards, as the website says, but we do have a minimum of 150 reais. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cleanliness of our beds, we will let the cleaning staff know about this. The water wasn't out in the entire hostel, we're sorry if you weren't informed about the other sources of running and hot water. Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

80%

Well run large hostel. Comfy beds, helpful staff, good location and cute monkey's in the mornings. Improvements I would suggest: the mattress protectors are noisy, plastic, bit like sleeping in a 3 year olds bed, a lot of effort went into the breakfast however too many starchy carbohydrates e.g. bread, cereal, pasta, rolls more fruit would have been nice, also when full at weekend extra cleaning of toilets in evening would be of benefit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our beds, staff, location and our little jungle friends. Thank you for your suggestions of improvements, we will look into that. We do offer fresh fruits during breakfast, but if you come late it might not be as much left. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

97%

5-10minute walk from Copacabana beach. It is very clean and the WIFI worked well. Has a good happy hour. The staff were awesome and friendly though they were a little new. The tour we went on was excellent.The night guard doesnt speak english which caused some late night arguments that woke us up when drunk guests came home. School next door starts at 8 so is an alarm clock for those with windows facing it. Overall good hostel def recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, staff and the tours we offer. Sorry about arguments due to our night guards english, that shouldn't be necessary although miscommunication with drunk people can be a hassle. The classes are only during low season mon-friday and never on weekends. If you keep the windows closed it is not as noticeable in most rooms. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

60%

Wifi never worked, showers were always cold, there was a rat out the front of my room, some staff members were unfriendly and unhelpful but there was a few who were shining stars ! Cleaning staff were amazing! Location is great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
There was some stormy days during your stay and one day the wifi shut down from one of our providers, but the other provider still worked, we're sorry if you weren't informed about this. We have different hot water suppliers in the hostel, sometimes one of them runs out and you have to shower in a different bathroom. We are sorry about the rat, sometimes we have different guests from the jungle, some more welcome than others. The rat has now been taken care of and the house has been fumigated.

100%

All I can say is what a great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you like our hostel! We hope to see you again. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

57%

I was pretty disappointed, the single room is like a prison cell and the bathrooms were dirty. Staff and location: good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to hear you like our staff and location. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the single room and cleanliness of the bathrooms. We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but some of the shared ones can get messy depending on guest's use. We are planning on adding one more night cleaning shift, to improve service quality. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

Stayed in a room in the basement to the side of the hostel. No warm/hot shower for two days. Door handle broke and I was locked in the room for over an hour. No wifi or phone reception to call out from the room. Also a huge rat found in the room. No apologies from staff or solutions provided by the staff. Also pretty cold at nights but only provided with one sheet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have different hot water suppliers in the hostel, sometimes one of them runs out and you have to shower in a different bathroom. We are sorry about the door handle, it has now been fixed and we apologize for the inconvenience. Sometimes we have different guests from the jungle, some more welcome than others. The rat has now been taken care of and the house has been fumigated. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86%

The staff were really fun and contributed to the great vibe in the hostel. The bar had a cool atmosphere and from 8:00 onwards everyone sat together chatting and sharing stories. Great location - 5 minutes from Copacabana beach and 3 minutes to the metro station. The rooms are clean and there's never a wait to use the communal bathrooms. The monkeys in the morning were a highlight! I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and vibe of the hostel. We are also happy to hear you like our cleanliness. We hope to see you back here again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

The location of this hostel can't be beat. Right by the Arcoverde Metro station, lots of shops and food stands within walking distance and there was a taxi post nearby. You can walk to Copacabana beach and the staff was incredibly hospitable and knowledgeable of rio and activities it has to offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

This hostel is very well localised! 5 min from the beach ! I recommand it for traveller's who want to party and meet people ! The staff speak english and is really sympathic! The beers are not expensive at the bar ...

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and location, it sounds like you had a good stay here :) Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

80%

Let's summerize: Location - exellent, close to the beach and the metro. Rooms - everege, nice but ordinary. Wifi - poor, lots of problems, not strong and they shut it down from 7 to 8. Showers - exellent, hot water and fcilitate. Atmosphere - nice but not crazy.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, showers and atmosphere. We're sorry the Wifi wasn't working well during your stay, we will look into making the connection stronger. Shutting it down from 7 to 8 is something we do to encourage the guests to interact more. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77%

I made a reservation for 3 people in a 4 bed room and then they gave us beds in a 6 bed dorm, anyway we had to pay the same price

Owner Comment (Hide)
The only way we could put you guys in the same room was to put you in the 6 bed dorm. You didn't book a 4 bed room, you booked 3 dormitory beds. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

63%

I had to change my booking after having paid over $120AUD per night. I know it was during the world cup and there was a no cancellations policy but I did bring a friend along to stay which was extra revenue for the hostel and they were not able to accommodate any refund even when I suggested taking out a cancellation fee. There was also a policy of booking at least 4 nights when I booked which was then not applicable to others who i was staying with. Not great

Owner Comment (Hide)
During the world cup the cancellation policy was different, even if you bring friends along a policy is still a policy. If you booked in last minute, beds could be booked for less than the minimum stay, but there was no guarantee for whoever booker them. Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

97%

Great Hostel, Friendly staff. Would definatly reccomend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and hostel. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

46%

I tried to canceled a couple of nights and they didn't return the 50% policy promised. They say they are going to clean baths twice a day and they do not do it, by the evening baths are a pigsty I did the reservation 6 month in advance and they charged 100% fee + 15% hostelword.com ask for. Now I need to ask for a refund to hostelworld.com 15% becuase hostel manager didn't know anything. Ventilation in rooms is really poor. Ventilator and lights don't work properly. Worst experience ever.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Regarding the 15%, during the World Cup taxes were not included in the booking, as well as we had a different cancellation policy (0% refund) which was written on the website and hostelworld. The ventilation is not poor, all dormitories have windows, ceiling fans and aircon. The lights have been taken care of. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

I stayed at this hostel during the World cup group stages. The staff was professional and friendly and the restrooms were clean. One of the things that i particularly liked was the happy hour in the evenings when you could get 1 for 1 caipirinha. Its location is also amazing given that it is a 5 min walk from the beach and few mins walk from many restaurants and cafes.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and the cleanliness of our restrooms. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

The staff were amazing!!! They took care of us, partied with us, shared all their knowledge of the city with us, and even kept in touch! This was by far the most happening hostel I stayed at, with a great location right near the beach. While always a ton of fun, they also maintained a high level of cleanliness and integrity which was greatly appreciated. There's now way you can't have an incredible time and not meet a memorable group of friends here- I look forward to my next visit!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff, atmosphere, location and cleanliness. It sounds like you had a good stay! We look forward to having you back. Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

91%

Amazing Hostel, friendly staff and great atmosphere!

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and atmosphere. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback