Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

CabanaCopa Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
5.7

A few afternoon staff members made it clear that they could not be bothered assisting us with basic queries, laundry very expensive at 50 real just to use the washing machine. Location was great but got very loud late at night with staff dragging metal chairs and tables on tiles around in the main area downstairs. Security staff talking loudly outside of rooms also made for no nights of solid sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
5.7

Over-rated by Lonely Planet, this hostel is average at best. It's at the swanky hotel end of Copacabana, so the street atmosphere is lacking. Floors weren't clean. Staff aren't knowledgeable enough about public transport (important in Rio) or even where a post office is, WiFi only works in common areas, which are dull. There's a sensible night noise policy which isn't enforced (loud people at 3am both nights), and breakfast is not included (extra 15R).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
6.9

No1 really told me where anything was when I checked in, e.i the kitchen facilities. I also had to move room due to another person in my dorm taking some of my clothes, which the staff didn't even seem concerned about. And in both rooms I stayed in the aircon didn't work although they kept assuring me it would but did nothing about. Overall it was allright in terms of location and breakfast but I have stayed in better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
8.6

The hostel was very strict and unflexible with its rules. The place is kept very clean. We came back to the hostel on 3 different occasions while in Rio. The newer building is better than the other side. The staff try to help, Bruno at the front desk is the man. Always helps you out with a smile on his face. The pricing is a bit complicated it seems. The newer staff couldn't figure out how much our room cost exactly, and on check out we were suprized with an extra small amount to pay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review. We can have over 150 people a day in the hostel, to keep control we need to have some rules and in most cases are followed. You were charged exactly the balance of your booking, but your extension was only charged during check out. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
10.0

3 of us had a great time at CabanaCopa. The 4 bed dorm had really comfy beds and the location is incredible. The bar does great caiprinhas and they're super cheap. Best of all though, the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. Bruno, in particular, was always ready with recommendations on where to go out at night, what special local drinks to look out for (ask him about jumbu cachaca!) and he also was an amazing help in managing to find and return my lost phone. Thanks Bruno!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review, we also had a great time with your stay. We hope to see you back anytime soon. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.0

No hand soap which is disgusting, asked for it but was refused as the owner apparently doesn't agree that we need it/ that it's a necessity. Great location and friendly staff at reception, glad the owner is not in everyday as she seems stern and heard some stories that she is very rude and strict.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review. Our soap has arrived for private rooms, we were switching to soap bars instead of the dressing room liquid soap. We have 3 owners with different profiles and when you have almost 200 people between guests and staff everyday, some strictness is needed. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Had a great stay at his hotel during the carnaval in rio. Very friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere with a lot going on. The hostel arranged parties every night which was lots of fun. Felt very secure since there was a guard outside the hostel to let you in each time you've been out and there were also security lockers in the rooms which fit big backpacks. Good breakfast with both hot and cold options. Would highly recommend this hostel!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hejdå! Tack så mycket! We are happy you had a good time, so did we, it was an amazing carnival! Hope to see you back anytime soon! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.