Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

CabanaCopa Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1790 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1790 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Mar 2017
6.9

No1 really told me where anything was when I checked in, e.i the kitchen facilities. I also had to move room due to another person in my dorm taking some of my clothes, which the staff didn't even seem concerned about. And in both rooms I stayed in the aircon didn't work although they kept assuring me it would but did nothing about. Overall it was allright in terms of location and breakfast but I have stayed in better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
8.6

The hostel was very strict and unflexible with its rules. The place is kept very clean. We came back to the hostel on 3 different occasions while in Rio. The newer building is better than the other side. The staff try to help, Bruno at the front desk is the man. Always helps you out with a smile on his face. The pricing is a bit complicated it seems. The newer staff couldn't figure out how much our room cost exactly, and on check out we were suprized with an extra small amount to pay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review. We can have over 150 people a day in the hostel, to keep control we need to have some rules and in most cases are followed. You were charged exactly the balance of your booking, but your extension was only charged during check out. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
10.0

3 of us had a great time at CabanaCopa. The 4 bed dorm had really comfy beds and the location is incredible. The bar does great caiprinhas and they're super cheap. Best of all though, the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. Bruno, in particular, was always ready with recommendations on where to go out at night, what special local drinks to look out for (ask him about jumbu cachaca!) and he also was an amazing help in managing to find and return my lost phone. Thanks Bruno!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review, we also had a great time with your stay. We hope to see you back anytime soon. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.0

No hand soap which is disgusting, asked for it but was refused as the owner apparently doesn't agree that we need it/ that it's a necessity. Great location and friendly staff at reception, glad the owner is not in everyday as she seems stern and heard some stories that she is very rude and strict.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review. Our soap has arrived for private rooms, we were switching to soap bars instead of the dressing room liquid soap. We have 3 owners with different profiles and when you have almost 200 people between guests and staff everyday, some strictness is needed. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Had a great stay at his hotel during the carnaval in rio. Very friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere with a lot going on. The hostel arranged parties every night which was lots of fun. Felt very secure since there was a guard outside the hostel to let you in each time you've been out and there were also security lockers in the rooms which fit big backpacks. Good breakfast with both hot and cold options. Would highly recommend this hostel!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hejdå! Tack så mycket! We are happy you had a good time, so did we, it was an amazing carnival! Hope to see you back anytime soon! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

12th Feb 2017
8.9

GREAT STAFF VERY HELPFUL, CLEAN WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks we are glad to help and work a lot to make it impeccable. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Hostel was lovely and in a great location, only a few minutes walk to beach, one minute to metro and buses.. hostel was a lovely building with a great feel just very quiet. If you are looking for a party it's probably not the place to go. Breakfast also was always out of food and staff didn't bother to fill things up so if you want to eat get there early! Other than that couldn't complain, staff were friendly and happy to help out, plenty of places to chill out and walk around

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review! We have a warm up before every night's event, and our breakfast is included, but peak moments can happen as everyone wakes up in the last 5 minutes. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

  • jamylee
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jan 2017
4.9

We stayed here in a private room for 3 nights. The staff were quite rude and unhelpful. The bedroom had a very moldy shower curtain and no mirror, if the rooms aren't cleaned or towels changed after 3 nights at least put hooks in the room so we can hang the towels to dry ..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jan 2017
6.3

Good location for Copacabana beach, although the downstairs communal area could be better. Found not many of the guests spoke english and there wasn't much to do in the surrounding area later at night - although near a metro! Had a much better experience at other hostels during my stay. Could not fault the staff though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice hostel with a lot of travellers! Quite close to the beach. Breakfast not that good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.