Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

CabanaCopa Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.2
CabanaCopa Hostel Located at Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro.
CabanaCopa Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22011-100 Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana
80% 1695
-22.9628980 -43.1806468
CabanaCopa Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
2.6

worst hosteling experience. When we arrived there was no one around to check us in, and the security guard didn't speak english. He told us that there was no room for us and we couldn't stay there. We had to spend 2 hours at midnight calling a translator. When we finally figured it out they were short a bed so two of us had to share a bed. When we asked for a refund for that bed, the manager refused and wouldn't even come in to speak to us or apologize. Also, no soap in the bathroom. stay away!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
6.0

I found the vibe to be very Western. I didn't personally go to Brazil to pretend I was still in the U.S. Further, I stayed in 4 different hostels in Brazil and this was the only one where I had problems with the security. They wouldn't let our friend, not staying in the hostel, to wait in the common space while we grabbed things from our rooms. Further, after being told we could bring alcohol in, but not drink, we were confronted for carrying bottles in our bag.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
6.6

About the reception: when there are many people, the check in is a mess. A lot of people waiting without information. At the check out, the reception was closed at 6:40 am, so there was nobody to give the money of the door card back. We gave the card to the security staff and got no money back. Also we needed to take the sheets of and deliver, and nobody told us. About the bathroom: the floor was always wet and dirty, with hair all over the floor and shower. Only one cabin had toilet paper.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Nov 2016
7.4

The hostel is very big, which means a lot of people all the time, but the atmosphere is kinda unpersonal... They close the bar early, and shut everything down early as well, and the kitchen is too small for so many people. Good things are the Security, the staff clean the rooms everyday and the toilets 2 times a day, and the location is near the Cobacabana Beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Nov 2016
7.7

Great location near the subway, the beach and some great restaurants. The staff were very friendly but the place was lacking atmosphere and the rooms were average at best to be completely honest. The space for breakfast is way too small to accommodate all the people staying there so it can even be a crazy fight for food in the mornings because of it! Overall a B- experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Oct 2016
9.4

Probably one of the safest, cleanest and comfortable hostels! Bathrooms cleaned x2 daily, rooms cleaned and beds made! lockers in dorms, card entry system to rooms and security managed external exits! Breakfast is good and filling with a selection of rolls, bread, hot dog sausages, ham, omelette, crackers, biscuits and fruit. Hostel close to airport bus drop off point and metro station, easy to get gov mini bus to Christ the redeemer and a metro to visit the famous tiled steps - recommend!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent place to stay with friendly staff who were akways ready to give assistance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Oct 2016
9.1

Good location a few blocks from the beach. The dorm rooms are nice and are cleaned daily. Aircon and fan in the rooms with bathrooms very close. This hostel organises a few tours (a good tour that visits christ the redemer, sugar loaf, lapa steps and san sebastian cathedral), breakfast is included but is basic. I felt safe in this area and walked around at night by myself. Doesn't do dinner or anything so you venture out at night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
8.3

I stayed there to two days. The rooms were clean. Good atmosphere here. The staff was nice. Good location. Right by the Copacabana beach. You can walk stafe from the beach and the metro station to the hostel. Its a ATM nearby and a grosserystore. I felt absolutly safe there. I would recommend it. From a norwegian girl traveling alone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Oct 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel! Private double room was all brand new and very clean, v. comfortable bed. Breakfast was great! Fresh fruit everyday, with toast, bread, ham, cheese, jams, cakes and other baked dishes. Staff really friendly, and we did some fantastic activities all organised through them. Only down side was the price for clothes washing was extortionate! But seemed to be similar in other places in Brazil. Brilliant hostel would definitely come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.