X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1302 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Very unhelpful providing poor service, my sheets were stolen on the first night and then no staff member was willing to replace them so the nights were uncorfortable and cold and then at checkout they tried to charge extra for missing sheets even after I had told them before they had been taken.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We rarely experience something like this, but the standard procedure would be to verify the situation with your room mates and of course give you another set of sheets. We're sorry one of your fellow guests made your stay less comfortable and we will make sure next time that we take better care of the situation. Safe travels! Cabanacopa staff

69%

They are really unorganized in this hostel. They changed our bed about 3 times, we would go out for the day and when we came back someone was with our bed. Even after they put name tags they still lost tracks of which bed belongs to which one (because happens more than one day). The AC stop working and the room was really hot, specially in the corner on the top bed. Good breakfast and location!


43%

This hostel is double the price of other hostels but is really filthy and the rooms are very dark and cramped. There is not a great atmosphere and the staff could be a lot friendlier. It's not a hostel id recommend, if others are available you will get more for your money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our prices change in regards to demand and season. So obviously we charge more during busy times and holidays. We also have a good location witch enables us to charge a bit more. We are sorry you didn't like the atmosphere, but it does really depend on the time you stay here and who are your fellow guests. We're sorry about the staff, during busy times they don't have as much time to socialize with the guests. The hostel is cleaned from top to bottom twice a day. Best regards, CabanaCopa

69%

Not worth the money , way too expensive for the same facilities that other hostels charge half the price.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our prices change in regards to demand and season. So obviously we charge more during busy times and holidays. We also have a good location witch enables us to charge a bit more. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

80%

The guy in the morning who works with the big pretty eyes and good hair is the nicest guy he speaks Spanish very well too!! He was the niceest one in my eyes !! The hostel was fun and a ton of cool people !! I would stay again

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and had a good stay. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa

97%

Very nice people, good staff, always helping. Thanks a lot! Marius from Canada

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and found them helpful. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa

69%

Staff aren't really helpful or friendly but its a great place to meet people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're sorry for the staff, during busy times they don't have as much time to help and socialize with each guest. Safe travels! Best regards, CabanaCopa

91%

Awesome party atmosphere for the weekend, met some cool people here and staff were the most helpful we've come across, helped us book Kings of Leon/Paramore tickets and had helpful advice about the area. Cool park next door with little monkeys to see (be careful they dont steal your stuff!) Copacabana v close along with bus stop and metro. Recommended to stay here! however, there is a kindergarten next door so during the week maybe not so much as it's noisy. Also reception plays music from 8am

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're glad to hear you like our staff, atmosphere and location. You may request another room if the noise from the school is bothering you. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

83%

Good Value for money, but the breakfast was just average and made my stomach feel sick...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! We're sorry to hear you didn't like our breakfast, we are looking into improving the quality of it as we speak. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

I've travelled all over the world and never had a problem with a hostel but have never been at a hostel as unhelpful as this. The staff couldn't care less about you unless you are booking their ridiculously overpriced tours (R$140 for a ticket to maracana when they are R$30 on the door). They told us wrong buses, timings and locations. It's very overpriced and the dorms are very cramped. I think they are living off their reputation and I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you find the tours overpriced. We provide them for convenience and want to make it more comfortable coming and leaving the stadium. The price is set by the tour company, we just sell them. We are sorry about the staff, we had some new ones during your stay and they didn't know all the buses and times etc. We are constantly working on improving and we are happy to hear your input. We have built our reputation after many years in the market, and there is a reason it is a good one.

63%

Breakfast was average in my opinion. I have learnt to bring somethings like cereal to places in future to make it fulfilling. Got to look after yourself. Quite social in a party sense in the evenings. Staff were okay. Location is near the metro and a 7 or 8 min walk from the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Due to some complains we will look into improving the breakfast. We are glad to hear you liked our location and found the staff alright. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

69%

Location is great, and it's a good place to meet other travellers and the dormrooms were clean. However, the breakfast could have been much better, the staff could have been a little more helpful, and the tours that are offered through the hostel could have been much cheaper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and cleanliness. We are doing some changes to improve the breakfast. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

The place is definitely good value for the money. Excellent locations, clean as well. Wifi was a bit of an issue every now and then. I will definitely come back and stay there again.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and cleanliness. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

51%

Worst hostel i ve ever stayed. The staff was the worst, not only they never help the confuse our booking, overcharge us and werent friendly at all. For example, the made on of our party move to another room, they didnt respect the booking and they didnt gave us back the deposit for the key. AVOID THIS HOSTEL....

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry about the staff, we had some issues with employees but most of them are replaced now. We must have received a group that needed the room you had booked, we apologize if you didn't find the new one up to the same standards as the previous one. Sorry you didn't get back the deposit money, but you left the hostel before reception hours and our doorman is not qualified to deal with that. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

71%

Not being able to use credit card for 85 real purchase was an annoying. Also showers go cold able like 5mins. Perhaps could lower credit card limit and put signs up in shower saying you only get 5 min of water

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have a minimum of 150 real payment for credit cards, which is a common thing in Brazil. During busy times more people use the showers which makes us run out of hot water but we are working on improving this by adding one more hot water tank. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

86%

I had so much fun at this hostel and met the best people. It's clean, awesome location and the night staff are awesome especially Sebastian and Claudia. However the blonde lady that works in the morning can be a bit rude. If going to a soccer game be aware you can buy tickets at the gate for 30 reals.. 100 cheaper than if you go with the tour.. The blonde lady told us it was sold out so we should go with the tour and when we got there there was a good 20,000 seats free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our cleanliness, location and staff. I'm sure there was some type of misunderstanding about the amount of seats left, we will talk to our staff about this. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Good clean hostel with nice friendly staff that are only too happy to help with whatever need be👍 Also in a great location..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, staff and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

57%

Facilities are good but the atmosphere was really bad ! Some staff members are really unpleasant ! it seems that they are not happy to work there... At least a smile to welcome you would have been appreciated... The bad atmosphere doesn't make you feel good, and it's difficult to appreciate a drink at the bar. Different details confirm this strange atmosphere... for example the wifi code, that remembers you the checkout time...

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you like our facilities. We are sorry you found the staff unpleasant, I have worked here for a long time and I assure you I am not unhappy! We had some staff issues during your stay but have replaced most of the employees we didn't feel fit in here at CabanaCopa. Our main focus is for our guests to have a good stay and enjoy the atmosphere, so sorry you didn't feel that! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

60%

The smell of smoke was everywhere! Despite the fact that there are no-smoking signs posted everywhere, this is not enforced at the hostel and thus you will be at risk for inhaling second-hand smoke. There were some complications that were not resolved during initial payment due to organizational issues. In addition, the breakfast was incredibly random. Some days lacked cheese and ham. The "omlette" tasted very strange. Don't expect natural juices here. The location is very close to the metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do enforce the non smoking policy and have a non tolerance for smoking inside the hostel. If you see this, please notify us and we will make sure the smoker leaves the hostel immediately. We are sorry about the issues with your initial payment, we are not sure exactly what issues you mean or what the organizational issues were so it's hard for us to explain or work out. We are making improvements with the breakfast as we speak. Best regards! CabanaCopa

74%

Everything was really good, except wi-fi didn't work in our room and in the lobby the wi-fi was down from 6pm-9pm, because there were too many people using it at that time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. The internet works fine but during 9-10 pm we shut it down so people will interact more. The public computers still work though. Our wifi works well in the common areas, but not as good in the rooms to make people come out to socialize :) Our privates have good internet though, just some dorms that have a weaker wifi signal and are left like that because some people sharing the room might not like it. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

(45 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback