X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1461 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Location was great., metro station close by and just 10 minutes to Copacabana beach. However, we experienced a lack of flexibility & service. The washing machine was broken and it was obvious that it was not the first day when we arrived and it did not seem that it will be repaired soon. Moreover, the discription how to get to the hostel was not updated, new lines have already been installed half a year ago. The wifi was very bad. And we got the impression that the staff was afraid of the owner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We have a new washing machine now. We will update the directions and improve our wifi. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

100%

Just perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! You are great too! :)

100%

The hostel is excellent, near the beach. Receptionists are the best specially Maria and Evelyn. Good vibe! I will come back for sure

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review and happy that you had a nice stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

74%

This hostel is in a great location right beside the metro and only 3 blocks from copacobana beach. It's really busy so there's always people to meet although not the best atmosphere we came across. Some of the staff at reception can come across a bit rude and condescending too unfortunately. That being said its still a good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are sorry some of our staff was rude, we have changed some of them. We have over 100 beds so big hostel have mixed atmosphere in different groups. We are proud to be a very sociable & diverse hostel. We are glad you enjoyed our location. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

80%

Staff were incredibly kind, knew all the cool spots to check out. All the guests were very friendly and lots of fun. Already planning a return visit!

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Looking forward to see you again soon! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

83%

The Hostel has great location and the security level is high. The hostel personell are so so, some of them very helpful and others not. With construction work next door, and an elementary school as a neighbor (and never ending loud music in the reception) it's pretty noisy, but then again the place is clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. Sorry if some of our staff wasn't as helpful, we try to motivate them constantly and change the ones who don't do a good job. The building next door is almost finished, and only 4 of our 40 rooms are neighbors of the school (that is only open in the low season, not the summer). Also it starts at 10am. We play mostly calm music during the day, and party music only at night. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

66%

the bathroom was always dirty. really good location, the breakfast is ok. the staff was no helpful at all, they only want to sell the tours.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The location was perfect, not in the city center but still close to everything. A great place to stay, if I ever come back to Rio I will definitely stay here again! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

83%

Good hostel in nice part of copacabana. Rooms were small and stuffy but clean, while the bathrooms were small and unclean. Some beds have plastic on the mattress which makes sleeping pretty annoying. One staff member in particular wasnt knowledgeable or helpful (couldnt figure out the bill, transfer to paraty, or dinner reservations). No wifi in the rooms. Nice atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us! We have removed the protection plastic of the new mattresses. Sorry for the new staff, he was being trained. We are improving for better wifi and more spread out in the building. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Really good location, very secure, easy to leave luggage on arrival/departure and breakfast was decent (we're vegetarian so it wasn't as good for us, but still some variety). Liked the layout of our ten-bed dorm. I loved the staff at the beginning! So friendly, welcoming, fun etc. Towards the end I felt like some of the staff were only being friendly to sell us tickets and get commission - realise this is their job so can't complain, but just was a sour end when we went to one awful party

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Sorry if the party wasn't good, but during weekdays it is hard to find something amazing at night time. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

89%

One of the cleanest hostels i've ever been to. Location is good, only 2 min from the metro and about a 10 min walk to beach . 10 bed dorm is spacious and nice common areas as well. Breakfast good, too, but be punctual, they start cleaning up at exactly 10 am. Wasn't very good for meeting ppl though when I was there, so if you're a solo traveller maybe better go somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! We are sorry you stayed with us during the week in the low season, but we are usually a very sociable and diverse hostel! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

91%

I enjoyed my stay here. The staff were wonderful, a good bar and a nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

49%

Very bad atmosphere, did not feel comfortable and staff was very unfriebdly. Expect from the man with the brown curly hair who was the only friendly one and willing to help.

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are sorry for our staff but we have changed them. Hope to see you back sometime to see our improved atmosphere! :) Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

54%

It would be better to have individual socket at each bed. Currently sometimea the air conditioner dis not turn on so it get quite hot during the night and it makes the room moist. Overall it is okay and decent hostel if you just want to stay for couple of days

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us. We turn off the A/C during the day, but you can request it to be turned on at reception. Hope to see you back, as some of our rooms are brand new now. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

94%

First hostel experience. I chose this hostel based on other reviews stating that its a great place to meet people. I spent 2 weeks with them and I've made tons of new friends. The staff is awesome and the location is perfect (except for that hill).

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Good location. Near Arcoverde metro station. Easy walk to Copacabana Beach. Hostel is located next to a school, and the kids playing can be loud pretty early, making it hard to sleep in. The front desk staff spoke English, and were very helpful and would book flights, football matches, tours, and providing directions. Security guard at the front door after dark. Definitely would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! We are sorry but only 4 of our 40 rooms are neighbors of the school. We can move you next time if you are a late sleeper. Also the school is only open during low season months. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

69%

I would say this hostel is a resounding average. Staff were friendly but not overly helpful - they didn't have maps of Rio only the immediate area. Rooms and bathrooms were clean but small. Very loud music played from 8am from the reception area. If all you want to do is sit on the beach during the day and party all night with other English speakers this is the place for you! If you actually want to experience Rio perhaps stay somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us. We are sorry we ran out of Rio maps that day, but we had requested more to the tourism ministry that was late delivering. We have improved to calmer music during the day, and party music only at night time. We try to please everyone by providing fun for the backpackers and good information to the travelers. Monday for example we have the backpacker boat party option and the local Pedra do Sal samba. We think that the traveller should decide what they want. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

89%

The staff are the best and most fun I've ever had at any hostel before. The only downfall of this place is that they don't serve alcohol past 10:30. But they have a couple of great areas to hang out with a tv with at least 50 English movie channels.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! We have to close the bar early because of guests and neighbors, but our new bar in the basement should stay a little later as it is sound proof. We do send guests to a different event every night and we recommend many bars around the hostel! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

97%

best hostel ever:-) and the coolest and most fun stuff ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

100%

the hotel was very nice and so clean, silence at the night, without noice, the staff so much caring and resolving problems or guide the people. I recomended 100% this hostel. Breakfast fresh and variety of fruits, cafe, etc.

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

(866 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback