X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1304 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Some of the sheets were a bit dirty.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear that, your should have returned them to us and asked for new ones and we would have been happy to replace them for you. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

31%

Internet did not work after 11pm. There are no desk staff available after 11pm (only security staff that do not speak english and do not have any ability to do anything other than guard the door) so you could not even ask about this. I find that there could be potential for a very big crisis to occur if a problem happens after 11pm because there is no staff on hand to resolve this. They claimed that there was a computer available but both computers were broken.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Wi-fi com muitos problemas, eles também desligaram o chuveiro e o ar condicionado para economizar dinheiro. Tudo bem que estava no verão, mas quando chegávamos tarde e queríamos tomar banho a agua estava muito fria. Recepção fechava cedo então se você precisar de alguma coisa durante a noite terá problemas (Como tive quando o ar estava muito gelado e precisei de uma coberta) Tirando isto o hostel é bem limpo e bem localizado, além de os funcionários serem muito simpáticos.


80%

Positive points: good location - nice building - clean - good events organized Negative points: cameras in every corners like in big brother - wifi password not welcoming "checkout11am" - bar closes at 10H30pm sharp, too early - wifi is not working everyday between 10 and 11 am and pm (not convenient at all) - websites to book hostels and hotels are blocked all the time!? (upsetting if you need to book a hostel in another city).

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness and the events we organize. The cameras are there for your safety, in case anything would happen or someone would get robbed. Trust us, they are not there for any type of amusement like in big brother. We do need to take to these extra reminders because guests simply forget, or sometimes ignore the check out time. Best regards and safe travels! CabanaCopa

77%

Only one staff member was friendly and helpful. (Girl from columbia) Wifi is turned off between 10-11 both am and pm. If further booking is required they say there is no room and make you pay for more expensive rooms. When in fact there is plenty of room. They shut everything down at 11 and don't allow alcohol on site. Feel unwanted past 11 Other than that, perfect location and the people staying there were great. Air con was awesome and hostel is clean.


60%

Great location, but poor staff. I'm usually someone who likes to cook, but since the kitchen was filthy with ants climbing up the walls, it was quite impossible. Rooms weren't clean at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We fumigate the hostel as needed, and try to instruct people to use common sense and not leave food out, which is what the ants live on. We clean the house top to toe twice a day, and make sure nothing in the hostel is "filthy". We do our best but also need guests cooperation in keeping everything neat. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86%

Great staff. Location isn't bad at all. Rooms are clean also contains good security.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location, cleanliness and security. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

Sehr gute Lage (schnell am Strand und an der Metro), gute Zimmergroesse, freundliches Personal und gute Caipi- Happyhour :)

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The Good: - Great cleaning staff - Fun party atomostphere The Bad: - Horrible reception staff. Never appear to be working hard, always bored, lazy, rude, and would rather promote their partnerships with other organizations than consider what's best for you. This applies to everyone except Evelyn. She's extremely nice and works hard at being helpful. - Breakfast is disgusting. I'll usually eat anything but this was going too far. I could make a better meal with a sock and two pop tarts.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you like our cleaning staff and atmosphere. During high season the reception staff gets really busy and don't have time to socialize as much. But appearing lazy or rude is of course not acceptable and we will look into this. The breakfast is a buffet offering more things than your typical hostel breakfast. Perhaps you came in a later hour when a lot of things were running out. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Absolutely superb hostel which made my experience in Rio special. Friendly staff, perfect location and a very lively atmosphere. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and atmosphere. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86%

Muy buena atención, la ubicación es genial, esta muy cerca del metro y hay un parque en la esquina, la seguridad es buena, ya que esta la policía en la entrada del parque y aunque esta cerca de la entrada de una favelas nunca vimos problemas, la playa de copacabana esta a unos cuantos metros, de vez en cuando se logran apreciar monos por los alrededores.


34%

Os banheiros são extremamente sujos, a ponto de quase não conseguir usá-los. A localização é boa, mas há diversos outros hostels no caminho e há um morro bem alto para chegar (logo, não vá com malas pesadas). Os membros de staff não falam bem português nem inglês (só espanhol) e os quartos são bagunçados e ficam o tempo todo abertos (segurança mínima). O café da manhã é bom, nada especial e com pratos estranhos (parecem sobras de algo). A diária é muito para para o que é oferecido.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola e obrigada por se hospedar conosco. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você gostou da nossa localização. Nosso pessoal limpa todos os quartos diariamente e os banheiros duas vezes ao dia, mas as vezes depois de uma noite de festa os banheiros podem não ser muito respeitados pelos hospedes. È a responsabilidade de os hóspedes de fechar as portas para os quartos. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa staff

94%

The key didn't work when I arrived in the night then I had to sleep in the sofa cause the security guy couldn't solve the problem, besides this I really love this hostel and totally can come back including New Years if wasn't cheap haha

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to hear you love our hostel and look forward to your return! We're sorry about the key, we have just installed new key cards and our staff is getting used to the changes. We have informed everyone about what to do if the situation repeats itself. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

100%

Great location with amazing Staff who will help you to fully understand and get to know the city. Great atmosphere from the moment you walk in. More suitable for a semi-younger crowd. Every night there are other evening activities. I recommend the street party in Lapa on friday, the Favela party on Sunday and the boat party on monday.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and atmosphere. We're also happy you enjoyed the activities we offer. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

51%

Very unhelpful providing poor service, my sheets were stolen on the first night and then no staff member was willing to replace them so the nights were uncorfortable and cold and then at checkout they tried to charge extra for missing sheets even after I had told them before they had been taken.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We rarely experience something like this, but the standard procedure would be to verify the situation with your room mates and of course give you another set of sheets. We're sorry one of your fellow guests made your stay less comfortable and we will make sure next time that we take better care of the situation. Safe travels! Cabanacopa staff

49%

La limpieza es muy pobre, los baños comunes estaban todos inundados. El desayuno era feo, la fruta y manteca dejada en la mesa derretida con el calor al lado de una bandeja de fideos y salchichas. El check out lo tuvimos que hacer temprano a las 7.30 para ir al aeropuerto y no nos dejaron calentar un poco de agua para llevarnos en el termo porque estaban preparando el desayuno, muy poco amables teniendo en cuenta que teníamos el destino incluido de esa mañana.


69%

They are really unorganized in this hostel. They changed our bed about 3 times, we would go out for the day and when we came back someone was with our bed. Even after they put name tags they still lost tracks of which bed belongs to which one (because happens more than one day). The AC stop working and the room was really hot, specially in the corner on the top bed. Good breakfast and location!


80%

Desta vez fiquei num quarto diferente, que apesar de mais caro por ter menos camas era pior que o de 10 camas pois haviam muitos lances de escada para chegar as áreas comuns.


43%

This hostel is double the price of other hostels but is really filthy and the rooms are very dark and cramped. There is not a great atmosphere and the staff could be a lot friendlier. It's not a hostel id recommend, if others are available you will get more for your money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our prices change in regards to demand and season. So obviously we charge more during busy times and holidays. We also have a good location witch enables us to charge a bit more. We are sorry you didn't like the atmosphere, but it does really depend on the time you stay here and who are your fellow guests. We're sorry about the staff, during busy times they don't have as much time to socialize with the guests. The hostel is cleaned from top to bottom twice a day. Best regards, CabanaCopa

20%

Sem dúvida é o pior hostel que eu já fiquei. O atendimento é péssimo, errou na minha reserva desde o começo, me deixou em um quarto para quatro pessoas, com cinco pessoas. Foi frustante. Os funcionários nos tratavam mal, eram completamente despreparados. Em nenhum momento o hostel assumiu os erros dele, os funcionários sempre jogavam a culpa para mim e para meus amigos. Todos os banheiros eram totalmente sujos, era impossível comer o café da manhã, as mesas estavam sempre imundas.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Desculpa por nosso pessoal, durante horários de pico eles ficam mais estressadas e não tem tempo para ajudar e socializar. Durante horários de pico a organização não é tão bom como normalmente é, desculpe por isso. Nosso pessoal limpa todos os quartos diariamente e os banheiros duas vezes ao dia, mas as vezes depois de uma noite de festa os banheiros podem não ser muito respeitados pelos hospedes. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa staff

(79 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback