X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1322 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Estive no hostel com minha noiva e pegamos um quarto privado, porém ao chegarmos, depois de viajar e ainda caminhar pelo Rio, queríamos tomar um banho e descansar, entretanto havia um casal no quarto. Es esperamos por um bom tempo até a recepção resolver o problema. Não foi muito legal, mas foi resolvido. Pegamos uma noite de chuva, e mesmo sendo o Rio, quente, etc, não fez tanto calor assim, e o chuveiro tinha as opções: frio ou frio. :/ A localização é ótima, o ambiente é bacana, quarto bom.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigada por escrever um comentário. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você gostou da nossa localização e o ambiente. Que bom que poderíamos resolver o problema com o quarto afinal, desculpa que tiveram que esperar algum tempo. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa

89%

Breakfast was really good, staff was nice and helpful, close to the beach (looks far on the map, but it's only a short walk), rooms were good, excellent security, great backpacker vibe!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our breakfast, staff, location and vibe. Sounds like you had a good stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77%

Buen hostel, con mucha gente y buen ambiente. Lo malo es que hay muchas reglas y algunas son demasiado estrictas.


89%

POSITIVO: -La ubicación del hostal es excelente, muy cerca del metro y a unas cuantas cuadras de la playa de Copacabana -Instalaciones muy agradables y limpias -Muy serviciales las personas de limpieza y de la cocina NEUTRO: -Sólo me tocó agua caliente en uno de mis 4 días de estancia, aunque con el calor de Río no es indispensable -La mayoría del Staff en la recepción no son muy amables pero cumplen con su trabajo y te ayudan


83%

Me pareciò buen hostel para para pasar unos dias en Rio, lo ùnico deficiente es el servicio del Wi-Fi, bastante malo, porque se cortaba a cada rato. El personal muy bueno, en especial el de mantenimiento que me ayudò a resolver mi problema del candado.


40%

Ficamos muito descontentes com o atendimento / serviço prestado por este Hostel. Eu, minha família e amigos utilizamos o Hostel Worldwide sempre e confiamos nos locais indicados, porém esta experiência foi muito desagradável! Houve insinuações com relação ao não pagamento e falta de organização e comunicação no Hostel. Gostaria de explicar com mais detalhes o ocorrido! Aguardo retorno!!!

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Desculpa por nosso pessoal, durante horários de pico eles ficam mais estressadas e não tem tempo para ajudar e socializar. Durante horários de pico a organização não é tão bom como normalmente é, desculpe por isso. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa staff

83%

Muy buena onda en el hostel, buena ubicación y muy bien predispuesto su personal!

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Es ist in der Tat ein Partyhostel, das die Gästen in Massen beherbergt. So fühlt man sich hier, nur einer von der Masse. Die Preise variieren täglich, mal günstig mal teuer (R$ 10 Unterschied nur ich um eine Nacht verlängert habe), Bad permanent besetzt und die Mitarbeiter unorganisiert. Wobei einige Mitarbeiter geben sich die Mühe (z. B Sylvanna aus Kolumbien) Ich habe das Hostel gebucht, weil meine Freunde in der Nähe ein Hotel gebucht haben. Ich würde nicht wieder dorthin gehen.


71%

The are so many rules

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you think we have too many rules, but with years of experience, we know they are needed. Not only for the best of the hostel but also for the best of our guests. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

46%

Negativo: El wifi no andaba bien. Mala predisposición del personal. La cocina sin utensilios. Positivo: Buena ubicación. Habitación amplia.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Some of the sheets were a bit dirty.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear that, your should have returned them to us and asked for new ones and we would have been happy to replace them for you. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

31%

Internet did not work after 11pm. There are no desk staff available after 11pm (only security staff that do not speak english and do not have any ability to do anything other than guard the door) so you could not even ask about this. I find that there could be potential for a very big crisis to occur if a problem happens after 11pm because there is no staff on hand to resolve this. They claimed that there was a computer available but both computers were broken.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Wi-fi com muitos problemas, eles também desligaram o chuveiro e o ar condicionado para economizar dinheiro. Tudo bem que estava no verão, mas quando chegávamos tarde e queríamos tomar banho a agua estava muito fria. Recepção fechava cedo então se você precisar de alguma coisa durante a noite terá problemas (Como tive quando o ar estava muito gelado e precisei de uma coberta) Tirando isto o hostel é bem limpo e bem localizado, além de os funcionários serem muito simpáticos.


80%

Positive points: good location - nice building - clean - good events organized Negative points: cameras in every corners like in big brother - wifi password not welcoming "checkout11am" - bar closes at 10H30pm sharp, too early - wifi is not working everyday between 10 and 11 am and pm (not convenient at all) - websites to book hostels and hotels are blocked all the time!? (upsetting if you need to book a hostel in another city).

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness and the events we organize. The cameras are there for your safety, in case anything would happen or someone would get robbed. Trust us, they are not there for any type of amusement like in big brother. We do need to take to these extra reminders because guests simply forget, or sometimes ignore the check out time. Best regards and safe travels! CabanaCopa

77%

Only one staff member was friendly and helpful. (Girl from columbia) Wifi is turned off between 10-11 both am and pm. If further booking is required they say there is no room and make you pay for more expensive rooms. When in fact there is plenty of room. They shut everything down at 11 and don't allow alcohol on site. Feel unwanted past 11 Other than that, perfect location and the people staying there were great. Air con was awesome and hostel is clean.


60%

Great location, but poor staff. I'm usually someone who likes to cook, but since the kitchen was filthy with ants climbing up the walls, it was quite impossible. Rooms weren't clean at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We fumigate the hostel as needed, and try to instruct people to use common sense and not leave food out, which is what the ants live on. We clean the house top to toe twice a day, and make sure nothing in the hostel is "filthy". We do our best but also need guests cooperation in keeping everything neat. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86%

Great staff. Location isn't bad at all. Rooms are clean also contains good security.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location, cleanliness and security. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

Sehr gute Lage (schnell am Strand und an der Metro), gute Zimmergroesse, freundliches Personal und gute Caipi- Happyhour :)

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The Good: - Great cleaning staff - Fun party atomostphere The Bad: - Horrible reception staff. Never appear to be working hard, always bored, lazy, rude, and would rather promote their partnerships with other organizations than consider what's best for you. This applies to everyone except Evelyn. She's extremely nice and works hard at being helpful. - Breakfast is disgusting. I'll usually eat anything but this was going too far. I could make a better meal with a sock and two pop tarts.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you like our cleaning staff and atmosphere. During high season the reception staff gets really busy and don't have time to socialize as much. But appearing lazy or rude is of course not acceptable and we will look into this. The breakfast is a buffet offering more things than your typical hostel breakfast. Perhaps you came in a later hour when a lot of things were running out. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Absolutely superb hostel which made my experience in Rio special. Friendly staff, perfect location and a very lively atmosphere. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and atmosphere. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

(59 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback