X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1335 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I stayed there twice, both times in a 4 bed dorm. You should pay a little more to get one of the superior rooms, it's totally worth it! I liked the room much more, since it came with an own bathroom and wasn't way down in the basement. In general a good place to stay in Rio, especially because of its location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and that you had a good stay. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

43%

This is the worst hostel we have all ever stayed in. When we checked in we paid a key deposit of R$10 per person, when we checked out they tried to give us back R$10 in total. "Deluxe" means ac. The ac only turns on at 8pm and off again in the morning. One night the ac leaked on my bed and suitcase, so we moved room the next day

Owner Comment (Hide)
We assure you, we did not "try" to only give you 10 reais back, that was a mistake and in the end you got the right amount of money back. The dorms are spacious with individual lighting, curtains, lockers etc. Which is above regular hostel standards. The aircon is turned off after checkout time 11am and then turned on again in the evenings. This is because the rooms are normally empty during these hours. In special cases we can turn them on if requested. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

La habitación de 8 camas resultó ser mucho mejor que la de 4. El personal muy bien y el Hostel muy limpio


71%

Staff were not that friendly over the carnival period, it felt a lot as though the hostel was trying to get money out of you. Luckily had a great room of people but in general the atmosphere wasn~t built by the hostelto get everyone together to go outetc. The staff did have great knowledge about carnival though. cleaned often and in a safe area close to metro supermarkets etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness and location. We're sorry about our staff, during busy times they get more stressed and don't have time to help and socialize as much. Safe travels! Best regards, CabanaCopa

86%

I enjoyed the stay immensely, great atmosphere with the other guests and staff. I'd just like a slightly better breakfast and consistent Wifi to top off the whole experience.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our atmosphere and staff. We are working on improving the breakfast and will look into the wifi issue. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

On the plus side this hostel is in a very good location and the security is excellent too. But location aside this is not a great place to stay. The atmosphere is lacking, not enough common space and wi-fi is horrendous. But most of all it's the Staff that let this place down. They are appalling, rude and lazy. They can't be bothered answering basic questions and I found them to be extremely unhelpful. It's an effort to tell you what bus and train to take. Very frustrating dealing with them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review! We are glad to hear you like our location and security. We do actually offer plenty of common space at our hostel and have very few complaints about our wifi. It is carnival times and our staff is very busy, of course this is not an excuse for being rude towards guests but during busy times they get more stressed and don't have time to help and socialize as much. Best regards and safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

69%

Positive: big lockers in room - good location - okay breakfast - good A/C Negative: Staff unfriendly (saw the bossy old lady who owns the place screaming so loud to a guest that the guest checked out and left) - wifi never working - when you wake up at night when its nught you see all the glowing worms/insects that are moving inside of your matress and blanket. Disgusting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The owner was upset with a guests for breaking the rules of the hostel and had her reasons for being mad. We are sorry about the mattress, we are next to a rain forest park which has a lot of nature and wildlife. We fumigate the hostel regularly to avoid this. In these rare cases, please inform the reception and we will respond with the necessary action. We have sent you an email offering you some advantages on your next stay to hopefully make up for what happened. Best regards and safe travels!

69%

Estive no hostel com minha noiva e pegamos um quarto privado, porém ao chegarmos, depois de viajar e ainda caminhar pelo Rio, queríamos tomar um banho e descansar, entretanto havia um casal no quarto. Es esperamos por um bom tempo até a recepção resolver o problema. Não foi muito legal, mas foi resolvido. Pegamos uma noite de chuva, e mesmo sendo o Rio, quente, etc, não fez tanto calor assim, e o chuveiro tinha as opções: frio ou frio. :/ A localização é ótima, o ambiente é bacana, quarto bom.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigada por escrever um comentário. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você gostou da nossa localização e o ambiente. Que bom que poderíamos resolver o problema com o quarto afinal, desculpa que tiveram que esperar algum tempo. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa

89%

Breakfast was really good, staff was nice and helpful, close to the beach (looks far on the map, but it's only a short walk), rooms were good, excellent security, great backpacker vibe!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our breakfast, staff, location and vibe. Sounds like you had a good stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77%

Buen hostel, con mucha gente y buen ambiente. Lo malo es que hay muchas reglas y algunas son demasiado estrictas.


89%

POSITIVO: -La ubicación del hostal es excelente, muy cerca del metro y a unas cuantas cuadras de la playa de Copacabana -Instalaciones muy agradables y limpias -Muy serviciales las personas de limpieza y de la cocina NEUTRO: -Sólo me tocó agua caliente en uno de mis 4 días de estancia, aunque con el calor de Río no es indispensable -La mayoría del Staff en la recepción no son muy amables pero cumplen con su trabajo y te ayudan


83%

Me pareciò buen hostel para para pasar unos dias en Rio, lo ùnico deficiente es el servicio del Wi-Fi, bastante malo, porque se cortaba a cada rato. El personal muy bueno, en especial el de mantenimiento que me ayudò a resolver mi problema del candado.


40%

Ficamos muito descontentes com o atendimento / serviço prestado por este Hostel. Eu, minha família e amigos utilizamos o Hostel Worldwide sempre e confiamos nos locais indicados, porém esta experiência foi muito desagradável! Houve insinuações com relação ao não pagamento e falta de organização e comunicação no Hostel. Gostaria de explicar com mais detalhes o ocorrido! Aguardo retorno!!!

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Desculpa por nosso pessoal, durante horários de pico eles ficam mais estressadas e não tem tempo para ajudar e socializar. Durante horários de pico a organização não é tão bom como normalmente é, desculpe por isso. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa staff

83%

Muy buena onda en el hostel, buena ubicación y muy bien predispuesto su personal!

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Es ist in der Tat ein Partyhostel, das die Gästen in Massen beherbergt. So fühlt man sich hier, nur einer von der Masse. Die Preise variieren täglich, mal günstig mal teuer (R$ 10 Unterschied nur ich um eine Nacht verlängert habe), Bad permanent besetzt und die Mitarbeiter unorganisiert. Wobei einige Mitarbeiter geben sich die Mühe (z. B Sylvanna aus Kolumbien) Ich habe das Hostel gebucht, weil meine Freunde in der Nähe ein Hotel gebucht haben. Ich würde nicht wieder dorthin gehen.


71%

The are so many rules

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you think we have too many rules, but with years of experience, we know they are needed. Not only for the best of the hostel but also for the best of our guests. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

46%

Negativo: El wifi no andaba bien. Mala predisposición del personal. La cocina sin utensilios. Positivo: Buena ubicación. Habitación amplia.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Some of the sheets were a bit dirty.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear that, your should have returned them to us and asked for new ones and we would have been happy to replace them for you. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

31%

Internet did not work after 11pm. There are no desk staff available after 11pm (only security staff that do not speak english and do not have any ability to do anything other than guard the door) so you could not even ask about this. I find that there could be potential for a very big crisis to occur if a problem happens after 11pm because there is no staff on hand to resolve this. They claimed that there was a computer available but both computers were broken.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Wi-fi com muitos problemas, eles também desligaram o chuveiro e o ar condicionado para economizar dinheiro. Tudo bem que estava no verão, mas quando chegávamos tarde e queríamos tomar banho a agua estava muito fria. Recepção fechava cedo então se você precisar de alguma coisa durante a noite terá problemas (Como tive quando o ar estava muito gelado e precisei de uma coberta) Tirando isto o hostel é bem limpo e bem localizado, além de os funcionários serem muito simpáticos.


1 2 Next » last »
(40 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback