X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1193 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Stayed in a room in the basement to the side of the hostel. No warm/hot shower for two days. Door handle broke and I was locked in the room for over an hour. No wifi or phone reception to call out from the room. Also a huge rat found in the room. No apologies from staff or solutions provided by the staff. Also pretty cold at nights but only provided with one sheet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have different hot water suppliers in the hostel, sometimes one of them runs out and you have to shower in a different bathroom. We are sorry about the door handle, it has now been fixed and we apologize for the inconvenience. Sometimes we have different guests from the jungle, some more welcome than others. The rat has now been taken care of and the house has been fumigated. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Todo fue maravilloso!!! Me encantaría volver pronto.


86%

The staff were really fun and contributed to the great vibe in the hostel. The bar had a cool atmosphere and from 8:00 onwards everyone sat together chatting and sharing stories. Great location - 5 minutes from Copacabana beach and 3 minutes to the metro station. The rooms are clean and there's never a wait to use the communal bathrooms. The monkeys in the morning were a highlight! I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and vibe of the hostel. We are also happy to hear you like our cleanliness. We hope to see you back here again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

The location of this hostel can't be beat. Right by the Arcoverde Metro station, lots of shops and food stands within walking distance and there was a taxi post nearby. You can walk to Copacabana beach and the staff was incredibly hospitable and knowledgeable of rio and activities it has to offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

This hostel is very well localised! 5 min from the beach ! I recommand it for traveller's who want to party and meet people ! The staff speak english and is really sympathic! The beers are not expensive at the bar ...

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and location, it sounds like you had a good stay here :) Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

80%

Es muy buen hostal, esta cerca de la playa y esta facil llegar. Lo unico es que los baños se inundan y la regaderas estan muy chicas

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Let's summerize: Location - exellent, close to the beach and the metro. Rooms - everege, nice but ordinary. Wifi - poor, lots of problems, not strong and they shut it down from 7 to 8. Showers - exellent, hot water and fcilitate. Atmosphere - nice but not crazy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, showers and atmosphere. We're sorry the Wifi wasn't working well during your stay, we will look into making the connection stronger. Shutting it down from 7 to 8 is something we do to encourage the guests to interact more. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

El hostel es bueno, muy bien ubicado, excelente para conocer personas, es limpio, los colaboradores hablan diferentes idiomas y prestan ayuda en muchos sentidos con amabilidad y desinterés, puedes usar con tranquilidad y confianza la cocina y la nevera y en general es muy seguro. Los aspectos a mejorar son el wifi en habitaciones, un poco el control sobre el ruido de los huéspedes después de la hora de silencio y el desayuno.


77%

I made a reservation for 3 people in a 4 bed room and then they gave us beds in a 6 bed dorm, anyway we had to pay the same price

Owner Comment (Hide)
The only way we could put you guys in the same room was to put you in the 6 bed dorm. You didn't book a 4 bed room, you booked 3 dormitory beds. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

63%

I had to change my booking after having paid over $120AUD per night. I know it was during the world cup and there was a no cancellations policy but I did bring a friend along to stay which was extra revenue for the hostel and they were not able to accommodate any refund even when I suggested taking out a cancellation fee. There was also a policy of booking at least 4 nights when I booked which was then not applicable to others who i was staying with. Not great

Owner Comment (Hide)
During the world cup the cancellation policy was different, even if you bring friends along a policy is still a policy. If you booked in last minute, beds could be booked for less than the minimum stay, but there was no guarantee for whoever booker them. Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

97%

Great Hostel, Friendly staff. Would definatly reccomend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and hostel. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

46%

I tried to canceled a couple of nights and they didn't return the 50% policy promised. They say they are going to clean baths twice a day and they do not do it, by the evening baths are a pigsty I did the reservation 6 month in advance and they charged 100% fee + 15% hostelword.com ask for. Now I need to ask for a refund to hostelworld.com 15% becuase hostel manager didn't know anything. Ventilation in rooms is really poor. Ventilator and lights don't work properly. Worst experience ever.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Regarding the 15%, during the World Cup taxes were not included in the booking, as well as we had a different cancellation policy (0% refund) which was written on the website and hostelworld. The ventilation is not poor, all dormitories have windows, ceiling fans and aircon. The lights have been taken care of. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

94%

todo muy buenoooo

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at this hostel during the World cup group stages. The staff was professional and friendly and the restrooms were clean. One of the things that i particularly liked was the happy hour in the evenings when you could get 1 for 1 caipirinha. Its location is also amazing given that it is a 5 min walk from the beach and few mins walk from many restaurants and cafes.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and the cleanliness of our restrooms. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

The staff were amazing!!! They took care of us, partied with us, shared all their knowledge of the city with us, and even kept in touch! This was by far the most happening hostel I stayed at, with a great location right near the beach. While always a ton of fun, they also maintained a high level of cleanliness and integrity which was greatly appreciated. There's now way you can't have an incredible time and not meet a memorable group of friends here- I look forward to my next visit!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff, atmosphere, location and cleanliness. It sounds like you had a good stay! We look forward to having you back. Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

83%

Muy buena ubicación y atención del personal


91%

Amazing Hostel, friendly staff and great atmosphere!

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and atmosphere. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

stayed here during World Cup. Over priced charging hotel prices for dorm. Word of advice the only good activity on offer is the favela funk party. All the rest are sh!t clubs regardless of what Lucy the little blonde girl tells ya. Just go party in lapa!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The earlier you book the cheaper it is, the prices go up as the hostel gets full. Hostel and hotel prices naturally fluctuates due to demand and will understandably go up during busier times as holidays and weekends, the world cup months was probably the busiest months of the whole year. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Genuinely the best hostel I have EVER stayed in. Staff were unbelievable. Always getting you involved in trips and the local things going on. Pleasantly surprised with the included breakfast every day that wasn't advertised too. Will definitely look this place up if ever in Rio again. Thanks for everything guys!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are very happy to hear ours is the best hostel you have stayed at! We are also glad to hear you like our staff and breakfast. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

I loved CabanaCopa! It was my first time in a hostel and it was beyond what I could have imagined. It was clean, staff was friendly, and I met cool people. I love how the would have happy hour and they would turn off the wifi so people could like you know....talk! Lol. I would definitely go back. ENYA was super nice as was Carlos. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant first experience in a hostel staying with us. We are also happy to hear you like our cleanliness and staff. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

(62 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback