X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1455 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great place to stay, location was good with great security presence. There is always something to do here. Stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us, we are glad you had a nice time! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Its a great place to stay, the atmosphere is awesome, people from all over the world and near of the beach!

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you had a nice time! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

83%

Tolles hostel um Leute kennen zu lernen Und feiern zu gehen. Die Lage ist super, das frühstück okay, nur wifi Und computer funktionieren nur teilweise.. Auserdem ist die küche eher schlecht ausgestattet, ansonsten aber zu empfehlen


100%

really good hostel with everything you need and a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are really glad you had a nice time! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

71%

Location was great., metro station close by and just 10 minutes to Copacabana beach. However, we experienced a lack of flexibility & service. The washing machine was broken and it was obvious that it was not the first day when we arrived and it did not seem that it will be repaired soon. Moreover, the discription how to get to the hostel was not updated, new lines have already been installed half a year ago. The wifi was very bad. And we got the impression that the staff was afraid of the owner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We have a new washing machine now. We will update the directions and improve our wifi. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

94%

A lavanderia não estava funcionando.


100%

Just perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! You are great too! :)

100%

Nos quedamos en el hostel una semana y nos encanto , la ubicación es muy buena , cerca del metro y la playa , en la recepción María y Agnes nos ayudaron con todo para que nuestra estadía fuera perfecta! Agnes fue una persona muy cariñosa y creò un ambiente maravilloso. GRAZIE MILLE E ALLA PROSSIMA!

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is excellent, near the beach. Receptionists are the best specially Maria and Evelyn. Good vibe! I will come back for sure

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review and happy that you had a nice stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

80%

Local muito bom e amigável. Não gostei do quarto o qual havia reservado por dois motivos: muito pequeno e o ventilador de teto não resolve o calor. Resumindo: tive de me hospedar ao hotel ibis mais próximo. Não tive devolução de qq valor depositado anteriormente e acabai gastando mais.

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel is in a great location right beside the metro and only 3 blocks from copacobana beach. It's really busy so there's always people to meet although not the best atmosphere we came across. Some of the staff at reception can come across a bit rude and condescending too unfortunately. That being said its still a good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are sorry some of our staff was rude, we have changed some of them. We have over 100 beds so big hostel have mixed atmosphere in different groups. We are proud to be a very sociable & diverse hostel. We are glad you enjoyed our location. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

80%

Staff were incredibly kind, knew all the cool spots to check out. All the guests were very friendly and lots of fun. Already planning a return visit!

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Looking forward to see you again soon! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

86%

Nach 23 Uhr ist die anreise schwieriger da sie einem den Pass abnehmen bevor man einchecken kann. Ansonsten ist es ein hergoragendes hostle mit einem Wahnsinns Frühstück für den preis


83%

The Hostel has great location and the security level is high. The hostel personell are so so, some of them very helpful and others not. With construction work next door, and an elementary school as a neighbor (and never ending loud music in the reception) it's pretty noisy, but then again the place is clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. Sorry if some of our staff wasn't as helpful, we try to motivate them constantly and change the ones who don't do a good job. The building next door is almost finished, and only 4 of our 40 rooms are neighbors of the school (that is only open in the low season, not the summer). Also it starts at 10am. We play mostly calm music during the day, and party music only at night. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Excelente hostel. Galera da recepção nota 10, muito atencioso com os clientes. Ja sei aonde fica na proxima vez que voltar ao Rio. Super Recomendado.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

the bathroom was always dirty. really good location, the breakfast is ok. the staff was no helpful at all, they only want to sell the tours.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The location was perfect, not in the city center but still close to everything. A great place to stay, if I ever come back to Rio I will definitely stay here again! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

83%

Good hostel in nice part of copacabana. Rooms were small and stuffy but clean, while the bathrooms were small and unclean. Some beds have plastic on the mattress which makes sleeping pretty annoying. One staff member in particular wasnt knowledgeable or helpful (couldnt figure out the bill, transfer to paraty, or dinner reservations). No wifi in the rooms. Nice atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us! We have removed the protection plastic of the new mattresses. Sorry for the new staff, he was being trained. We are improving for better wifi and more spread out in the building. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Really good location, very secure, easy to leave luggage on arrival/departure and breakfast was decent (we're vegetarian so it wasn't as good for us, but still some variety). Liked the layout of our ten-bed dorm. I loved the staff at the beginning! So friendly, welcoming, fun etc. Towards the end I felt like some of the staff were only being friendly to sell us tickets and get commission - realise this is their job so can't complain, but just was a sour end when we went to one awful party

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! Sorry if the party wasn't good, but during weekdays it is hard to find something amazing at night time. Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

89%

One of the cleanest hostels i've ever been to. Location is good, only 2 min from the metro and about a 10 min walk to beach . 10 bed dorm is spacious and nice common areas as well. Breakfast good, too, but be punctual, they start cleaning up at exactly 10 am. Wasn't very good for meeting ppl though when I was there, so if you're a solo traveller maybe better go somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to read your review, happy that you had a nice stay! We are sorry you stayed with us during the week in the low season, but we are usually a very sociable and diverse hostel! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

(71 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback