X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1154 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Stayed here for about 6 nights and had a very pleasant and enjoyable time. The atmosphere was always really good. If you're travelling alone it is easy to meet people. The staff were great andthey always came out on any nights out. Lucy and Enya were great as were the other guys.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice place. Clean, cheap, good location in copacabana, really friendly awesome staff, and breakfast in the morning. What more could you need? Thank you for showing me a great time in Rio!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel....highly recommended, awesome staff and a fantastic atmosphere, you will have a great time in rio if you stay here!


74%

Café da manhã voltado a estrangeiros, com ovo cozido, salsicha frita, macarrão. Eu como brasileira, não tive mtas opções.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The Staff was new and she has made some mistakes by paying and booking Taxitransfers. The Bathrooms are only average. The location and the atmosphere is good.


94%

I was stay Cabanacopa Hostel last week. It was so good to stay. Thank you so much for staff.


91%

Really good staff, and great atmosphere. Nice big TV on the top floor and fun bar.


100%

I well impressed by this Hostel, Grate place to meet people if you are Traveling on your own. Very clean rooms, wifi working perfectly. The Staff ware very pleasant and helpful,They also had a Brazilian BBQ which was really cool and the Breakfast was very good also the building has so many security devices that made us feel safe.


49%

Too many beds for the instalations, toilettes clogged everytime, long waits on showers, small place for breakfast, and never enough food for everybody. They know they have a problem and they even block sites like booking or other hostel webpages so you don't move from the hostel. Bad bad bad

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have the most spacious rooms in the market but it is important that guests keep their things and bags in order to keep it spacious. We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but they can get messy depending on guest's use. We are adding one more night cleaning shift, to improve service quality. There are several other bathrooms on different floors you could have gone to if yours was occupied. our system has connectivity to all hostel websites which might make access restricted to some sites.

91%

Cabanacopa hostel is set in a old colonial building that has a peaceful clean and friendly atmoshere. The staff are freindly and helpful with giving diections and ideas for activities and sightseeing. The hostel is a few blocks from Copacabana beach and the metro station. I found it easy to meet fellow travellers and go and visit some local bars together.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness, atmosphere and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

Everything is ok, but they have poor brakefast.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. Our breakfast is a buffet and it has juices (not fresh but it is a backpacker's hostel, not the Hilton), coffee, tea, milk, cereal, honey, bread, butter, jam, cheese, ham, salami, fresh fruits, eggs, sausage, cake, toast etc. which is pretty good for hostel standards. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Awesome hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you found our hostel awesome :) We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Had a great time at cabana copa... Staff was nice and well informed, rooms were spacious and breakfast was superb! Highly recommend!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a good time staying with us and that you like our staff, rooms and breakfast. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Very nice atmosphere and close to main sights in Rio. i definetly recommend this Hostel for people that want to explore the city on their own! I did a great tour of the city called Big Dude Tour with Brazil Expedition recommended by the staff! Funny guide and good value for money! thanx for the staff to let me know! Say hello to Carlos!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our atmosphere and location. We are also glad you enjoyed the tours we offer. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Muy buena la estadia en el hostel. voy a voler. agradezco la atencion de todos los empleados, los de la manana Pablo y Carlos unos genios y la chica tambien que no se el nombre. y los de la tarde muy bien el flaco argentino y las chicas. Lo unico que por ahi no me gusto fue el cambio de habitacion, pero entiendo que era para arreglarla.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

O hostel é muito desorganizado. Começando com funcionários na recepção que não falam português, sem recepção 24h (O que dificulta o check out e check in, bem como o resgate do dinheiro do depósito), ausência de uma máquina de cartão (sendo que no site informam como forma de pagamento). Banheiros muito sujos, nos fizeram subir nos quartos para retirar os lençóis e fronhas das camas no momento do check out (o funcionário que deveria fazer o serviço). Enfim, serviço e atendimento muito ruim!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff unable to help with most stuff, doesnt seems like they know a lot about the city. A shame since the hostel got a lot of potentiality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are sorry if some of the staff, that was under training, couldn't help you. Next time please come to the more experienced staff in the desk. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

100%

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, the location was great- a secure area near the beach, metro and supermarkets. I also loved the vibe of the hostel, something that always makes your stay extra good. Another plus is te cleanliness of the place and the good facilities they offer. The breakfast was really good for hostel standards. This will for sure be my go-to place whenever I'm in Rio again.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and vibe. We are also happy you like our cleanliness and facilities. Looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86%

En Cabanacopa hostel se respira un ambiente propio de hostel, con lugares comunes en los que se crea un ambiente propio de hostel: te seinte cómodo yel equipamiento es el necesario. La cocina de uso común está correctamente equipada.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por estar con nosotros Nos alegra saber que te gustaba nuestra ambiente y el equipamiento. Esperamos verte de nuevo! Saludos, CabanaCopa personal

54%

Das einzige Hostel bei dem man beim Check-in komplett bar bezahlen muss, Handtücher nicht gestellt werden, man die Betten selbst beziehen muss, die gebrauchten Bettbezüge beim Check-out an der Rezeption abgeben müssen, ansonsten gibt es die Kaution nicht zurück. Personal an der Rezeption: Man spürt, dass ihnen der Job keinen Spass macht. Überall Schilder mit Vorschriften wie man sich verhalten soll: Nicht nach 10:30 pm draussen Lärm machen; wird nicht eingehalten. Lärm bis am frühen Morgen.


(63 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback