X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1277 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Desta vez fiquei num quarto diferente, que apesar de mais caro por ter menos camas era pior que o de 10 camas pois haviam muitos lances de escada para chegar as áreas comuns.


43%

This hostel is double the price of other hostels but is really filthy and the rooms are very dark and cramped. There is not a great atmosphere and the staff could be a lot friendlier. It's not a hostel id recommend, if others are available you will get more for your money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our prices change in regards to demand and season. So obviously we charge more during busy times and holidays. We also have a good location witch enables us to charge a bit more. We are sorry you didn't like the atmosphere, but it does really depend on the time you stay here and who are your fellow guests. We're sorry about the staff, during busy times they don't have as much time to socialize with the guests. The hostel is cleaned from top to bottom twice a day. Best regards, CabanaCopa

20%

Sem dúvida é o pior hostel que eu já fiquei. O atendimento é péssimo, errou na minha reserva desde o começo, me deixou em um quarto para quatro pessoas, com cinco pessoas. Foi frustante. Os funcionários nos tratavam mal, eram completamente despreparados. Em nenhum momento o hostel assumiu os erros dele, os funcionários sempre jogavam a culpa para mim e para meus amigos. Todos os banheiros eram totalmente sujos, era impossível comer o café da manhã, as mesas estavam sempre imundas.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Not worth the money , way too expensive for the same facilities that other hostels charge half the price.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our prices change in regards to demand and season. So obviously we charge more during busy times and holidays. We also have a good location witch enables us to charge a bit more. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

71%

Ressalva sobre o rodízio de banheiros que fechou o banheiro do quarto por 3 dos 4 dias em que fiquei hospedado, vocês não podem dizer que o quarto tem banheiro e depois simplesmente fecha-lo.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The guy in the morning who works with the big pretty eyes and good hair is the nicest guy he speaks Spanish very well too!! He was the niceest one in my eyes !! The hostel was fun and a ton of cool people !! I would stay again

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and had a good stay. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa

66%

El hostelworld tiene una ubicación malisima, subiendo una colina lo cual hace muy difícil el manejo del equipaje. Para el pago con tarjeta de crédito tienen un monto mínimo, cosa que no se avisa en la página de internet, Lo cual para los turistas es incomodo porque uno maneja poco efectivo.


94%

Ótimo hostel e ótimo atendimento. No geral, saí muito satisfeita e super recomendo. :)

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice people, good staff, always helping. Thanks a lot! Marius from Canada

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and found them helpful. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa

69%

Staff aren't really helpful or friendly but its a great place to meet people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're sorry for the staff, during busy times they don't have as much time to help and socialize with each guest. Safe travels! Best regards, CabanaCopa

91%

Awesome party atmosphere for the weekend, met some cool people here and staff were the most helpful we've come across, helped us book Kings of Leon/Paramore tickets and had helpful advice about the area. Cool park next door with little monkeys to see (be careful they dont steal your stuff!) Copacabana v close along with bus stop and metro. Recommended to stay here! however, there is a kindergarten next door so during the week maybe not so much as it's noisy. Also reception plays music from 8am

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're glad to hear you like our staff, atmosphere and location. You may request another room if the noise from the school is bothering you. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

80%

Só achamos que haviam poucos banheiros para todo o Hostel.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelente la ubicación y todos los chavos del staff, definitivamente volvería.


83%

Good Value for money, but the breakfast was just average and made my stomach feel sick...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! We're sorry to hear you didn't like our breakfast, we are looking into improving the quality of it as we speak. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

I've travelled all over the world and never had a problem with a hostel but have never been at a hostel as unhelpful as this. The staff couldn't care less about you unless you are booking their ridiculously overpriced tours (R$140 for a ticket to maracana when they are R$30 on the door). They told us wrong buses, timings and locations. It's very overpriced and the dorms are very cramped. I think they are living off their reputation and I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you find the tours overpriced. We provide them for convenience and want to make it more comfortable coming and leaving the stadium. The price is set by the tour company, we just sell them. We are sorry about the staff, we had some new ones during your stay and they didn't know all the buses and times etc. We are constantly working on improving and we are happy to hear your input. We have built our reputation after many years in the market, and there is a reason it is a good one.

89%

Adorei a experiência de estar no hostel! Excelente atendimento, excelente vibe!

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Breakfast was average in my opinion. I have learnt to bring somethings like cereal to places in future to make it fulfilling. Got to look after yourself. Quite social in a party sense in the evenings. Staff were okay. Location is near the metro and a 7 or 8 min walk from the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Due to some complains we will look into improving the breakfast. We are glad to hear you liked our location and found the staff alright. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

97%

O CabanaCopa Hostel é um lugar muito acolhedor, tanto no espaço físico quanto à recepção dos funcionários. Me senti em casa durante o tempo que passei lá.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Location is great, and it's a good place to meet other travellers and the dormrooms were clean. However, the breakfast could have been much better, the staff could have been a little more helpful, and the tours that are offered through the hostel could have been much cheaper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and cleanliness. We are doing some changes to improve the breakfast. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Excelente lugar para conocer Rio de Janeiro y compartir, lo mejor de todo es el ambiente del hostel, todos muy amables! volvería definitivamente.


(75 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback