X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1174 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

I tried to canceled a couple of nights and they didn't return the 50% policy promised. They say they are going to clean baths twice a day and they do not do it, by the evening baths are a pigsty I did the reservation 6 month in advance and they charged 100% fee + 15% hostelword.com ask for. Now I need to ask for a refund to hostelworld.com 15% becuase hostel manager didn't know anything. Ventilation in rooms is really poor. Ventilator and lights don't work properly. Worst experience ever.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Regarding the 15%, during the World Cup taxes were not included in the booking, as well as we had a different cancellation policy (0% refund) which was written on the website and hostelworld. The ventilation is not poor, all dormitories have windows, ceiling fans and aircon. The lights have been taken care of. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

94%

todo muy buenoooo

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at this hostel during the World cup group stages. The staff was professional and friendly and the restrooms were clean. One of the things that i particularly liked was the happy hour in the evenings when you could get 1 for 1 caipirinha. Its location is also amazing given that it is a 5 min walk from the beach and few mins walk from many restaurants and cafes.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and the cleanliness of our restrooms. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

The staff were amazing!!! They took care of us, partied with us, shared all their knowledge of the city with us, and even kept in touch! This was by far the most happening hostel I stayed at, with a great location right near the beach. While always a ton of fun, they also maintained a high level of cleanliness and integrity which was greatly appreciated. There's now way you can't have an incredible time and not meet a memorable group of friends here- I look forward to my next visit!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff, atmosphere, location and cleanliness. It sounds like you had a good stay! We look forward to having you back. Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

83%

Muy buena ubicación y atención del personal


91%

Amazing Hostel, friendly staff and great atmosphere!

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and atmosphere. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

stayed here during World Cup. Over priced charging hotel prices for dorm. Word of advice the only good activity on offer is the favela funk party. All the rest are sh!t clubs regardless of what Lucy the little blonde girl tells ya. Just go party in lapa!!!


100%

Genuinely the best hostel I have EVER stayed in. Staff were unbelievable. Always getting you involved in trips and the local things going on. Pleasantly surprised with the included breakfast every day that wasn't advertised too. Will definitely look this place up if ever in Rio again. Thanks for everything guys!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are very happy to hear ours is the best hostel you have stayed at! We are also glad to hear you like our staff and breakfast. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

I loved CabanaCopa! It was my first time in a hostel and it was beyond what I could have imagined. It was clean, staff was friendly, and I met cool people. I love how the would have happy hour and they would turn off the wifi so people could like you know....talk! Lol. I would definitely go back. ENYA was super nice as was Carlos. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant first experience in a hostel staying with us. We are also happy to hear you like our cleanliness and staff. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Thought the hostel was great. Great location, great people. Best hostel I've stayed in so far

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and people. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

51%

La hora del check in es muy tarde, llegamos una hora antes pero no pudimos ingresar al cuarto. Nos dieron una habitación con cuchetas en donde no era posible estar los dos al mismo tiempo pues es muy pequeña, el baño tan pequeño que que era difícil cerrar la puerta del mismo estado dentro. mientras estabamos en la habitacion entraron los dueños del hostel para hacer chequeo de limpieza sin golpear y utilizando una llave. Pedimos cambio de habitación y aunque era una mas barata, pero mas comoda


49%

Felt dirtier going in the toilet than going out. Charged me for 2 nights but I canceled 24 hours in advance. No where in there email did it say 48 hour cancelation. Very loud at all hours.


94%

Stayed here for about 6 nights and had a very pleasant and enjoyable time. The atmosphere was always really good. If you're travelling alone it is easy to meet people. The staff were great andthey always came out on any nights out. Lucy and Enya were great as were the other guys.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time staying with us and that you like our atmosphere and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Really nice place. Clean, cheap, good location in copacabana, really friendly awesome staff, and breakfast in the morning. What more could you need? Thank you for showing me a great time in Rio!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, location, staff and breakfast. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Great hostel....highly recommended, awesome staff and a fantastic atmosphere, you will have a great time in rio if you stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and atmosphere. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

74%

Café da manhã voltado a estrangeiros, com ovo cozido, salsicha frita, macarrão. Eu como brasileira, não tive mtas opções.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The Staff was new and she has made some mistakes by paying and booking Taxitransfers. The Bathrooms are only average. The location and the atmosphere is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and atmosphere. We are sorry our new staff made some mistakes with the taxi transfers, we hope it wasn't too hard to solve the issue. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

94%

I was stay Cabanacopa Hostel last week. It was so good to stay. Thank you so much for staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and atmosphere. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Really good staff, and great atmosphere. Nice big TV on the top floor and fun bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and atmosphere. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

I well impressed by this Hostel, Grate place to meet people if you are Traveling on your own. Very clean rooms, wifi working perfectly. The Staff ware very pleasant and helpful,They also had a Brazilian BBQ which was really cool and the Breakfast was very good also the building has so many security devices that made us feel safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, staff, and breakfast. We hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

(62 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback