X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1243 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I made a reservation for 3 people in a 4 bed room and then they gave us beds in a 6 bed dorm, anyway we had to pay the same price

Owner Comment (Hide)
The only way we could put you guys in the same room was to put you in the 6 bed dorm. You didn't book a 4 bed room, you booked 3 dormitory beds. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

63%

I had to change my booking after having paid over $120AUD per night. I know it was during the world cup and there was a no cancellations policy but I did bring a friend along to stay which was extra revenue for the hostel and they were not able to accommodate any refund even when I suggested taking out a cancellation fee. There was also a policy of booking at least 4 nights when I booked which was then not applicable to others who i was staying with. Not great

Owner Comment (Hide)
During the world cup the cancellation policy was different, even if you bring friends along a policy is still a policy. If you booked in last minute, beds could be booked for less than the minimum stay, but there was no guarantee for whoever booker them. Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

97%

Great Hostel, Friendly staff. Would definatly reccomend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and hostel. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

46%

I tried to canceled a couple of nights and they didn't return the 50% policy promised. They say they are going to clean baths twice a day and they do not do it, by the evening baths are a pigsty I did the reservation 6 month in advance and they charged 100% fee + 15% hostelword.com ask for. Now I need to ask for a refund to hostelworld.com 15% becuase hostel manager didn't know anything. Ventilation in rooms is really poor. Ventilator and lights don't work properly. Worst experience ever.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Regarding the 15%, during the World Cup taxes were not included in the booking, as well as we had a different cancellation policy (0% refund) which was written on the website and hostelworld. The ventilation is not poor, all dormitories have windows, ceiling fans and aircon. The lights have been taken care of. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

I stayed at this hostel during the World cup group stages. The staff was professional and friendly and the restrooms were clean. One of the things that i particularly liked was the happy hour in the evenings when you could get 1 for 1 caipirinha. Its location is also amazing given that it is a 5 min walk from the beach and few mins walk from many restaurants and cafes.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and the cleanliness of our restrooms. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

The staff were amazing!!! They took care of us, partied with us, shared all their knowledge of the city with us, and even kept in touch! This was by far the most happening hostel I stayed at, with a great location right near the beach. While always a ton of fun, they also maintained a high level of cleanliness and integrity which was greatly appreciated. There's now way you can't have an incredible time and not meet a memorable group of friends here- I look forward to my next visit!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff, atmosphere, location and cleanliness. It sounds like you had a good stay! We look forward to having you back. Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

91%

Amazing Hostel, friendly staff and great atmosphere!

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and atmosphere. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

stayed here during World Cup. Over priced charging hotel prices for dorm. Word of advice the only good activity on offer is the favela funk party. All the rest are sh!t clubs regardless of what Lucy the little blonde girl tells ya. Just go party in lapa!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The earlier you book the cheaper it is, the prices go up as the hostel gets full. Hostel and hotel prices naturally fluctuates due to demand and will understandably go up during busier times as holidays and weekends, the world cup months was probably the busiest months of the whole year. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Genuinely the best hostel I have EVER stayed in. Staff were unbelievable. Always getting you involved in trips and the local things going on. Pleasantly surprised with the included breakfast every day that wasn't advertised too. Will definitely look this place up if ever in Rio again. Thanks for everything guys!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are very happy to hear ours is the best hostel you have stayed at! We are also glad to hear you like our staff and breakfast. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

I loved CabanaCopa! It was my first time in a hostel and it was beyond what I could have imagined. It was clean, staff was friendly, and I met cool people. I love how the would have happy hour and they would turn off the wifi so people could like you know....talk! Lol. I would definitely go back. ENYA was super nice as was Carlos. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant first experience in a hostel staying with us. We are also happy to hear you like our cleanliness and staff. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Thought the hostel was great. Great location, great people. Best hostel I've stayed in so far

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and people. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

49%

Felt dirtier going in the toilet than going out. Charged me for 2 nights but I canceled 24 hours in advance. No where in there email did it say 48 hour cancelation. Very loud at all hours.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but some of the shared ones can get messy depending on guest's use. We are planning to add one more night cleaning shift to improve service quality. Cancellation 24 hours in advance is the standard policy but during the world cup we had a no cancellation policy, which was clearly stated on the website. Sorry about the loudness but you came during the world cup, usually it's more quiet. Best regards, CabanaCopa

94%

Stayed here for about 6 nights and had a very pleasant and enjoyable time. The atmosphere was always really good. If you're travelling alone it is easy to meet people. The staff were great andthey always came out on any nights out. Lucy and Enya were great as were the other guys.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time staying with us and that you like our atmosphere and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

1 2 3 Next » last »
(53 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback