X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1156 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The hostel was fair enough. However, the staff was not very helpful as they did not really seem to know their city. Furthermore, the bar closes at 22:30 which does not make it a very sociable place. During the carnival it was very expensive which applies for all hostels. Yet, if you hear somebody checking in for your last night and they pay 1/3 of what you paid for the exact same night, that's not really nice!


46%

the I don't know hostelThe staff never know anything theycan't tell u where anything is even if you show them address n quite rude about it n no maps exceptEvelyn only staff that knows anythingThey have blocked hostels from wifi so u can't look others up they kick u out at 10pm to bed or out of hostel very poor kitchen facilities in my month in brazil worst breakfast sohappy to move to Vila Carioca after 9days of prepaid at Copa now I get why they make u prepay n add5%if out of country don'tstay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us. We were very busy during carnival, and some of our staff was new, sorry if they were not very knowledgeable. We have 2 internet providers & wifi's, so our internet is never down. We have 3 common area living rooms, 2 with TV's and one with bean bag chairs & couches, but our bar/lounge & outside areas have to close at 22:30. During carnival & special events every hostel request guests to prepay, but not during regular season. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

57%

The staff was very offair and nonchalant. According to the facilities they offer free airport transfer, We told them twice by e-mail to pick us up. They answered and we even confirmed a second time the arrival with time and flightnumber but they didn´t show up. When we arrived by cab and pointed the default transfer they didn´t care and blamed it on a new man in the staff. The dorms are fine with open spaces but shared bathrooms quite disgusting. Good securitu with lockers and 24h securitugua

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us. Glad to have cleared out this issue with you through e-mail now. Your message was never replied because for some reason it went to our spam mailbox. Our transfer is not free of charge, and that is described in our website. We are sorry for not being able to pick you up but we never confirmed it in the first place! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
60%

There was no internet during the two days of my stay. The staff told me they couldn t made a reservation if I don t pay right now... ( i just need to go the bank to withdraw money but they wouldn t hear it !!). The staff is too young to give advices to the travellers and bring some services. I would not recommand it. Sorry for that. Sandrine HEITZ

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have two internet service providers to ensure we have internet at all times, perhaps you weren't aware of the second one. Since we have a lot of requests and some people may reserve and not show up, it's a hostel policy to always pay for the reservation. Sorry if our staff seemed too inexperienced, we try to hire a wide range of individuals from different ages and nationalities. Of course we will make sure our staff is better informed regarding advice and services! CabanaCopa

69%

The hostel in general was nice enough. Fairly clean and with a nice atmosphere. But the staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful. When I came back to Rio i decided to stay someplace else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review! We're sorry to hear the staff didn't meet your expectations, we will take this up with them. CabanaCopa management

77%

Very well located, near the metro. But the hostel is too Big and no one knows who You are and they don't Really help when You ask for information. Poor breakfast. No air conditioning in some Rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked our location. Our hostel has a busy atmosphere during high season, so it is hard for our staff to keep track of everyone's names. Our breakfast is buffet is free & from 8:30 to 10:30am, but of course the last 5 minutes are not the same as the first, and after a big party night everyone comes down at the same time, so things can run out. Now all of our dormitories and most of our privates have A/C. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

60%

Do not provide the 3 digit security code from the back of your card to this hostel! I'm happy I didn't provide mine, although they cancelled our reservation bc of this. If you do provide they will charge the whole amount right after you made the reservation online, and that will make it impossible to cancel in case you need. In the end we paid for a 8 people room as we were walk-ins, but got to our room and realized it was a 10 people, the 15 reais a day difference was not refund!!

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

This hostel was maybe my worst experience in so many years.Standard response to any of 'reasonable' requests are NO.They are mostly rude to guests.They are well abusing their position in the market and customer demand which I don't understand how they created in the first place.People are shouted at and kicked out of the door.Internet hardly working,if wifi working so many sites blocked including hostel world. Kitchen equipment poor.Basically it has been abused by poor staff.and the rest.


71%

Very expensive over new years, apart from that i had a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! CabanaCopa staff

83%

I really liked the atmosphere of the hostel, great place to meet people. Thank you so much for the free beers on New Years Eve. I found the hostel to be too regimented & rules driven which effected the overall experience. Set processes in place that weren't necessarily practical but very reluctant to review set processes even though lack common sense e.g. having to completely check out even when extending your stay, especially when staying in the same bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you liked the atmosphere and our New Years treat. We are a big and popular hostel that tends to book out, to keep things in order we do have to emphasise on our rules, we're sorry if this affected you experience. If guests are extending their stay we only ask them to check out if they are changing room, if you were in fact staying in the same one, it was a mistake on our part and we will clarify this for our staff. Thanks for staying with us! CabanaCopa management

66%

-Too expensive for what it is ,pay to use iron -Policy of paying upfront to secure booking sucks ( why do we pay 10% via hostelbookers.?.) -7% of total fees in invoice ( yeah you don't have the choice it's only paypal) -very poor breakfast compared to prices charged -some of the staff is really not friendly -paid 1250R$ for 6 nights in a 4 people dorm and surprise!! finding a 5th one, with no apologies, no caipirinha, all your luggage moved... -Cleaning ladies do their job only when they want


97%

Great place! I was there for New Years and would head back there in a heart beat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We're glad you are happy with your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Cabanacopa staff

94%

Loved the security guards at night!

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that and will make sure to let them know! Cabanacopa staff

91%

it was fun staying there. made some new friends. i should have stayed more than one night

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and made new friends. We hope you come back soon! Cabanacopa staff

83%

Great location, only ten minutes to the beach. Friendly helpful staff and decent free breakfast. We'd never been to Rio before and found this an easy place to use to get everywhere we needed. Metro is also very close.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked our location, staff, breakfast & facilities. Indeed from our hostel you can pretty much go anywhere in the city pretty easily. Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

100%

Awesome staff. So helpful and friendly!

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

This is my Second time at CabanaCopa Hostel. First time was 4 years ago. After 4 years I can say the place have matured more, in terms of logistics and arrangements with pick-up from airport, check-in , lockers, cleaning etc. Much better organization. I've felt fully safe and secure this time. The location is also very convenient

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us again! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and noticed our improvements. We are constantly working to make a better experience to the guests. Safe travels and hope to see you back in less than 5 years! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

74%

Good Hostelling 5 minutes from de Copacabana neightbordhood Metro Station. Rooms cleans and enought to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us & writing the review. We are glad you liked our location, and had a nice sleep. Smaller dorms are even better for sleeping, the less people you share it with, the more organised the dorm is. Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

54%

This hostel was Okay, It was expensive for what it was and their booking and payments procedure is very unfair, it over protects the hostel. 48 hour notice before cancelling and even after that you would only receive 50% of what is paid back. We had booked in for 4 nights and had to leave after our first night as we had to fly home early due to a death in the family, when we explained this to them they were unmoving on this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & Thanks for staying with us. We are sorry for your loss. During your stay with us was a long holiday weekend in Brazil and everywhere was quite expensive due to demand. During holidays we have a minimum stay and management wasn't reachable so there wasn't anything reception could do. If you come back to Rio please contact us directly and we will offer you one free night. We wish you well and a Merry Christmas! Kind regards, CabanaCopa staff

63%

The Breakfast is poor. The hostel has two kitchen, it is in good location, there are few bathrooms. The atmosphere is poor. The loockers are big, and you can put yours things in a small loockers before check in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello & thanks for staying with us. Our breakfast ends at 10am, so if you wake up 5 min to 10am isn't the same as if you come down 9:30am. Your stay with us was on a weekday during low season, just after one big party night and the house had a massive "hangover". We invite you to come back one day for a weekend and we are sure you will have a different experience! :) Safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

(731 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback