X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1320 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I had so much fun at this hostel and met the best people. It's clean, awesome location and the night staff are awesome especially Sebastian and Claudia. However the blonde lady that works in the morning can be a bit rude. If going to a soccer game be aware you can buy tickets at the gate for 30 reals.. 100 cheaper than if you go with the tour.. The blonde lady told us it was sold out so we should go with the tour and when we got there there was a good 20,000 seats free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our cleanliness, location and staff. I'm sure there was some type of misunderstanding about the amount of seats left, we will talk to our staff about this. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Good clean hostel with nice friendly staff that are only too happy to help with whatever need be👍 Also in a great location..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, staff and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

57%

Facilities are good but the atmosphere was really bad ! Some staff members are really unpleasant ! it seems that they are not happy to work there... At least a smile to welcome you would have been appreciated... The bad atmosphere doesn't make you feel good, and it's difficult to appreciate a drink at the bar. Different details confirm this strange atmosphere... for example the wifi code, that remembers you the checkout time...

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you like our facilities. We are sorry you found the staff unpleasant, I have worked here for a long time and I assure you I am not unhappy! We had some staff issues during your stay but have replaced most of the employees we didn't feel fit in here at CabanaCopa. Our main focus is for our guests to have a good stay and enjoy the atmosphere, so sorry you didn't feel that! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

60%

The smell of smoke was everywhere! Despite the fact that there are no-smoking signs posted everywhere, this is not enforced at the hostel and thus you will be at risk for inhaling second-hand smoke. There were some complications that were not resolved during initial payment due to organizational issues. In addition, the breakfast was incredibly random. Some days lacked cheese and ham. The "omlette" tasted very strange. Don't expect natural juices here. The location is very close to the metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do enforce the non smoking policy and have a non tolerance for smoking inside the hostel. If you see this, please notify us and we will make sure the smoker leaves the hostel immediately. We are sorry about the issues with your initial payment, we are not sure exactly what issues you mean or what the organizational issues were so it's hard for us to explain or work out. We are making improvements with the breakfast as we speak. Best regards! CabanaCopa

74%

Everything was really good, except wi-fi didn't work in our room and in the lobby the wi-fi was down from 6pm-9pm, because there were too many people using it at that time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. The internet works fine but during 9-10 pm we shut it down so people will interact more. The public computers still work though. Our wifi works well in the common areas, but not as good in the rooms to make people come out to socialize :) Our privates have good internet though, just some dorms that have a weaker wifi signal and are left like that because some people sharing the room might not like it. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

74%

Quite a good hostel. But not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of beds/ppl there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We have several bathrooms in some floors and at least one on each, if the bathroom on your floor is occupied you can just go to another one. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

97%

Only problem was the bar and common room are closed at 10!Brilliant hostel, I had so much fun here and meet some brilliant people. It near to the beach and metro! Watch out for the little monkeys at breakfast

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was really good - better than other hostels we have been in.. Some of the showers were cold. The Hostel world room selection did not correspond with the actual room availability.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff and breakfast. We're sorry about some showers being cold, that has now been fixed. We will look into the issue with hostelworld, thanks for letting us know. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

94%

Considering it's in Rio they should have a better kitchen. Everything's broken so cooking on the hob with no handle is burn central. Met so many good people at this hostel and ended up travelling with them all. They turn the internet off between happy hour which is kind of good as everyone is social then but annoying when you really need to check something! I only thing I hated was walking up the hill to it, but it's a good work out for your bum soooooo can't complain.


91%

Excellent staff and location. Would stay here again.


83%

In general is a nice place, but I think they should mention in advance that they do not take credit cards, it was hard for me to understand why they only recieve cash. There are two nice grils that are very helpfull but there is a guy who only give you excuses to recieve the money in dollars and cash, and of course in the exchange rate that he considers is ok.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I enjoyed my stay here immensely. The staff are great and super helpful. The only disappointment was the internet and the lack of comfortable places to charge your electronics. The internet seemed to crash daily between 7pm and 9pm yet the reception never lost their connection, something tells me the hostel is low-balling on the WiFi service which really, really threw a wrench into my daily plans and communication with friends, etc. Otherwise a great, affordable hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our staff. The internet works fine but during 9-10 pm we shut it down so people will interact more. The public computers still work though. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Great place, especially if you like to meet a more sociable, party crowd

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a good time and enjoyed our sociable atmosphere. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Great place!, very secure in one of the best areas of Rio!, very close to a subway, taxi & bus stations so you can move to any place without problems. Totally recomended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our security and location. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

43%

That's the worst hostel I've stayed. The staff in general is extremely rude and didn't bother to help the guests. Our beds were very dirty, the sheets were disgusting and there was no hot water. Our bedroom was always open because it was not possible to lock the door. The only reason that kept me and my friend at this place was the friends we made there and the great location of the hostel. Don't stay at this place. There are many good hostels in Copacabana but I'd never recommend this one.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you found the staff rude, this is not acceptable and we will take this up with them to see what went wrong. We would never give you dirty sheets since cleanliness is of top priority for us, if this was the unlikely case we are sorry. There is always hot water in the hostel, sometimes one of the hot water sources run out, in which case you can use the other bathrooms. We are putting cardlocks on the doors but for now there are lockers in all rooms. Best regards, CabanaCopa

66%

They put the prices up at the weekend

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

WOW, This is a real hostel. Best hostel to meet people from all countries. Amazing staff. Parties EVERYNIGHTS !!! Thank You (especially for caipirinhas)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad you like our staff, parties and that you met some nice people during your stay. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86%

Nice hostel and good if you want to party. However it would be nice if you could get some sleep as well! The staff were excellent though and provide some great activities. We went to the Maracana to watch a football game. Everything was provided for the very reasonable sum off $R100. Good location also. A short walk from Copacabana and the Rio subway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad you like our staff and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

My sister and I enjoyed this hostel, fantastic location and it has a great atmosphere and friendly staff but it is a bit of a party hostel and there isn't a curfew so don't come here for tranquility.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad you like our location, atmosphere and staff. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

Really nice hostel. Just one step a way from metro and two steps away from copacabana beach. The atmosphere is really relaxed. Good breakfast and nice bar (cheap drinks). The dorms were good.


(802 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback