X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1337 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Breakfast was average in my opinion. I have learnt to bring somethings like cereal to places in future to make it fulfilling. Got to look after yourself. Quite social in a party sense in the evenings. Staff were okay. Location is near the metro and a 7 or 8 min walk from the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Due to some complains we will look into improving the breakfast. We are glad to hear you liked our location and found the staff alright. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

69%

Location is great, and it's a good place to meet other travellers and the dormrooms were clean. However, the breakfast could have been much better, the staff could have been a little more helpful, and the tours that are offered through the hostel could have been much cheaper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and cleanliness. We are doing some changes to improve the breakfast. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

staff Were incredible so helpful and so nice. took us out partying on their days off, they know a lot about the area and were just amazing! Sebastian was a legend and another girl from Colombia I forgot her name!!! breakfast is awesome rooms are clean and cold PERFECT


83%

The place is definitely good value for the money. Excellent locations, clean as well. Wifi was a bit of an issue every now and then. I will definitely come back and stay there again.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and cleanliness. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

51%

Worst hostel i ve ever stayed. The staff was the worst, not only they never help the confuse our booking, overcharge us and werent friendly at all. For example, the made on of our party move to another room, they didnt respect the booking and they didnt gave us back the deposit for the key. AVOID THIS HOSTEL....

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry about the staff, we had some issues with employees but most of them are replaced now. We must have received a group that needed the room you had booked, we apologize if you didn't find the new one up to the same standards as the previous one. Sorry you didn't get back the deposit money, but you left the hostel before reception hours and our doorman is not qualified to deal with that. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

71%

Not being able to use credit card for 85 real purchase was an annoying. Also showers go cold able like 5mins. Perhaps could lower credit card limit and put signs up in shower saying you only get 5 min of water

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have a minimum of 150 real payment for credit cards, which is a common thing in Brazil. During busy times more people use the showers which makes us run out of hot water but we are working on improving this by adding one more hot water tank. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

86%

I had so much fun at this hostel and met the best people. It's clean, awesome location and the night staff are awesome especially Sebastian and Claudia. However the blonde lady that works in the morning can be a bit rude. If going to a soccer game be aware you can buy tickets at the gate for 30 reals.. 100 cheaper than if you go with the tour.. The blonde lady told us it was sold out so we should go with the tour and when we got there there was a good 20,000 seats free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our cleanliness, location and staff. I'm sure there was some type of misunderstanding about the amount of seats left, we will talk to our staff about this. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

Good clean hostel with nice friendly staff that are only too happy to help with whatever need be👍 Also in a great location..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, staff and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

57%

Facilities are good but the atmosphere was really bad ! Some staff members are really unpleasant ! it seems that they are not happy to work there... At least a smile to welcome you would have been appreciated... The bad atmosphere doesn't make you feel good, and it's difficult to appreciate a drink at the bar. Different details confirm this strange atmosphere... for example the wifi code, that remembers you the checkout time...

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you like our facilities. We are sorry you found the staff unpleasant, I have worked here for a long time and I assure you I am not unhappy! We had some staff issues during your stay but have replaced most of the employees we didn't feel fit in here at CabanaCopa. Our main focus is for our guests to have a good stay and enjoy the atmosphere, so sorry you didn't feel that! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

60%

The smell of smoke was everywhere! Despite the fact that there are no-smoking signs posted everywhere, this is not enforced at the hostel and thus you will be at risk for inhaling second-hand smoke. There were some complications that were not resolved during initial payment due to organizational issues. In addition, the breakfast was incredibly random. Some days lacked cheese and ham. The "omlette" tasted very strange. Don't expect natural juices here. The location is very close to the metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do enforce the non smoking policy and have a non tolerance for smoking inside the hostel. If you see this, please notify us and we will make sure the smoker leaves the hostel immediately. We are sorry about the issues with your initial payment, we are not sure exactly what issues you mean or what the organizational issues were so it's hard for us to explain or work out. We are making improvements with the breakfast as we speak. Best regards! CabanaCopa

74%

Everything was really good, except wi-fi didn't work in our room and in the lobby the wi-fi was down from 6pm-9pm, because there were too many people using it at that time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. The internet works fine but during 9-10 pm we shut it down so people will interact more. The public computers still work though. Our wifi works well in the common areas, but not as good in the rooms to make people come out to socialize :) Our privates have good internet though, just some dorms that have a weaker wifi signal and are left like that because some people sharing the room might not like it. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

74%

Quite a good hostel. But not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of beds/ppl there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We have several bathrooms in some floors and at least one on each, if the bathroom on your floor is occupied you can just go to another one. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

97%

Only problem was the bar and common room are closed at 10!Brilliant hostel, I had so much fun here and meet some brilliant people. It near to the beach and metro! Watch out for the little monkeys at breakfast

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was really good - better than other hostels we have been in.. Some of the showers were cold. The Hostel world room selection did not correspond with the actual room availability.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff and breakfast. We're sorry about some showers being cold, that has now been fixed. We will look into the issue with hostelworld, thanks for letting us know. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

94%

Considering it's in Rio they should have a better kitchen. Everything's broken so cooking on the hob with no handle is burn central. Met so many good people at this hostel and ended up travelling with them all. They turn the internet off between happy hour which is kind of good as everyone is social then but annoying when you really need to check something! I only thing I hated was walking up the hill to it, but it's a good work out for your bum soooooo can't complain.


91%

Excellent staff and location. Would stay here again.


83%

In general is a nice place, but I think they should mention in advance that they do not take credit cards, it was hard for me to understand why they only recieve cash. There are two nice grils that are very helpfull but there is a guy who only give you excuses to recieve the money in dollars and cash, and of course in the exchange rate that he considers is ok.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I enjoyed my stay here immensely. The staff are great and super helpful. The only disappointment was the internet and the lack of comfortable places to charge your electronics. The internet seemed to crash daily between 7pm and 9pm yet the reception never lost their connection, something tells me the hostel is low-balling on the WiFi service which really, really threw a wrench into my daily plans and communication with friends, etc. Otherwise a great, affordable hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our staff. The internet works fine but during 9-10 pm we shut it down so people will interact more. The public computers still work though. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Great place, especially if you like to meet a more sociable, party crowd

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a good time and enjoyed our sociable atmosphere. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Great place!, very secure in one of the best areas of Rio!, very close to a subway, taxi & bus stations so you can move to any place without problems. Totally recomended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our security and location. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

(809 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback