X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1298 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

El hostelworld tiene una ubicación malisima, subiendo una colina lo cual hace muy difícil el manejo del equipaje. Para el pago con tarjeta de crédito tienen un monto mínimo, cosa que no se avisa en la página de internet, Lo cual para los turistas es incomodo porque uno maneja poco efectivo.


94%

Ótimo hostel e ótimo atendimento. No geral, saí muito satisfeita e super recomendo. :)

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigada por se hospedar conosco. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você teve uma boa estadia. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Very nice people, good staff, always helping. Thanks a lot! Marius from Canada

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and found them helpful. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa

69%

Staff aren't really helpful or friendly but its a great place to meet people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're sorry for the staff, during busy times they don't have as much time to help and socialize with each guest. Safe travels! Best regards, CabanaCopa

91%

Awesome party atmosphere for the weekend, met some cool people here and staff were the most helpful we've come across, helped us book Kings of Leon/Paramore tickets and had helpful advice about the area. Cool park next door with little monkeys to see (be careful they dont steal your stuff!) Copacabana v close along with bus stop and metro. Recommended to stay here! however, there is a kindergarten next door so during the week maybe not so much as it's noisy. Also reception plays music from 8am

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're glad to hear you like our staff, atmosphere and location. You may request another room if the noise from the school is bothering you. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

80%

Só achamos que haviam poucos banheiros para todo o Hostel.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Olá e obrigado por ficar conosco. Temos banheiros suficientes, mas às vezes você tem que ir para outro andar, se os banheiros em seu piso são ocupados. Boa viagem! Cabanacopa staff

100%

Excelente la ubicación y todos los chavos del staff, definitivamente volvería.


83%

Good Value for money, but the breakfast was just average and made my stomach feel sick...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! We're sorry to hear you didn't like our breakfast, we are looking into improving the quality of it as we speak. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

I've travelled all over the world and never had a problem with a hostel but have never been at a hostel as unhelpful as this. The staff couldn't care less about you unless you are booking their ridiculously overpriced tours (R$140 for a ticket to maracana when they are R$30 on the door). They told us wrong buses, timings and locations. It's very overpriced and the dorms are very cramped. I think they are living off their reputation and I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you find the tours overpriced. We provide them for convenience and want to make it more comfortable coming and leaving the stadium. The price is set by the tour company, we just sell them. We are sorry about the staff, we had some new ones during your stay and they didn't know all the buses and times etc. We are constantly working on improving and we are happy to hear your input. We have built our reputation after many years in the market, and there is a reason it is a good one.

89%

Adorei a experiência de estar no hostel! Excelente atendimento, excelente vibe!

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Olá e obrigado por ficar conosco. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você teve uma boa estadia. Boa viagem! Cabanacopa staff

63%

Breakfast was average in my opinion. I have learnt to bring somethings like cereal to places in future to make it fulfilling. Got to look after yourself. Quite social in a party sense in the evenings. Staff were okay. Location is near the metro and a 7 or 8 min walk from the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Due to some complains we will look into improving the breakfast. We are glad to hear you liked our location and found the staff alright. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

97%

O CabanaCopa Hostel é um lugar muito acolhedor, tanto no espaço físico quanto à recepção dos funcionários. Me senti em casa durante o tempo que passei lá.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Olá e obrigado por ficar conosco. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você gostou da nossa localização e nossos funcionários. Esperamos que você retorne! CabanaCopa staff

69%

Location is great, and it's a good place to meet other travellers and the dormrooms were clean. However, the breakfast could have been much better, the staff could have been a little more helpful, and the tours that are offered through the hostel could have been much cheaper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and cleanliness. We are doing some changes to improve the breakfast. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Excelente lugar para conocer Rio de Janeiro y compartir, lo mejor de todo es el ambiente del hostel, todos muy amables! volvería definitivamente.


83%

Super Lage, ein paar Minuten zur Copacabana, sehr nettes Bar Personal und für alle die die des portugiesisch nicht mächtig sind kommt man hier auch ohne Probleme mit Englisch durch. Einen Preis für Sauberkeit kriegt das Hostel nicht, aber es ist im Durchschnitt bei dem was ich bisher in Südamerika erlebt habe. Also alles in allem durchaus weiter zu empfehlen. Einzig die Tatsache, das es neben jedem Bett eine Steckdose gibt stimmt nicht, zumindesd habe ich bei meinem vergeblich gesucht.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

El personal siempre fue amable, me sentí muy bien muchas gracias lo recomiendo.


83%

The place is definitely good value for the money. Excellent locations, clean as well. Wifi was a bit of an issue every now and then. I will definitely come back and stay there again.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and cleanliness. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

94%

buen Hostel muy centrico, el ambiente es muy bueno! el personal disponible y a la mano! recomendable!


31%

Realmemte todo salio muy mal. El peor hoael que fui en mi vida. La atencion de las dos personas que atendian a la tarde. Un colobiano y otra chica que habla castellano y desastre. Nunca lo recomendaria.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Worst hostel i ve ever stayed. The staff was the worst, not only they never help the confuse our booking, overcharge us and werent friendly at all. For example, the made on of our party move to another room, they didnt respect the booking and they didnt gave us back the deposit for the key. AVOID THIS HOSTEL....

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry about the staff, we had some issues with employees but most of them are replaced now. We must have received a group that needed the room you had booked, we apologize if you didn't find the new one up to the same standards as the previous one. Sorry you didn't get back the deposit money, but you left the hostel before reception hours and our doorman is not qualified to deal with that. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

(79 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback