X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1313 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great location with amazing Staff who will help you to fully understand and get to know the city. Great atmosphere from the moment you walk in. More suitable for a semi-younger crowd. Every night there are other evening activities. I recommend the street party in Lapa on friday, the Favela party on Sunday and the boat party on monday.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, location and atmosphere. We're also happy you enjoyed the activities we offer. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

51%

Very unhelpful providing poor service, my sheets were stolen on the first night and then no staff member was willing to replace them so the nights were uncorfortable and cold and then at checkout they tried to charge extra for missing sheets even after I had told them before they had been taken.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We rarely experience something like this, but the standard procedure would be to verify the situation with your room mates and of course give you another set of sheets. We're sorry one of your fellow guests made your stay less comfortable and we will make sure next time that we take better care of the situation. Safe travels! Cabanacopa staff

49%

La limpieza es muy pobre, los baños comunes estaban todos inundados. El desayuno era feo, la fruta y manteca dejada en la mesa derretida con el calor al lado de una bandeja de fideos y salchichas. El check out lo tuvimos que hacer temprano a las 7.30 para ir al aeropuerto y no nos dejaron calentar un poco de agua para llevarnos en el termo porque estaban preparando el desayuno, muy poco amables teniendo en cuenta que teníamos el destino incluido de esa mañana.


69%

They are really unorganized in this hostel. They changed our bed about 3 times, we would go out for the day and when we came back someone was with our bed. Even after they put name tags they still lost tracks of which bed belongs to which one (because happens more than one day). The AC stop working and the room was really hot, specially in the corner on the top bed. Good breakfast and location!


80%

Desta vez fiquei num quarto diferente, que apesar de mais caro por ter menos camas era pior que o de 10 camas pois haviam muitos lances de escada para chegar as áreas comuns.


43%

This hostel is double the price of other hostels but is really filthy and the rooms are very dark and cramped. There is not a great atmosphere and the staff could be a lot friendlier. It's not a hostel id recommend, if others are available you will get more for your money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our prices change in regards to demand and season. So obviously we charge more during busy times and holidays. We also have a good location witch enables us to charge a bit more. We are sorry you didn't like the atmosphere, but it does really depend on the time you stay here and who are your fellow guests. We're sorry about the staff, during busy times they don't have as much time to socialize with the guests. The hostel is cleaned from top to bottom twice a day. Best regards, CabanaCopa

20%

Sem dúvida é o pior hostel que eu já fiquei. O atendimento é péssimo, errou na minha reserva desde o começo, me deixou em um quarto para quatro pessoas, com cinco pessoas. Foi frustante. Os funcionários nos tratavam mal, eram completamente despreparados. Em nenhum momento o hostel assumiu os erros dele, os funcionários sempre jogavam a culpa para mim e para meus amigos. Todos os banheiros eram totalmente sujos, era impossível comer o café da manhã, as mesas estavam sempre imundas.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Desculpa por nosso pessoal, durante horários de pico eles ficam mais estressadas e não tem tempo para ajudar e socializar. Durante horários de pico a organização não é tão bom como normalmente é, desculpe por isso. Nosso pessoal limpa todos os quartos diariamente e os banheiros duas vezes ao dia, mas as vezes depois de uma noite de festa os banheiros podem não ser muito respeitados pelos hospedes. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa staff

69%

Not worth the money , way too expensive for the same facilities that other hostels charge half the price.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our prices change in regards to demand and season. So obviously we charge more during busy times and holidays. We also have a good location witch enables us to charge a bit more. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

71%

Ressalva sobre o rodízio de banheiros que fechou o banheiro do quarto por 3 dos 4 dias em que fiquei hospedado, vocês não podem dizer que o quarto tem banheiro e depois simplesmente fecha-lo.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola e obrigada por se hospedar conosco. Tivemos alguns problemas de canalização com o banheiro, por isso tivemos que fechar a porta. Mas agora está funcionando. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa staff

80%

The guy in the morning who works with the big pretty eyes and good hair is the nicest guy he speaks Spanish very well too!! He was the niceest one in my eyes !! The hostel was fun and a ton of cool people !! I would stay again

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and had a good stay. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa

66%

El hostelworld tiene una ubicación malisima, subiendo una colina lo cual hace muy difícil el manejo del equipaje. Para el pago con tarjeta de crédito tienen un monto mínimo, cosa que no se avisa en la página de internet, Lo cual para los turistas es incomodo porque uno maneja poco efectivo.


94%

Ótimo hostel e ótimo atendimento. No geral, saí muito satisfeita e super recomendo. :)

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigada por se hospedar conosco. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você teve uma boa estadia. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Very nice people, good staff, always helping. Thanks a lot! Marius from Canada

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and found them helpful. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa

69%

Staff aren't really helpful or friendly but its a great place to meet people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're sorry for the staff, during busy times they don't have as much time to help and socialize with each guest. Safe travels! Best regards, CabanaCopa

91%

Awesome party atmosphere for the weekend, met some cool people here and staff were the most helpful we've come across, helped us book Kings of Leon/Paramore tickets and had helpful advice about the area. Cool park next door with little monkeys to see (be careful they dont steal your stuff!) Copacabana v close along with bus stop and metro. Recommended to stay here! however, there is a kindergarten next door so during the week maybe not so much as it's noisy. Also reception plays music from 8am

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're glad to hear you like our staff, atmosphere and location. You may request another room if the noise from the school is bothering you. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

80%

Só achamos que haviam poucos banheiros para todo o Hostel.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Olá e obrigado por ficar conosco. Temos banheiros suficientes, mas às vezes você tem que ir para outro andar, se os banheiros em seu piso são ocupados. Boa viagem! Cabanacopa staff

100%

Excelente la ubicación y todos los chavos del staff, definitivamente volvería.


83%

Good Value for money, but the breakfast was just average and made my stomach feel sick...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! We're sorry to hear you didn't like our breakfast, we are looking into improving the quality of it as we speak. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

I've travelled all over the world and never had a problem with a hostel but have never been at a hostel as unhelpful as this. The staff couldn't care less about you unless you are booking their ridiculously overpriced tours (R$140 for a ticket to maracana when they are R$30 on the door). They told us wrong buses, timings and locations. It's very overpriced and the dorms are very cramped. I think they are living off their reputation and I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you find the tours overpriced. We provide them for convenience and want to make it more comfortable coming and leaving the stadium. The price is set by the tour company, we just sell them. We are sorry about the staff, we had some new ones during your stay and they didn't know all the buses and times etc. We are constantly working on improving and we are happy to hear your input. We have built our reputation after many years in the market, and there is a reason it is a good one.

89%

Adorei a experiência de estar no hostel! Excelente atendimento, excelente vibe!

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Olá e obrigado por ficar conosco. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você teve uma boa estadia. Boa viagem! Cabanacopa staff

(77 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback