X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1154 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Altough Copacabana is nowadays history in Rio de Janeiro, if you have to stay there instead of Ipanema, CabanaCopa hostel is the best you can get! I spent there 3 amazing days!Good location, a kitchen is available, you have washing and drying machine for emercengy (expensive though!!) and a lot of space around the hostel to socialize and spend so good quality time! Insides are wooden made and very nice! Recommended!!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to have some nice quality time. We hope you will be coming back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

Overall a good hostel, but the staff was a bit clueless at times. Dorm room was a bit cramped, mattress of average comfort. The toilets and showers were super clean. My only major complaint is that the kitchen was very poorly equipped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us! Some of our staff is quite young and was being trained when you came, but now they are much better! Our kitchen is hard to maintain, we buy new equipment monthly and it disappears. We are building a new one though, so that guests have 2 full kitchens. Safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

69%

Didn't have my booking from hostelworld so put in different room that had alot of mould. Moved rooms and was much better. Usually wait to talk to staff. Good breakfast and security

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked our hostel & facilities. You booked at the same time as someone else who did it through our website, so we had to reallocate you. It was also the same week of some heavy rains in Rio and our house has the back to the national park (pretty much the jungle) so we had to repaint some rooms. We have one maintenance guy working 7 days a week, as well as 24hours security in the house/street & a breakfast buffet from 8am to 10am. Safe travels!

89%

Cabana Copa Hostel is probably a really popular with Young people. You meet a Lot of People there from all over the World. The breakfast was really nice! Not so good was that they had just two showers for a Lot of People. But all in all a great Hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a reply! We are happy you liked our breakfast and that you met people from all over the world. We have a very good ratio of showers to guest, but they are spread throughout the house, therefore you might have to go to another floor to take a shower if the ones on your floor is busy. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77%

The kitchen staff unflexible about understanding custormers needs

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us. Our kitchen staff does not speak english so it is best to ask reception anything you need. Kind regards & safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

89%

We were booked in for 2 nights but ended up staying an extra 2! loved the atmosphere and its location, nice and friendly vibe. I would definatley come here again

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a reply. It sounds like you had a great stay, we are happy you ended up wanting to stay longer. Looking forward to seeing you back here! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

the hostel has a great location and is a really cool place to meet people! nice staff and clean bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply. We are happy to hear you met new people on your trip and that you liked our staff and cleanliness. We hope you will be coming back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

Hostel is very nice! Great atmosphere! Some of the staff is a bit arrogant and this gives the hostel sometimes not a good vibe. They are also not informed about offered tours at all and make fun of you if you ask for more information. Altogether good hostel.

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our social atmosphere. We are sorry if our staff seemed arrogant and wasn't knowledgeable enough to answer all your questions, we will take this up with them and try to give better information next time. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Great hostel for meeting people. Lots of activities offered and the staff are really helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our social atmosphere and that you got to meet some nice people. We are also glad to hear you like the activities we offer and that you found the staff helpful. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

60%

Location was good, staff was very friendly and helpful, but unfortunately i wouldnt stay in this hostel again!! beds, sheets and the towels were not clean, had stains everywhere.. yes, the bathrooms are cleaned twice a day, but it doesnt matter if my bed is dirty.. also copacabana isnt a must to choose to stay in Rio, there are other better locations in the city..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and found them helpful. We replace sheets and towels that are stained or old on a regular basis so we're sorry if this was the case when you stayed here but that shouldn't be a problem now. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

89%

Overall great stay. The kids center next door can be a bit noisy after a long night out.

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a good stay here. We're sorry you were disturbed by the kids center. The classes are only during low season though, Monday to Friday and never on weekends. If you keep the windows closed it is not as noticeable in most rooms. We hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

Good location, nice staff and clean rooms and baths. The baths were cleaned twice a day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff and cleanliness. We hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Cool staff and clean facilities! Breakfast was OK.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff and cleanliness. We hope you will come back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Killer hostel! Wicked staff! very helpful.. owners were on vacation at the time, and the staff ran the place so well that you never know! All staff members were great!! Roberto personaly picked up some tickets brought online for us. The Kiwi brother 'Julian' had us all out on the town every night, and kept a close eye out to make sure everyone was together and enjoying themselves. . great vibe! didnt want to leave.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear the staff did a good job handling the hostel on their own and that you got to enjoy the wonderful vibe of our hostel. Thats exactly the feeling we want our guests to have when leaving ;) Best regards, CabanaCopa management

80%

Copacabana Hostel is in a great location, very close to the subway and buses and also from Copacabana beach. I found the staff very nice and helpful, 2 computers available for internet and drinking water for free were a plus. The rooms were OK though bathrooms could be cleaner. In my opinion, is very good value for money compared to other hostels in the area, so I would recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and found our staff helpful. We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but some of the shared ones can get messy depending on guest's use. We are planing on adding one more night cleaning shift, to improve service quality. Hope you will return! CabanaCopa staff

89%

The Hostel staff were welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area and things to do. Their bar had a full compliment of drinks at very reasonable prices, and although up a hill, the hostel is located about 10 minutes from beach and less than 5 minutes from the local subway station. The facilities are basic but clean and functional, and we never had to queue for the bathrooms. The breakfast is varied, and with lockers to store valuables this hostel in this hostel is great value for money.

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and location. We hope you enjoyed your stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77%

PROS: Location can't get any better. Right in the heart of Copacabana and just 3 blocks from the beach! I felt really secure near that area - I even went out alone to have dinner on the beach and no worries. The hostel was very clean the days I spent there! It was really quiet (Not a party hostel!) Good wifi in common areas (not in bedrooms). Good breakfast! CONS: Bedrooms could have been better, (stayed on a 4 people bedroom and it was really small and the beds were not so good).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness ad breakfast. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

10 minutes from the beach, supermarket and food places not far away. a little cramped in the rooms although have had worse in Copacabana. Prices skyrocketed over the time we were there due to Rockin' Rio so opted for another hostel down the road. Overall, a good place to stay and a secure neighbourhood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our prime location. Yes, prices do go up during high season and different events. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

100%

God place i Will miss You!!!

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel and that you will miss it. We hope to see you again! CabanaCopa staff

63%

The bathrooms weren't clean. Staff were quite frosty and unhelpful, and didn't even return my locker deposit at check-out.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but some of the shared ones can get messy depending on guest's use. We are planning on adding one more night cleaning shift, to improve service quality. We are sorry to hear the staff wasn't helpful and that they made a mistake not returning the deposit, we will take this up with them. Best regards, CabanaCopa management

(730 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback