X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1160 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

This is my Second time at CabanaCopa Hostel. First time was 4 years ago. After 4 years I can say the place have matured more, in terms of logistics and arrangements with pick-up from airport, check-in , lockers, cleaning etc. Much better organization. I've felt fully safe and secure this time. The location is also very convenient

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us again! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and noticed our improvements. We are constantly working to make a better experience to the guests. Safe travels and hope to see you back in less than 5 years! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

74%

Good Hostelling 5 minutes from de Copacabana neightbordhood Metro Station. Rooms cleans and enought to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us & writing the review. We are glad you liked our location, and had a nice sleep. Smaller dorms are even better for sleeping, the less people you share it with, the more organised the dorm is. Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

54%

This hostel was Okay, It was expensive for what it was and their booking and payments procedure is very unfair, it over protects the hostel. 48 hour notice before cancelling and even after that you would only receive 50% of what is paid back. We had booked in for 4 nights and had to leave after our first night as we had to fly home early due to a death in the family, when we explained this to them they were unmoving on this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & Thanks for staying with us. We are sorry for your loss. During your stay with us was a long holiday weekend in Brazil and everywhere was quite expensive due to demand. During holidays we have a minimum stay and management wasn't reachable so there wasn't anything reception could do. If you come back to Rio please contact us directly and we will offer you one free night. We wish you well and a Merry Christmas! Kind regards, CabanaCopa staff

63%

The Breakfast is poor. The hostel has two kitchen, it is in good location, there are few bathrooms. The atmosphere is poor. The loockers are big, and you can put yours things in a small loockers before check in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello & thanks for staying with us. Our breakfast ends at 10am, so if you wake up 5 min to 10am isn't the same as if you come down 9:30am. Your stay with us was on a weekday during low season, just after one big party night and the house had a massive "hangover". We invite you to come back one day for a weekend and we are sure you will have a different experience! :) Safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

74%

Happy hour drinks were quite lovely, and the staff were very friendly and nice to talk to. Bedrooms are very spare but that's the point of a hostel. The offers for hostel-run tours were nice but too pricey to tempt me. Locks were expensive too. I wanted to leave with a receipt and this request seemed to puzzle the people at the desk, which was surprising. Shouldn't it be very easy, if not standard to print up a receipt?

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear you liked the drinks we offer and our friendly staff. We do print receipts and normally that request wouldn't have been a problem, we apologize for this! Sometimes new staff aren't sure about things like that. Thank you for staying with us! CabanaCopa staff

89%

Altough Copacabana is nowadays history in Rio de Janeiro, if you have to stay there instead of Ipanema, CabanaCopa hostel is the best you can get! I spent there 3 amazing days!Good location, a kitchen is available, you have washing and drying machine for emercengy (expensive though!!) and a lot of space around the hostel to socialize and spend so good quality time! Insides are wooden made and very nice! Recommended!!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to have some nice quality time. We hope you will be coming back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

Overall a good hostel, but the staff was a bit clueless at times. Dorm room was a bit cramped, mattress of average comfort. The toilets and showers were super clean. My only major complaint is that the kitchen was very poorly equipped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us! Some of our staff is quite young and was being trained when you came, but now they are much better! Our kitchen is hard to maintain, we buy new equipment monthly and it disappears. We are building a new one though, so that guests have 2 full kitchens. Safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

69%

Didn't have my booking from hostelworld so put in different room that had alot of mould. Moved rooms and was much better. Usually wait to talk to staff. Good breakfast and security

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked our hostel & facilities. You booked at the same time as someone else who did it through our website, so we had to reallocate you. It was also the same week of some heavy rains in Rio and our house has the back to the national park (pretty much the jungle) so we had to repaint some rooms. We have one maintenance guy working 7 days a week, as well as 24hours security in the house/street & a breakfast buffet from 8am to 10am. Safe travels!

89%

Cabana Copa Hostel is probably a really popular with Young people. You meet a Lot of People there from all over the World. The breakfast was really nice! Not so good was that they had just two showers for a Lot of People. But all in all a great Hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a reply! We are happy you liked our breakfast and that you met people from all over the world. We have a very good ratio of showers to guest, but they are spread throughout the house, therefore you might have to go to another floor to take a shower if the ones on your floor is busy. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77%

The kitchen staff unflexible about understanding custormers needs

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks for staying with us. Our kitchen staff does not speak english so it is best to ask reception anything you need. Kind regards & safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

89%

We were booked in for 2 nights but ended up staying an extra 2! loved the atmosphere and its location, nice and friendly vibe. I would definatley come here again

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a reply. It sounds like you had a great stay, we are happy you ended up wanting to stay longer. Looking forward to seeing you back here! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

the hostel has a great location and is a really cool place to meet people! nice staff and clean bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply. We are happy to hear you met new people on your trip and that you liked our staff and cleanliness. We hope you will be coming back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

Hostel is very nice! Great atmosphere! Some of the staff is a bit arrogant and this gives the hostel sometimes not a good vibe. They are also not informed about offered tours at all and make fun of you if you ask for more information. Altogether good hostel.

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our social atmosphere. We are sorry if our staff seemed arrogant and wasn't knowledgeable enough to answer all your questions, we will take this up with them and try to give better information next time. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

97%

Great hostel for meeting people. Lots of activities offered and the staff are really helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our social atmosphere and that you got to meet some nice people. We are also glad to hear you like the activities we offer and that you found the staff helpful. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

60%

Location was good, staff was very friendly and helpful, but unfortunately i wouldnt stay in this hostel again!! beds, sheets and the towels were not clean, had stains everywhere.. yes, the bathrooms are cleaned twice a day, but it doesnt matter if my bed is dirty.. also copacabana isnt a must to choose to stay in Rio, there are other better locations in the city..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and found them helpful. We replace sheets and towels that are stained or old on a regular basis so we're sorry if this was the case when you stayed here but that shouldn't be a problem now. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

89%

Overall great stay. The kids center next door can be a bit noisy after a long night out.

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a good stay here. We're sorry you were disturbed by the kids center. The classes are only during low season though, Monday to Friday and never on weekends. If you keep the windows closed it is not as noticeable in most rooms. We hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

Good location, nice staff and clean rooms and baths. The baths were cleaned twice a day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff and cleanliness. We hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Cool staff and clean facilities! Breakfast was OK.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff and cleanliness. We hope you will come back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Killer hostel! Wicked staff! very helpful.. owners were on vacation at the time, and the staff ran the place so well that you never know! All staff members were great!! Roberto personaly picked up some tickets brought online for us. The Kiwi brother 'Julian' had us all out on the town every night, and kept a close eye out to make sure everyone was together and enjoying themselves. . great vibe! didnt want to leave.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear the staff did a good job handling the hostel on their own and that you got to enjoy the wonderful vibe of our hostel. Thats exactly the feeling we want our guests to have when leaving ;) Best regards, CabanaCopa management

80%

Copacabana Hostel is in a great location, very close to the subway and buses and also from Copacabana beach. I found the staff very nice and helpful, 2 computers available for internet and drinking water for free were a plus. The rooms were OK though bathrooms could be cleaner. In my opinion, is very good value for money compared to other hostels in the area, so I would recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and found our staff helpful. We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but some of the shared ones can get messy depending on guest's use. We are planing on adding one more night cleaning shift, to improve service quality. Hope you will return! CabanaCopa staff

(735 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback