X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1109 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I think for me the worse was that I had almost to climb the street where they are located is too declivitous. And to have vacations in Brazil, what I expect is to have brazilian staff working at the reception, not only european people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our prime location is tucked in a small residential street, next to a national park, and 2 min away from Copacabana center, the metro & beach, to us this makes up for the fact that we're located on a hill. We try to have a good mix of international staff & different ages to create a traveller atmosphere. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

46%

This place is way too overrated. I have done a lot of traveling and this is most likely the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. The location is good bc its Close to the beach. But the staff was rude and not happy to see and greet the guests. The beds were AWFUL. Worst of all was the atmosphere. They don't have a bar, but rather they sell beers from behind the front desk. They don't let you bring your own drinks. And the hostel stops selling beer at 10:30!! It has a bad layout for socializing.


100%

Great place to stay location and staff were great I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. Thank you for recommending us. Hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

The location is excellent... It's in Copacabana's heart, 3 blocks to the beach! 1 block to the Metrô station (Cardeal Arcoverde)... breakfast was pretty decent and the common areas were fantastic... I met a lot of interesting people thanks to that! Members of the staff from all over the world... they will provide each guest with the information they need.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear you like our location and staff. We are also glad to hear you got to meet some interesting people during your stay. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

There is hot shower available, however , it is not stable in providing hot water There is also free wifi , but , it is only accessible in the ground floor hope these can be improved

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The most CLEAN hostel I have ever stayed in. I was in a ten bed female dorm and it was very spacious with huge lockers, little curtains on the beds for privacy, a lamp for each bed... The little touches were fantastic. Very social hotel with many activities and options, but if you're looking just for a quiet couple of nights and aren't in to too many parties or things, they are very respectful of that with the quiet hrs in designated areas of the hostel. Would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you found our hostel clean since cleanliness is a priority. We are also glad you liked the room and had a good stay. We hope you will come back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83%

The hostel have a very good location and too much potencial. i hope they will use it in the future. Gustavo (the brazilian guy) in the front desk was very kind and helpfull, was like a private guide for me and my friend. definitely i will return to this hostel in the future. The next time i hope the front desk its open 24 hs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and that Gustavo was helpful, we will forward this to him. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

Before reading this please keep in mind that this was my first hostel experience. Security, location, staff and atmosphere were fantastic! the cleanliness could be improved considerably, however, it wasn't abhorrent either. When I decided to stay at a hostel I lowered my expectations in regards to cleanliness. But overall, the experience was fantastic and the people we roomed with were great and the beds comfortable.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you like our security, location, staff and atmosphere. We clean the house top to bottom twice a day and the rooms once daily, but if someone is sleeping they can't clean as well. Sorry if that was the case. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

Wonderful place, very close to famous Copacabana beach. Nice terrace where monkeys come to each morning to steal your breakfast ;) Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean. Would come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our little jungle friends! We are also happy you found our staff friendly and rooms clean. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

40%

Really bad instalations, not a good place to stay.

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Staff were un inviting upon arrival. Crazy prices for dorm rooms - as well towels are rented at a charge and blankets


100%

The hostel is really great located, the staff is international and they speak several languagues, probably the only negative matter is that there isn't a bar, disco or pub near the place, so you'll have to take bus o metro to reach them.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. Unfortunately our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach in a silence area also means we have to close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm. We do have activities every night for our party guests go to after we close. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa

86%

nice hostel, everyone gets a big locker, and you are super close to the beach

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

89%

Overall, very nice. It was quite clean and there was plenty of common space to hang out, including a TV room, free computers, and an area with wi-fi and tables. . One thing I thought was unusual for a hostel was that cleaning people came into our private room every day and loosely folded our sheets. There were lockers inside though to keep valuables. We arrived at 1am and our arranged airport transfer from the hostel didn't come. Our taxi couldn't find the hostel, so bring directions/map.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Different from other hostels we clean the hostel top to bottom every day, including all rooms, if you didn't want this extra service you should have let us know. As you booked the transfer too late we didn't have time to confirm it. Our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach in a silence area can sometimes be hard to find, but we are getting more and more known. Best regards!

63%

We stayed here for 4 nights and the room (8bed fem dorm) was way over priced due to the Brazil -Spain match. The place itself was fine. A few small problems- patchy Internet, poor computers, locks on showers and toilets broken etc. Staff were rude, unhelpful, lacking local and hostel knowledge and clearly did not care about our stay. E.g it took 10mins and 2 staff members to find out room rate, they did not know it. Would not recommend. (Other guests v nice though!)

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Since your stay the internet has improved, we now have more than one internet provider to make sure we have internet at all times, as well as improved connection. We constantly repair things around the hostel and have fixed the issues you're writing about. Sorry if some of the staff, that was under training, couldn't help you. Next time please come to the more experienced staff in the desk. Safe travels and best regards! CabanaCopa staff

86%

Great place. A few blocks away from copacabana palace. Most of the time the bathrooms are dirty. Anyway I would stay there again for sure.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel and location. We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but some of the shared ones can get messy depending on guest's use. We are planning on adding one more night cleaning shift, to improve service quality. We're happy you'd stay with us again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

I met some great people there but the value for money really isn´t good. The prices for "special events" like the confederations cup are ridiculously high and the whole hostel is so commercialized that you cannot really enjoy your stay. There are definitely better places to stay in lovely rio!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you met some nice people during your stay. Rio is an expensive city and during special events prices go up all over the city. We recommend you book in advance to get a better rate. We are sorry you had that experience, we do our best to keep a good and welcoming atmosphere and are usually applauded for having an unusually good social vibe, especially being such a big hostel. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

71%

Disappointed after my stay 12 months so was so good, too noisy at night, security guard doesn't seem to keep the house quiet after11pm, when bar closes many guests just move upstairs to Tv room and carry on regardless! i have rebooked for later this week, but regretting it!

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you found the hostel too noisy. The security staffs main job is to keep the hostel safe, which they do a really good job at. We believe it's up to each guest to show their fellow guests respect and keep it down. We have plans of moving the TV room area location to an area that won't disturb any rooms. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

94%

Loved this place. Good community, great breakfast, helpful owners!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our community, breakfast and owners. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

63%

The atmosphere in the hostel is very internatinal. Every member of the staff speaks English. We both think that it's a bit fake and overstate. Otherwise the room are ok quite clean but someone stole some of our stuff that we let under our bed.... Fortunately it was not luxury and vuluable things but it's alwas unpleasant to be robed. The staff is arrogant. and not always amiable. Otherwise the breakfirst was good you can see little monkey on the terrace.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to have a good mix of international staff & different ages to create a traveller atmosphere, we don't understand in what sense this is "fake". As long as an employee do his/hers job well, nationality is not relevant to us. We are sorry to hear you were robbed, we can't control guests but we do offer safety lockers for your valuables. We suggest you put them there instead of under the bed. We are sorry you found the staff arrogant, we will take this up with them.

(705 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback