X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1327 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

c etait super agreable 3 rue de copacabana 200 du metro staff sympa.......

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Good hostel and in good location just 5 minute walk to metro and 5/10 minute walk to copacobana, they also have activities planned for every night of the week !


80%

Foi uma ótima estadia, o hostel é muito brm localizado: próximo a praia de copacabana e ao metro. Limpeza constante, banheiros suficientes, área de convivênvia bacana. Único ponto fraco na minha opinião foi o café da manhã que tinha comidas muito pesadas.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly staff, chilled vibe. A few blocks back from the beach but felt a little safer at night as a result

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, vibe and location. We hope you will stay with us again! Regards, CabanaCopa

51%

Avisamos que ibamos a llegar a las 15hs (check in 14hs) y nos dieron la habitación sucia y sin sabanas. Tuvimos que esperar dos horas para que nos la entreguen, que igualmente seguia sucia, y nos dijeron que nos iban a bonificar, cosa que nunca sucedio. Los colchones eran los mas finitos que vi en mi vida, y las sabanas y toallas parecian de un hospital publico de 1900. El desayuno es escaso, de mala calidad y mal organizado ya que siempre esta desbordado.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Location is good! Just a few blocks away from the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are good and very clean and they have A/C. I had a good stay there! Want to go back for the happy hour caipirinha :) I miss my caipirinhas!!!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, rooms and staff. Sounds like you had a good stay! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

77%

Faltaría una cocina más grande ya que el Hostel alberga muchas personas y en la hora de la cena es muy complicado cocinar. Y seria bueno que mejoren un poco el esquema de información turística.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

el Hostel tiene una buena ubicación y es limpio ....Lo malo que tiene que las personas de la recepción no son empaticas con sus huéspedes .....


77%

Points positifs : localisation au cœur de Copacabana, à 15 minutes à pied de la plage, proche des bus et d'une station de métro. La chambre à 4 personnes avec salle de bain est satisfaisante, la propreté aussi. Par contre, plusieurs points négatifs : erreur d'attribution des chambres (probablement à cause d'une erreur d'inattention au check-in, mais ce n'est pas étonnant car plusieurs personnes interviennent dans un grand désordre...), et le petit-déjeuner laisse fortement à désirer...


60%

Los baños no estaban siempre limpios, el desayuno era deficiente para toda la hostal, no reponían las cosas y muchos quedamos sin desayuno, varias veces y ademas se atrasaban con el tiempo del desayuno.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Regular hostel. Beds where not the cleanest but overall it was. Facilities can be a bit better. Like a better place to brush your teeth

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We normally use the bathroom, but we'd love to hear you input on some other exciting places for teeth-brushing :) Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

69%

The Hostel is within walking distance to Copacabana beach. The beds were very uncomfortable and only two showers for 10 people. Apart from that, it was fine. Cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location. We do have enough bathrooms and showers, sometimes you just have to go to another floor if the bathrooms on your floor is busy. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

89%

Excellent location, clean rooms, big lockers that fit our 48L backpacks, nice atmosphere in the lobby with music playing and friendly staff. Good breakfast! Recommended !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness, atmosphere and staff. Sounds like you had a good stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

A good hostel in the centre of Copacabana only a few blocks from the beach. Helpful staff as well. The ac was broken on 3 nights out of 5 but that was probably our fault! Main problem was not enough bathrooms, we always queued for showers etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review, We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. The aircon has now been fixed, and yes it was caused by some of our guests. We do have enough bathrooms, you just have to go to another floor if the one on your floor is occupied. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

71%

la verdad q el hostel es muy lindo, tiene comodidades, buena ubicacion , la limpieza es buena, pero el personal q atiende la verdad q es un desastre!!! la mayoria ni te presta atencion cuando le hablas, no son amables, nada serviciales


74%

Very cool hostel. Bathrooms are cleaned twice a day. Wifi works all right, sometimes it crashed during the evening. They shut down the power during the day to save energy, so you can't charge your phone in that time (only in the rooms though). For some reason the cleaning lady starts cleaning the dorms at 9.30 which is really annoying if you have to pack your stuff for checkout at 11, because you'll be in the way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel. We try to make the cleaning as swift and efficient as possible, but if it disturbs you in your ability to pack for checkout please let us know and we will move the cleaning of your room for earlier or later. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

I stayed there twice, both times in a 4 bed dorm. You should pay a little more to get one of the superior rooms, it's totally worth it! I liked the room much more, since it came with an own bathroom and wasn't way down in the basement. In general a good place to stay in Rio, especially because of its location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and that you had a good stay. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

43%

This is the worst hostel we have all ever stayed in. When we checked in we paid a key deposit of R$10 per person, when we checked out they tried to give us back R$10 in total. "Deluxe" means ac. The ac only turns on at 8pm and off again in the morning. One night the ac leaked on my bed and suitcase, so we moved room the next day

Owner Comment (Hide)
We assure you, we did not "try" to only give you 10 reais back, that was a mistake and in the end you got the right amount of money back. The dorms are spacious with individual lighting, curtains, lockers etc. Which is above regular hostel standards. The aircon is turned off after checkout time 11am and then turned on again in the evenings. This is because the rooms are normally empty during these hours. In special cases we can turn them on if requested. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

La habitación de 8 camas resultó ser mucho mejor que la de 4. El personal muy bien y el Hostel muy limpio


71%

Staff were not that friendly over the carnival period, it felt a lot as though the hostel was trying to get money out of you. Luckily had a great room of people but in general the atmosphere wasn~t built by the hostelto get everyone together to go outetc. The staff did have great knowledge about carnival though. cleaned often and in a safe area close to metro supermarkets etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness and location. We're sorry about our staff, during busy times they get more stressed and don't have time to help and socialize as much. Safe travels! Best regards, CabanaCopa

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback