X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1313 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Location is good! Just a few blocks away from the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are good and very clean and they have A/C. I had a good stay there! Want to go back for the happy hour caipirinha :) I miss my caipirinhas!!!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

el Hostel tiene una buena ubicación y es limpio ....Lo malo que tiene que las personas de la recepción no son empaticas con sus huéspedes .....


77%

Points positifs : localisation au cœur de Copacabana, à 15 minutes à pied de la plage, proche des bus et d'une station de métro. La chambre à 4 personnes avec salle de bain est satisfaisante, la propreté aussi. Par contre, plusieurs points négatifs : erreur d'attribution des chambres (probablement à cause d'une erreur d'inattention au check-in, mais ce n'est pas étonnant car plusieurs personnes interviennent dans un grand désordre...), et le petit-déjeuner laisse fortement à désirer...


60%

Los baños no estaban siempre limpios, el desayuno era deficiente para toda la hostal, no reponían las cosas y muchos quedamos sin desayuno, varias veces y ademas se atrasaban con el tiempo del desayuno.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Regular hostel. Beds where not the cleanest but overall it was. Facilities can be a bit better. Like a better place to brush your teeth


69%

The Hostel is within walking distance to Copacabana beach. The beds were very uncomfortable and only two showers for 10 people. Apart from that, it was fine. Cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location, clean rooms, big lockers that fit our 48L backpacks, nice atmosphere in the lobby with music playing and friendly staff. Good breakfast! Recommended !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness, atmosphere and staff. Sounds like you had a good stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

A good hostel in the centre of Copacabana only a few blocks from the beach. Helpful staff as well. The ac was broken on 3 nights out of 5 but that was probably our fault! Main problem was not enough bathrooms, we always queued for showers etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review, We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. The aircon has now been fixed, and yes it was caused by some of our guests. We do have enough bathrooms, you just have to go to another floor if the one on your floor is occupied. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

71%

la verdad q el hostel es muy lindo, tiene comodidades, buena ubicacion , la limpieza es buena, pero el personal q atiende la verdad q es un desastre!!! la mayoria ni te presta atencion cuando le hablas, no son amables, nada serviciales


74%

Very cool hostel. Bathrooms are cleaned twice a day. Wifi works all right, sometimes it crashed during the evening. They shut down the power during the day to save energy, so you can't charge your phone in that time (only in the rooms though). For some reason the cleaning lady starts cleaning the dorms at 9.30 which is really annoying if you have to pack your stuff for checkout at 11, because you'll be in the way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel. We try to make the cleaning as swift and efficient as possible, but if it disturbs you in your ability to pack for checkout please let us know and we will move the cleaning of your room for earlier or later. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

80%

I stayed there twice, both times in a 4 bed dorm. You should pay a little more to get one of the superior rooms, it's totally worth it! I liked the room much more, since it came with an own bathroom and wasn't way down in the basement. In general a good place to stay in Rio, especially because of its location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and that you had a good stay. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

43%

This is the worst hostel we have all ever stayed in. When we checked in we paid a key deposit of R$10 per person, when we checked out they tried to give us back R$10 in total. "Deluxe" means ac. The ac only turns on at 8pm and off again in the morning. One night the ac leaked on my bed and suitcase, so we moved room the next day

Owner Comment (Hide)
We assure you, we did not "try" to only give you 10 reais back, that was a mistake and in the end you got the right amount of money back. The dorms are spacious with individual lighting, curtains, lockers etc. Which is above regular hostel standards. The aircon is turned off after checkout time 11am and then turned on again in the evenings. This is because the rooms are normally empty during these hours. In special cases we can turn them on if requested. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

La habitación de 8 camas resultó ser mucho mejor que la de 4. El personal muy bien y el Hostel muy limpio


71%

Staff were not that friendly over the carnival period, it felt a lot as though the hostel was trying to get money out of you. Luckily had a great room of people but in general the atmosphere wasn~t built by the hostelto get everyone together to go outetc. The staff did have great knowledge about carnival though. cleaned often and in a safe area close to metro supermarkets etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness and location. We're sorry about our staff, during busy times they get more stressed and don't have time to help and socialize as much. Safe travels! Best regards, CabanaCopa

86%

I enjoyed the stay immensely, great atmosphere with the other guests and staff. I'd just like a slightly better breakfast and consistent Wifi to top off the whole experience.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our atmosphere and staff. We are working on improving the breakfast and will look into the wifi issue. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

54%

On the plus side this hostel is in a very good location and the security is excellent too. But location aside this is not a great place to stay. The atmosphere is lacking, not enough common space and wi-fi is horrendous. But most of all it's the Staff that let this place down. They are appalling, rude and lazy. They can't be bothered answering basic questions and I found them to be extremely unhelpful. It's an effort to tell you what bus and train to take. Very frustrating dealing with them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review! We are glad to hear you like our location and security. We do actually offer plenty of common space at our hostel and have very few complaints about our wifi. It is carnival times and our staff is very busy, of course this is not an excuse for being rude towards guests but during busy times they get more stressed and don't have time to help and socialize as much. Best regards and safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

69%

Positive: big lockers in room - good location - okay breakfast - good A/C Negative: Staff unfriendly (saw the bossy old lady who owns the place screaming so loud to a guest that the guest checked out and left) - wifi never working - when you wake up at night when its nught you see all the glowing worms/insects that are moving inside of your matress and blanket. Disgusting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The owner was upset with a guests for breaking the rules of the hostel and had her reasons for being mad. We are sorry about the mattress, we are next to a rain forest park which has a lot of nature and wildlife. We fumigate the hostel regularly to avoid this. In these rare cases, please inform the reception and we will respond with the necessary action. We have sent you an email offering you some advantages on your next stay to hopefully make up for what happened. Best regards and safe travels!

69%

Estive no hostel com minha noiva e pegamos um quarto privado, porém ao chegarmos, depois de viajar e ainda caminhar pelo Rio, queríamos tomar um banho e descansar, entretanto havia um casal no quarto. Es esperamos por um bom tempo até a recepção resolver o problema. Não foi muito legal, mas foi resolvido. Pegamos uma noite de chuva, e mesmo sendo o Rio, quente, etc, não fez tanto calor assim, e o chuveiro tinha as opções: frio ou frio. :/ A localização é ótima, o ambiente é bacana, quarto bom.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigada por escrever um comentário. Nós estamos contentes de saber que você gostou da nossa localização e o ambiente. Que bom que poderíamos resolver o problema com o quarto afinal, desculpa que tiveram que esperar algum tempo. Boa viagem! CabanaCopa

89%

Breakfast was really good, staff was nice and helpful, close to the beach (looks far on the map, but it's only a short walk), rooms were good, excellent security, great backpacker vibe!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our breakfast, staff, location and vibe. Sounds like you had a good stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77%

Buen hostel, con mucha gente y buen ambiente. Lo malo es que hay muchas reglas y algunas son demasiado estrictas.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback