X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1109 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Awesome hostel!


100%

Very nice atmosphere and close to main sights in Rio. i definetly recommend this Hostel for people that want to explore the city on their own! I did a great tour of the city called Big Dude Tour with Brazil Expedition recommended by the staff! Funny guide and good value for money! thanx for the staff to let me know! Say hello to Carlos!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Muy buena la estadia en el hostel. voy a voler. agradezco la atencion de todos los empleados, los de la manana Pablo y Carlos unos genios y la chica tambien que no se el nombre. y los de la tarde muy bien el flaco argentino y las chicas. Lo unico que por ahi no me gusto fue el cambio de habitacion, pero entiendo que era para arreglarla.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

O hostel é muito desorganizado. Começando com funcionários na recepção que não falam português, sem recepção 24h (O que dificulta o check out e check in, bem como o resgate do dinheiro do depósito), ausência de uma máquina de cartão (sendo que no site informam como forma de pagamento). Banheiros muito sujos, nos fizeram subir nos quartos para retirar os lençóis e fronhas das camas no momento do check out (o funcionário que deveria fazer o serviço). Enfim, serviço e atendimento muito ruim!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff unable to help with most stuff, doesnt seems like they know a lot about the city. A shame since the hostel got a lot of potentiality.


100%

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, the location was great- a secure area near the beach, metro and supermarkets. I also loved the vibe of the hostel, something that always makes your stay extra good. Another plus is te cleanliness of the place and the good facilities they offer. The breakfast was really good for hostel standards. This will for sure be my go-to place whenever I'm in Rio again.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

La verdad he tenido una muy mala experiencia en este hostel! por empezar, pedi una habitacion individual, muy cara para lo que era: MUY CHICA, ABRIA LA PUERTA Y SE CHOCABA CON LA CAMA QUE ERA MUY PEQUEÑA, MIDO 1.85 Y SACABA LOS PIES PARA AFUERA!!! no tenia ni una manta de abrigo, no tenia locker o un ropero! muy poca ventilacion! encima por si fuera poco un personal de limpieza o no se quien de ahi ME ROBO 400 DOLAREs, 400 REALES MAS 900 PESOS ARGENTINOS! ;ME QUERIA MORIR DE TRISTEZA!

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

En Cabanacopa hostel se respira un ambiente propio de hostel, con lugares comunes en los que se crea un ambiente propio de hostel: te seinte cómodo yel equipamiento es el necesario. La cocina de uso común está correctamente equipada.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por estar con nosotros Nos alegra saber que te gustaba nuestra ambiente y el equipamiento. Esperamos verte de nuevo! Saludos, CabanaCopa personal

54%

Das einzige Hostel bei dem man beim Check-in komplett bar bezahlen muss, Handtücher nicht gestellt werden, man die Betten selbst beziehen muss, die gebrauchten Bettbezüge beim Check-out an der Rezeption abgeben müssen, ansonsten gibt es die Kaution nicht zurück. Personal an der Rezeption: Man spürt, dass ihnen der Job keinen Spass macht. Überall Schilder mit Vorschriften wie man sich verhalten soll: Nicht nach 10:30 pm draussen Lärm machen; wird nicht eingehalten. Lärm bis am frühen Morgen.


51%

The hostel needs a massive overhaul to be competitive in 2014 (start with new management that will take charge for the owners, then progress to some new more professional staff, but most of all you need to gut this place and then the guests and staff will feel the need to take better care of it. If a place looks nice, people are less likely to litter the place). The pictures provided for customers to make their decision are nice and new - so they are a few years old as it looks nothing like that

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello & thanks for your comments. We are currently renovating parts of the hostel & building a new bar & rooms for the world cup. Some of the guests during your stay weren't as polite as usual and maybe they were littering the building. But the photos on our websites & booking portals are from last year, so not that old. Hope to see you again after our rebuilding. Kind regards, CabanaCopa

83%

I liked the Hostel, the staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was good and, of course, excellent location. Only disappointment was there was no airport transfer service, as was agreed!! I had already agreed on the BRL 80.00, for the service and sent one final email on the day of my departure to confirm this and very quickly received a reassuring reply that I'll be met. Not even an apology from the front desk! Other than that, all was good.


86%

Slightly hard to find but once you know where you are going then it's no problem! Good breakfast and women's only dorms/bathrooms which were kept very clean. Helpful staff and good wifi too.


51%

It could be an awesome hostel but I found some of the stuff quite serious and not very happy to help when they needed. I think it is REALLY BAD the fact that you can not bring your own drinks so you HAVE TO PAY crazy prices at the bar. Also is VERY BAD that you can not get access to the web site hostelworld through their wifi as they blocked it for I am not sure what reason. Not cool. On the other and breakfast was really good everyday and everything was well cleaned but I would not go back.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place, nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us and writing your comments! We are glad you liked our place and had a good time. Our new staff is also in a very good vibe. Safe travels! CabanaCopa

57%

- It's one of those hostels where the guest is not allowed to sleep unless everyone goes to bed. Some other guests kept making noise by my window until 3:30am and no one from staff asked them to keep it down. - At night secutiry doesn't ask you for any ID before going inside, you just ring the bell and go in. - Reception was supposed to open at 8am, nobody arrived till 8:15 so I checked out with a security guard. - Unfriendly staff;


97%

Realmente um dos melhores Hostels do Rii de Janeiro. Pessoal muito gente boa.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oi! Obrigado pelos comentários. Ficamos felizes que tenham gostado do nosso hostel e pessoal. Esperamos vê-lo novamente em breve! Boa viagem! CabanaCopa

86%

excellent location

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for taking the time out to leave a review. It's always appreciated :) Glad you liked our location. See you next time. CabanaCopa staff

80%

expensive carnival package with compulsory 6 nights

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying with us & ratting. Everywhere in Rio is expensive during Carnival, and has at least a 6 nights minimum stay. We used to have a 7 nights minimum stay, but we decreased. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you back soon. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

66%

The hostel was fair enough. However, the staff was not very helpful as they did not really seem to know their city. Furthermore, the bar closes at 22:30 which does not make it a very sociable place. During the carnival it was very expensive which applies for all hostels. Yet, if you hear somebody checking in for your last night and they pay 1/3 of what you paid for the exact same night, that's not really nice!


71%

ottima l'atmosfera con tanti ragazzi e la colazione è abbondante.male la stanza singola.è piccolissima.è uno stanzino. a carnevale ho dovuto pagare in anticipo e per 7 giorni.il prezzo della camera singola era troppo alto.non ci ritornerei.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Grazie per aver dedicato del tempo per lasciare una risposta. Siamo felici ti è piaciuto l'atmosfera del nostro ostello. Pagando in anticipo è una politica generale per alberghi in Rio durante il carnevale. Anche, durante il carnevale l'ostello diventa più occupato, quindi i prezzi salgono questo periodo. Siamo tristi sapere che non tornerai. CabanaCopa personale

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback