X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CabanaCopa Hostel Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1206 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

Realmemte todo salio muy mal. El peor hoael que fui en mi vida. La atencion de las dos personas que atendian a la tarde. Un colobiano y otra chica que habla castellano y desastre. Nunca lo recomendaria.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Worst hostel i ve ever stayed. The staff was the worst, not only they never help the confuse our booking, overcharge us and werent friendly at all. For example, the made on of our party move to another room, they didnt respect the booking and they didnt gave us back the deposit for the key. AVOID THIS HOSTEL....

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Not being able to use credit card for 85 real purchase was an annoying. Also showers go cold able like 5mins. Perhaps could lower credit card limit and put signs up in shower saying you only get 5 min of water


97%

Muito bom! os funcionários são excelentes e atenciosos, conheci muitas pessoas legais, adeus hotéis, agora somente hostels.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • lfsp18
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

C est pres de la plage et du metro, tres pratique pour rencontrer des gens et autres voyageurs. Bonne ambiance. Tres bon confort au niveau des lits et des commodités. Je recommande

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Good clean hostel with nice friendly staff that are only too happy to help with whatever need be👍 Also in a great location..


86%

O hostel é agradável, tem um bom cafe da manha e o quarto estava sempre limpo e funcional. Só achei as festas e pacotes turisticos indicados pelo hostel demasiadamente caros, encontra-se opções melhores e mais baratas sozinho. Mas no geral, gostei do hostel e pretendo voltar.


57%

Facilities are good but the atmosphere was really bad ! Some staff members are really unpleasant ! it seems that they are not happy to work there... At least a smile to welcome you would have been appreciated... The bad atmosphere doesn't make you feel good, and it's difficult to appreciate a drink at the bar. Different details confirm this strange atmosphere... for example the wifi code, that remembers you the checkout time...


60%

The smell of smoke was everywhere! Despite the fact that there are no-smoking signs posted everywhere, this is not enforced at the hostel and thus you will be at risk for inhaling second-hand smoke. There were some complications that were not resolved during initial payment due to organizational issues. In addition, the breakfast was incredibly random. Some days lacked cheese and ham. The "omlette" tasted very strange. Don't expect natural juices here. The location is very close to the metro.


74%

Everything was really good, except wi-fi didn't work in our room and in the lobby the wi-fi was down from 6pm-9pm, because there were too many people using it at that time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. The internet works fine but during 9-10 pm we shut it down so people will interact more. The public computers still work though. Our wifi works well in the common areas, but not as good in the rooms to make people come out to socialize :) Our privates have good internet though, just some dorms that have a weaker wifi signal and are left like that because some people sharing the room might not like it. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

74%

Quite a good hostel. But not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of beds/ppl there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We have several bathrooms in some floors and at least one on each, if the bathroom on your floor is occupied you can just go to another one. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

97%

Only problem was the bar and common room are closed at 10!Brilliant hostel, I had so much fun here and meet some brilliant people. It near to the beach and metro! Watch out for the little monkeys at breakfast

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was really good - better than other hostels we have been in.. Some of the showers were cold. The Hostel world room selection did not correspond with the actual room availability.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff and breakfast. We're sorry about some showers being cold, that has now been fixed. We will look into the issue with hostelworld, thanks for letting us know. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Excellent staff and location. Would stay here again.


94%

Muy recomendado.!! La pasamos genial en Rio y el personal del Hostel muy atentos y amables... :D

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por haber estado con nosotros. Nos alegra saber que vos pasaste bien y que gustan nuestro personal. Esperamos verlos de nuevo! Saludos, CabanaCopa staff

83%

In general is a nice place, but I think they should mention in advance that they do not take credit cards, it was hard for me to understand why they only recieve cash. There are two nice grils that are very helpfull but there is a guy who only give you excuses to recieve the money in dollars and cash, and of course in the exchange rate that he considers is ok.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I enjoyed my stay here immensely. The staff are great and super helpful. The only disappointment was the internet and the lack of comfortable places to charge your electronics. The internet seemed to crash daily between 7pm and 9pm yet the reception never lost their connection, something tells me the hostel is low-balling on the WiFi service which really, really threw a wrench into my daily plans and communication with friends, etc. Otherwise a great, affordable hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our staff. The internet works fine but during 9-10 pm we shut it down so people will interact more. The public computers still work though. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

86%

Achei o CabanaCopa um excelente hostel. Com uma localização privilegiada, perto do metro, pontos de ônibus, supermercados. É necessário saber um pouco de inglês pois nem todos os funcionários falam português bem.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place, especially if you like to meet a more sociable, party crowd

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you had a good time and enjoyed our sociable atmosphere. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91%

Great place!, very secure in one of the best areas of Rio!, very close to a subway, taxi & bus stations so you can move to any place without problems. Totally recomended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our security and location. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback